Wednesday, November 6, 2019

Amish Front Porch Stories by Wanda E. Brunstetter, Jean and Richelle Brunstetter

Amish Front Porch Stories: 18 Short Tales of Simple Faith and Wisdom by [Brunstetter, Wanda E., Brunstetter, Jean, Brunstetter, Richelle]



I  really enjoyed the peaceful and sweet stories by this writing trio.  This book contains 18 stories which all seem to teach a life's lesson.  The stories include different topics, including depression and overcoming.  It talks about life's hardships, joys and sorrows.  The stories were obviously short but all told a wonderful theme with life's various happy and not so happy moments.  It seems that the other characters in the stories often share some good advice and help to others.  I enjoyed these suggestions and ideas.  Good book to make you think about things!

I enjoyed this book and even the cover is pleasant and enjoyable to see on the bookshelf..

I recommend this book!

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and NetGalley and was under no obligation to post a review.

Sunday, November 3, 2019

The Samurai's Garden by Gail Tsukiyama

Book Blurb:

The daughter of a Chinese mother and a Japanese father, Tsukiyama uses the Japanese invasion of China during the late 1930s as a somber backdrop for her unusual story about a 20-year-old Chinese painter named Stephen who is sent to his family's summer home in a Japanese coastal village to recover from a bout with tuberculosis. Here he is cared for by Matsu, a reticent housekeeper and a master gardener. Over the course of a remarkable year, Stephen learns Matsu's secret and gains not only physical strength, but also profound spiritual insight. Matsu is a samurai of the soul, a man devoted to doing good and finding beauty in a cruel and arbitrary world, and Stephen is a noble student, learning to appreciate Matsu's generous and nurturing way of life and to love Matsu's soulmate, gentle Sachi, a woman afflicted with leprosy.

My Thoughts:

This book interested me as my grandson is currently in Japan for the next 2 years.  I wanted to learn some historical type events, a little more about the culture and just generally read a good book taking place in Japan.

I really enjoyed the book and found some sad moments as Sachi and Matsu's story is revealed.  The leprosy in Japan was something I had not read or heard about before. Matsu is a generally good person and he was very likeable because of his caring ways.  Stephan was a very interesting character torn between two homes as War touched their lives.  His feelings towards his father and the situation there are moving and touching.

I am quite happy to have read this interesting book and recommend it as a very good book to invest your time to read.

Friday, November 1, 2019

Dead Wrong by Vannetta Chapman

I was excited to read a new cozy mystery by Vannetta Chapman.  It was a great read and there were many people who could have been the person or persons who could have been Russel Dixon's murderer.  This book keeps you guessing and enjoying the Amish B&B and the camaraderie betweein the characters of the book. 

Accused of the murder, Amish B&B owner, Agatha, needs to find a way to clear her name.  With the help of her neighbor, they start the investigation on their own.  Loved it!  Great book!

I received a copy of this book from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Sunday, October 27, 2019

Just in Time For Christmas by Davalynn Spencer

Abigale Millerton leaves a Denver women’s school and returns to her grandparents’ high-country ranch to find the boy she’d grown up with not a boy any longer—and butting in on her challenge with local timber thieves. If he’d stop telling her what to do, they might get along.

Seth Holt has loved Abigale since before he knew better. And now that she’s back in the high country, she’s still as bull-headed as ever. But Seth can match her, and he’s determined to keep her out of harm’s way and in his line of sight. Trouble is, he’d rather keep her in his arms.

This was a great read.  The beginning grabs you from the start.  The characters were interesting and the story plot kept you reading.  It was a sweet romance with a bit of intrigue/mystery to keep the interest going.  I liked the interaction between Abigale and Seth and the tension between them.

I recommend this very nice read and am sure you will enjoy it.

I received an ebook copy from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Monday, October 21, 2019

A Pleasant Rivalry by Linda Weaver Clarke

This was book 3 in the Series called A Willow Valley Historical Romance.  I loved this book!  It was a great historical read and full of surprises.  I totally didn't expect what happened to happen.  So that being said, the time period was an interesting one and I love how the author intertwines historical events and her faith into the story.  It was a new and refreshing tale.

Two different writers for competitive newspapers work on getting the best stories.  They are old friends who were separated in time by 13 years and meet again in their positions as news reporters.

I am sure you will enjoy this book!  I highly recommend it!

I received an ebook copy of this book.  All thoughts are my own.

Thursday, October 17, 2019

The Roll of The Drums by Jan Drexler

This was a really good historical Amish book.  It was book 2 of the Amish of Weaver's Creek.  I love historical and the characters in this book were such caring and good people even through the hardest times. 

