Monday, June 29, 2020

An Appalachian Summer by Ann H. Gabhart

This book was simply delightful.  At the cusp of her life and not knowing which direction to go in life, she hears the words "do something" and hears Mrs. Breckinridge tell the experiences of the Frontier Nursing couriers in the Appalachian Mountains.  Without much hesitation, Piper Danson hears the call, although not the life or direction expected of her by her parents.

She leaves behind a chance of courtship and an old flame to help the nurse midwives in the mountains.

I loved this book and I want to read others set in this same time frame and beautiful setting.  There wasn't a dull moment in this book, which was well paced and totally engaging.  It was so well written and adventures were exciting and you could see the growth in Piper over her time there.  I can say only the best compliments to the author.  It was simply excellent!

I received a copy of this book from Revell Publishing.  All thoughts are my own.

Wednesday, June 24, 2020

A Reckless Love by Beth White

This is a new author for me.  I enjoyed her writing and this book.  This apparently is book 3 of a series, which I have to admit, the previous books I have not read.  But will certainly consider doing!  I thought the book came in a timely period of our current days as it dealt with the post-war days of the Civil War and definitely relates to our current politically stressful times.

Aurora is a vivacious young woman whose path crosses with a Deputy U.S. Marshall who wears an eye patch.  Their interactions are fun and enjoyable.  I love how her grandmama tells her not to let Zane fall in love with her!  Does that ever work?

I love how they inherit the saloon and the "employees" that come along with it.  Loved it!  Aurora is the youngest of the Daughtry sisters, one married, one engaged and Aurora!

There is suspense, tension, and some sweet romance.  Zane definitely is drawn to Aurora!  The book is very engaging and I loved reading about the historical events that took place in the deep south during this turbulent time.  In was written with careful research to the post war times.  It was very good!  I loved the part where it was written she prayed for him, and prayed with him.

I received a copy of this book from Revell Publishing.  All thoughts are my own.

Friday, June 19, 2020

The Charmer by J.E.B. Spredemann Amish Country Brides Series Book 3

As Jenny finds herself in a serious situation, she flees from the life she has known seeking safety. She "accidentally" meets Paul and her past starts to unravel.  Will anyone believe her, when her own family has not?

This is a very true-to-life story which is probably a reality for way too many.  The lessons learned and the path to resolution are difficult but possible with a little help from caring people and a loving Savior who guides us all.

In a quote from the book, "But can't He just stop the evil, the tragedies?" This is in reference to Deity as Jenny wonders how to resolve her past.  The answer is touching and the book is very enthralling.  It is difficult to put it down.  A very good read and an especially moving storyline.  You will love it!

I received an ebook copy from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Wednesday, June 17, 2020

The Charmer by Jennifer Spredemann


Preorder at this link today!

The Amish Menorah and Other Stories by Patrick E. Craig, Willard Carpenter, Jerry Eicher, Thomas Nye, Murray Pura and Amos Wyse

I thought the cover was beautiful!  And the stories were all touching and amazing.  A collection of short stories written by well-renowned Amish authors, what could be better.  The stories were each different and unique.  They were not continuations of each other, so a real variety of Amish reading.  I really looked forward to reading The Amish Menorah, and as I read it, it was very similar in many ways to the real-life story of my mother while still in Germany during The War.

I enjoyed the stories and hoping that perhaps there is more coming.

I received a review copy from one of the authors.  All thoughts are my own.

Tuesday, June 16, 2020

Guest Post. Linda Weaver Clarke's Latest Series



“I have enjoyed all of Linda Weaver Clarke’s books. You can be assured that they are all clean and sweet. This book contains six short stories of various characters and different holidays celebrated in the 1840 time period. These are enjoyable stories to read any time of year, not just in holiday times. The book carries Christian values, which I love. These are very entertaining stories and I hope you will take the time to read them!” –Sunnie Reviews


Willow Valley Historical Romance

 

The Willow Valley series has humor, adventure, romance, and mystery. Set in the 1800's, each book is family friendly for teens and adults. The first book is One Last Dance, which will keep you guessing until the end of the book. In this historical romance, there is a mystery to solve.

