Tuesday, December 31, 2019

Midnight Strike by Vannetta Chapman

This was book 2 of the Cyber Division Series.  These are shorter books, but full of intrigue and definitely makes you think about the future! 

There has been a breach in internet security and Nora is on the job to find what is happening, and who is causing the attack.  As you read about the events it makes you wonder if something like this could happen and why?  It's a well written book of things that conceivably could occur in a not-so -perfect world.

The book is spell-binding and a great addition to book 1.   And there appears to be a book 3 coming.

I received an ebook copy from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Monday, December 30, 2019

An Uncommon Woman by Laura Frantz

This book was just amazing.  I have loved every book I have read from Laura Frantz.  What a talented author.  Her ability to describe her scenes to the best detail is absolute genius.

The book is written about 18th century America.  A time when people were settling new frontiers and facing elements, Indians and many, many human hardships and trials.  This book totally encompasses this time frame in history.  The well-researched book about a very strong frontierswoman, Tessa, brings to life her adventures as she helps to forge a way through the trials of Indian territory.

It is so hard to imagine living in this time when each day could bring the unexpected Indian raid, loss of life and family.

As she meets Clay Tygart, their romance is quiet and at first not to be acted upon in his calling as fort commander.  Yet, you can feel their attraction and it keeps you reading to see where it goes.

To watch the character Keturah be taken by Indians was heart wrenching.  But to see the woman she becomes was also fascinating.

Tessa was definitely a strong character, perfect for her situation and always ready to serve in anyway she can.  She always steps up to the needs each time.

I was so happy to be able to read such a well written, and detailed book.  It's depth kept me reading and loving every page of it.  It was full of adventure and action.  No dull moments!

I received a copy of this book from Revell Publishing.  All thoughts are my own.

Tuesday, December 24, 2019

The Gray Chamber by Grace Hitchcock

Wow, this book was so captivating!  The story was so good and you could really imagine that something as horrible as this could truly have happened back in that time.

Edyth finds herself in a horrible predicament as she becomes of age to handle her father's inheritance, but wicked uncle Boris has other plans for her.  And they aren't good.

This book will hold your attention without one dull moment in between.  I found myself reading under the covers because I couldn't stop till I found what happened.  So good.  Has some romance, mystery, suspense.  Yes it had it all.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.

Sunday, December 22, 2019

When Love Finds You by Virginia Wise

This was the first book that I have read from this author.  She is very good.  This was a historical Amish book of a new settlement and about a young Amish woman, who left her previous home to escape her past.  Yet her past seems to follow her in her travels.  She meets an Amish man that she loves and who loves her, but his sister seems to despise her and tries to matchmake Eli with other women, anything to keep Catrina away from her brother.

This is a wonderful book of redemption, forgivesness, and faith.  It was really good, and I had a hard time putting it down.  I will be watching for additions to this new series!

I received an ebook copy of this book.  All thoughts are my own.

Thursday, December 12, 2019

The Amish Wedding Promise by Laura V. Hilton

It's her wedding day and she has cold feet.  Everyone says it's "normal".  Grace always dreamt of her wonderful wedding day but she's not feeling right about it.  She prays that God will stop the marriage and is her prayer answered in a shocking way as a horrible tornado appears and all signs of her fiance are that he did not survive.

As Zeke comes from Shipshewana to help those who experienced the tornado, he tries to help Grace find her fiance.  His feelings for her are strong.

This was a wonderful story!  I loved it.  It had a really different storyline and I had to keep reading to see the outcome!  What is going to happen????  So good!  You will love book 1 of this new series!  I know I did!

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All opinions are my own.

Tuesday, December 10, 2019

Run With My Heart by Lorana Hoopes

Great Christian themed novella!  This book is a good story about a football player with a temper that needs to be toned down.  As a way to help his attitude he is told he must serve the community for 20 hours.  He is assigned to a center for children and asked to teach them and show them the ropes of football.  He is not immediately convinced this is what he wants to do until he spots cute Kenzi and that changes his point of view a bit.

Shelby is the manager of the center which is quickly losing children to attend to a more attractive sounding place not too far away.  She is struggling how to fix up the center and attract new clientele without much luck until she sees a possibility with a football player, Tucker.  Skeptical because he is there to serve his community service, she is at first not very impressed.

The story is one of love of others, sharing of time and talents and it has a great storyline.  It's a very enjoyable read and luckily is the first of a new series called Texas Tornados, Tucker's team.  Can't wait to see what happens next!

I received an ebook from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Saturday, December 7, 2019

Accidental Courtship by Lisa Bingham

This was a book that I received at the last Reader's Luncheon in Utah.  It was so good!  I haven't read any other books from this author, but she's good, so I will be watching for more of her books in the future!

