Sunday, June 29, 2014

Forever Amish by Kate Lloyd and Givewaway!

                                                                   About the book: 

 

The latest book in the Legacy of Lancaster trilogy, Forever Amish introduces us to a young woman about to uncover a shocking secret and find an invitation to a new way of living. This is a story of forgiveness, legacies, and the ties that bind through generations.

It's the Last Thing She Expects to Find

Sally Bingham needs some time away to sort through the changes in her life and to rethink her upcoming marriage. Despite her ailing father's hesitations, she takes off for a bed and breakfast in Lancaster County for a weekend away. But her best-laid plans leave her in a near collision with a bishop's buggy and in the home of a mysterious Amish woman named Lizzie. Lizzie introduces her to a different perspective on life, a charming farmhand named Armin--- and opens a Pandora's box that will forever change Sally's life.


Purchase a copy: http://ow.ly/xxswg

 About the author: 

 

Author Kate Lloyd is a passionate observer of human relationships. A native of Baltimore, Kate spends time with family and friends in Lancaster County, PA, the inspiration for her novels. She is a member of the Lancaster County Mennonite Historical Society. Kate and her husband live in the Pacific Northwest. Kate studied painting and sculpture in college. She's worked a variety of jobs, including car salesman and restaurateur.

 
Kate can be found at: website, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest

 
My review:
This new book by Kate Lloyd is the third in a 3 part series, Legacy of Lancaster Trilogy.  I have read the other two and it was fun to see when previous characters who you have learned to know and enjoy reappear in this third volume and blend right into this volume.  The book was so well developed that it would also be a great stand-alone book. 

As the book opened, it grabbed me from the first few pages and I knew I was hooked.  I could not put this book down, although I had to sleep, eventually.  Sigh…
As Sally Bingham’s marriage date is quickly approaching, she feels the need to sort through her feelings about the upcoming day.  She is not really sure of her feelings.  Having recently received many emails from an Amish woman, Lizzie in Lancaster County, she decides to go on a little get-away to visit. Just for the weekend… to clear her mind…She arranges to stay at a bed and breakfast, even though her very ill father is not too happy about her plans.
As she arrives, she has a bit of misfortune and things just don't go as she had planned .  Her bed and breakfast is flooded and her car needs repairs.  She is helped by Armin King, a handsome Amish man who introduces her to Lizzie and from then on, things are never the same for Sally.  Lizzie’s family is not your average run of the mill Amish family.  You can see they are people who do not always do exactly as they are taught to do, but rather you can see their true human nature, just like all of us.  They too, have to work at their lives and often learn through trial and error.
Sally finds out some hard truths about people she had trusted for her entire life.  She no longer can feel trust for others and is confused about many things in life that she discovers because of her little week-end visit to Amish country. 
This story is about forgiveness, faith, family bonds and ties that can’t be broken forever.  This book was quite different than any other Amish book that I have read.  I think it is a very worthwhile read for those who enjoy the Amish genre and even those who have never read Amish books. 
This is a 5 star book and I was so sad to see the story end.  I wanted to keep on reading!  Excellent book!

Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review. 

Blog Tour Landing page:
http://litfusegroup.com/author/klloyd
The latest book in Kate Lloyd's Legacy of Lancaster trilogy, Forever Amish, introduces us to a young woman about to uncover a shocking secret and find an invitation to a new way of living. This is a story of forgiveness, legacies, and the ties that bind through generations.

Kate is celebrating by giving away an Amish-made prize pack!
forever-pinterest

  One winner will receive:
  • A brand new Kindle Fire
  • A Qillow (A pillow with a lovely surprise inside! It opens to a 40” X 60” quilt ideal for traveling, sports events, and home.)
  •  A Center Diamond wall hanging (Hand-stitched by Old Order Amish quilter Emma Stoltzfus of E.S. Quilts in Lancaster, PA. It measures 42” x 42” and is a traditional Old Order Amish design.)
  • Darling Amish-made faceless dolls (Hand-crafted in Lancaster County, PA. Each measures 12 inches and is individually named. Meet Martha and Henry!)
  • Forever Amish and the rest of the Legacy of Lancaster trilogy by Kate Lloyd
Enter today by clicking one of the icons below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on June 29th. Winner will be announced at Kate's blog on July 1st.