Felicity Brooks is a talented watercolor artist but her career is cut short when her father passes away, so she travels home to care for her mother during this difficult time. When Felicity meets their charming new neighbor, a fine-looking bachelor, she soon discovers that he is hiding his true identity. Nicholas Adams is on a quest. But that is not all. When she finds out that someone is after a valuable heirloom…a precious treasure that her father discovered in his attic, her life takes a new turn. After realizing how much she misses her father, will one last dance heal her broken heart?

The second book in this series is Angel’s Serenade. You will learn about the infamous River Pirates, the remedies for illnesses of that time period, the effects that music has on a person, and you will fall in love all over again.

Emmeline Scott is raising her sister’s two children and is surprised when she finds out the new doctor in town is helping her nephew adapt to his surroundings. It is not easy to be uprooted and have to start a new life. Each day when Emmeline practices the piano, she doesn’t know the doctor secretly sits on his porch to listen to her music. As Emmeline gets to know the charming doctor, Lucas Golden, they become intrigued by her neighbor’s mysterious behavior. Will they discover his secret? And who is the leader of the River Pirates, who is causing so much havoc?

The third book has many surprises. In A Pleasant Rivalry, Angelica Davis is surprised when she finds out that an old school chum has returned to Willow Valley to take over his grandfather’s business. Since she writes articles for the Chronicle and Simon Morgan owns the Willow Valley News, they just happen to be rivals. The competition is on. Who will be the first to discover the identity of the jewel thief or the arsonist? Will it be Angelica or Simon? Gradually the feelings she once had for him return as they both search for the same stories. To her surprise, Angelica realizes she is losing her heart to her rival.

Now for book four! I decided to try something new and different. Since I have never written short stories before, I took upon myself the task of writing six short stories for the Willow Valley series. Before I knew it, I realized that writing short stories was a pleasure and quite fun. It’s called Holidays in Willow Valley. This book is full of surprises.

 

What were the holidays like at Willow Valley, Illinois, in 1840? Relive life in the “olden days” in each of these stories, featuring the characters from the Willow Valley Series. How will Emmeline and Felicity celebrate Valentine’s Day? Do Sam and Josie believe in leprechauns and the pot of gold when St. Patrick’s Day comes around? Is it common to play jokes on one another on April Fools Day? Nicholas and Lucas find out first hand. How will Simon and Angelica celebrate Independence Day and Christmas? When the Irish and Scottish came to America, they brought their Halloween traditions with them. Will Willow Valley accept these traditions? Find out as you share their experiences.

Here are the links:

One Last Dance is available at Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07GVNWSP9
Angel’s Serenade is available at Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07RV79LDN
A Pleasant Rivalry is available at Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07Z49N2LJ
Holidays in Willow Valley: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B089CQL6NB

Order any of my books from Amazon at both my websites below.

Linda’s Website: www.lindaweaverclarke.com

About Author:
Angel's Serenade (A Willow Valley Historical Romance Book 2 ...


Linda Weaver Clarke was raised among the Rocky Mountains of southern Idaho and now lives among the red hills of southern Utah. She is the author of Historical Romance, Cozy Mysteries, Swashbuckling Romance, a Children’s Book, and Nonfiction. Linda teaches a class about writing your family history that is free to the public at the Family Search Center in Southern Utah. She is also a missionary at the Family Search Center where she helps people find their ancestors and learn about their heritage.


The Charmer by Jennifer Spredemann

Pre-order today at this link!

Tuesday, June 9, 2020

Serving Up Love A Four-in-One Harvey House Brides Collection by Tracie Peterson, Karen Witemeyer, Regina Jennings and Jen Turano

This was actually a book that I won from a Goodreads contest.  Lucky me!  It was a great book.  This fun and interesting historical fiction had some nice stories that were captivating and each was unique and different.

There was one new author for me and that was Regina Jennings, and I have to say that I enjoyed her story and her writing style very much.  The stories took place in different and interesting places and I enjoyed learning about some new historical facts.  I honestly wasn't aware of this group of women and looked it up to learn more about them.  Very interesting!


Saturday, June 6, 2020

A Faith of Her Own by Kathleen Fuller A Middlefield Amish Novel Book 1

Kathleen Fuller gifted this book to my 91 year old mother who loves to read and especially enjoys Amish romance.  And of course, she lent it to me to read.  And I am glad she did.

