Tuesday, January 6, 2015

Winter of Wishes by Charlotte Hubbard

I just finished reading Winter of Wishes which is book 3 in the Seasons of the Heart Series by Charlotte Hubbard.  The earlier books were Summer of Secrets and Autumn Winds.  It was published in September of 2013.  I purchased this book last year and it has been sitting on my TBR pile for quite a little while.  I loved it.  Even though I had not read or seen the first two books in the series, I felt that the characters in the book and the background information given were good enough to not let me realize that I wasn't reading this in the proper order.

The book takes place in Willow Ridge and the story revolves around activities of the Sweet Season's Cafe run by Mirian, mother of Rhoda, who this story was about.

Rhoda has been working at the Cafe and finds a posting from a young single father looking for help raising his two children and caring for his mother who was recovering from a stroke.  Rhoda responds to the post and is offered the job, which she takes.

She immediately becomes attached to the family and becomes an integral part of their lives.  Including the father, Andy.  Although Rhoda is Amish, Andy and his family are not and this causes some difficulty for Rhoda as she and Andy are seen in a compromising situation which is brought before the church elders.

Rhoda seems to have faith that through God, things always work if they are God's plans for you.

Rhoda seems to be an exceptionally wise and caring woman and her character and that of Andy's are very uplifting people.  This story is very good and I would love to read the earlier books. And for those of you that like Amish cooking, there's a real treat at the end!  16 wonderful recipes are found at the end of the book!

Charlotte Hubbard: Author:

You can purchase Winter of Wishes here at Amazon.com .

No comments:

Post a Comment