The characters had some life-changing trials and challenges.  And I loved the promises made, the difficulties, the forgiving and the deep friendships.This book took place during the Civil War period making it a hard time for the Amish.

This book was so good.  I really loved reading it.  Didn't want it to end...

I felt all the feelings of Gideon at the passing of his wife, the promise she wanted him to make and the responsibility he felt towards his children. This book was very poignant and stirring.  I highly recommend it to all those who love Amish fiction. 

I received a copy of this book from Revell Publishing.  All thoughts are my own.

Tuesday, October 15, 2019

New Beginnings at Promise Lodge Blog Tour and Giveaway!!

Welcome Charlotte Hubbard to my blog!

I am so happy to be a part of Charlotte Hubbard's blog tour.  I've read this book and loved it! And Charlotte will be awarding a $15.00 Amazon card or Barnes and Noble gift card to one randomly drawn commenter via rafflecopter!  So be sure to leave a comment! And leave a comment on each blog stop!



This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. The author will be awarding a $15 Amazon or Barnes & Noble gift card via the Rafflecopter at the end of this post. Click on the tour banner to see the other stops on the tour.
Recently widowed after twenty years of marriage, Frances Lehman is only just tasting the freedom and opportunity that her Promise Lodge friends enjoy. So she's not about to be pressured into marriage by her widowed brother-in-law, even if she and her daughter have no real means of support. Much more promising is her new friendship with Preacher Marlin Kurtz, though their respective families don't see their relationship as proper . . .

When Frances suffers a serious injury, she's determined to prove she can recover—and remain independent—without burdening Marlin. Now, with his steadfast belief in real love tested, Marlin's hope is that Promise Lodge's irrepressible residents can help him restore Frances's joy—and that faith will show them a way to turn their fragile second chance into a blessed and abiding future together.


And don't miss the first three books in the Promise Lodge series!





Enjoy an excerpt from "New Beginnings at Promise Lodge":

Frances shaded her eyes with her hand, enthralled with what she saw. “It doesn’t seem like you and I have walked such a long distance, yet from here, the lodge and our homes look like part of a toy village.”

“We’ve come a long way,” Marlin remarked softly. “I’m glad you’ve walked with me, Frances. Our community has taken on even more of a glow because I’m seeing it through your eyes.”

The tone of his voice made Frances’s pulse thrum with an unusual sense of energy, as though the preacher had something on his mind besides the view.

We’ve come a long way.

# # #

Allen treasured Phoebe’s rapt expression and the closeness of her slender body as she leaned against him. He’d given her a gift by showing her Promise Lodge from this hilltop vantage point.

“What about that parcel of land behind the Lehman places?” she asked dreamily. “We’d have a beautiful view of the lake. What do you think, Allen? Should I ask Mamm if I can have it?”

Allen’s throat closed with a sudden case of nerves. He eased away from her, pretending to look at something near the lodge so she wouldn’t see how she’d startled him. Their relationship, which had felt so comfortable over the past week, now gave him the sensation that an invisible halter had been fastened around his head—and that Phoebe was holding the lead rope.

About the author: In 1983, Charlotte Hubbard sold her first story to True Story. She wrote around 70 of those confession stories, and she’s sold more than 50 books to traditional or online publishers. A longtime resident of Missouri, she’s currently writing Amish romances set in imaginary Missouri towns for Kensington. She now lives in St. Paul, MN with her husband of 40+ years and their Border collie, Vera.

Website: http://www.charlottehubbard.com
FB: https://www.facebook.com/charlotte.hubbard1

Kindle: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07MKX3NTT/
Kindle UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B07MKX3NTT/
Kindle Canada: http://www.amazon.ca/dp/B07MKX3NTT/
Kindle Australia: http://www.amazon.com.au/dp/B07MKX3NTT/
iBooks: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/new-beginnings-at-promise-lodge/id1448128057?mt=11
iBooks UK: https://itunes.apple.com/gb/book/new-beginnings-at-promise-lodge/id1448128057?mt=11
iBooks Canada: https://itunes.apple.com/ca/book/new-beginnings-at-promise-lodge/id1448128057?mt=11
iBooks Australia: https://itunes.apple.com/au/book/new-beginnings-at-promise-lodge/id1448128057?mt=11
iBooks New Zealand: https://itunes.apple.com/nz/book/new-beginnings-at-promise-lodge/id1448128057?mt=11
Nook: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/new-beginnings-at-promise-lodge-charlotte-hubbard/1130055278?ean=9781420145137
Kobo: https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/new-beginnings-at-promise-lodge
Google Play: https://play.google.com/store/books/details/Charlotte_Hubbard_New_Beginnings_at_Promise_Lodge?id=bNqBDwAAQBAJ

