Tuesday, March 31, 2020

Enchanted by the Rodeo Queen by Melinda Curtis

Another excellent read in The Mountain Monroe series of books.  This is the 5th book in this series.  And as with the earlier books, loved this one as well. 

Emily, a cowgirl at heart and former rodeo queen is looking for love and so are her "eggs".  Yes, her eggs almost seem as participating characters throughout the book.  Makes some fun in this very engaging book.  She has her eye on someone while yet someone else has their eye on her. 

The relationships are fun and serious.  And the book is entertaining, especially now when you are cooped up and quarantined!  Looking for a great book?  Look no farther!

I received an ebook copy from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Thursday, March 26, 2020

The Blue Cloak by Shannon McNear True Colors Series

The writing in this book was excellent.  The author is an excellent writer.  The subject matter was based on historical events which were not pleasant.  It was a rather dark book  and although I love this author, I  had a bit of a struggle finding something uplifting.  I felt it was a very difficult subject matter that the author had to write about.  I think readers that like a book with sinister characters will enjoy the book, whereas I am not that reader.  But that said, this is an excellent author  and the writing held my attention, without a doubt.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.

Friday, March 20, 2020

Hope in the Mountain River (Call of the Rockies Book 2)

This is another wonderful historical adventure book by this author.  Her books are packed with action, adventure and love.  What can be better than that?   Elan and Joel and wonderful characters and form a bond and they look for Joel's brother.  This book will engage and it will enthrall you.  You won't be able to put the book down.  Yes, it's that good and I am sure anxious to read the next book from this author!   Lot's of great reading, here!

I received a complimentary  ebook copy from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Tuesday, March 17, 2020

When God Says Go A Devotional Thought Journal by Elizabeth Laing Thompson

A very timely book!  This is a book filled with scriptural references and thoughts which comfort in the hard days, months and times of our lives.  It gives space to write our own personal thoughts by journaling daily and allowing a space to share our thoughts, express how we feel and perhaps share with family members. 

The book asks questions and suggests things you might write down regarding to thoughts to specific topics expressed on the pages. I don't think you would need to write your thoughts page by page, but also skip to the pages that may have more specific thoughts that are currently on your mind and gives you the space to express the thoughts you have.  I like this very much especially in a troubled World. 

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.

Sunday, March 15, 2020

Twins For The Mountain Firefighter by Melinda Curtis


Book Blurb:  A bachelor’s life…

Because of a not-so-happy childhood, Logan McCall never wanted kids. His sister’s dying wish was that he raise her twin girls. Paralyzed by grief, Logan turns the girls over to their deadbeat dad. He’s regretted that decision ever since, but what can he do? They’re gone.

A nanny with dreams…

Nanny Thea Gayle is just trying to make ends meet while she works on her PhD. When her employer goes missing and the only family member she can find is the twins’ Uncle Logan, she takes the girls from Seattle to Silver Bend, Idaho. But once there, she’s not sure Logan is up to caring for the girls or his elderly aunt. What’s a nanny with a school deadline looming to do?

A traditional, clean romance with no cheating, no cliffhangers, and a guaranteed happily-ever-after.



My review:


I really, really enjoyed this book.  It is the next book in The Mountain Firefighter Series.  Love the characters so much.  Love the inner struggles each has to overcome.  And as the book blurb stated, happily ever after.  So you feel great when you get to the end.

I have really liked this series and am so glad I was able to read this.  There are definitely books that are sooo hard to put down, and this one is one of those, without a doubt.  Loved it!

I received an ebook copy from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Friday, March 13, 2020

The Heartbreaker by J.E.B. Spredemann

This was a very engaging book.  It had no dull moments and it taught some great Christian values.  The story revolves around Miriam Yoder.  Miriam has hard feelings regarding her past which she has kept secret for 5 years.  And then comes Michael, a part of her past that stirs up the deep regrets in her heart.  Both have made mistakes that they are having trouble coming to terms with.  Both need forgiveness of others and of course, themselves.

A great book!  A great real-life style of book.  Things that happen to many.  It's a book well-worth reading.  I highly recommend it.  If you love second chances, you will love this book.

