Sunday, December 31, 2017

Under Pressure Buried Alive and Other Ordinary Miracles by Paul Joseph Brennan

This was definitely not similar to any book that I have read before.  The story of Paul Brennan in his own words, shows a person can emerge from a hard life and one of some really serious adversity and make a better life despite trials and tribulations. 

It was written in a completely different style then I would normally expect and was pretty fast paced and didn't have too much, if any, "down-time".  I was able to read it in about 2 hours time.

It is about a man who found Christianity and a religion that helped him  realize that God was there for him in all those hard spots in life and that all things are meant to make us stronger and more able to deal with what life throws at us if we maintain our faith even when things are tough.

Good book and great autobiography.

I received a free copy of this book and posted my honest review.  All thoughts are my own.

Saturday, December 30, 2017

My Heart Belongs in Niagara Falls, New York Adele's Story by Amanda Barratt

This is a sweet story of two individuals, both trying to do all they can to preserve and help their individual family situations. Both having experienced hard times, they set out to improve as they think best.  There are some very breathtaking events.  But I will let you discover this!

This book is part of a 50 state series of books, this one taking place in New York.  Although part of a historical series, each book seems to be an individual book with it's own story.

The book is very enjoyable and I would recommend it highly. A beautiful scenario written around the amazing Falls and the events there keep you reading till the end.  It's a story of family, love and faith.

I was given an E-book copy from NetGalley for my review.  All thoughts are my own.

Wednesday, December 27, 2017

Surgeon's Choice by Richard L. Mabry, M.D.

This latest novella by Richard L. Mabry, M.D. is an absolute must-read.  There is no down-time in this book.  The action starts and keeps going to the very end.  I had a hard time putting this down to do anything other than read!

This retired Medical Doctor turned author has applied his medical knowledge and experience to a realistic and captivating mystery.  It kept me spellbound till the very end.

I highly recommend this well-written and exciting book.  I look forward to anything this author produces!

I was provided a pre-publication copy of this novel by the author, but the review is my own opinion.

Saturday, December 23, 2017

Roswell's Secret by Vannetta Chapman

Just when you think there is no way an author can possibly write a better book, along comes Roswell's Secret.  Vannetta Chapman has done it again.  This book grips you from the start and never lets go. 

Book 2 in the Defending America series is amazing.  You will want to put all things aside and get right into this book.

Who do you trust!  Whose the bad guy or your friend?  Making those determinations in this book is hard and you will just be compelled to keep reading till you find out.

The plot is something so possibly realistic and is totally plausible.  Suffice it to say, you will not want to pass up this book.





Vannetta Chapman is the author of over twenty bestselling novels, including Hidden, Protected, and The Remnant Series. Vannetta is a Carol award winner and a Christy award finalist. She has won over a dozen awards from Romance Writers of America chapter groups. She currently writes full time, teaches college students on the side, and resides in the Texas Hill country.

Wednesday, December 13, 2017

A Secret of the Soul by J.E.B. Spredemann

Elam has left the Amish after he loses the young woman he had planned to spend his life with.  Although he tries to go on with his life, he feels he needs to know how things worked out for Julianna, only to have a disappointing discovery.

This book is book 6 of the Amish Secrets series.  It is really a good read.  Has some interesting and sometimes surprising twists and turns.  There are secrets in the community but Elam is determined to find the truth. 

This is a well written book.  Keeps you reading till you reach the end.  I enjoyed this book very much.

I received an ebook copy of this book from the author for my review.  All thoughts are my own.


Sunday, December 10, 2017

Coyote's Revenge, Book 1 of Defending America by Vannetta Chapman

This book takes your breath away!  No lie or exaggeration here!  It's filled with suspense of something that you pray won't happen, but certainly could happen. 

There isn't a single dull moment and I found myself reading every chance that I could. The plot is so real. In this book you wonder who can be trusted and who is on the same side.

This book holds you captive till the last page.  This book revolves around Aiden, an undercover agent, whose life is one of danger and intrigue. Somehow, a young innocent woman finds herself entwined in a terrorist's web and life takes a sudden turn for the worse.

You will love this book of suspense, mystery, intrigue and some romance. 