Order Print
Zebra Books
September 24, 2019
ISBN-13: 9781420145106
ISBN-10: 142014510X
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ISBN=142014510X/
Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ISBN=142014510X
Amazon Canada: http://www.amazon.ca/exec/obidos/ISBN=142014510X
Barnes and Noble: http://search.barnesandnoble.com/booksearch/isbninquiry.asp?ean=9781420145106
Books-A-Million: http://www.booksamillion.com/product/9781420145106
IndieBound: http://www.indiebound.org/book/9781420145106
The Book Depository: http://www.bookdepository.com/book/9781420145106


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, October 14, 2019

Laura Ingalls Wilder Farm Journalist Edited by Stephen W. Hines

I loved all of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House books.  I grew up on them, actually.  But the farm journalist side of her works did not interest me so much.  It was interesting to hear about life in the 1911-24 time period and see the everyday types of things that were involved in farm and rural life.  It didn't capture my attention as did the Little House books, but of course this was a compilation of her newspaper articles that she wrote.

Judy Joo's Korean Soul Food

I wanted to find Korean recipes for which I would be able to easily find the ingredients.  Many I can't.  There was a reference to a place called HMart which specializes in Korean foods.  But not near me at all.  Perhaps online orders?  As there are many recipes that I would like to try. 

I am not a fan of Kimchi so those are classic Korean but I love Bulgogi, which was my first introduction into Korean food.  I was glad to see that recipe there. And will be making that for sure! 

Looking forward to trying out some new recipes.  I am really into classic Korean and Asian food.  I can see that there are some new/modern type recipes in this book and those I was not familiar with, such as the Ko-Mex, Korean-Mexican style recipe.

I received an ebook copy of this book from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.


Saturday, October 12, 2019

Stitches in Time by Suzanne Woods Fisher

This was such a great read.  I love anything by this author.  Her writing is so good.  This story starts right off as Luke becomes a very reluctant Deacon in the Amish church.  Knowing that this would be a big problem with his new wife, Izzy as his time would now be shared with the members of his church.

He finds a way to help the community by finding placement for foster children among his church community.  There are challenges and things aren't as good as he had hoped for.  And the girls are sometimes troubled and wayward.

This is a great addition to this series. It is the second book in the Deacon's Family series.  The story line was really believable as I saw the stress and concern Luke had as he became the Deacon by the drawing of lots. 

It's a book that will be hard for you to put down.  If you like Amish fiction, it's well worth the read!  I loved it.

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Monday, October 7, 2019

A Distance Too Grand by Regina Scott

This was a very different historical adventure.  The beautiful cover is picture perfect for this well-written book.  I loved the cover and I loved the book.

As the photographer Meg, begins her adventure to go with the expedition to determine a route through the Grand Canyon, she is not happily welcomed.  It was expected that the contract to photograph during the expedition, signed by M. Pero, was a male photographer.  Not a woman.

This book was filled with adventure, beautiful descriptions, and some romance.  Ben Coleridge is a man from her past whom she refused to marry.  So that little twist brings some fascinating moments. 

It was amazing some of the things Meg did to get that perfect shot.  Wow!  She was pretty courageous!  The heights she would go or descend to, to get that picture.  I would never have that kind of courage.  As other dangers start to happen, the book fills with intrigue, suspense and adventure.

This book is the start of the author's American Wonders Collection series.  I will definitely be waiting and watching to read each volume.

I loved Meg and Ben.  Their chemistry was perfect and even though she had refused him before, perhaps the second opportunity will be different?

This was my first book that I have read from this author.  Quite frankly, I loved it!  I loved the new and fresh series idea.  A good read.  I highly recommend it.

I received a copy from Revell books.  All thoughts are my own.

Wednesday, October 2, 2019

Lessons on Love by Susanne Dietze, Rita Gerlach, Kathleen L. Maher, and Carrie Fancett Pagels

This was such a good book.  It's 440 pages so I thought it would take some time for me to read, but the stories were so engaging that I couldn't put it down.  It was really a great read.  There are four stories written by some very talented authors.

The four stories cover four different time periods, 1840, 1870, 1894, and 1904.  So you get a little different perspective of those years in the different stories about school teachers and their responsibilities and rules, etc.

Having been an immigrant myself, the story of the Swede's  called "Love in any Language" really hit home as I remember learning the English language and then trying to help my mom to understand, which took much longer.  It is a challenge. 

I loved "In Desperate Straits", the title being a cute play on words, and how Maggie dresses as a man to work the job that is a job that would otherwise go to one of her brothers.  Such a great story by a very talented writer.