Here's the book blurb:
No women are allowed at the Batchwell Bottoms mining camp—yet Dr. Sumner Havisham headed West seeking a job there. When an avalanche strands her and several mail-order brides, she’s up against strict rules—and stern mine superintendent Jonah Ramsey. But nothing will stop her—especially from helping Jonah, who needs her healing in more ways than one.

For Jonah, his job is a refuge from his past. He has good reasons to stay far away from the spirited Sumner, especially since he thinks he has nothing to offer. But as tensions rise, her caring and skill ignites a love he’d never thought he’d find. Can they save the dreams they’ve worked so hard for—and claim a life together?

I loved the story and loved Sumner.  What a feisty gal!   The story takes place in Utah, where I live, so that made it even more fun and I could totally relate!

I thought Jonah was a great guy and they made for a great story!


Thursday, December 5, 2019

Freedom in the Mountain Wind by Misty Beller

I haven't read a book from this author that I haven't loved!  And this is the start of a new series The Call of the Rockies.  I live in the Rockies and the mountains are amazing.  So I have been trying to envision no freeways and good roads to get up there.  I could never!  So it is great to read of the adventures of Susanna Wilkins and her dying father as they make this last trek to fulfill her father's last dream of following the trails of Lewis and Clark.

The danger are many, the adventure is high and the characters are endearing. (except for a few, of course!) 

I couldn't put this book down, such a great read!  This is a good Christian book and full of emotions. Can't wait to read the next book in the series!!

I received an ebook copy of this book from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Sunday, December 1, 2019

Echoes Among the Stones by Jaime Jo Wright

This is the first book of this author's that I have read.  But won't be the last.  This book was soooo good!  Full of mystery, suspense and wonderful characters.  The two time frames covered in the book made for a really interesting read.  The mystery is complex and difficult to figure out.  I couldn't!

Both of the dualtime line stories, 1946 and the present, were totally engaging and meshed together easily and were well thought out.  Such a thriller!  It was so fascinating to 'hear' the voices of the past as they spoke.

The spooky factor was there as we read about cemeteries, past crimes, a skeleton in the yard and all kinds of action to keep you on your toes and guessing as to what is happening.

The creepy dollhouse was really something!  Gotta read it!  As Aggie starts to try to unravel the past, the interest factor never wanes!

There was lots there for the mystery lover!

I received a copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers.  All thoughts are my own.

Tuesday, November 26, 2019

The Rebel Bride By Shannon McNear

This was the next book in The Daughters of the Mayflower series.   This book was pretty amazing as Pearl MacFarlane is in a situation where she is nursing casualties of the Civil War., both Rebels and Yankees.  This is a tremendously difficult position to be in yet she cares for them all in her own home as she remembers these are someone's sons, husbands or fathers.  She does all she can do and she and one of the Yankee amputees begin to understand one another's beliefs and feelings despite their opposing sides.  Their feelings grow stronger despite their backgrounds.

I really loved this book.  It was so detailed in every way and very well researched.  The book is a true test of faith.  I loved how the author wrote a page to the reader explaining her writings of this book.

It was very well written, highly captivating and definitely Christian.  Loved it!

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and NetGalley and was under no obligation to post a review.

Monday, November 25, 2019

Fading Into The Night by Vannetta Chapman

This suspenseful story  was first a part of an anthology called Summer of Suspense.  Although a quick read, it held my interest and is book 1 of the Cyber Division Series.  I really liked Ben, the Amish man, who discovers a woman agent ready to do him in!  I love his character and hope that he will be in book 2!

The book moves quickly and there are no dull moments.   I really enjoyed reading this!

I received a copy of this ebook from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

The Christmas Wish by Melinda Curtis

The Sunshine Valley widows love to make matches.  The lucky recipients of their match making are Rosalie and Everett.  They seem an unlikely couple at first, he being in charge of tightening the budget strings on their towns coffers.  Including Christmas.  Including jobs.

But there are decisions and hurt feelings to deal with and so how they deal with things makes for an interesting read.  The book is of novella length and very fun to read.  I loved the dogs in the story.  I'm glad this will be a series and more is on the way!

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley and Grand Central Publishing.  All thoughts are my own.

Friday, November 22, 2019

Abraham by Jennifer Beckstrand

This is book two of The Petersheim Brothers series.  It is a wonderful example of this author's humorous and witty Amish romance books.  I love the humor as it makes me laugh out loud.  And I love that.  We all need to laugh!.

The younger brothers of the family are stuck sleeping in the cellar and will go to great lengths to get the older bros to marry and move out in hopes they will inherit those rooms.  The first attempt in book 1 failed and so they are at it again.  This time they hope to get quiet Abraham hitched.  They have the perfect match, Emma, in mind and are determined that this is going to be the key to moving "up" in the house.  But Emma has a lot of suitors.  Whatever are they going to do?