I received an ebook copy from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Wednesday, March 11, 2020

Bachelor Buttons by Kathleen L. Maher Review and Giveaway!



Book Blurb:

The daughter of immigrants who fled the Irish Potato Famine, Rose Meehan longs for a better life than the tenements of New York City. Courted by two men--a young doctor who represents material security, and a poor violin instructor who has captured her heart--she must choose between the two. When Manhattan explodes in mob rule following Lincoln's unpopular draft, Rose’s decision could mean the difference between life and death.


My Review:

This great novella is #3 in the Cry Of Freedom" series, showing the plight of North and South during the Civil War Years.  The book has romance, action, and hard times as people strive to do what they can in difficult and very volatile times.  I hope you will take the time to read this most interesting book and at the same time learn about historical events that shaped our Nation.

I love how the author retells a story of her 2nd great grandmother in a romantic adventure.  Being a genealogist I love to learn of events in my family and the families of others in dramatic times of America. It is heartbreaking to see the way the freedmen were treated during this time and how illness ravages so many. 

I really enjoyed Will who wants to court Rose and goes to great lengths to win the desire of his heart.

Such a good story.  And a Christian story, which I love.  I highly recommend this story.

Kathleen L. Maher’s Author bio:
"Where every underdog has his day."
Kathleen L. Maher’s first crush was Peter Rabbit, and she’s loved conflicted heroes ever since. She has two novellas in BARBOUR BOOKS' collections: Victorian Christmas Brides and Lessons on Love. Winner 2012 ACFW Genesis Award. Author of Sons of the Shenandoah Series: The Abolitionist's Daughter and The Chaplain's Daughter. 
Kathleen and her husband live in an old farmhouse in upstate NY with their children and a small menagerie.


Giveaway!


Thank you so much for having me on your blog, Sonja.  I am  offering a giveaway to one of your readers of an e-copy of Bachelor Buttons. All you have to do to enter is share this post on social media.  The more shares, the more entries.  Just tell me in the comments where you shared to claim your entry(ies). And a way for me to reach you if random dot org selects your name. (email is great.)

Also, I am hostessing a huge Rafflecopter giveaway with another Christian historical author. Please take a moment to enter for your chance to win one of these great prizes!
Raffle copter runs from March 9-18th Grand prize is $50 Amazon GC, second prize is a $25 Ammy GC.

To enter go to this link  Rafflecopter

Happy Saint Patrick’s Day. The luck of the Irish be with you!






Tuesday, March 10, 2020

Her Prince Charming by Anna Del C. Dye

This was a sweet story in a medieval type time period, with princes and royals and those who want to steal the throne.    There is danger, adventure and love!  The princess takes on her personal "armor" to protect and defend her crown. 

I enjoyed the story very much.  It's a very entertaining story that you will enjoy!

I received an ebook copy from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Saturday, March 7, 2020

Before I Called You Mine by Nicole Deese

What an amazing book!  It was a very touching topic and the story has all the emotions!  The characters are stellar!  This is a book you won't want to miss and yes, it is that good!

I loved the Christian values and the fact the God plays an important part in this book.  And I love that so much.  But things are definitely not "perfect" in the lives of those in the book with some unhappy moments.  Drama, a nice romance, and tender times.  They are all there.

The adoption part of the book touched me and rang true, with the trials that go along with the processes.  This is a must read.  Purely wonderful!

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.



Thursday, March 5, 2020

One Last Dance Audible Version by Linda Weaver Clarke

This is such a good book and the Audible version is so enjoyable.  It is very well narrated by Carolyn Kashner, who has done many of Linda Weaver Clarke's Audible books.  It is really fun and relaxing to just listen and enjoy while cooking, cleaning, walking or whatever you choose.  And even when driving to work.  I really enjoyed it and am sure you will also!  It is a sweet, clean and Christian romance.  

When Felicity arrives at home after her father's passing, she finds her mother's new and somewhat mysterious neighbor who her mother has befriended and seems to have plans for. 