I will be reading book 2, no doubt!

Monday, December 4, 2017

My Heart Belongs in Castle Gate, Utah by Angie Dicken

I was really excited to read this book, being a Utahn and so was thrilled to have a chance to review it.

Being as it was a historical about Utah, of course, my first thought would be that it would be about Mormons as a theme, but was surprised that is was about the early Greek population.  I learned a few things I didn't know.  And yes there was a Greek Town in Salt Lake City, as I pass by it every day on the way to and from work.  What I didn't realize was that they were prejudiced against in that time period.  I have Greek friends and that never even crossed my mind. 

This book was really interesting to this Utahn because it was fun to learn things about my state that I didn't know.  I enjoyed it a lot and the challenges that this group of people faced taught me some very sobering facts. 

This is a new author to me and I am sure I will be looking for other books she has written. Very good job!

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.


Saturday, November 25, 2017

Gathering the Threads by Cindy Woodsmall

This was book 3 of the Amish of Summer Grove.  I have read the previous two books and so I didn't want to miss this one.  So glad I didn't.  The twists and turns of the two girls whose lives were changed soon after birth are very captivating and you will want to know how all things work out.  I won't tell you, you'll have to grab yourself a copy, too!

I will tell you that I really enjoyed reading book three and that each of the girls learns some valuable lessons from the lives that they are now leading.  It's a great book.  You won't want to bypass this one!

I received an ebook copy of this book from NetGalley for my review.  All thoughts are my own.

Sunday, November 19, 2017

Amish Cooking Class Cookbook by Wanda E. Brunstetter

I love Amish food and this cookbook is a gem!  Loved how it tied in with the stories from the Amish Cooking Class book series by the same author.  There are some great recipes and yet simple to prepare ones in this colorful book.  The pictures taken by her photographer husband, are a wonderful addition to the recipes.  I am anxious to try them out.

I received an ebook copy of this book from NetGalley for my review.  All thoughts are my own.

Wednesday, November 15, 2017

A Child's Christmas Wish by Erica Vetsch

I have really enjoyed all of Erica Vetsch's writings and this book added to the list of very good books.  This was a nice Christmas story.  It was a story of hope, healing, Love, family and friends.  The story is an excellent example of a wonderful Christmas.  It's a feel good book!  Highly recommended holiday reading!

I received an an ebook copy from the author for my review.  All thoughts are my own.

Saturday, November 11, 2017

Brides of Minnesota by Lena Nelson Dooley

This book grabbed my attention from the start.  I love this time period and I'm a Minnesota girl and could relate to a lot of the things that the author wrote about.

The story was intriguing to me, clean and of a Christian nature.  I have read some of this author's books and think I will continue to do so.

I received an ebook copy of this book from NetGalley for my review.  All thoughts are my own.


Life in Chapel Springs Book 4 by Ane Mulligan

Just finished reading Life in Chapel Springs, the 4th book of this series.  It was a fun read and I enjoyed it very much. 

I enjoyed the friendships of the characters. I hadn't read the previous book, but somewhat wished that I had so that I would have known the characters better at the start of the book.

It was a good, clean and interesting book.  The story of Lacey was one that was unexpected and kept you reading to see what would happen.

I received a copy of this book from the author for review.  All thoughts are my own.

Saturday, November 4, 2017

365 Classic Bedtime Bible Stories Illustrated by Alessia Girasole

This beautifully illustrated Bible story book for children tells the wonderful stories of both the Old and New Testament in an easy to understand way for young people.  It's a great foundation for children to build their faith in God.

This book is a hard-cover book with many stories to choose from.

I am sure this book with be of great interest for children and those who tell them the stories.

I really enjoyed these stories and look forward to reading them to my grandson.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.

Thursday, November 2, 2017

You're Gonna Love Me by Robin Lee Hatcher



This book by Robin Lee Hatcher was so good.  A story of Love, trust, forgiveness and faith.  I really enjoyed the book and there were no dull moments.  The story was well paced and kept my attention.

For me it was extra fun that it took place in my neighbor state and mentioned locations in Idaho where I have been and spent time making it even more easy to relate to.

It was a sweet and clean romance, and a story of second chances. Although the second book of a series, it was great as a standalone.  