I really enjoyed book two and can't wait to see what happens next!

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Wednesday, November 20, 2019

The Bake Shop by Amy Clipston

This was the first book in the Marketplace Novel series by Amy Clipston.  I loved it.  I will definitely be reading The Farm Stand which is the next in the series.  I enjoyed it so much!  I loved the way the story developed and how it involves a second opportunity and forgiveness and definitely love.  This is a great example of Amish fiction.

This book was exactly how I envision Amish markets.  The people there have their shortcomings and trials, for sure, but as you read, they become endearing and you want them to succeed and find happiness in their life. Christiana and Jeff build their relationship from a growing friendship.  So good!

I received an ebook version from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Tuesday, November 19, 2019

Once Upon a Dickens Christmas by Michelle Griep

This book consisted of three stories  in a Christmas compilation.  It was really a fun read and I enjoyed the stories very much The stories took place in the Victorian period England.  I especially enjoyed the second story in the book entitled A Tale of Two Hearts. I guess you could say it was my favorite one!

The stories were all delightful reads and bring you into the holiday mood.  Two stories had been previously published as single novellas, but I really like the combined stories as one book.

Michelle Griep is  a talented author and has a real way with words in the stories clearly bringing you back to the Charles Dickens times.  It was a good clean, Christian read.  Very entertaining. 

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.

Saturday, November 16, 2019

Searching For True Happiness by Linda Weaver Clarke (Audible Version)

I listened to this Audible version today.  I think I kind of needed it, too.  Feeling a bit "not as happy as I would like to be" due to health issues that seemed to linger way too long.  After reading this book, I felt uplifted and had more hope.

The author tells of her own personal trials, as well as those of family members, and how they overcame.  We all experience these times and she explains how they may us more capable to feel the pain or sorrow of others and be able to help them.

I found myself taking quite a few notes, and in a way, wished I had the paperback version, so that I could highlight and mark up the parts that were of special significance to me.

Happiness is not just getting the things in life that you want.  And the author gives some "assignments" to practice the things that she talks about in her book.

There are many worthwhile ideas to help us as we try to find happiness in our lifes, through service, love, and kindness.

I felt I learned some great ideas and think you will, too.

I received an Audible copy of this book. All thoughts are my own.

Never Forget the Past by Lorana Hoopes

This book was pretty action packed and kept me guessing to the end, who the culprit in the story was.  The story line was interesting where the fire fighter, Matt Fisher, was targeted by an arsonist.  He and Lieutenant Makenna Drake determined that he should keep out of sight and be
"assumed" dead to protect him from further threats. 

Taking on a new persona and his family not knowing that he was actually still living, he becomes Billy or Bubba Campbell.  But after five years, the arsonist is once more starting fires and targeting people.  Bubba returns home and then its a matter of finding the arsonist and keeping him from starting more and more fires. 

It's a good read.  I enjoyed it.

I received an Arc from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Wednesday, November 13, 2019

Desert Intrigue Audible Version by Linda Weaver Clarke

I have listened to the other books of the series, so was happy to listen again.  I enjoy Audible books because I can take them with me anywhere.  Right on my phone.  So it's handy!

This book takes place in the Superstition Mountains.  Even just the title points to a great read!  I enjoyed the tale of the Lost Dutchman and all the mysterious adventures that take place in the lives of John and Julia. Evans.

In this read you will find, mystery, suspense, wedding plans gone awry, a trip to the hospital and a very  exciting backdrop in the Arizona desert. 

The narrater was Carolyn Kashner, who has narrated several other books of this author.  She does a great job of helping the listener know who's who.

I received an Audible copy from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Tuesday, November 12, 2019

In The Cradle Lies by Olivia Newport

This book was right up my alley!  I'm a genealogist and my husband is a skier.  The book is book 2 of the Tree of Life Series.  I have read and enjoyed book 1 as well, and can't wait for the next book in the series to come out.

I love a book with mystery, romance and activities that I or my family members are involved in, so this was a good choice for this genealogist to read!

The genealogist, Jillian, tries to resolve the secret behind Tucker's past. And as a "good" genealogical researcher, she is in everyone's business.  I know, that's how it is!  But genealogists truly do solve LOTS of mysteries and family relationships.  Great book and good reading!

I loved the mystery and the resolve. 

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and NetGalley no obligation to post a review.

Wednesday, November 6, 2019

Amish Front Porch Stories by Wanda E. Brunstetter, Jean and Richelle Brunstetter

Amish Front Porch Stories: 18 Short Tales of Simple Faith and Wisdom by [Brunstetter, Wanda E., Brunstetter, Jean, Brunstetter, Richelle]



I  really enjoyed the peaceful and sweet stories by this writing trio.  This book contains 18 stories which all seem to teach a life's lesson.  The stories include different topics, including depression and overcoming.  It talks about life's hardships, joys and sorrows.  The stories were obviously short but all told a wonderful theme with life's various happy and not so happy moments.  It seems that the other characters in the stories often share some good advice and help to others.  I enjoyed these suggestions and ideas.  Good book to make you think about things!