The book was so nice to read.  I can only say I am glad not to have been a teacher back in the day.  The rules! 

I received an ARC copy from one of the authors.  All thoughts are my own.

Tuesday, October 1, 2019

Jingle Bells, Rifle Shells by Bruce Hammack

Another good Steve Smiley and Heather McBlythe mystery to read!  Love this series.  There is always lots of mystery in these books. 

After a shooting, Steve and Heather befriend Bella, a teen, whose step father was the victim.  The victim, Blake was very controlling and expoitatious over Bella's life and she was in great need of a friend.  Is her goal to find his shooter or to find her biological parents?   

There's a long list of possible shooters, and Steve and Heather start the search.  There's some tongue-in-cheek humor as well and that makes the book a fun and entertaining read.

This book is a page turner and keeps you guessing throughout.  An enjoyable read.

I received an ebook copy of this book.  All thoughts are my own.

Monday, September 30, 2019

The Grumble Free Year by Tricia Goyer

This was another great self-help type book by Tricia Goyer.  With a hope of creating a home without grumbling, Tricia decided to help her children learn how to live happily together without bickering, fighting and bad relationships.

She incorporated her plans of going a full year without complaining into her homeschooling learnings.  She used scripture, using it to correlate with their goals that they had each set.  They did activities to see what causes the grumbling in their household.  And she writes about how they decided to try to resolve them.

At the end of each chapter there is a reflection page where you can ponder on some of the questions that are also there.  This is a good section to help people to visualize where problems may lie.  As you think about them you realize some of the directions in your life.  She discusses that change begins in your heart.  And what should we do to work on "not grumbling".  We all need to own up to our own shortcomings.  Are they caused by our insecurities?  We need to learn to trust in God's Plan for us.

We all experience hard seasons in life so it is easy to find things to grumble about.

I felt that there was a lot of learning in this book, personal experiences that would relate to the majority of us.  It's a good book to ponder and to help with some of the problems that keep us from having the happy co-existence we all hope to have in our family life.

I highly recommend this book and am sure that there is much to learn from it.

I received an ebook version of this book from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Sunday, September 29, 2019

Hope's Highest Mountain by Misty Beller

Micah is now a mountain man, away from the life he once knew.  He comes upon a wagon wreck on  a mountain with one lone survivor.  The survivor, Ingrid, with badly a broken leg.  Ingrid was traveling with her father to deliver smallpox vaccine to a fort in the west that was badly in need of it.

Now the question is how can a woman with a broken leg and a man make it to deliver the vaccine?

This boook of western historical times, was amazing, as has been every book of this author that I have had the opportunity to read.  The adventure will keep you turning pages, the romance, sweet and growing.  The hope always there.

I loved how they relied on God for their needs, healing both physically and spiritually and basically all they did.  Such a sweet adventurous and certainly never boring tale.  A real page turner!

I received a copy of this book from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Friday, September 27, 2019

Amish Friends Christmas Cookbook by Wanda E. Brunstetter

I wasn't quite sure if I was reviewing the book in the picture above, because the picture on my cover looks slightly different.  The bottom is the same, as is the middle, with title, but the top of mine doesn't have any food, but rather an Amish horse and buggy and a snow scene.  I checked and both publication dates were the same.  So I am certain it's the same book.  At some point the picture must have changed.

I also have an older, 2014 version of this book and there are some of the same recipes in this version, however there are additional recipes and they sound really good.  This version has a different arrangement of the recipe topics and different indexes.  There is an index of the contributors, which is really nice to see. There is an index of recipes by section and a recipe of the key ingredients, such as beef, beans, etc.

The pictures are really nice and appealing and there are some really nummy looking foods!  Each section has beautiful Amish pictures and a appropriate type of scripture.  The contributers are mentioned and where their Amish community was, coming from many different locations, which would give you samples of different Amish groups, I'm sure.

I am anxious to start cooking!

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.


Monday, September 23, 2019

Her Second Chance Forever Groom by Lorana Hoopes

This was a grab you from the start book of novella length.

Left behind by a young man seeking to have a football career, Mia marries and that did not have a happy story.  She's on her own now, with a son, trying to nurture and support him financially.  This was an emotional and heartfelt story with Christian values, and a story of improving one's self to make a better life.

When former boyfriend, Emmitt returns to town, how is this going to turn out?  Great story with all the feels!

You will really enjoy this fast and fun read.

I received an ebook copy from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Sunday, September 22, 2019

Listening To Love by Beth Wiseman

This was a sweet and endearing book to me.  I loved how the characters of different religious stages in their lives and different understandings come together as friends and how relationships form and become damaged and see whether they have the needed faith to repair the imperfections that exist.