Nick and Samantha ended a relationship, both with hurt feelings.  They end up in the same place without knowing that the other was also there.  Will they learn to trust God and one another?

I received a complimentary copy of this book from the author and was under no obligation to post a review.

Monday, October 30, 2017

12 Days at Bleakly Manor by Michelle Griep

I have enjoyed other books that I have read from Michelle Griep, So was happy to have a chance to read this book.

This retake on Charles Dickens was an interesting and engaging book.  With an invitation to a 12 Day stay at Bleakly Manor, 500 English pounds to the person that stays 12 days.  Would you do this?  Probably if the money was of need and importance to you.

The story of Clara and Ben was enjoyable and throughout the book there are events that add to the mystery and the intrigue.  I love old house stories and so that created a fun book for me.  I am sure I will be reading more from this author.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.

Saturday, October 28, 2017

Kappy King and the Puppy Kaper by Amy Lillard

This is the start of a new mystery series by Amy Lillard.  Amy Lillard is one of my favorite Amish authors.  And I was excited to be able to read this very fun book.

I have enjoyed mysteries since I was young and so adding that to an Amish setting, another of my favorite genres, made this a very fun read.

A single, somewhat unusual character, Kappy, the Kapp maker for the local Amish women, discovers her neighbor dead with her mentally challenged son the only one nearby.  Jimmy, the son of the deceased finds himself taken to jail for his mother's murder.  His sister Edie, no longer Amish, finds herself returning home to care for her brother and the matters she will soon be facing.

As trouble looms, Edie and Kappy become close friends trying to find what really happened to Edie's mother. 
The story is engaging, entertaining and fun.  I think it would also be a fun read for the young adult and teen reader.  I am sure you will enjoy it too!

I received a copy of this book from the author for my review.  All thought are my own. 

Wednesday, October 25, 2017

The Highwayman of Cordovia Audible Version by Linda Weaver Clarke

Linda Weaver Clarke is a talented writer of historical fiction. I enjoyed this in "regular" book format, but loved it in the Audible version.  With the talents of narrator Carolyn Kashner, the characters come to life.  It is so fun and enjoyable to listen as she tells the story.  This is a great relaxing way to read.

The Highwayman of Cordovia is the second book of the new Rebels of Cordovia series by Linda Weaver Clarke.  I love reading a series and seeing characters from a previous book in the series reappear.  It's wonderful to see how things turned out for them. 

This book is the story of Christine, a pastor's daughter and Austin.  Austin and Christine had been friends as youth and separated through the years.   As their paths cross again after many years, things spark up between them.  Yet their lives do not appear to be headed in the same direction.
Christine begins to fall in love with Austin but is not aware of his true self and would not approve of the life he is leading.  The twists and turns will keep you turning the pages.  These books express good moral values and are very enjoyable.
The book is a clean Christian read and historical in nature, which I enjoy.  It was a good book and I look forward to the 3rd book in the series.
I received an Audible version from the author for my honest review which I have given.

The Pharaoh's Daughter by Mesu Andrews

This was the first book I have read written by Mesu Andrews.  I do enjoy Biblical fiction and this book was really good!

It is the story of Anippe whose roles change throughout her life as she sheds her royal robes for slave attire.  As this woman who drew Moses from the Nile, takes him as her own son, she takes on the role of mother, a role she had not wanted due to her personal fears of bearing a child.

This book must have required countless hours of research as fiction is interwoven with fact to bring about this dramatic tale of the life of Moses, Hebrew slaves and Egyptian Royals.

I enjoyed it very much.  This is a great read.

I received an ebook copy of this book from NetGalley for review.  All expressed thoughts are my own.

Saturday, October 21, 2017

A Plain and Sweet Christmas Romance Collection by Various Authors

I love this set of Christmas stories.  I loved each one and the fact that they were of such interesting and diverse groups.  I have enjoyed many of these authors in the past and this compilation of shorter writers was excellent.  I am so happy to have the chance to read this exceptional book!

I received an e-book version of this book for review.  All thoughts are my own.