I really enjoyed this book and have to admit that I haven't read the rest of the series yet.  I will definitely try to do that, though.  I am hoping that Anna Mae and Jeremiah might appear in the next book!  Loved these strong and good characters with hearts of gold!

The book started a little slower than some of the "grab you from page one books" that I have been reading lately, but it managed to touch my heart with the warm and loving characters and their care for others well being.  There is a little conflict, romance and some trials as Anna Mae searches to find the path she is meant to follow.  Decisions don't always come easily as her's was not immediately clear to her.  It's a good book of trust in God's plan for each of us, plans that are not always ones we expect or realize without prayer and patience.

Good book, loved it!


Thursday, June 4, 2020

It is Well With My Soul by

I think we all need a book like this!  Specially during this Covid adventure we are all living through at this time.  This book is a feel-good book that can comfort the souls of anyone or any religious group.  It touches on loneliness, our personal struggles and gives ideas on how to open up to God and share our deepest thoughts, concerns and feelings with Him.

A good book to comfort the soul!

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Holidays in Willow Valley by Linda Weaver Clarke


I have enjoyed all of Linda Weaver Clarke's books.  You can be assured that they are all clean and sweet.  This book contains six short stories of various characters and different holidays celebrated in the 1840 time period.  It is interesting to read of people's customs, and their differences from other countries.  These are enjoyable stories to read any time of year, not just in holiday times. 

The characters are good and the book carries Christian values which I love.

These are very entertaining stories and I hope you will take the time to read them!

I received an ebook copy from the author.  All thoughts are my own.


Author Biography

Linda Weaver Clarke has traveled throughout the United States, teaching and encouraging people to write their family history and autobiography. She is the mother of six daughters and has several grandchildren. Clarke is the author of an award-winning sweet romance, Melinda and the Wild West, for the “Reviewers Choice Award.” She has several historical romances, a cozy mystery series, a mystery/suspense series, and a children’s book. All her books are family friendly.

Tuesday, June 2, 2020

Love's Mountain Quest Book 2 Hearts of Montana by Misty Beller

Misty Beller writes an amazing adventure story.  This book had such an engaging storyline.  The mother and widow, Joanna Watson's son is missing.  The story takes her to rugged mountains in the search for him along with Isaac Bowen.  They face many trials, dangers and setbacks as they travel, enough to make anyone give up trying.

It is a beautifully written story filled with a mother's enduring love.  I really enjoyed this!

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Sunday, May 31, 2020

An Impossible Price by Davalynn Spencer Front Range Brides Series Book 3

I loved this sweet historical read.  It's a book that is hard to put down.  Sophie is a midwife and Clay arrives in town and stirs lots of feelings in her heart.  But there is something holding Clay back in their relationship. 

This book was well written and grabs you right from the very start.   It would appear to me that the author either has a great knowledge regarding things written in this book or did a lot of research.  It seemed very accurate to  the time and the setting. It's a sweet romance with characters from the earlier books which I always like to see and remember.

I truly enjoyed this book and am sure other readers who enjoy western historical books will just love it. 

I received an ebook copy from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Friday, May 29, 2020

What Momma Left Behind by Cindy K. Sproles

Page 1 begins with drama!  And the drama never stops.  Worie Dressar is a 17 year old who finds herself in a unexpected parental role.  The story unfolds in 1877 in the Appalachian mountains.  Life was still very rough and rugged.  Worie's mother had been feeding children whose parents died of a fever that was raging in their area.  Kind of reminds you of the Covid days we are experiencing as well.

I loved how the character of Worie's language denotes the language of the mountain people, making it easy to visualize the time and place she was living in.  It's written in the first person of Worie, so a lot of the language in the book portrays this.

This is the second book that I have read from life in these mountains and the first book by this author.  I am certain I will be reading more.  The book is believable, and tragic.  A book that touches on the orphan trains that were also a part of that historical period. The heroine is a strong-willed young woman whose determination does not give up on what she decides to do. 

It is a book worth your time to read and will you feeling full of emotions.  Loved this book.

I received a copy of this book from Revell publishing.  All thoughts are my own.

Monday, May 25, 2020

High Noon (Cyber Division Book 4) By Vannetta Chapman

Book 4  was really a fun read!  It took place in locations that I am very familiar with in my home state, Zion National Park and the Virgin River Gorge area.  Such a beautiful setting for an exciting book about cyber terrorists! 