Tell your friends via FACEBOOK or TWITTER and increase your chances of winning and be sure to stop by Kate's blog on July 1st to see if you won!



 

 

Thursday, June 26, 2014

Chat With Vera Giveaway

Vera always has lots of nice giveaways on her blog and here is another link to a fun children's book!

Tuesday, June 24, 2014

Child of Mine by David and Beverly Lewis

A book of surprises!  I started this book about a week and a half ago and finished it today.  It was just over 400 pages.  And unlike some reviewers, I have a full-time job and not as much time to read.  I do most of my reading on the commute to and from work!

I started this book and it didn't grab me instantly like most of Beverly Lewis' book have in the past.  But the characters were developing and I was getting to know all about them.  As I continued to read it began to reel me in and then I was hooked. 

In this story Jack Livingston is a single flight instructor who finds himself taking the responsibility of his adopted niece, Natalie after the death of both her parents.  Jack engages the help of Amish Laura as a nannie who really cares for her.

In another scene we find a young mother looking for her child, Emily that was kidnapped as an infant.  She goes to great lengths to be able to find her daughter.  As the clues lead her to Natalie, she comes to meet and determine whether this is her daughter. 

They meet and the story develops and proceeds with many twists and unexpected events, leaving Jack and Kelly in an emotional drama.

The story is very sweet and heartwarming and the characters are endearing.  The more pages I read, the more involved I became in the book!  A very wonderful read!

Where Healing Blooms by Vannetta Chapman Giveaway!


Beautiful Amish countryside shared by Vannetta Chapman.  You can also go here to enter to win Where Healing Blooms!

Tuesday, June 17, 2014

Where Healing Blooms, Vannetta Chapman


Emma is a widow who lives with Mary Ann, her mother-in-law.  Mary Ann has a beautiful garden that she lovingly tends. Emma tries to find a purpose in life now that her children are grown.  She learns that a runaway Amish boy has been hiding in her barn.  She tries to know how she can help him at this troubled time of his life.  She leaves food and hopes that he will feel that he can trust her to help him.  She also is asked by the bishop to house an abused Amish woman and her two children.  They find a safe refuge at Emma’s and begin to work together. 
Emma begins to find some meaning to her life and purpose, as well.

Her old friend, Danny, has returned home after many years absence.  She had once hoped that they would marry, but Danny had disappointed her by moving away to pursue his life’s plans leaving Emma alone and to marry another.  Emma feels she is too old now to find love again in her life.

Mary Ann’s garden holds a secret which she reveals to Emma and Danny that may just change both of their lives. 
This story will touch your heart.  Author Vannetta Chapman shares how gardens can help you find peace, faith, endurance, hope and healing.  I loved this inspiring novella.
I received a copy of this novella from the publisher for my honest review. I have received no monetary compensation.

 

Another Chat with Vera Give-away!

Here is a link for Vera's giveaway!

Captain No Beard: The Crew Goes Coconuts! by Carole P. Roman (Review & Giveaway)



Award-winning author Carole P. Roman continues to publish children's books that entertain and educate. Today we're going to look at another of her "Captain No Beard" series - The Crew Goes Coconuts!
 
 
Doesn't this look like a great children's book???
 

Monday, June 16, 2014

If You Were Me and Lived in Russia by Carole P. Roman

I won this book in a give-away for my grandkids.  It tells children an introduction to the culture of Russia, the food, the money, activities and customs.  It is a cute little read and is part of a larger series.  As we are from a culturally rich family, and I am a genealogist, this book series is of special interest to me!  I think your kids would enjoy it, also!
 You can get a copy of this book at Amazon.com

If You Were me and Lived in Australia by Carole P. Roman


I won this book in a give-away and look forward to giving it to my grandchildren.  They love to learn about countries, cultures and different ways of life.  This is a nice introduction to this for younger children. 