The Engagement Plot by Krista Phillips

This was a new author for me.  In this story, a reality game show features a handsome, influential, well-to-do bachelor with a choice of many young women.  He chose Hanna and the story proceeds by Will's bad choices in letting the public think that there was more to their relationship then what really occurred.  Hanna feels her reputation has been ruined and the engagement ends. 

The Minnesota school teacher, Hanna, unknowingly rescues Will from a blizzard car accident and the story continues. 

The story is fun, interesting and engaging.  It was a fun read. 

I would enjoy reading more of her writings.

I received a free e-book copy of this book for my review.  All thoughts are my own.

Tuesday, October 17, 2017

The Quilting Circle by Amy Lillard

Back to Wells Landing with Amy Lillard for a fun three part book.  Three individual stories which all blend together for one great whole.

The three featured women in the stories all had their own story of hope and faith which they share with their quilting group.  These ladies support one another and give one another strength.  I think we all need support from one another as life gives us difficult times to go through.

I loved reading the stories and they were just the right length to carefully develop each character so that the reader could understand their feelings and their desires for their lives.

An excellent read. Highly recommended!


Book Blurb:

MORE THAN FRIENDSHIP
Youngest quilter Clara Rose Yutzy is planning her wedding to her longtime beau—which is why she resolutely ignores newly warm feelings for her best friend, Obidiah. But Obie is certain God intends them to be together. With the Lord’s help, he’ll prove to Clara Rose how much he loves her . . .

MORE THAN A PROMISE
Mariana Miller prayed for a child throughout fifteen years of marriage. But now, newly widowed, Mariana discovers she’s pregnant—with twins! She’s more grateful than ever for her caring community—especially Reuben Weisel, her late husband’s business partner and best friend. Reuben’s quiet strength comforts her—until he proposes marriage . . .

MORE THAN A MARRIAGE
Tess Smiley is new to Wells Landing and newly married. But her marriage isn’t the harmonious union she envisioned. Tess loves Jacob with all her heart, but her heart tells her she must take a stand—and ask for support. Only then does Jacob see how he has hurt her. But is he too late? . . .

I received a copy of this book from the author and NetGalley for my honest review.  All thoughts are my own.

Saturday, October 14, 2017

Colors of Christmas

This book contains two stories, each revolving around a Christmas theme.  I definitely enjoyed the first one more, maybe because it wrote about Astrid, an elderly woman survivor of Germany in WWII, such as my mother.  The memories alone of the War and how the people of Germany struggled to survive brought back many of the stories my mother has shared with me over the years.

I was a bit confused about the ending as it went right into the second story and I wasn't even aware that I had finished the first story.

I do like the thoughts of the author, of certain things that bring back feelings and emotions in our lives of Christmases past and those in our lives that aren't with us any longer.  I definitely get those feelings today and really related to this.

I enjoyed the book.

I received an e-copy of this book from NetGalley for my review.  All thoughts are my own.

Saturday, October 7, 2017

Love Held Captive by Shelley Shepard Gray

I have read several of Shelley Shepard Gray's books, usually Amish.  This one was about the post Civil War period when officers in the Confederacy meet women who have had difficult lives during the War and did what they had to, to survive.

There are some adult themes in the book.  The book goes back in time to days in the prison camp spent together by the officers and then returns to the current time of the book.

It appears that I have read a book that has previous books in the series.  It took me a little while to understand some things as a result, but it was still alright that I had missed some of the earlier books.

Disclosure:  I received an ebook copy of this book from NetGalley for my review.  All thoughts are my own.

Monday, October 2, 2017

The Captive Brides Collection by various authors

I have read quite a few of these wonderful collections by Barbour Publishing company.  I really enjoyed this one so much.

This collection was about women in various situations where the had lost their rights and freedoms, such as from slavery.  These stories were all different, unique and Christian in theme.  They were truly inspiring.

The interest was created by the fact that there were different periods of history and different locations.  All were captivating.

Highly recommend this book.  It was a page turner!

Disclosure:  I received an ebook copy of this book from NetGalley for my review.  All thoughts are my own.

You can get your copy here!

Saturday, September 30, 2017

These Healing Hills by Ann H. Gabhart

I totally enjoyed this historical fiction novel by Ann H. Gabhart.  She is a very talented author and this book showed that clearly.