The rock climbing and repelling add a little more excitement.  A favorite hobby of my grandson!  I really enjoyed the book and there seems to be little touch of romance along the way.  Great book.  You will enjoy it!

I received an ebook copy from the author.  All thoughts are my own.


Thursday, May 21, 2020

Romancing Nadine by Amy Lillard

I love the continuity in this series, how the characters continue throughout subsequent books.  Nadine is twice widowed and single.  Amos has never married and feels that Nadine was meant to be his wife.  Unfortunately Nadine is anything but willing to have Amos court her.

Such an engaging book, and not a dull moment to be found.  This whole series has been so good and I have enjoyed each addition.  I love how Jenna and Buddy are back and we get to see how things continue for them as well.  You can read the book on it's own, but they are all so good that you should read them all learning to love the characters portrayed by the author.

Loved it and recommend it!

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Amish Friends Farmhouse Favorites Cookbook by Wanda E. Brunstetter

This is such a fun cookbook!  It's full of delicious sounding recipes and lots of really interesting tips that I am anxious to try.  The are all types of recipes that are well organized and different from other recipe books that I have.  So I am really excited to have this in my collection! 

I love the cleaning tips, household suggestions, as well as some canning items that are included.  And it also has lots of engaging pictures to help you know how appetizing these food items are.  I have several cookbooks from this author, and this one might just be my favorite one!

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.

Sunday, May 17, 2020

When I Meet You by Olivia Newport

Book Blurb:

A Father-Daughter Genealogy Team Link Present to Past on Family Trees
 
A trunk abandoned at Denver’s Union Station more than a century ago leads Jillian and Nolan to untangle the mystery of its contents—including correspondence with the head of Pinkerton’s National Detective Agency Denver office. While Nolan digs into the legalities of the findings, Jillian searches for the descendants of a stolen identity who might not be who they think they are on Colorado ranch land. When Drew seems anxious to hear what Jillian has to say but his Great Aunt Min slams the subject closed—twice—Jillian is all the more determined to find out what happened to the woman who never claimed her luggage, why Min doesn’t want to talk about it, and what will happen for Drew if he gets the answers he seeks.
 
When I Meet You is the third book in the Tree of Life series by Olivia Newport. You’ll want to return to the lovely Colorado mountain town of Canyon Mines again and again to explore and celebrate unforgettable family stories that will inspire you to connect with your own family histories and unique faith journeys.


My Review:

Those who know me, know that I am a genealogist, know that I will love a book like this.  I'm beginning to be totally convinced that genealogists love to solve all kinds of all kinds and types of mysteries.  So finding a mysterious unclaimed trunk is an absolute fascination for me.  Searching old documents is a blast to find the answers to solve all types of life's mysteries.  So did I like and enjoy reading this book?  Absolutely!  Finding the answer to unresolved issues, is a challenge I love to take.  And so this book was great reading for me.  

I received an ebook copy of this book from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

 

Friday, May 15, 2020

Long Road to Justice by Bruce Hammack

I loved this book.  It was very enthralling and kept me reading a bit too late in the night.  Yes, I wanted to know what happened next and it definitely kept me on the edge of my seat.  It is a well written book.  The author is a very talented author and the book keeps you spellbound.  And a clean read!

I really enjoyed his writing style.  Well worth your time.  And I recommend this great work of fiction that seems real.  I can really see the events happening to someone.  I have to admit since I began reading as a young girl, mysteries were my genre then and I guess that genre still attracts my attention!  Good book!

I received an ebook version from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Monday, May 11, 2020

His Pretend Amish Bride by Rachel J. Good

I loved this book!  There were no boring moments or parts to "skim" over quickly. It's a fast moving book!   I wanted to read every word.  It started out great and kept on going.  I loved the characters and their interactions.

There is a little mystery, and some bad guys and of course, good guys!  Both Priscilla and Gabe have issues from their past to work through and deal with.  Matthew had given Priscilla hope of a happy future together but causes her some shocks that she would never have expected.

Gabe is the owner of a new camel farm producing both camel milk and cow's milk.  Priscilla has been studying the effects of camel's milk on autistic children, because of her job as teacher of special needs children and because of her autistic brother. 