You can get a copy of this book at Amazon.com.

Sunday, June 15, 2014

Looking for a GREAT summer read? Its a Give-away! Huckleberry Summer!

Jennifer Beckstrand has most graciously offered an autographed copy of her fun read, Huckleberry Summer! 

Contest Rules:
Please leave a meaningful comment as to why you would love to read this book! 

And be absolutely certain to leave your email address posted in a safe way ( jane doe at xxx dot com)  Those without email address will not be chosen to win.

Offer open to US mailing addresses, only. Contest ends June 22.

My review:

I loved Jennifer's book, Huckleberry Hill, so I really didn't doubt at all that this would be another winner.  I was right.  It is a winner!
Even the cover is fun!  What I enjoyed so much about this book was the fresh story-line with interesting twists and turns.  I never quite knew what would happen next.  That always keeps me reading.  A real attention keeper for me!

In this story Lily is working for Anna and Felty Helmuth, who we met in the earlier book of this series, Huckleberry Hill.  Anna has a little match-maker goal of getting a wife for her grandson, Aden.  Lily is the young woman Anna has in mind to make a perfect match for Aden.  There is a definite problem here as Lily's father hears about Aden's past which includes several arrests and jail time.  This does not sit well with Lily's protective father at all. 

Lily's father has the perfect match for Lily, as well. Tyler Yoder, the wonderful flawless Amish man is the one, the only one, that is good enough for his daughter, Lily.  Tyler and Aden are both interested in Lily but Lily is warned by her Dat that she should stay away from Aden and his schemes.

As Lily becomes more acquainted with Aden, she can't help falling for Aden.  How will this ever work out when her father is so opposed to all things "Aden"?

Aden convinces Lily to come along to check out a possible "puppy mill" only to have the police arrive to arrest them for trespassing.  This totally causes Lily to refuse to see Aden which in turn makes Lily's Dat a happy man.  Now the way is clear for Tyler Yoder who soon sees a happy future ahead with Lily.

You will need to read the book to find out what happens.  But I can tell you that this is a book you won't want to put down until you have reached the end of the book.  I really enjoyed this book.  Jennifer Beckstrand is fast becoming one of my favorite authors!

You can find Jennifer's webpage here!



Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from Kensington Publishing Corp. in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review. 


WE HAVE A WINNER!  CONGRATULATIONS TO CINDY!

Chat With Vera Give-Away!

Here is the Link For another children's book give-away.  Have a great day!

Thursday, June 12, 2014

Woman of Courage by Wanda E. Brunstetter


Woman of Courage
This new book by Wanda E. Brunstetter was absolutely wonderful!  I have read most of her Amish books and I would say this is my favorite book so far from this author.  It wasn’t Amish, it was about a Quaker woman, Amanda Pearson, who after being left by her fiancĂ©e, decides to become a missionary in the frontier bringing Indians to Christ.  She begins her 3,000 mile trek in 1837 during the time of frightening Indian attacks and many other hardships common to pioneering people of the early to mid1800’s. 

Her trials begin to seem unsurmountable but she forges on till she finds help and friendship.  She is relentless in her missionary goal.  She meets Buck McFadden, a non-believer who she finds herself attracted to.  But her strong Christian convictions will not allow more than a friendly relationship.
Amanda endures many hardships and experiences things she had never imagined she would experience.  The trials are continual and she surely must wonder if her decisions had been right or not.
The title of this book is very appropriate for Amanda as well as other women she encounters.  You really have to admire the women that helped to forge our country.  This was a 5 star book!  Very well done, Wanda!

Monday, June 9, 2014

Forever Amish Giveaway by Kate Lloyd

The latest book in Kate Lloyd's Legacy of Lancaster trilogy, Forever Amish, introduces us to a young woman about to uncover a shocking secret and find an invitation to a new way of living. This is a story of forgiveness, legacies, and the ties that bind through generations.