This book takes place after the ending of WWII.  Francine Howard awaits the return of her soldier but he has changed and found someone else.  Francine applied to the Frontier Nursing Service in the Appalachian Mountains with the "Mountain" people.  This change in her life serving as a nurse who "catches" babies, among the other needs of these people, finds a place to heal her heart as well as those she helps.  The job requires traveling to remote areas on horseback and taking risks to her own well-being.

Soldier Ben Locke returns to his mountain home in Kentucky after serving in the military.  As he meets Francine, their different backgrounds and cultural differences are many.  Yet, is there a possibility here?

This book was really interesting, and describes a lifestyle that is probably very different than what most people are accustomed to.  It was really enlightening to read about a culture I knew very little about.

I received an ebook copy of this book from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.














Sunday, September 24, 2017

The Teen's Guide to Social Media and Mobile Devices by Jonathan McKee

This book is an absolute MUST READ for teens, parents of teens, as well as guidance councilors for youth.

The wealth of knowledge that has been shared in this book is a handy and concise reminder of the dangers that lurk in the background which can cause absolute chaos in a happy teen's life.

I was surprised at the things I learned and literally read every word in this book.  I was so interested in how the author also added scripture from the Bible to show that although things have changed, things have still remained the same only in a different form.

They need to be so aware of the dangers lurking out there. And realize the significance of what they post online and the effect it may have on others seeing the posts.

This was an absolutely excellent book.  Highly recommended!
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.

You can get a copy of this book here.

Saturday, September 23, 2017

An Amish Christmas Love by Beth Wiseman, Amy Clipston, Ruth Reid, Kelly Irvin

This was a wonderful set of four Amish Christmas novellas by four of my fave authors.

They were not connected to one another, but each independent stories of love, trust and an abiding trust in God.  I loved reading each and every one of them.  I did have a fave, however, and that was the final story in the book by author Ruth Reid.It was entitled "Home for Christmas".  I loved the warm, wonderful feelings that it left me with.

If you want a truly inspirational set of stories to read this holiday season, this is the set!

I know you will love it!

I received a copy of this book from the publisher for my honest review.  All thoughts are my own.

You can grab a copy of this book here.

Saturday, September 16, 2017

Write By Your Side by D.J.Van Oss

This was a really fun read and I enjoyed it so much.  This sweet romance was about two writers, who, because of a contract signed without careful reading of the small print, find themselves somewhat in a bad predicament.  Having been together some time previously in a relationship that didn't work out,  the last thing on their minds was to have to spend time together writing a book that was require by the contract.

It was really an entertaining book and it was fun to see their interactions as they found themselves spending time together that they had never intended to.

I highly recommend this very sweet romance and am happy that I was able to read it.  I hadn't read this author's work previously but plan to continue doing so.

I was given an ebook copy from the author for my honest review, which I have given.

You can grab your copy at this link!

Monday, September 11, 2017

Amish Old House Mysteries The Witch Burning by D. Gail Miller

This was actually volume 3 of this series.  I haven't yet read the first two, but hope to.  The Main character  is Hannah Gingerich, soon to be married to Laban.  But in the meantime, a mystery appears, an old house, old spinster sisters, and lots of other unusual things to investigate.  Hannah wants very much to solve the mystery of what happen in the past and was never known.

This was a fun novella.  I always love a good mystery and add an Amish theme and it's all the better.  I enjoyed reading this book and am delighted that although it was v. 3, I was easily engaged and didn't  have the feeling that I was not sure what was happening and who was who.

This is the first I have read from this author.  It was enjoyable and a good mystery.

I received an ebook copy of this story from the author for my honest review, which I have given.

Thursday, September 7, 2017

My Heart Belongs in the Shenandoah Valley by Andrea Boeschaar

Another wonderful addition to the "My Heart Belongs" books.  It's the first book that I've read by this author and I have to say, it's really good and I will keep my eyes open for more of her works.

In this story, Lily, realizes that the man who is the executor of her father's estate does not have her best interest in mind.  Is the only way to keep what's rightfully hers to enter into a loveless marriage with a much older man?

This is a page-turning book.  I really enjoyed it, but I won't tell you her decision!

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.