Lucas is a young Amish man who has a special and close friendship with Natalie.  As this friendship grows family members become very concerned about this and worry that their friendship will become more.  And they have too many differences to make this possible. 

I couldn't put this book down.  It was so good.  The author really draws you in.  It's good.  Really good.

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Wednesday, September 18, 2019

You Can't Judge a Book By It's Murder by Amy Lillard Book 1 Main Street Book Club Mystery

This was a fun cozy mystery and I totally enjoy a good mystery-who-dun-it type of book.  I liked the idea of the All-school reunion, having been to one that was so fun.  So the book starts right out with a body and the police are convinced it was a suicide, but Arlo and Chloe, best friends, feel differently.  They are convinced he was pushed. 

This book takes place in Mississippi and has a fun Southern flavor to it.  There are some rather fun villagers among the "cast of characters" and I enjoyed the fun that these people brought to the story-line. 

Enjoyed it and think you will too!

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Sunday, September 15, 2019

An Amish Honor: An Amish Romance Inspired by A Beloved Bible Story by Jennifer Spredemann

At age 17, Joseph King is loved by his father and not so much by his 1/2 brothers.  They are clearly envious of Joseph's standing with his father.  This story is based on the story of Joseph in the Bible and written with Amish characters who have similarities to those in the Bible story. 

I like this series of books as they show the teachings and stories from the Bible can still apply to us in our day, not just in a time period that is often hard to relate to.

This book is a wonderful addition to the other books in this series.  Stories of faith and love of family.

I enjoyed it very much.

I received an ebook version from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Saturday, September 14, 2019

The Amish Christmas Matchmaker by Vannetta Chapman

I think that the only author of whom I have read every single book written by them, is Vannetta Chapman.  That alone says something about this book.  Yes, I have enjoyed this author's books very much over the years.  I don't want to miss a single one.  This book delivered.  I loved how she incorporated her state into the story, which added lots of interest to me. 

It was a sweet romantic book with just the right amount of characters, not too many to get you confused as to who was who.  It had a definitive story-line, which I really enjoyed as Levi, in Stetson and cowboy boots, attempts to convince them to settle in a far-away settlement that he wants to start.  I love how God seems to move in his life to set him onto the path he needs to follow and how Annie is a feisty, high-spirited gal with determination and spunk.

A well-written and very enjoyable read.

I received an ARC copy of this book.  All thoughts are my own.

Tuesday, September 10, 2019

Mountains of Grace by Kelly Irvin

I really enjoyed this book which started up quickly in a fire situation.  Fires, although they can "clean" the environment, also cause much devastation and heartache.  The way the author writes about the cleaning or purification of hearts and souls is heartwarming.  The story was one of faith and trials.

In the area where I live, fires are an always big worry.  So I felt the feelings of the characters.

Enjoyed it very much.

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Friday, September 6, 2019

You Belong With Me byTari Faris

This was a very real contemporary read with real-life issues.  Hannah is a realtor who is not selling too many houses.  The reason:  She wants to maintain the historic atmosphere of her hometown.  But there is someone who wants to rid the town of it's historic buildings and make the area a strip mall. 

It is against everything Hannah believes in.  I loved her convictions, and I know that had it been me, I would have fought for historical over modern any day.  The characters were easy to care for, with backgrounds that were difficult and feelings that were hard to overcome. 

The conflict between Hannah and her brother Thomas were moving as Thomas deserts the girl he has dated for years, the girl everyone expected him to settle down with.

The storyline was so captivating and I couldn't put this book down.  I hadn't read anything from this author prior to this book, but I can say she is an excellent author.  I look forward to reading lots more of her books! 

I received a copy of this book.  All thoughts are my own.


Thursday, September 5, 2019

Keeping Her Close by Carol Ross


Book Blurb:

Hired to protect her

…unable to resist her

The job sounds simple: teach a businessman’s daughter how to stay safe. But former navy SEAL turned bodyguard Kyle Frasier has a personal motive, too. Harper Jansen is his late best friend’s fiancĂ©e. Loyalty demands he protect her, not that Harper looks in need of rescuing. In fact, it’s Kyle who needs help—balancing duty with his desire to build a life with the one woman he shouldn’t want…

My Thoughts:

This was a great story by Carol Ross.  Kyle is hired to protect Harper and is somewhat torn as to his feelings for her and respect for the memory of his best friend.  As they continue to be together, strong feelings develop and his isn't sure of the best way to handle them.

It's a really good story about feelings that could easily happen under these circumstances.  It's a sweet story and I really enjoyed it so much!  Sorry to see it end!  You will love it!