The book is a good Amish read.  If you are prone towards Amish fiction, this one will not disappoint.  And you will read it quickly because you will want to know what happens!  Loved it!

I received an ebook copy from the author via NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Friday, May 8, 2020

Scent of Lilacs by Ann H. Gabhart

This was a really interesting book  as Jocie, finds that her past is not as she had thought it would be.  The events of her life are dramatic, concerning and poignant at times.  As she continues to make new discoveries, she finds, even things she was sure and certain about are not so real and accurate.

This is a touching book of feelings, hurts, hidden memories and love of a father that never ends. This is a Christian book but with realistic life issues that are not often as we hope our lives would have.

I enjoyed the book very much and could certainly relate to some issues that have touched my life in ways as well.

I received a copy of this book from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Tuesday, May 5, 2020

Author Guest Post by Linda Weaver Clarke


Author Guest Post


A Cozy Mystery Series


In this mystery series, Amelia Moore is the founder of the Moore Detective Agency and specializes in missing persons. Her cases have taken her to some very interesting places and put her in some dangerous situations. With the help of Rick Bonito, her business is flourishing. This series is available as seven individual novels or as a three volumes.

In Amelia Moore Mysteries, Volume 1, they travel to exotic places such as Bali Island in Indonesia, Ireland where she gets to kiss the Blarney Stone, and Mexico where she experiences what a rain forest is really like. Volume 1 includes three cozy mysteries.

If you have longed to visit an exotic island, The Bali Mystery will take you there. When Mrs. Brody hires Amelia and Rick to find her missing brother, they find themselves in Bali, Indonesia. They are mystified why her brother quit his job, put his home up for sale, and ran off to this mysterious and exotic island without telling a soul.

Ireland is the next place you can visit with Amelia and Rick. When Amelia is hired to search for her client’s grandparents in The Shamrock Case, the case takes them to Ireland. Kate must learn about her heritage. Who are her grandparents and could they still be alive after all these years? Why did her parents leave Ireland suddenly and move to America? Is there more to this case than meets the eye?

The last place Amelia was thinking of visiting was Mexico. In The Missing Heir, Dell Murphy has passed on and left a fortune to his nephew. He wants his nephew to continue his work at the orphanage in Mexico, but there is one problem. Neal Woods is missing! If Amelia and Rick can’t find him soon, the fortune will be turned over to Dell’s brother and sister who intend to close down “Uncle Dell’s Orphanage.” If that happens, where will the children go?

In Amelia Moore Mysteries, Volume 2, they travel to the haunted Stanley Hotel at Estes Park in Colorado and Color Country in Southern Utah where they visit Zion National Park. Volume 2 includes two cozy mysteries.

In The Mysterious Doll, Pauline Jones is confused why her boyfriend took off without telling a soul where he was going. But that isn’t all. Sam Whitaker is accused of stealing a valuable porcelain doll from the museum. His disappearance makes him look guilty, but Pauline is convinced he is innocent. When Amelia finds Sam, she realizes they need to prove his innocence. Where is the antique doll and who has taken it?

In Her Lost Love, Julie Anderson feels a need to find the man she fell deeply in love with during her youth. That was twenty-five years ago. When Julie went off to college to become a lawyer, she lost contact with her high school sweetheart. She now wants to know what became of Joey and why he stopped writing to her? This is an assignment that intrigues Amelia. The thought of finding a long-lost love seems quite romantic.

In Amelia Moore Mysteries, Volume 3, they travel to the beautiful Louisiana Bayous and visit many intriguing lighthouses along the coast. Volume 3 includes two cozy mysteries.

In Mystery on the Bayou, Amelia is approached by a woman who is concerned about the son she gave up for adoption sixteen years ago. Millie fears he has inherited Marfan’s Syndrome from her side of the family. Not only that, but she has been having nightmares that make her fear he is in danger. She petitioned the court to view the sealed records but was refused. Will Amelia and Rick be able to convince the courts to help them? If her son is in danger, will they get there in time?

In The Lighthouse Secret, Rick Bonito’s uncle supposedly drowned five years ago and his body was never found, but something did not seem right about the report. Uncle Antonio was an excellent swimmer. His disappearance seems quite suspicious to Rick’s father. He never felt the complete truth had come out about his brother. It is now up to Amelia and Rick to find out the truth about his uncle.