Wednesday, September 6, 2017

When the Bishop Needs an Alibi by Vannetta Chapman

I have been a long-time fan of author Vannetta Chapman.  She writes Amish books and mysteries so well!  Combine the two genres and you have an amazing book!  And so it is.

This mystery is one that keeps you wondering what is happening through out-a real page turner.  It's book 2 of her Amish Bishop Mysteries series.  So I am going to have a hard time waiting for the next installment.

I love the interaction between the Amish and the "Englishers" and the kind and helpful nature of Henry and his many artistic talents.
I feel that anyone who enjoys Amish mysteries will find this book a great work.  

I received a copy of this book from the author for my review.  All thoughts are my own.

You can grab your copy here!

The author, Vannetta Chapman


Saturday, September 2, 2017

Muffy & Valor: A True Story by Karl Beckstrand

Karl Beckstrand writes children's books with heart.  This warm and sweet story about the author's actual pet, describe how his dog, having been injured by another dog, no longer wants to be around other dogs.  Yet, when the family finds and cares for a lost and injured pet whose owner is not known, Muffy becomes a caring and compassionate animal.

This book is a good lesson for children to learn from.   The illustrations are made by Brandon Rodriguez and just looking at the cover shows the pain that German Shepard is feeling.

We lost a dog in a similar fashion and it was hard for my kids to understand everything.  This book will help children understand some things that occur in life that are hard to cope with.

I received a free ebook version of this children's store from the author.  All thoughts are my own.


Wednesday, August 30, 2017

Walk it Out by Tricia Goyer

I just finished reading Tricia Goyer's latest book.  It's a great way to get back into living the way we should.  It's advice, suggestions, and guides on how to improve our lives and pick ourselves up when life isn't going our way, which can be often.

It's a book that reminds us to ground ourselves in our faith.  I think the advice given is good for Christians of any denomination.  The doctrines taught are universal and will fit into the lives of any person believing in Christ.

None us of comes with instructions, so we all have to learn through trial and error, sometimes the errors win and we need to regroup, sometimes needing help from others, either family and friends or professional.  But we should always keep trying to make the connections that will bring us back onto the right track.

This book will uplift your spirit and teach you principles for a happier and more fulfilled life.  By sharing your talents and giving of yourself and time, you will find life will be much better both for those you help and yourself.

I really enjoyed this book and hope to incorporate many of the suggestions that I read about.  It's well worth your time reading.  You will be touched be the beautiful Christian Spirit that it conveys.

You can pre-order your copy here!


Monday, August 28, 2017

Learning to Love Saul's Story by J.E.B. Spredemann

This book by J.E.B. Spredemann was an Amish romance.  I am so glad that I was able to read this very sweet romance.  It was a story about human nature.  And the feelings that happen when our lives are not turning out exactly as planned or anything like we had planned.   Learning to forgive yourself and others is an important theme of this book.  And showing caring and kindness to others is also a thread that runs through the story.

Through it all, you can see that things may not always seem to be going in our planned directions, yet God still cares for us if we allow him in to help in the situations we find ourselves in.

Great read.  Lots of good things to think about.


Saturday, August 26, 2017

A Simple Wish by Charlotte Hubbard

I'm always happy to read a book by Charlotte Hubbard.  I love her Amish romance titles and have enjoyed each one that I have read.  This was another great book by this author.  It was part 2 in a 2 book series.  But I have to admit, as I was reading the last pages, it seemed as though there were hints of perhaps another book that might appear.

I enjoyed how the characters from the previous book entered and took part in the book.  It was a comfortable feeling to be able to recognize them and the author reminds you of what parts they portrayed in the previous book.  So I think even if you haven't read the previous book, you would still be able to enjoy this one very much.

It this book there was also a down-to-earth feel as the characters, although in a religious position did not always maintain their religious principles and made them subject to human failings. You were able to see the good and the not so good.

I highly recommend this book to readers of Amish fiction and those who have not read Amish books in the past, you will really like this one.

Disclosure:  I received a copy of this book for my honest review which I have given.  I received no monetary compensation.  All thoughts are my own.