I received an ebook copy.  All thoughts are my own.

Unbound by Eleanor Bertin

Such a great read!  I loved it and it kept me going from the very first page.  This is the first book I have read from this author.  She is very good at sharing a redemptive story interwoven with Biblical themes of the story of Naomi and Ruth.  It's cool to see how Biblical stories can still be applicable in our day and age.

It was a very good read.  I am sure you will love it too!

I received an ebook copy of this book.  All thoughts are my own.

Monday, September 2, 2019

I Love You So Mochi by Sarah Kuhn

This was a really fun book that I picked up for my mom at the local library.  After she finished, she told me that I should read this one, too.  Being as my husband is Japanese and my grandson is on a Japanese Church Mission for 2 years.

It was a fun book to read.  It had a few words in it, that may be a consideration for some.  Aside from that I enjoyed reading about some cultural differences and learned a few words and their context.

The storyline kept a good pace and was not boring at any time.  The visit to Japan made me want to add this to my bucket list!  It sounds so beautiful and the food...well, Japanese food is wonderful and reading about it definitely made me hungry!  Kimi's friends were modern, and fun and it was just plain fun to read.

Sweet story about family relationships, some misunderstandings and bonding.  Very fun.

Sunday, September 1, 2019

Mail-Order Misfire by Davalynn Spencer

This book was a breath of fresh air.  A sweet western romance with wonderful characters, a captivating story-line and of course a little action, as well.

Bern Stidham was both preacher and sheriff, and widower with a 9 year-old daughter to raise.   Unbeknownst to him, his daughter arranged a bride for him.  And when the bride, Etta arrives, what is he to do with her?

It was a sweet, happy, clean and Christian read.  I just loved it!

I received an ebook copy of this book.  All thoughts are my own.

Saturday, August 31, 2019

Rescued by the Perfect Cowboy by Melinda Curtis

So I love this Monroe series and am so happy that I was able to read the next installment. Single mom, Sophie Monroe is starting a new business in "Second Chance".  What is Second Chance?  It is the town that grandfather Harlan Monroe gave to all his grandchildren to inherit.  And there was a stipulation.  They must all work together on the town to bring it to life.

Sophie has a set of twins who need child care, enter Zeke who volunteers for the job.  But her kids are pretty lively, should we say.  As Zeke recovers from an accident, he cares for the twins, but finds there might be more to this "job" than meets the eye. And Zeke holds back a secret from Sophie, something that makes him feel unqualified to be in Sophie's life.

It's a fun and wonderful addition to the rest of the series and I loved it.  It's such a good read!  You will absolutely love this book.  I highly recommend it!

I received an advance copy of this book.  All thoughts are my own.

Monday, August 26, 2019

Montezuma Intrigue by Linda Weaver Clarke (Audible Version)

This series has been full of intrigue, adventure, suspence and romance.  This book was great.  Lots of mysterious happenings and interesting action.  I love how the author writes about an area where she lives near, in Southern Utah.  I can also identify with this area, as I live in Utah as well. 

I love exploring the petroglyph areas and historical areas of Utah and so this book was captivating to me.  I loved the camping, the adventure and everything.  It was a great book to add to the series and because it was an Audible version, I could take it with me whereever I went.

The narrator Caroline Kashner is very talented making the Audible version very interesting and easily identified when a different character was speaking.  Great read, clean, enjoyable and very entertaining.

I received an Audible copy of this book from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

New Beginnings at Promise Lodge by Charlotte Hubbard

This book was a nice addition to the Pomise Lodge Series by Charlotte Hubbard.  I love how they have come together as a community of both Amish and Mennonites to work together for good.  I love that I was able to see some of the previous people I have met in their community and continue their stories. 

This was a nice, sweet story but shows how some relationships, even with those closest to you, sometimes still need some work to help and not hurt one another.

This is a good Christian read, showing people caring and nurturing others in their times of need.  Loved it.

I received a copy of this book from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Tuesday, August 20, 2019

Lost Memories and New Beginnings by Lorana Hoopes

I really enjoyed this latest book by Lorana Hoopes. There was a lot of suspence and I loved the storyline very much.  It was a great read and keeps you turning pages.  A quick read and very entertaining.  I enjoy the clean writing and the uplifting spirit of the book.

I received an ebook copy from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Sunday, August 18, 2019

Educated by Tara Westover

My daughter suggested this book to me.  I am not really exactly sure what I think.  If everything is true that took place in her life, it is a tragic tale of a woman who sought to overcome.   There are so many bad things taking place in her life, it is almost impossible to fathom it all.  I don't know quite what to say about this one.  As she grows to womanhood and strays from the ways of her being raised, I cheer for her and wonder how much is actually just a memory or true fact.  Did all that really happen?