I enjoyed this book and even the cover is pleasant and enjoyable to see on the bookshelf..

I recommend this book!

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and NetGalley and was under no obligation to post a review.

Sunday, November 3, 2019

The Samurai's Garden by Gail Tsukiyama

Book Blurb:

The daughter of a Chinese mother and a Japanese father, Tsukiyama uses the Japanese invasion of China during the late 1930s as a somber backdrop for her unusual story about a 20-year-old Chinese painter named Stephen who is sent to his family's summer home in a Japanese coastal village to recover from a bout with tuberculosis. Here he is cared for by Matsu, a reticent housekeeper and a master gardener. Over the course of a remarkable year, Stephen learns Matsu's secret and gains not only physical strength, but also profound spiritual insight. Matsu is a samurai of the soul, a man devoted to doing good and finding beauty in a cruel and arbitrary world, and Stephen is a noble student, learning to appreciate Matsu's generous and nurturing way of life and to love Matsu's soulmate, gentle Sachi, a woman afflicted with leprosy.

My Thoughts:

This book interested me as my grandson is currently in Japan for the next 2 years.  I wanted to learn some historical type events, a little more about the culture and just generally read a good book taking place in Japan.

I really enjoyed the book and found some sad moments as Sachi and Matsu's story is revealed.  The leprosy in Japan was something I had not read or heard about before. Matsu is a generally good person and he was very likeable because of his caring ways.  Stephan was a very interesting character torn between two homes as War touched their lives.  His feelings towards his father and the situation there are moving and touching.

I am quite happy to have read this interesting book and recommend it as a very good book to invest your time to read.

Friday, November 1, 2019

Dead Wrong by Vannetta Chapman

I was excited to read a new cozy mystery by Vannetta Chapman.  It was a great read and there were many people who could have been the person or persons who could have been Russel Dixon's murderer.  This book keeps you guessing and enjoying the Amish B&B and the camaraderie betweein the characters of the book. 

Accused of the murder, Amish B&B owner, Agatha, needs to find a way to clear her name.  With the help of her neighbor, they start the investigation on their own.  Loved it!  Great book!

I received a copy of this book from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Sunday, October 27, 2019

Just in Time For Christmas by Davalynn Spencer

Abigale Millerton leaves a Denver women’s school and returns to her grandparents’ high-country ranch to find the boy she’d grown up with not a boy any longer—and butting in on her challenge with local timber thieves. If he’d stop telling her what to do, they might get along.

Seth Holt has loved Abigale since before he knew better. And now that she’s back in the high country, she’s still as bull-headed as ever. But Seth can match her, and he’s determined to keep her out of harm’s way and in his line of sight. Trouble is, he’d rather keep her in his arms.

This was a great read.  The beginning grabs you from the start.  The characters were interesting and the story plot kept you reading.  It was a sweet romance with a bit of intrigue/mystery to keep the interest going.  I liked the interaction between Abigale and Seth and the tension between them.

I recommend this very nice read and am sure you will enjoy it.

I received an ebook copy from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Monday, October 21, 2019

A Pleasant Rivalry by Linda Weaver Clarke

This was book 3 in the Series called A Willow Valley Historical Romance.  I loved this book!  It was a great historical read and full of surprises.  I totally didn't expect what happened to happen.  So that being said, the time period was an interesting one and I love how the author intertwines historical events and her faith into the story.  It was a new and refreshing tale.

Two different writers for competitive newspapers work on getting the best stories.  They are old friends who were separated in time by 13 years and meet again in their positions as news reporters.

I am sure you will enjoy this book!  I highly recommend it!

I received an ebook copy of this book.  All thoughts are my own.

Thursday, October 17, 2019

The Roll of The Drums by Jan Drexler

This was a really good historical Amish book.  It was book 2 of the Amish of Weaver's Creek.  I love historical and the characters in this book were such caring and good people even through the hardest times. 

The characters had some life-changing trials and challenges.  And I loved the promises made, the difficulties, the forgiving and the deep friendships.This book took place during the Civil War period making it a hard time for the Amish.

This book was so good.  I really loved reading it.  Didn't want it to end...

I felt all the feelings of Gideon at the passing of his wife, the promise she wanted him to make and the responsibility he felt towards his children. This book was very poignant and stirring.  I highly recommend it to all those who love Amish fiction. 

I received a copy of this book from Revell Publishing.  All thoughts are my own.

Tuesday, October 15, 2019

New Beginnings at Promise Lodge Blog Tour and Giveaway!!