This book has some romance, and some mystery and is a historical novel, starting out in the 1830's.  I enjoyed this book and the characters very much.  It's a sweet and clean book and is a great read.  I am sure you will love it, too!

I received an Audible Version from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Monday, March 2, 2020

Star of Persia by Jill Eileen Smith

This was my first book from the author.  I can only say that this might possibly be my most favorite read of the year.  It is soooo good.  This book is an absolute page-turner full of action, and without any dull pages to skip past. 

The author literally makes you feel as though you are living in that time, experiencing all the things that the characters in this wonderful biblical fiction are experiencing.  It is fast moving in the days of Persia, with political conflict and "familial" conflict as well. 

Beautiful Queen Esther is chosen by the King and hides her personal heritage from all and wonders why she was chosen as queen?  But of course, there is a purpose for which God chose her to be in the position she has found herself in.  I love how the author has intertwined fiction and scriptural facts together to make an enthralling tale.

It may be the first book I have read from this author, but I will be looking for more.  Totally enjoyed the book!

I received a complimentary book from the publisher.  All thoughts are my own.

Saturday, February 29, 2020

Like Flames in The Night by Connilyn Cossette

I love this series.  There are not enough words to say how well this book was written.  The research that must have gone into this book must be intense!  And to have such a knowledge of biblical events and history are without comparison.

The storyline was realistic, the characters incredibly believable.  You feel as though you have been carried back to another time and world.  It is such a good book and so very hard to put down.

You will love brave, courageous Tirzah.  She is amazing and yet humble.  If you want a great historical read, this is the book for you!

I received a copy from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Tuesday, February 25, 2020

Like Flames in the Night Author Q & A with Connilyn Cossette


So happy to share some Q & A's from an amazing historical author, Connilyn Cossette.  Her latest book will be releasing on March 3rd!  Click here to see where you can find out more about this intriguing book.  I can tell you that I have been reading the series and have loved every single book.  They are so captivating and life-like, makes you wish you could be there to see all that was taking place.

So here is a little about Connilyn Cossette!

Q. Do you seek out a spiritual theme for each book before you draft, crafting the plot around it? Or does it come to you later as you edit and weave in a theme?

A.  That really is different with every book. There are times when I know going in exactly what the spiritual theme is going to be; like with Until the Mountains Fall which was about a prodigal daughter. But there are times when it takes me almost the entire writing of the book to really figure out what it is the characters are trying to say and what it is the Lord is weaving into my story. And there are times when I may know the spiritual journey of one of the main characters but not the other and it untangles itself as I learn who the characters are together, what their wounds are, what their goals are, etc. There have actually been times when I thought it was one spiritual theme and then it completely surprised me by turning into another by the time I was done.

Q. What do you want your readers to know about you?



A. That I am just a simple girl who loves Jesus and loves to write stories and is absolutely delighted that anyone would want to get to know her imaginary friends. I am beyond blessed to get to hang out in my pajamas and make up stories all day long and somehow people out there want to read them. I am still pinching myself that this is my life! 

Q. How does it feel saying goodbye to characters you’ve been with for so long?

A. It is really so bittersweet because I feel like these people are part of my family and I know them inside and out. So it kind of feels like I’m abandoning them in some way. But they’re always there waiting for me and maybe someday I’ll have a chance to come back and revisit them. And then again I’m also really excited to find new characters and discover their journeys and now that I’m writing this new series I’m having a great time creating a whole new set of people, discovering what makes them tick, and finding all sorts of disastrous and dangerous situations to put them into peril and complicated situations to mess with their heads. I’m kinda evil like that ;) 

Q. If you could travel back in time to personally experience a Bible story, which one would it be and why?

A.  That’s a pretty simple answer for me; other than the resurrection, I would be there for the crossing of the Red Sea because what bigger miracle—other than Jesus rising from the dead in a blaze of pure light—could there be? I sure hope the Lord has that one on video when I get to heaven. Who knows if the way I imagined it was anywhere close to the real thing (because I’m pretty sure Hollywood didn’t get it right) but however it happened it had to have been a mind-blowing thing to witness.