“This is a cozy mystery, but there is also suspense, danger and, of course, romance. You have all the makings of an exciting novel.” --Library of Clean Reads

“Amelia and Rick have the makings of being a lasting couple that readers will adore and root for. Clarke knows both her characters and locations well and it shines through each word she writes.” --Socrates Book Review

You can get your copy of Vol 1 by clicking here!
Vol 2 Click here!
Vol 3 Click here!

Author’s Book Blog: https://lindaweaverclarke.wordpress.com

Historical Romance Blog: 
https://historicalromances.wordpress.com

Cozy Mystery Blog: 
https://cozymysteryseries.wordpress.com

Audiobook Blog:
https://family-friendly-audiobooks.blogspot.com

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/lindaweaverclarke

The Amelia Moore Mysteries Vol. 1, 2, & 3






The Shamrock Case

This was right up my alley.  Why?  Because I am a genealogist by profession.  And in this book, the main character, Amelia Moore, a detective, is looking for the family of a young woman, Kate, who was adopted after the death of both of her parents.  She knows they were from Ireland and wants to find her family if possible.  Being a genealogist, I do this everyday as part of my work, also.  I have also worked on a few adoption cases and heir searches. I have also traveled abroad to do research, so I guess that makes me a bit of a detective, also!

This is a cute story and there are unexpected results to the search for Kate's family.  You will have to read this sweet story.  It's a fun and enjoyable read. 

The Bali Mystery

I must say the series has some really interesting settings.  This definitely adds depth to the book with obviously lots of needed research on the part of the author, which clearly was the case.

This is a cozy mystery and so not the intense type of mystery and I find that I am really enjoying that alot. There was a little romance, mystery and some suspense all rolled into one.

I do like / prefer a clean romance.  That is me.   So this book definitely scored points for me in this area.  In other words, a good Christian read.

Amelia and Rick seem to work together well in this book and I will plan on reading other works by this author.  Her assignment:  Find the missing brother.  Her partner in detective work: Rick Bonito.
The setting:  Bali.

Amelia wants to keep the relationship between Rick and herself completely professional, but with a beautiful setting, the perfect person, and a lot of time together, it will be interesting to see how that all turns out.  I am quite certain you will really enjoy this read and I highly recommend it!

The Missing Heir

Having never been to Mexico myself, it was fun to experience Amelia and Rick's journey through a part of this country as they search for the nephew and heir of Dell Murphy, who is missing.  Dell's nephew was expected to continue the work at Dell's orphanage, rather than his brother and sister who would close the orphanage down.  They find many obstacles in their way as they continue their search.

I really enjoyed this book of the series.  Linda's books are very interesting, enjoyable and always a clean read.

I received a copy of this book from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Sunday, May 3, 2020

Angel's Serenade by Linda Weaver Clarke. Narrated by Carolyn Kashner






I loved this sweet historical romance by Linda Weaver Clarke.  All her books are clean, sweet and very fun and interesting to read.  I was happy to be able to listen to this one.  The story and the characters were caring and good people who were concerned with others and their well-being.

Carolyn Kashner is the narrator used by the author.  I have enjoyed listening to her style and voice.  She uses different tones and voices to make it easy to know who is speaking.  

It had adventure too with the river pirates.  I have to be honest and had never heard of them before, so this was something new for me.  But after I thought about it, I see how this could definitely have been a problem for those traveling along the rivers and being vulnerable to attack.

I know you will enjoy this book.  It is a very good book and I wouldn't have wanted to miss even one of Linda Weaver Clarke's wonderful books.

I received an Audible version of this book from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Tuesday, April 28, 2020

On A Coastal Breeze by Suzanne Woods Fisher three Sisters Island Book 2

I enjoyed book 2 of this series very much.  This is an author whose Amish fiction books were among my very favorite and although I am very used to reading those, it has been a refreshing change to read this series.  The characters are enjoyable and all very interesting in their particular spheres in this series, Cam, Blaine and Maddie are sisters on the island, all with different and unique interests.  It's been an enjoyable series and decisions about marriage, careers, health and other topics are a part of this book.  And there are secrets which make the characters who they are, how they feel about themselves and others.

I enjoyed how Maddie's story went back to her youth and explained her feelings, her memories and her thoughts.  This was Maddie's story and I think, am hoping, anyway,  that the next book will be Blaine's story.