Kate is celebrating by giving away an Amish-made prize pack!
forever-pinterest

  One winner will receive:
  • A brand new Kindle Fire
  • A Qillow (A pillow with a lovely surprise inside! It opens to a 40” X 60” quilt ideal for traveling, sports events, and home.)
  •  A Center Diamond wall hanging (Hand-stitched by Old Order Amish quilter Emma Stoltzfus of E.S. Quilts in Lancaster, PA. It measures 42” x 42” and is a traditional Old Order Amish design.)
  • Darling Amish-made faceless dolls (Hand-crafted in Lancaster County, PA. Each measures 12 inches and is individually named. Meet Martha and Henry!)
  • Forever Amish and the rest of the Legacy of Lancaster trilogy by Kate Lloyd
Enter today by clicking one of the icons below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on June 29th. Winner will be announced at Kate's blog on July 1st.

Tell your friends via FACEBOOK or TWITTER and increase your chances of winning and be sure to stop by Kate's blog on July 1st to see if you won!

Sunday, June 8, 2014

Forever Amish by Kate Lloyd


About the book: 

 

The latest book in the Legacy of Lancaster trilogy, Forever Amish introduces us to a young woman about to uncover a shocking secret and find an invitation to a new way of living. This is a story of forgiveness, legacies, and the ties that bind through generations.

It's the Last Thing She Expects to Find

Sally Bingham needs some time away to sort through the changes in her life and to rethink her upcoming marriage. Despite her ailing father's hesitations, she takes off for a bed and breakfast in Lancaster County for a weekend away. But her best-laid plans leave her in a near collision with a bishop's buggy and in the home of a mysterious Amish woman named Lizzie. Lizzie introduces her to a different perspective on life, a charming farmhand named Armin--- and opens a Pandora's box that will forever change Sally's life.


Purchase a copy: http://ow.ly/xxswg

 About the author: 

 

Author Kate Lloyd is a passionate observer of human relationships. A native of Baltimore, Kate spends time with family and friends in Lancaster County, PA, the inspiration for her novels. She is a member of the Lancaster County Mennonite Historical Society. Kate and her husband live in the Pacific Northwest. Kate studied painting and sculpture in college. She's worked a variety of jobs, including car salesman and restaurateur.

 
Kate can be found at: website, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest

 
 
My review:
This new book by Kate Lloyd is the third in a 3 part series, Legacy of Lancaster Trilogy.  I have read the other two and it was fun to see when previous characters who you have learned to know and enjoy reappear in this third volume and blend right into this volume.  The book was so well developed that it would also be a great stand-alone book. 

As the book opened, it grabbed me from the first few pages and I knew I was hooked.  I could not put this book down, although I had to sleep, eventually.  Sigh…
As Sally Bingham’s marriage date is quickly approaching, she feels the need to sort through her feelings about the upcoming day.  She is not really sure of her feelings.  Having recently received many emails from an Amish woman, Lizzie in Lancaster County, she decides to go on a little get-away to visit. Just for the weekend… to clear her mind…She arranges to stay at a bed and breakfast, even though her very ill father is not too happy about her plans.
As she arrives, she has a bit of misfortune and things just don't go as she had planned .  Her bed and breakfast is flooded and her car needs repairs.  She is helped by Armin King, a handsome Amish man who introduces her to Lizzie and from then on, things are never the same for Sally.  Lizzie’s family is not your average run of the mill Amish family.  You can see they are people who do not always do exactly as they are taught to do, but rather you can see their true human nature, just like all of us.  They too, have to work at their lives and often learn through trial and error.
Sally finds out some hard truths about people she had trusted for her entire life.  She no longer can feel trust for others and is confused about many things in life that she discovers because of her little week-end visit to Amish country. 
This story is about forgiveness, faith, family bonds and ties that can’t be broken forever.  This book was quite different than any other Amish book that I have read.  I think it is a very worthwhile read for those who enjoy the Amish genre and even those who have never read Amish books. 
This is a 5 star book and I was so sad to see the story end.  I wanted to keep on reading!  Excellent book!

Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review. 




Blog Tour Landing page:
http://litfusegroup.com/author/klloyd



 

 

Saturday, June 7, 2014