Connilyn Cossette is a Christy Award and Carol Award winning author whose books have been found on both ECPA and CBA bestseller lists. When she is not engulfed in the happy chaos of homeschooling two teenagers, devouring books whole, or avoiding housework, she can be found digging into the rich ancient world of the Bible to discover gems of grace that point to Jesus and weaving them into an immersive fiction experience. Although she and her husband have lived all over the country in their twenty-plus years of marriage, they currently call a little town south of Dallas, Texas their home. Connect with her at ConnilynCossette.com

Sunday, February 23, 2020

An Amish Picnic by Amy Clipston, Kelly Irvin, Kathleen Fuller, Vannetta Chapman

It was really enjoyable to read the four novellas written by four great Amish romance writers!
Each story was entertaining, sweet, and fun to read.  I liked the picnic them that the stories shared and the fun story topics as each was different and revolved around different characters.

I really enjoyed this summer read, especially since it's still pretty cold and I look forward to enjoying a fun picnic!  I think you will enjoy this steady paced and well written set of stories. 

I received a complimentary book and was under no obligation to post a review.  All thoughts are my own.

Friday, February 21, 2020

The Crow's Call by Wanda Brunstetter

This was a really different book by this author.  After the deaths of three family members, surviving family members show their grief in different ways as they try to work through the ordeal that they have experienced.  This book is the start of Amish Greenhouse Mystery series and visits some of the characters from the Prayer Jars Series.  So it was fun to see characters that become friends throughout these books.

After the death of three family members the family greenhouse business is taken over by Belinda, Amy, Sylvia and Henry.  Each showing their grief in different ways and showing how their feelings affect the lives of everyone near to them.  We all experience grief at times in our lives and this book shows we are not alone in this and there are no right or wrong ways to grieve.

A good book with lots of feelings.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.

Tuesday, February 18, 2020

Light Shines on Promise Lodge by Charlotte Hubbard

Light Shines on Promise Lodge by Charlotte Hubbard

This book was a continuation of a very interesting series of books regarding Promise Lodge.  There are four other books that I have read in this series.  My absolute first thought was how striking and beautiful this cover was!  The colors and picture itself are amazing.  That alone makes me want to grab this book right off the shelf.

The book was a wonderful read.  There was a little romance, some captivating mystery, and characters that were familiar from earlier Promise Lodge books.  The story line was excellent!  It seems like a very current  and realistic life problem situation.  One that we see more and more of everyday, in fact.

The book shows a lot of examples of kindness, forgiveness, love and understanding.  The characters grew and developed over the series and that was so fun to see.  This was a good example of how each of us grows and learns in life.

I also wanted to mention that even though this is a series, this book would be fine read alone, although it is such a good series, you wouldn't want to overlook any of the previous books.  And I really think this one was my absolute favorite.  It was so good!  It kept me guessing and turning those pages.  Yet I hoped it wouldn't end.  I am hoping that there are more books coming!

I received a complimentary copy of this book from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Saturday, February 15, 2020

Light Shines on Promise Lodge by Charlotte Hubbard

This book was a continuation of a very interesting series of books regarding Promise Lodge.  There are four other books that I have read in this series.  My absolute first thought was how striking and beautiful this cover was!  The colors and picture itself are amazing.  That alone makes me want to grab this book right off the shelf.

The book was a wonderful read.  There was a little romance, some captivating mystery, and characters that were familiar from earlier Promise Lodge books.  The story line was excellent!  It seems like a very current  and realistic life problem situation.  One that we see more and more of everyday, in fact.

The book shows a lot of examples of kindness, forgiveness, love and understanding.  The characters grew and developed over the series and that was so fun to see.  This was a good example of how each of us grows and learns in life.

I also wanted to mention that even though this is a series, this book would be fine read alone, although it is such a good series, you wouldn't want to overlook any of the previous books.  And I really think this one was my absolute favorite.  It was so good!  It kept me guessing and turning those pages.  Yet I hoped it wouldn't end.  I am hoping that there are more books coming!