I also enjoyed the discussion questions at the end.  Found them thought provoking in many ways.  All in all, a really good book!

I received a copy of this book from Revell Publishing and Net Galley.  All thoughts are my own.




Here I am loving my book!

Monday, April 20, 2020

Unveiling the Past by Kim Vogel Sawyer

A very interesting and intriguing book  and gives a wonderful tale of forgiveness!  The book is Kim is a most interesting author as was this book as well.  Emotional and characters that compel you to keep on reading this excellent book.  Loved it!  As with all her books! 

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Crinoline Cowboys by various Authors

I have loved every book that I have read from these four authors.  It is a wonderful collection of stories of the early western days.  The book is totally Christian and I love that.   Nice, clean and very enjoyable.  A book not to miss!  And I love Texas stories!

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.



The Oregon Trail Romance Collection by various Authors

This book is a very sweet and entertaining set of nine stories of hardships and happiness.  I have read books from several of the authors and a few were new to me and I enjoyed them all.  Very nice and enjoyable book!

I would love to see more of these types of collections!

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

No Ocean To Wide by Carrie Turansky

Such a moving book!    Parts were quite heartbreaking and brought on the tears.  Very emotional book and heart wrenching.

Orphanage stories always touch the heartstrings and this one did that. 
Very good.

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Saturday, April 18, 2020

The Englisch Daughter by Cindy Woodsmall and Erin Woodsmall

The minute I started reading this contemporary Amish fiction, I couldn't put it down.  The storyline really seemed like "real life" issues to me.  No getting around the reality here.  Even the highly contagious horse virus seemed very timely!!!  This book was real, moving and heartbreaking.  All the feels, so to speak. 

I see the struggles of an Amish woman dealing with a not-so-perfect husband and her struggles and heartbreak .  How will she deal with all her challenges that seem so never-ending.

I could relate to the story in so many ways.  It was very good.  So glad I was able to read this excellent book!

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley and Waterbrook Press.  All thoughts are my own.

Friday, April 17, 2020

A Baby for the Mountain Firefighter by Melinda Curtis

This was a sweet contemporary romance.  I really enjoyed the relationship between the slightly older woman, Becca and firefighter Aiden and it was definitely a different storyline.  There was a little conflict, just enough to make it interesting as their relationship develops. 

It was also interesting to meet the other characters in the book  and their caring of one another.  The book is a great read and I will continue reading the works of this author.

I received an ebook copy from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Monday, April 13, 2020

Into the Flames by Gerald N. Lund

This was the ending volume of the Fire and Steel Series.  It was 631 pages and I loved it.  I want it to continue though, as I know there is much more that can go forth.  The author's note at the end, eludes to the fact that perhaps after other writings are completed, he may return to the Eckhardts and the Westland families.  I really hope so!

For me, I actually read some things that I wasn't aware of regarding the Hitler Youth, as my father was inducted into this and he has told me his experience with that. 

I found it a really engaging book and am glad that I have read the entire series.


Tuesday, April 7, 2020

Daybreak by Vannetta Chapman (Cyber Division Book3)

Book 3  was a wonderful addition to the first books of this series.  The author is an amazing writer of Dystopian books!  Loved the suspense!  And with all of our current events in the World these days, you can practically visualize it happening in life rather than a book! 

The book takes right off and there are no dull moments.The research involved here, stuns me.  I was so impressed by the infinite knowledge needed to write such an enthralling tale. Great book and a lot to think about! 

I received an ebook copy from the author.  All thoughts are my own.


Return to Shirley Plantation by Carrie Fancett Pagels Audible Version

This was a charming Civil War romance in novella length. Carrie Fancett Pagels apparently did some extensive research to get the details of this time period and setting.  The story is set at Shirley Plantation in Virginia.  The author has a very pleasant writing style which I enjoyed listening to.

The Story has some unexpected surprises making for a most fascinating tale.  This is a clean Christian romance and I highly recommend it.  It gives you a real taste of life during The Civil War time.  This was a truly enjoyable read!

The narrator Cecily White added charming southern accents and was very enjoyable to listen to!  I think you will enjoy listening to this southern historical fiction.

