Wednesday, October 26, 2016

The Shadow Falls v. 3 Fire and Steel Series by Gerald N. Lund

Another great book by Gerald N. Lund.  The Shadow Falls is v. 3 of the Fire and Steel series.  I have enjoyed everything I have previously read from this author, and I have to say that continues after having read this book.

This book shows how easily good people can be influenced by what appears to be "well-intentioned" people and how they could be deceived into following leaders with motives are not for the good of the people.

In this pre-WWII time period book, it becomes apparent how gradually people can become confused and lead away unknowingly making decisions that can lead them in the wrong paths.

Hans and Emilee's family begins to grow and Hans finds himself as a close friend and confidant of the F├╝hrer and becomes heavily involved with the party.  It seems at first all is for the good of a nation, but we all know how this story goes.

Having had parents that grew up in Germany in this time period, I have personal insights in the historical events of this book.  As a result I found this series very enthralling and an excellent reads which keep you reading till the end.

The events and characters in this series intertwine with other books he has written and you see families from his other books in this series as their paths cross and their lives mingle to create a most interesting set of books.  You won't want to miss any of them.

I highly recommend this book, the whole series, for that fact!

Disclosure:  I received a copy of this book from the publisher for my honest review.  All thoughts are my own and no monetary compensation was received.

Sunday, October 23, 2016

Titus Returns by Amy Lillard


This latest addition to the Wells Landing Series, book 5, is amazing.  Titus Lambert returns after 5 years of prison confinement, to his Amish home.  Worried about how he will be received by family and friends, he works to find his path.  Unsure whether to rejoin his church, he takes time to determine what paths to follow.  Englisch world or Amish world?  The love of his life who had promised to wait, is no longer available, or is she??

Oh yes, another great book by Amy Lillard!  This book held onto my attention and within one day, I had it finished.  And I wanted MORE!  It was great.  I so recommend this book to Amish book fans because it is so good.  I love prodigal son stories and this one was wonderful.

You can find this book for pre-order at this link.  Now go get it! You will not be sorry!

The author:  Amy Lillard:

I received a copy of this book from the author for my honest review, which I have given.

Saturday, October 15, 2016

Humility The Secret Ingredient of Success by Pat Williams with Jim Denney

This book by motivational speaker Pat Williams speaks from his own personal experience in the business world.  He shares many examples of successes and failures based on the traits of both current and historical figures.

In today's world it is common for people to be impressed by the accomplishments of others especially those that outwardly show assertiveness with arrogance.

This book shares insights how to be successful by being a humble person and a confident one.  The people that have been the ones to make true marks in the World are those with humble attitudes as illustrated simply and plainly in the cover picture.

I really enjoyed this book.  It has given me new insights in how to best serve in leadership roles and I plan on implementing these learnings in my everyday life and work.  Highly recommended.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing in exchange for my honest review.


Teacup Courtships: 5 novellas of romance over tea by multiple authors and giveaway!

This sweet collection by multiple authors, Carrie Fancett Pagels, Cynthia Hickey, Teresa Ives Lilly, Darlene Franklin, and Patty Smith Hall, was a collection of enjoyable historical settings in the untamed West.  Different women trying to find their lives and become an integral part of their new communities, opening their Tea Rooms, and adding sweet womens' touches to an otherwise rough and rugged new community.  Although the men are hard working and somewhat rough around the edges, the women that enter their lives seem to bring out the best in them.

I enjoyed these stories very much and have read other writings of all of these authors.  They are always good Christian reads and have a common thread that carefully brings the book together, although the stories are unique and different from each other.

I received an ebook from the author.  The thoughts expressed here are my own.

Carrie Fancett Pagels is sponsoring a giveaway!  

The winner has the option of choosing either the Ebook collection or the paperback version of Carrie's contribution entitled "Tea Shop Folly".  

Contest Rules:  Please leave a comment in the comments section stating which option you would choose and your email address stated in a safe method.  Without your email, I may not be able to contact you, should you be the winner.  Contest ends on Sunday Oct.30th at 6:00 pm MDT.

For extra chances to win,
1. please share the link to this post on Facebook.

To gain yet another chance,
2. Sign up for updates on my blog.

Let me know in your comment that you have done so and which option(s) you did.