Welcome Charlotte Hubbard to my blog!

I am so happy to be a part of Charlotte Hubbard's blog tour.  I've read this book and loved it! And Charlotte will be awarding a $15.00 Amazon card or Barnes and Noble gift card to one randomly drawn commenter via rafflecopter!  So be sure to leave a comment! And leave a comment on each blog stop!



This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. The author will be awarding a $15 Amazon or Barnes & Noble gift card via the Rafflecopter at the end of this post. Click on the tour banner to see the other stops on the tour.
Recently widowed after twenty years of marriage, Frances Lehman is only just tasting the freedom and opportunity that her Promise Lodge friends enjoy. So she's not about to be pressured into marriage by her widowed brother-in-law, even if she and her daughter have no real means of support. Much more promising is her new friendship with Preacher Marlin Kurtz, though their respective families don't see their relationship as proper . . .

When Frances suffers a serious injury, she's determined to prove she can recover—and remain independent—without burdening Marlin. Now, with his steadfast belief in real love tested, Marlin's hope is that Promise Lodge's irrepressible residents can help him restore Frances's joy—and that faith will show them a way to turn their fragile second chance into a blessed and abiding future together.


And don't miss the first three books in the Promise Lodge series!





Enjoy an excerpt from "New Beginnings at Promise Lodge":

Frances shaded her eyes with her hand, enthralled with what she saw. “It doesn’t seem like you and I have walked such a long distance, yet from here, the lodge and our homes look like part of a toy village.”

“We’ve come a long way,” Marlin remarked softly. “I’m glad you’ve walked with me, Frances. Our community has taken on even more of a glow because I’m seeing it through your eyes.”

The tone of his voice made Frances’s pulse thrum with an unusual sense of energy, as though the preacher had something on his mind besides the view.

We’ve come a long way.

# # #

Allen treasured Phoebe’s rapt expression and the closeness of her slender body as she leaned against him. He’d given her a gift by showing her Promise Lodge from this hilltop vantage point.

“What about that parcel of land behind the Lehman places?” she asked dreamily. “We’d have a beautiful view of the lake. What do you think, Allen? Should I ask Mamm if I can have it?”

Allen’s throat closed with a sudden case of nerves. He eased away from her, pretending to look at something near the lodge so she wouldn’t see how she’d startled him. Their relationship, which had felt so comfortable over the past week, now gave him the sensation that an invisible halter had been fastened around his head—and that Phoebe was holding the lead rope.

About the author: In 1983, Charlotte Hubbard sold her first story to True Story. She wrote around 70 of those confession stories, and she’s sold more than 50 books to traditional or online publishers. A longtime resident of Missouri, she’s currently writing Amish romances set in imaginary Missouri towns for Kensington. She now lives in St. Paul, MN with her husband of 40+ years and their Border collie, Vera.

Website: http://www.charlottehubbard.com
FB: https://www.facebook.com/charlotte.hubbard1

Kindle: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07MKX3NTT/
Kindle UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B07MKX3NTT/
Kindle Canada: http://www.amazon.ca/dp/B07MKX3NTT/
Kindle Australia: http://www.amazon.com.au/dp/B07MKX3NTT/
iBooks: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/new-beginnings-at-promise-lodge/id1448128057?mt=11
iBooks UK: https://itunes.apple.com/gb/book/new-beginnings-at-promise-lodge/id1448128057?mt=11
iBooks Canada: https://itunes.apple.com/ca/book/new-beginnings-at-promise-lodge/id1448128057?mt=11
iBooks Australia: https://itunes.apple.com/au/book/new-beginnings-at-promise-lodge/id1448128057?mt=11
iBooks New Zealand: https://itunes.apple.com/nz/book/new-beginnings-at-promise-lodge/id1448128057?mt=11
Nook: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/new-beginnings-at-promise-lodge-charlotte-hubbard/1130055278?ean=9781420145137
Kobo: https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/new-beginnings-at-promise-lodge
Google Play: https://play.google.com/store/books/details/Charlotte_Hubbard_New_Beginnings_at_Promise_Lodge?id=bNqBDwAAQBAJ

Order Print
Zebra Books
September 24, 2019
ISBN-13: 9781420145106
ISBN-10: 142014510X
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ISBN=142014510X/
Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ISBN=142014510X
Amazon Canada: http://www.amazon.ca/exec/obidos/ISBN=142014510X
Barnes and Noble: http://search.barnesandnoble.com/booksearch/isbninquiry.asp?ean=9781420145106
Books-A-Million: http://www.booksamillion.com/product/9781420145106
IndieBound: http://www.indiebound.org/book/9781420145106
The Book Depository: http://www.bookdepository.com/book/9781420145106


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, October 14, 2019

Laura Ingalls Wilder Farm Journalist Edited by Stephen W. Hines

I loved all of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House books.  I grew up on them, actually.  But the farm journalist side of her works did not interest me so much.  It was interesting to hear about life in the 1911-24 time period and see the everyday types of things that were involved in farm and rural life.  It didn't capture my attention as did the Little House books, but of course this was a compilation of her newspaper articles that she wrote.