I received a complimentary copy of this book from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Wednesday, February 12, 2020

A Son for the Mountain Firefighter by Melinda Curtis

This was such a good book.  I really enjoyed the characters and their interaction with one another.  I loved the concern for others and trying to fix things that needed to be changed.  Sometimes we don't know what others need in a relationship and those things are missing and need to be worked on.

This was a good story of overcoming trials and life's challenges that come into the lives of many.

I really enjoyed this story.  I think others will too.  It's clean and good reading.

I recieved an ebook from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Sunday, February 9, 2020

Sojourner Truth Women of Courage compiled by Barbour Staff

This book intrigued me, having just watched "Harriet".  I really enjoyed the biography of her life and hard times and how she was able to overcome her trials and share her testimony of Christ and God anyway she could. A strong abolitionist and defender of women's rights, even till her older years.

This non-fiction book was a good reminder of the fact we are all God's Children and he loves each of us and will answer our prayers in His time.

As she left family to spread the Word of God, she traveled and spoke about her life and brought many people to a greater understanding.  A very good read.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.

Saturday, February 8, 2020

Jessie and James by Jennifer Beckstrand

I purchased this book at a reader's luncheon and finally had some time to read it!

Although not an Amish book, as I often read from this author, a fun and quirky  book.  The author has a definite sense of humor as also seen in her Amish fiction.  I love a nice, enjoyable light read which causes no stress!

Jesse was a true individual as she protected herself with a rifle close by.  James, a great character and a true gentleman, comes for mining, not Jesse's thing by any means.  The characters are fun, kind, and interesting.  There is some excitement and action to see and lots of fun reading.

You will enjoy this fun book.

Tuesday, February 4, 2020

Critical Decision by Richard L. Mabry, MD

Talk about suspense!  It starts out right away and never quits.  What an enthralling book.  I never felt I could trust the good guys and was always wondering who are the bad guys?  And what lies around the next corner.  This was an excellent book.  It keeps you on your toes and wondering throughout.

Being that the author is a retired doctor turned author, the medical scenes are realistic and exceptionally well written.  I highly recommend this book for all mystery readers.  It's fantastic!

I received an ebook from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Sunday, February 2, 2020

The Land Beneath Us by Sarah Sundin (Sunrise at Normandy Series. Book #3)

Did I love this book?  In a word, yes!!!!  It is the third book in the Sunrise in Normandy Series.  And I mistakenly read book 3 before book 2, which is sitting on my TBR pile!  But regardless of that, this book read well, on it's own and kept me spellbound.  None-the-less, I'll be reading book two!

The characters in this book were stunning examples of lives well lived.  Clay Paxton is working and training to be a US Army Ranger.  He meets Leah Jones, who works at the library at Camp Forrest.  They begin a sweet friendship and then tragedy strikes in the life of Leah.  This changes everything. 

Clay is there to help pick up the pieces and mend both body and spirit of beautiful Leah.  In a marriage of convenience, which is separated by Clays deployment, life for Leah is one of healing and overcoming the past. 

I loved both Leah and Clay.  They had so much to deal with, and although it's not easy, they continue on.

I loved the adoption situation in Leah's past and the search for family which ensued. 

This was a heart wrenching, moving story.  There isn't a single dull moment as both of their lives continue both at home and abroad.  And what will happen to the marriage of convenience when and "if" Clay returns?  You have to read this book.  It was that good.  If I could give it 10 stars, I definitely would!

I received a copy of this book from Revell Publishing.  All thoughts are my own.

Sunday, January 26, 2020

A Long Bridge Home by Kelly Irvin (Amish of Big Sky Country Book 2)

This is an excellent author of Amish fiction.  I enjoyed this timely book of the ravages of fire in Montana.  I say this due to the many wildfires in the US and abroad recently.

The book deals with the evacuation of an Amish village in Montana and the decisions that needed to be made as a result. Christine has decided not to move back to Kansas with her family and finds herself with a native group of people, the Kootenai.

It was a very interesting book.  I was glad to read it and be able to learn some new things about this cultural group.  Great book.

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Friday, January 24, 2020

Converted by Alonzo L. Gaskill

This book was given to me by my daughter who was given a few copies from one of the people featured in this book, a man who is an electrician and former Amish.