Well, it was interesting and I'm glad I read it and hope that her life has improved now.
I didn't agree with all the points on the LDS Church, and noted she mentioned "Christening" in the beginning, which is not something done in the LDS Church, also her views on polygamy were not  completely ontrack.  Her father definitely had issues beyond the norm and it was hard to watch her mother not handle things better with the abusive brother.

But I'm sadly certain, she wasn't the only one facing those horrible trials in life. 


Thursday, August 15, 2019

An Amish Deception by J.E.B. Spredemann

Book Blurb:

Jacob King and his twin brother, Ephraim, have always been rivals at everything. But when Jacob deceives his father into signing a will that only benefits one of them, leaving Ephraim with nothing, his brother seeks revenge. Jacob flees for his life and journeys to another town to work for a distant relative. While there, Jacob falls helplessly in love with Rachel and seeks to win her heart.
Young Rachel Schmidt is instantly smitten when handsome Jacob King rolls into town. As time goes by, they court, fall deeply in love, and plan to marry. But Rachel’s father has other plans. 
Will past secrets destroy their chance at happily ever after? Will Jacob and Rachel’s love survive when their dreams are ripped from their hands? 

My Review:

This book was a continuation of the Biblical inspired Amish books by this author.  I have read several of them and just like the others this one was really good.  The characters took on similar roles as those in the Bible, but with a more modern twist and also with an Amish twist to them.  You will see the Bible characters in a new light and with different events, of course.  It was a fun and enjoyable read.  It was a quick read and had lots of ups and downs.  

I can't wait to read the next one!

I received an ebook copy from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Monday, August 12, 2019

More Than Words Can Say by Karen Witemeyer

This was the first book I have read from this author, although I have seen many of her books.  I really liked it although it was interesting that the character Abigail, felt she was heavy and yet the cover picture certainly doesn't indicate that. 

It was an entertaining read and this marriage of convenience seemed to be a good decision for both as they worked through their pasts and their concerns about them.  Each needed to work those things out before their marriage of convenience could go to the next level.  There may have been a little too much mention of the "marital relations".  Although the book was clean, it seemed to dwell on that a bit more than I would want it to. 

But it was a good read, longer than many books I have read lately, but enjoyable.

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Thursday, August 8, 2019

Summer of Suspense Sixteen Tales by 16 Authors

So I love a good suspense and a good mystery, and I was happy because there was also some Amish stories in this set as well.  They are really entertaining reads and I really enjoyed the stories by Vannetta Chapman and Rachel J. Good.  Yes, I'm just a little partial to the Amish stories.  But all the stories were attention getters and you can't just read "part" of a story or "part" of this anthology.  You have to read each of the stories. 

There was a wide variety of storylines and there were a few new authors for me, but many were authors whose books I won't miss!  It was a wonderful price, too, for so much to read and keep ya busy!  Highly recommend this one!!!!

Wednesday, August 7, 2019

The Yellow Lantern by Angie Dicken

I'm not sure how exactly I feel about this book.  I loved the previous book in the series, but this one was a little on the "uncomfortable" side for me.  The story is a historical fiction version of true events of some more gruesome times of grave robbing and body snatching.   The writing was good but it probably was not the type of book I would usually read.  But that being said, it was a page turner and full of suspense for any reader. 

I thought Josephine was an interesting character to say the least.   And I wondered how I would have handled the situation she found herself in?  Definitely an interesting read.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.

Tuesday, August 6, 2019

The Ice House Murder by Bruce Hammack A Smiley and McBlythe Mystery

This story by Bruce Hammack will keep you guessing till the end.  Lots of interesting characters and captivating plot.  With 10 days to resolve a case, Steve Smiley and his partner Heather McBlythe work at a fast pace with obstacles in the way.

You will enjoy this fascinating mystery!

I received an ebook copy of this book from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Monday, August 5, 2019

Amish Outsider

I really enjoyed this book by Marta Perry.  Book 1 in the River Haven Series was really good.  I read it really quickly because the mystery made it a page turner for me.  I enjoyed the characters, their personalities and how they worked to help one another.  It was a very good read!

Sunday, August 4, 2019

An Amish Spring by Amy Clipston, Beth Wiseman, and Vannetta Chapman

If you love Amish fiction, and how could you not, you will love these 3 stories in a wonderful compilation by the above authors.  They are definitely wonderful authors with a super talent.  To share the talent in one book, is fabulous!