Judy Joo's Korean Soul Food

I wanted to find Korean recipes for which I would be able to easily find the ingredients.  Many I can't.  There was a reference to a place called HMart which specializes in Korean foods.  But not near me at all.  Perhaps online orders?  As there are many recipes that I would like to try. 

I am not a fan of Kimchi so those are classic Korean but I love Bulgogi, which was my first introduction into Korean food.  I was glad to see that recipe there. And will be making that for sure! 

Looking forward to trying out some new recipes.  I am really into classic Korean and Asian food.  I can see that there are some new/modern type recipes in this book and those I was not familiar with, such as the Ko-Mex, Korean-Mexican style recipe.

I received an ebook copy of this book from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.


Saturday, October 12, 2019

Stitches in Time by Suzanne Woods Fisher

This was such a great read.  I love anything by this author.  Her writing is so good.  This story starts right off as Luke becomes a very reluctant Deacon in the Amish church.  Knowing that this would be a big problem with his new wife, Izzy as his time would now be shared with the members of his church.

He finds a way to help the community by finding placement for foster children among his church community.  There are challenges and things aren't as good as he had hoped for.  And the girls are sometimes troubled and wayward.

This is a great addition to this series. It is the second book in the Deacon's Family series.  The story line was really believable as I saw the stress and concern Luke had as he became the Deacon by the drawing of lots. 

It's a book that will be hard for you to put down.  If you like Amish fiction, it's well worth the read!  I loved it.

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Monday, October 7, 2019

A Distance Too Grand by Regina Scott

This was a very different historical adventure.  The beautiful cover is picture perfect for this well-written book.  I loved the cover and I loved the book.

As the photographer Meg, begins her adventure to go with the expedition to determine a route through the Grand Canyon, she is not happily welcomed.  It was expected that the contract to photograph during the expedition, signed by M. Pero, was a male photographer.  Not a woman.

This book was filled with adventure, beautiful descriptions, and some romance.  Ben Coleridge is a man from her past whom she refused to marry.  So that little twist brings some fascinating moments. 

It was amazing some of the things Meg did to get that perfect shot.  Wow!  She was pretty courageous!  The heights she would go or descend to, to get that picture.  I would never have that kind of courage.  As other dangers start to happen, the book fills with intrigue, suspense and adventure.

This book is the start of the author's American Wonders Collection series.  I will definitely be waiting and watching to read each volume.

I loved Meg and Ben.  Their chemistry was perfect and even though she had refused him before, perhaps the second opportunity will be different?

This was my first book that I have read from this author.  Quite frankly, I loved it!  I loved the new and fresh series idea.  A good read.  I highly recommend it.

I received a copy from Revell books.  All thoughts are my own.

Wednesday, October 2, 2019

Lessons on Love by Susanne Dietze, Rita Gerlach, Kathleen L. Maher, and Carrie Fancett Pagels

This was such a good book.  It's 440 pages so I thought it would take some time for me to read, but the stories were so engaging that I couldn't put it down.  It was really a great read.  There are four stories written by some very talented authors.

The four stories cover four different time periods, 1840, 1870, 1894, and 1904.  So you get a little different perspective of those years in the different stories about school teachers and their responsibilities and rules, etc.

Having been an immigrant myself, the story of the Swede's  called "Love in any Language" really hit home as I remember learning the English language and then trying to help my mom to understand, which took much longer.  It is a challenge. 

I loved "In Desperate Straits", the title being a cute play on words, and how Maggie dresses as a man to work the job that is a job that would otherwise go to one of her brothers.  Such a great story by a very talented writer.

The book was so nice to read.  I can only say I am glad not to have been a teacher back in the day.  The rules! 

I received an ARC copy from one of the authors.  All thoughts are my own.

Tuesday, October 1, 2019

Jingle Bells, Rifle Shells by Bruce Hammack

Another good Steve Smiley and Heather McBlythe mystery to read!  Love this series.  There is always lots of mystery in these books. 

After a shooting, Steve and Heather befriend Bella, a teen, whose step father was the victim.  The victim, Blake was very controlling and expoitatious over Bella's life and she was in great need of a friend.  Is her goal to find his shooter or to find her biological parents?   

There's a long list of possible shooters, and Steve and Heather start the search.  There's some tongue-in-cheek humor as well and that makes the book a fun and entertaining read.

This book is a page turner and keeps you guessing throughout.  An enjoyable read.

I received an ebook copy of this book.  All thoughts are my own.