This book contains 15 stories of conversion from various religious beliefs, Amish, Buddhist, Judaism and even Atheist.  Each story is the story of how the featured person was converted to the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, also previously called "Mormons". 

The book was very interesting to me and to see the hand of God work in their lives.  I found it to be a touching book  was very interesting to see their experiences, their feelings and struggles as they leave a religious belief and background and literally a culture that was their's for decades.  Very inspiring.


Wednesday, January 22, 2020

Loving Jenna by Amy Lillard

This was the first book of this kind that I have read.  A different type of Amish romance, but definitely very sweet, touching and definitely GOOD!  Jenna, her mom and grandmother start a new life in Wells Landing.  Jenna is a "special" young woman caused by a childhood accident that left her different than before.  In the new home town, Jenna is noticed by another special person, Buddy.  Their friendship blossoms and despite concerns of family and friends, they are determined to be together.

This book is so good.  You will be very emotionally moved by the characters, their obstacles that hinder their personal growth and their determination to succeed.  I loved it.

I received an ebook copy from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Sweet Talk by Judith Keim The Hartwell Women Book 2 Audible Version

It starts with tragedy.  Christen's death.  How can Allison now raise an 8 year old?  How will she support Daisy?  Will she accept her as a mother?

This was the first book that I have had from this author.  I liked the book and the story as well as the narrator were very good.

It was nice to be able to "read" or "listen", actually while driving, and running errands.  So I enjoyed the Audible aspect of this as well.

It was a book of overcoming things in life and dealing with difficult children.  And loving them.

I received an Audible version from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Monday, January 20, 2020

A Kiss is Just a Kiss (The Kissing Test Book 1) by Melinda Curtis

This is such a fun read. In the prologue we meet Dotty, not your everyday grandma. And as we meet Kitty, we find she has been caring for her sisters and making sure they make no mistakes in their relationships.  Grandmother Dotty was hilarious.  Was she for real???  It's anyone's guess.

There's a road trip and all kinds of humor and romance happening in this story. 

The book was a great read and very engaging and enjoyable.  And there are more books after this.  So fun!  Great author and a great read.  You will love it!

I received an ebook copy from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Friday, January 17, 2020

His Unexpected Amish Twins by Rachel J. Good

Such a sweet and wonderful book!  This was a very well written book about a tragic event in the lives of two Amish twins, Chloe and Jabin, whose parents were in a horrific accident.  Their first responder was a wonderful young Amish woman, Hope, who selflessly remained at the side of the children through the aftermath of the accident, their hospitalization and times of need.

Their unmarried uncle is now their caretaker and sees the care and tenderness that Hope shows the children.

Such a good read.  It is a very touching story and a story of faith, love, and understanding.  I loved the tender moments in this story very much.

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Monday, January 13, 2020

The Blizzard Bride by Susanne Dietze The Daughters of the Mayflower Series

Another wonderful book to add to this great series. Abigail comes to Nevada to teach school and to help find a dangerous counterfeiter.  Her former love interest who left her without a word, also appears in the same town.  He doesn't want Abigail to be hurt by this counterfeiter/murderer.  He plans to protect her.  But she is not happy that he left without a word and wants to be involved with her again.

The story is wonderful and I loved it.  The characters are likeable and I kind of wished that Abby had not hardened her heart so much but that added to the story and she learns and grows and works towards changing.

A really touching story.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.

Saturday, January 11, 2020

Two Steps Forward by Suzanne Woods Fisher

The conclusion to the The Deacon's Family Series was a wonderful conglomeration of the previous books with characters that were in previous writings by this author.  I loved how they reappeared and meshed so well with this book.

Sylvie needs help.  She's a widow with a large farm in very run down condition and unpaid back taxes.  She hires her neighbors son, Jimmy, who has been away from home for quite a period of time.  The situation between Jimmy's mother and Sylvie is not a good one and her hiring of Jimmy does not sit well with his mother.  But Jimmy has a special way with horses and Sylvie has a beautiful Arabian stallion.