I received an Audible version from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Monday, April 6, 2020

I found this book to be very intriguing!    I had a hard time putting this one down.  This book was written in first person present tense for the character of Maggie.  The author has a most eloquent way of writing.  The writing is exquisitely done.  The story is totally engaging and  a page turner.

I enjoyed it and think you will too!

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.

Thursday, April 2, 2020

The Chisholm Trail Bride by Kathleeen Y'Barbo

I have read every one of this series of books and they are all good.  This book was no exception!

A memory of events that happened while on a cattle drive with her father has not been forgotten by Eliza Gentry.  The book then moves forward to a later time in her life when romance and adventure become a part of her life.  Making some mistakes in her choices of men is a subject that she often contends with her father about.

The story is really interesting and a page turner for me.  I loved reading it and found it to be quite entertaining.  It was a good addition to the series!

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.

Tuesday, March 31, 2020

Enchanted by the Rodeo Queen by Melinda Curtis

Another excellent read in The Mountain Monroe series of books.  This is the 5th book in this series.  And as with the earlier books, loved this one as well. 

Emily, a cowgirl at heart and former rodeo queen is looking for love and so are her "eggs".  Yes, her eggs almost seem as participating characters throughout the book.  Makes some fun in this very engaging book.  She has her eye on someone while yet someone else has their eye on her. 

The relationships are fun and serious.  And the book is entertaining, especially now when you are cooped up and quarantined!  Looking for a great book?  Look no farther!

I received an ebook copy from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Thursday, March 26, 2020

The Blue Cloak by Shannon McNear True Colors Series

The writing in this book was excellent.  The author is an excellent writer.  The subject matter was based on historical events which were not pleasant.  It was a rather dark book  and although I love this author, I  had a bit of a struggle finding something uplifting.  I felt it was a very difficult subject matter that the author had to write about.  I think readers that like a book with sinister characters will enjoy the book, whereas I am not that reader.  But that said, this is an excellent author  and the writing held my attention, without a doubt.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.

Friday, March 20, 2020

Hope in the Mountain River (Call of the Rockies Book 2)

This is another wonderful historical adventure book by this author.  Her books are packed with action, adventure and love.  What can be better than that?   Elan and Joel and wonderful characters and form a bond and they look for Joel's brother.  This book will engage and it will enthrall you.  You won't be able to put the book down.  Yes, it's that good and I am sure anxious to read the next book from this author!   Lot's of great reading, here!

I received a complimentary  ebook copy from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Tuesday, March 17, 2020

When God Says Go A Devotional Thought Journal by Elizabeth Laing Thompson

A very timely book!  This is a book filled with scriptural references and thoughts which comfort in the hard days, months and times of our lives.  It gives space to write our own personal thoughts by journaling daily and allowing a space to share our thoughts, express how we feel and perhaps share with family members. 

The book asks questions and suggests things you might write down regarding to thoughts to specific topics expressed on the pages. I don't think you would need to write your thoughts page by page, but also skip to the pages that may have more specific thoughts that are currently on your mind and gives you the space to express the thoughts you have.  I like this very much especially in a troubled World. 

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.

Sunday, March 15, 2020

Twins For The Mountain Firefighter by Melinda Curtis


Book Blurb:  A bachelor’s life…

Because of a not-so-happy childhood, Logan McCall never wanted kids. His sister’s dying wish was that he raise her twin girls. Paralyzed by grief, Logan turns the girls over to their deadbeat dad. He’s regretted that decision ever since, but what can he do? They’re gone.

A nanny with dreams…

Nanny Thea Gayle is just trying to make ends meet while she works on her PhD. When her employer goes missing and the only family member she can find is the twins’ Uncle Logan, she takes the girls from Seattle to Silver Bend, Idaho. But once there, she’s not sure Logan is up to caring for the girls or his elderly aunt. What’s a nanny with a school deadline looming to do?

A traditional, clean romance with no cheating, no cliffhangers, and a guaranteed happily-ever-after.



My review:


I really, really enjoyed this book.  It is the next book in The Mountain Firefighter Series.  Love the characters so much.  Love the inner struggles each has to overcome.  And as the book blurb stated, happily ever after.  So you feel great when you get to the end.

I have really liked this series and am so glad I was able to read this.  There are definitely books that are sooo hard to put down, and this one is one of those, without a doubt.  Loved it!

I received an ebook copy from the author.  All thoughts are my own.