Monday, October 10, 2016

Chat with Vera: If You Were Me & Lived in... Brazil & If You Were ...

Chat with Vera: If You Were Me & Lived in... Brazil & If You Were ...: The author continues her tried and true series of books written from the perspective of a 12-year-old living in the featured country or spec...

Sunday, October 9, 2016

To Soar With Eagles by Gerald Lund

This conclusion to the series was another great LDS historical novel by Gerald Lund.  I could feel the emotions as their trials beset these early settlers in the in Southern Utah area of Monticello.  The Indians, rogue cowboys and other trials that caused these newcomers to surely wonder if this is where they should settle.

I really enjoyed this book and especially the historical notes and how he entertwined fiction and actual history to bring out a very captivating storyline.  I hope to continue reading his works!

Tuesday, October 4, 2016

To Tuscany With Love by Gail Mencini

I loved the title, the cover and the book sounded like what I envisioned was a "sweet" romance.  I was only at the beginning when I realized that this book was not for me.  I like a nice, clean read, a Christian read and this was not in that category. So that is about all I will say about this book. I won't be finishing it.

I received a copy of this ebook from NetGalley for my honest review.

Sunday, October 2, 2016

From Depths We Rise by Sarah Rodriguez

This book.  It was overwhelming, the trials that this woman and her family and friends had to go through.  The book especially touched me as I lost my father the past March after suffering for eight years with ongoing health issues.  So it was very close to my heart as I read this.

The story of their trials and illnesses were beyond anything most people have to go through, and when you do you know that all things lie in God's hands as to how your own story will go.

The book touched my soul and I felt tears welling throughout the reading of it.  It was amazing how despite it all, she clung to her faith and never waivered, but relied on the Savior to comfort their family and bless them and for the miracles of healing both in body and in spirit.

A wonderful book you will NOT want to miss.

I received a copy of this book from Barbour Publishing for my honest review.

Bone Broth Breakthrough by Dr. Josh Axe

So for the last four months, I have been dealing with a knee that no longer worked as it should.  The pain was getting pretty intense and I had to make a decision, go to the doctor and get pain pills or the suggestion of knee surgery.  This was what I felt I was facing.  I decided neither sounded like a plan I wanted to follow unless it was absolutely my last resort.  So I went to the local health food store and spoke to a counselor about my problems.

She told me about several options and this was one that I wanted to try.  The product by Ancient Nutrition was called Bone Broth Protein.  It was a powder that could be mixed with water, juice, or mixed into foods.  As I read the label and glanced over the recipe book, I felt that this might be something that made sense.   She explained what she had heard back from many people that had tried it and most results were very positive.  I received the book free with the purchase of the product.

The book does inform you of how to make your own bone broth, which, when I find time, may try to do as well.  But for now in my busy life, the ready made product sounded like my first choice at this time.

The book had some very good sounding recipes that I thought I would like to try.  I am hoping that the benefits of the product will be beneficial to me and that I can avoid further problems with joints and cartilage.  The book also contains a daily plan, but because of work, maybe a bit problematic at times or will have to be a program changer of my current lifestyle, somewhat.  It will take some planning, but good health is worth it!  If the program works and the knee improves, I will let you all know in a future post!

Saturday, October 1, 2016

The Devoted by Suzanne Woods Fisher



Suzanne Woods Fisher is one of my favorite Amish writers.  I have been reading her books since I first discovered the Amish genre.  She never disappoints!  The Devoted was book three in the series "The Bishop's Family".

Ruthie Stoltzfus has decisions to make about how to wants to spend the future.  She's prepared herself and is eager and self-assured.  Having been courted by Luke, she finds his lifestyle one that she isn't happy about.  

As Patrick Kelly comes to their Amish community, being an Englisher with a mission, she begins to teach him their Amish language of Pennsylvania Dutch.  

The previous book was a real cliff-hanger and here in book 3 we find the truth of what happened.  This story of forgiving, love and caring for others was an excellent story, without over glamorizing the Amish way of life.  Well written, and a page turner, I will continue to be a big fan of Suzanne's!  I highly recommend this book and can't wait to read more from this wonderful and insightful author.

I received an ebook copy of this book from NetGalley for my honest review which I have given.