I love how this book revolves around a beautiful Arabian horse and horse breeding which is a new and refreshing angle.  Love new ideas in an Amish series.  I have read the earlier books of this series, and therefore recognized the names and personalities that appear in this book.  But I still think that it can easily be a stand alone book.

All in all, I loved the book, the series and the amazing writing style of this wonderful author.

I received a copy from Revell Publishing.  All thoughts are my own.

Thursday, January 9, 2020

Christmas by Accident by Camron Wright

This was a shorter length book and didn't quite engage me at the beginning.  Took me a while to start to enjoy the characters and then I started to enjoy the read.  The main characters, Carter and Abby were interesting and fun as a couple for the Christmas romance part of the story.  There was a good Christmas message in the story which you will enjoy.There's some miracles, surprises and a bit of the unexpected.  All in all an interesting book.

There are some tasty sounding recipes at the end of the book.  They sound pretty good.

Monday, January 6, 2020

The Innkeeper's Bride by Kathleen Fuller

Book three of the Amish Bride's of Birch Creek Series was very impressive to me as it dealed with issues that happen to real people.  Sometimes these issues are difficult to talk about to others as was the case for Selah as she tries to deal with and overcome her fears and her past.  It's a realistic view of real life for many people.  I like that the book was not all sugar-coated as they showed their individual struggles in life. 

Although this was book three, it clearly can be read as a stand-alone.  I have read book two, although not book one.

The cover is also so nice.  I really liked it!  Had to say something about that, too!  All in all, I loved it.  No dull reading time in between, totally engaging and realistic in every way.  Levi and Selah's characters were so believable.  Great book, great author!

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Sunday, January 5, 2020

The Trespasser by Jennifer Spredemann

This was an excellent example of God's love for His people regardless of their past.  He loves and watches for them.

The characters, Kayla and Bailey Johnson are mother and little daughter, who find themselves in a raging storm in Indiana as they travel to Pennsylvania.  Looking for a place to stop and rest from the elements brings them to an empty Amish house.  The door is unlocked and in their desperation, they enter and decide to spend the night.  All is well, until Amish caretaker, Silas, comes to check on the property during the storm.

The storyline was really engaging.  I absolutely loved it.  I wanted the book to go on and on, yet at the same time, I wanted to find out what happens so wasn't able to stop till I had finished reading it!

The Christian values that are written into the book are heartwarming and shared real-life experiences that could happen to anyone.  This story of second chances was a great example of growth, repentance and moving on past sorrows and trials.

I received an ebook copy of this book from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Saturday, January 4, 2020

An Unlikely Amish Match by Vannetta Chapman

Book #5 of the Indiana Amish Brides was a fun and engaging book.  Susannah Beiler has decided to protect the other young Amish women from Micah Fisher.  He is definitely not your model Amish man and Susanna decides that the other women won't seek after him if she decides to date him herself.

This was a really good book and has lots of touching and tender moments in it.  And there was humor as well. It was one of those reads that you decide to read in one sitting because you don't want to stop reading.  Micah was a lovable character even though he doesn't always abide by the strict Amish rules and regulations. There are some surprising twists in the story and the characters grow and learn about themselves and others.  Kind of like we do!  I enjoyed this story very much.

I received a copy of this book from the author.  All thoughts are my own.


Friday, January 3, 2020

Guest Post With Linda Weaver Clarke


Guest Post With Linda Weaver Clarke

Today I am happy to host Linda Weaver Clarke on my blog.  This is a really wonderful author and her books are all sweet, clean and very captivating.  I know you will love her books!  She is going to share a little about her latest historical romance!
Welcome Linda!

A Willow Valley Rivalry


This new Historical Romance series is set in the 1800s. Each story has a mystery to solve and each book is family friendly. I have released a new book in this series, which takes place in 1839 in the United States. This was a time of turmoil for many, especially for those who supported the abolitionist movement.