Monday, September 30, 2019

The Grumble Free Year by Tricia Goyer

This was another great self-help type book by Tricia Goyer.  With a hope of creating a home without grumbling, Tricia decided to help her children learn how to live happily together without bickering, fighting and bad relationships.

She incorporated her plans of going a full year without complaining into her homeschooling learnings.  She used scripture, using it to correlate with their goals that they had each set.  They did activities to see what causes the grumbling in their household.  And she writes about how they decided to try to resolve them.

At the end of each chapter there is a reflection page where you can ponder on some of the questions that are also there.  This is a good section to help people to visualize where problems may lie.  As you think about them you realize some of the directions in your life.  She discusses that change begins in your heart.  And what should we do to work on "not grumbling".  We all need to own up to our own shortcomings.  Are they caused by our insecurities?  We need to learn to trust in God's Plan for us.

We all experience hard seasons in life so it is easy to find things to grumble about.

I felt that there was a lot of learning in this book, personal experiences that would relate to the majority of us.  It's a good book to ponder and to help with some of the problems that keep us from having the happy co-existence we all hope to have in our family life.

I highly recommend this book and am sure that there is much to learn from it.

I received an ebook version of this book from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Sunday, September 29, 2019

Hope's Highest Mountain by Misty Beller

Micah is now a mountain man, away from the life he once knew.  He comes upon a wagon wreck on  a mountain with one lone survivor.  The survivor, Ingrid, with badly a broken leg.  Ingrid was traveling with her father to deliver smallpox vaccine to a fort in the west that was badly in need of it.

Now the question is how can a woman with a broken leg and a man make it to deliver the vaccine?

This boook of western historical times, was amazing, as has been every book of this author that I have had the opportunity to read.  The adventure will keep you turning pages, the romance, sweet and growing.  The hope always there.

I loved how they relied on God for their needs, healing both physically and spiritually and basically all they did.  Such a sweet adventurous and certainly never boring tale.  A real page turner!

I received a copy of this book from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Friday, September 27, 2019

Amish Friends Christmas Cookbook by Wanda E. Brunstetter

I wasn't quite sure if I was reviewing the book in the picture above, because the picture on my cover looks slightly different.  The bottom is the same, as is the middle, with title, but the top of mine doesn't have any food, but rather an Amish horse and buggy and a snow scene.  I checked and both publication dates were the same.  So I am certain it's the same book.  At some point the picture must have changed.

I also have an older, 2014 version of this book and there are some of the same recipes in this version, however there are additional recipes and they sound really good.  This version has a different arrangement of the recipe topics and different indexes.  There is an index of the contributors, which is really nice to see. There is an index of recipes by section and a recipe of the key ingredients, such as beef, beans, etc.

The pictures are really nice and appealing and there are some really nummy looking foods!  Each section has beautiful Amish pictures and a appropriate type of scripture.  The contributers are mentioned and where their Amish community was, coming from many different locations, which would give you samples of different Amish groups, I'm sure.

I am anxious to start cooking!

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.


Monday, September 23, 2019

Her Second Chance Forever Groom by Lorana Hoopes

This was a grab you from the start book of novella length.

Left behind by a young man seeking to have a football career, Mia marries and that did not have a happy story.  She's on her own now, with a son, trying to nurture and support him financially.  This was an emotional and heartfelt story with Christian values, and a story of improving one's self to make a better life.

When former boyfriend, Emmitt returns to town, how is this going to turn out?  Great story with all the feels!

You will really enjoy this fast and fun read.

I received an ebook copy from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Sunday, September 22, 2019

Listening To Love by Beth Wiseman

This was a sweet and endearing book to me.  I loved how the characters of different religious stages in their lives and different understandings come together as friends and how relationships form and become damaged and see whether they have the needed faith to repair the imperfections that exist.

Lucas is a young Amish man who has a special and close friendship with Natalie.  As this friendship grows family members become very concerned about this and worry that their friendship will become more.  And they have too many differences to make this possible. 

I couldn't put this book down.  It was so good.  The author really draws you in.  It's good.  Really good.

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Wednesday, September 18, 2019

You Can't Judge a Book By It's Murder by Amy Lillard Book 1 Main Street Book Club Mystery

This was a fun cozy mystery and I totally enjoy a good mystery-who-dun-it type of book.  I liked the idea of the All-school reunion, having been to one that was so fun.  So the book starts right out with a body and the police are convinced it was a suicide, but Arlo and Chloe, best friends, feel differently.  They are convinced he was pushed. 

This book takes place in Mississippi and has a fun Southern flavor to it.  There are some rather fun villagers among the "cast of characters" and I enjoyed the fun that these people brought to the story-line. 

Enjoyed it and think you will too!