A Son For Always Amy Clipston shares the story of Carolyn and Joshua as they prepare for their first child together, and how Carolyn's son Benjamin will fit into their family.  Although Joshua has adopted Ben as his own son, Carolyn feels the responsibility for his financial welfare.  Will she be able to trust and have faith that they are all now one family, rather than a family separated from past mistakes in life. Author: Amy Clipston.









A Love for Irma Rose Beth Wiseman. I loved this story of Josh and Irma Rose, their experiences as Josh ends up in jail, because he likes a little more excitement than the "usual" Amish person.  But was their a deeper meaning to why he was in jail?  Hmm. food for thought and a wonderful chance to find this book and read this story!  It was that good.










My husband and I have had a garden for all the years of our married life.  In our beginning efforts, it was quite a struggle for us to have it watered adequately, yet not too much, to keep the weeds down and to know how to properly deal with the little garden pests, both insect variety and larger animal variety. 
We often had problems that we had to “weather” out, such as late frosts after the garden was beginning to come up or early frosts when we not prepared and hadn’t brought in the harvest.  Hail and wind storms also wreaked their havoc upon our little garden plot.  It was and sometimes still is frustrating when things didn’t go as we had hoped and planned.  But so is our life, also not the smooth road we always hope and pray for.  We have to learn to “go with the flow” and accept what happens and move forward.  Yet we can find peace in our lives and grow and learn.  The garden holds many happy memories and fun as the kids and now grandkids help us harvest, weed and enjoy the fruits of our labors.

This wonderful story by Vannetta Chapman shows how the gardens in our lives help us to move ahead and as stated by the very talented author, Vannetta Chapman, Gardens will bless your soul. 

“They are a place to rest, to draw near, and to heal.”  I especially loved that line and marked it as I was reading the book, because that is how I truly feel about gardens, as well.

 Where Healing Blooms, Vannetta Chapman
Emma is a widow who lives with Mary Ann, her mother-in-law.  Mary Ann has a beautiful garden that she lovingly tends. Emma tries to find a purpose in life now that her children are grown.  She learns that a runaway Amish boy has been hiding in her barn.  She tries to know how she can help him at this troubled time of his life.  She leaves food and hopes that he will feel that he can trust her to help him.  She also is asked by the bishop to house an abused Amish woman and her two children.  They find a safe refuge at Emma’s and begin to work together. 
Emma begins to find some meaning to her life and purpose
Her old friend, Danny, has returned home after many years absence.  She had once hoped that they would marry, but Danny had disappointed her by moving away to pursue his life’s plans leaving Emma alone and to marry another.  Emma feels she is too old now to find love again in her life.
Mary Ann’s garden holds a secret which she reveals to Emma and Danny that may just change both of their lives.  



These stories will touch your heart.  These  authors share how faith can help you find peace, faith, endurance, hope and healing.  I loved them all!

Friday, August 2, 2019

When Mountains Sing by Stacy Monson My Father's House Series V. 1

Mikayla's life was going in the directions she chose, everything was good.  Suddenly the unexpected...a health issue that brings huge changes in her life, but changes not solely with her health...but with her entire being. Her life as she knew it.

Leaving her home to find answers brings even more life changing events. Some not so good, others good.  Learning, forgiving as well as overcoming becomes her life.

I related so personally to this book. It touched me very much.  Why, because I recently found my mother's father, in a similar situation, and I know that people make mistakes, they try to do better, and sometimes that is hard and difficult for others to understand that have not experienced those mistakes, and the feelings and longings to find the truth.

I really enjoyed this book.  I look forward to reading more of this fascinating series!

I received an ebook copy of this book from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Monday, July 29, 2019

An Amish Spring by Amy Clipston, Beth Wiseman, Vannetta Chapman

I really enjoyed these 3 stories and loved that they were all faith-promoting and inspiring in their content.  These are three of my fave authors.  And this book left me feeling happy.  Love happy endings, love stories of faith and love of family.

These stories were previously published in three other books, An Amish Cradle, An Amish Year and An Amish Garden and are now in a different compilation.

Enjoyed the stories and the authors' work.

Friday, July 26, 2019

The Healing Jar by Wanda E. Brunstetter

Loved this book by Wanda Brunstetter.  Book 3 in the series of The Prayer Jars was excellent. Lenore Lapp feels she has pretty much missed the marriageable time of her life when widower Jesse and sweet daughter Cindy appear in town.

I love the characters in this story and as Lenore tends for Jesse's daughter, they become friends as she learns to love the sweet little one in her care.  During this time Lenore finds the jar filled with scriptures, thoughts and feelings which were placed by someone long ago.  Who wrote these?  No one seems to know.

This story has some interesting twists and turns.  You will enjoy it especially if you have read The previous books and followed the family through each.

Very nice story.  Great author.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.