In A Pleasant Rivalry, Angelica Davis is surprised when she finds out that an old school chum has returned to Willow Valley to take over his grandfather’s business. Since she writes articles for the Chronicle and Simon Morgan owns the Willow Valley News, they just happen to be rivals. The competition is on. Who will be the first to discover the identity of the jewel thief or the arsonist? Will it be Angelica or Simon? Gradually the feelings she once had for him return as they both search for the same stories. To her surprise, Angelica realizes she is losing her heart to her rival.

“I loved this book!  It was a great historical read and full of surprises.  I totally didn't expect what happened… to happen.  The time period was an interesting one and I love how the author intertwines historical events into the story.  It was a new and refreshing tale.” –Sunnie Reviews

You will learn about the Trail of Tears, the abolitionist movement that began in Illinois, the refugees that were kicked out of Missouri, and you will fall in love all over again as you see two classmates bond in a pleasant rivalry.

It has been thirteen years since Angelica saw her classmate. He left at the age of seventeen to join the Navy. Now he’s back to run his grandfather’s newspaper business. With Simon running the Willow Valley News and Angelica writing articles for the Chronicle, the competition is on. Who will get the story first? Angelica or her rival?

Watching the rivalry between these two will have you on the edge of your seat, waiting to see what happens next. I would give this book a higher rating than a five star review if I could. Linda Weaver Clarke is an amazing author.” – Debbie Jamieson, Reviewer

Since this is book three in the series, you will meet a few of those from previous stories. You will see Nicholas and Felicity from book one and Emmeline and Lucas from book two. They were beloved characters that snuck back into this story and are even more enchanting. They add a bit of spice to this story.

The first book in the Willow Valley series is One Last Dance. Felicity Brooks is an artist but her career is cut short when her father passes away. When Felicity meets their new neighbor, a fine-looking bachelor, she soon discovers that he is hiding his true identity. Nicholas Adams is on a quest. But that is not all. When she finds out that someone is after a valuable heirloom…a precious treasure that her father had discovered in his attic, her life takes a new turn.

One Last Dance is a historical romance with a mystery to add to the tale. Felicity has always been a strong and independent woman. Amongst mystery, loss, paintings, and a career, she is going to have to decide if love has a place in her heart.” --Author Anna Del C Dye

The second book in the Willow Valley series is Angel’s Serenade. Emmeline Scott is raising her sister’s two children and is surprised when she finds out the new doctor in town is helping her nephew adapt to his surroundings. It is not easy to be uprooted and have to start a new life. As Emmeline gets to know the charming doctor, Lucas Golden, they become intrigued by her neighbor’s mysterious behavior. Will they discover his secret? And who is the leader of the River Pirates, who is causing so much havoc?

Clarke has created a sweet romance that will warm the heart, and it’s wrapped up in fascinating yesteryear details of courting, medical practice and river pirates. I highly recommend the book to those who enjoy sweet romance with a bit of mystery.” –Author Gail Pallotta

Here is a video link for you to dance to with One Last Dance:

Linda’s Website: www.lindaweaverclarke.com


A Pleasant Rivalry is available at Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07Z49N2LJ

Angel’s Serenade is available at Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07RV79LDN

One Last Dance is available at Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07GVNWSP9




About the Author:

Linda Weaver Clarke was raised among the Rocky Mountains of southern Idaho and now lives among the red hills of southern Utah. She is the author of Historical Romance, Cozy Mysteries, Swashbuckling Romance, a Children’s Book, and Nonfiction. Linda teaches a class about writing your family history that is free to the public at the Family Search Center in Southern Utah. She is also a missionary at the Family Search Center where she helps people find their ancestors and learn about their heritage.

Wednesday, January 1, 2020

Rosanna's Gift by Susan Lantz Simpson

Rosanna's Gift was a sweet, wonderful and heartfelt book!  I loved the story and the development of the characters was well paced.  Rosanna and her midwife mother help Amish women deliver their children and Rosanna finds herself helping a non-Amish woman as she delivers a baby and leaves it with Rosanna with the intention that Rosanna will adopt her child.

Her friend Paul loves both Rosanna and the child in her care.  The story is a wonderful romance with caring and loving characters.  Rosanna's family is supportive of her decisions despite some community member's feelings.

I enjoyed the book.  It was a good read.

I received a ebook copy from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.