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Sunday, September 15, 2019

An Amish Honor: An Amish Romance Inspired by A Beloved Bible Story by Jennifer Spredemann

At age 17, Joseph King is loved by his father and not so much by his 1/2 brothers.  They are clearly envious of Joseph's standing with his father.  This story is based on the story of Joseph in the Bible and written with Amish characters who have similarities to those in the Bible story. 

I like this series of books as they show the teachings and stories from the Bible can still apply to us in our day, not just in a time period that is often hard to relate to.

This book is a wonderful addition to the other books in this series.  Stories of faith and love of family.

I enjoyed it very much.

I received an ebook version from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Saturday, September 14, 2019

The Amish Christmas Matchmaker by Vannetta Chapman

I think that the only author of whom I have read every single book written by them, is Vannetta Chapman.  That alone says something about this book.  Yes, I have enjoyed this author's books very much over the years.  I don't want to miss a single one.  This book delivered.  I loved how she incorporated her state into the story, which added lots of interest to me. 

It was a sweet romantic book with just the right amount of characters, not too many to get you confused as to who was who.  It had a definitive story-line, which I really enjoyed as Levi, in Stetson and cowboy boots, attempts to convince them to settle in a far-away settlement that he wants to start.  I love how God seems to move in his life to set him onto the path he needs to follow and how Annie is a feisty, high-spirited gal with determination and spunk.

A well-written and very enjoyable read.

I received an ARC copy of this book.  All thoughts are my own.

Tuesday, September 10, 2019

Mountains of Grace by Kelly Irvin

I really enjoyed this book which started up quickly in a fire situation.  Fires, although they can "clean" the environment, also cause much devastation and heartache.  The way the author writes about the cleaning or purification of hearts and souls is heartwarming.  The story was one of faith and trials.

In the area where I live, fires are an always big worry.  So I felt the feelings of the characters.

Enjoyed it very much.

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Friday, September 6, 2019

You Belong With Me byTari Faris

This was a very real contemporary read with real-life issues.  Hannah is a realtor who is not selling too many houses.  The reason:  She wants to maintain the historic atmosphere of her hometown.  But there is someone who wants to rid the town of it's historic buildings and make the area a strip mall. 

It is against everything Hannah believes in.  I loved her convictions, and I know that had it been me, I would have fought for historical over modern any day.  The characters were easy to care for, with backgrounds that were difficult and feelings that were hard to overcome. 

The conflict between Hannah and her brother Thomas were moving as Thomas deserts the girl he has dated for years, the girl everyone expected him to settle down with.

The storyline was so captivating and I couldn't put this book down.  I hadn't read anything from this author prior to this book, but I can say she is an excellent author.  I look forward to reading lots more of her books! 

I received a copy of this book.  All thoughts are my own.


Thursday, September 5, 2019

Keeping Her Close by Carol Ross


Book Blurb:

Hired to protect her

…unable to resist her

The job sounds simple: teach a businessman’s daughter how to stay safe. But former navy SEAL turned bodyguard Kyle Frasier has a personal motive, too. Harper Jansen is his late best friend’s fiancĂ©e. Loyalty demands he protect her, not that Harper looks in need of rescuing. In fact, it’s Kyle who needs help—balancing duty with his desire to build a life with the one woman he shouldn’t want…

My Thoughts:

This was a great story by Carol Ross.  Kyle is hired to protect Harper and is somewhat torn as to his feelings for her and respect for the memory of his best friend.  As they continue to be together, strong feelings develop and his isn't sure of the best way to handle them.

It's a really good story about feelings that could easily happen under these circumstances.  It's a sweet story and I really enjoyed it so much!  Sorry to see it end!  You will love it!

I received an ebook copy.  All thoughts are my own.

Unbound by Eleanor Bertin

Such a great read!  I loved it and it kept me going from the very first page.  This is the first book I have read from this author.  She is very good at sharing a redemptive story interwoven with Biblical themes of the story of Naomi and Ruth.  It's cool to see how Biblical stories can still be applicable in our day and age.

It was a very good read.  I am sure you will love it too!

I received an ebook copy of this book.  All thoughts are my own.

Monday, September 2, 2019

I Love You So Mochi by Sarah Kuhn

This was a really fun book that I picked up for my mom at the local library.  After she finished, she told me that I should read this one, too.  Being as my husband is Japanese and my grandson is on a Japanese Church Mission for 2 years.

It was a fun book to read.  It had a few words in it, that may be a consideration for some.  Aside from that I enjoyed reading about some cultural differences and learned a few words and their context.

The storyline kept a good pace and was not boring at any time.  The visit to Japan made me want to add this to my bucket list!  It sounds so beautiful and the food...well, Japanese food is wonderful and reading about it definitely made me hungry!  Kimi's friends were modern, and fun and it was just plain fun to read.

Sweet story about family relationships, some misunderstandings and bonding.  Very fun.