Friday, August 18, 2017

The Rebels of Cordovia by Linda Weaver Clarke Audible Version



I have to admit, I am starting to get spoiled with all the great books that can be found on Audible.com.  I love the fact that you can plug-in the headset and listen without turning pages or holding a book.  It's wonderful!  I was so excited to get this copy of The Rebels of Cordovia by Linda Weaver Clarke.  It's a great read and the narrator, Carolyn Kashner has a very pleasant voice, with plenty of expression and great vocal changes to help identify the characters.

I so enjoyed this fun book!  It has adventure, romance, a little mystery, history and action.  No boring moments here.  Linda Weaver Clarke's Audible book is really entertaining and enjoyable. And it has a great ending! Which I won't tell you about because you really need to get this book. 

Rebels for the cause of the people, Robin and her rebels have to decide whether or not to join forces to protect the rights of the people. Placed back in the days of wicked and oppressive kings, the rebels work together for the freedoms of the common people.  Will they succeed against the governing forces? 

The romance is sweet and the action is plenty.  I highly recommend this entertaining book!
Disclosure: I received a copy of this book for my honest review, which I have given.

Here is where you can get your own copy at Audible.com





















Tuesday, August 15, 2017

Cardiac Event by Dr. Richard L. Mabry

Another great mystery from Dr. Mabry.  His mysteries (those I've read) always include some medical incidents, a topic in which he is well versed.

Loved the fast paced action and I hope he keeps writing as mystery is one of my favorite genres.

The characters were well described and the action kept my interest throughout.

If you love a great mystery, this one is just that!  The mystery keeps you thinking about the events and who the "culprit" is.  Never a dull moment in this action packed book.

I received a copy from the author for my honest review.  All thoughts are my own.

You can find out more about Dr. Mabry at this link.
Click here to grab your own copy!

Thursday, August 10, 2017

Our Amish Values Who We Are and What We Believe by Lester Beachy

This book was gifted to me.  It was written by an Amish tour guide in Holmes County, Pennsylvania.  It is a well illustrated book on Amish life.  It shares the feelings the Amish have regarding various topics that are important to them.

Although not a long book, it shared values that I think everyone can implement into their lives.  Very nice and openly shared values that are basics to Christian living.

I felt a nice peaceful feeling browsing through the photos and reading this very nice book.


Monday, August 7, 2017

Guest Interview with Linda Weaver Clarke and Ebook Giveaway!

 I have been enjoying all of Linda Weaver Clarke's books, especially her Rebel of Cordovia Series.  And I am just thrilled to have her on my blog today!  Linda is a very talented author and lives in my home state!

Glad to have you join me today, Linda!

Bio: Linda Weaver Clarke is the author of 22 books: historical romances, period romances, a romantic cozy mystery series, a mystery suspense series, a children’s book, and non-fiction. She has also traveled throughout the United States giving lectures on writing techniques. All her books are family friendly. She lives in Color Country, which is located in southern Utah among all the red mountains. 

 Welcome to my blog. Where did you get your inspiration for The Rebel Series?

All three books in this series are love stories set in the late 1700s. The Rebel Series was inspired by the stories of the American patriots who fought to be free from the dictatorship and tyranny of a king. It’s a theme that is dear to me. Liberty is something that I cherish. It’s a precious gift given to us by those who fought so valiantly. When I read the stories of the American Revolution, my heart swells with gratitude for those loyal patriots. When I look at our flag and pledge allegiance to it, tears well up in my eyes. When I listen to The Star Spangled Banner or God Bless the U.S.A., I get choked up. Especially when it’s sung by a choir.

How would you describe The Rebel Series?

The Rebel Series is a mixture of romance and adventure. I absolutely love stories that are page-turners, which have some mystery and suspense. I love a romance where the man and woman know they are meant for one another and have a strong belief in God. Even though there are trials along the way, they never give up on the other. I also like strong women characters in a story.

Had the idea for this series been on your mind for a while?

I had the idea of a country that had to fight for its liberty and the idea stayed in my mind for a long time. I had read stories of how America got its freedom and how determined we were. I was touched with each incident that I read. We fought for our freedom from 1775 – 1783. The miracles that happened during that war made me realize that God was watching over us.

Please give us a description of book one: The Rebels of Cordovia.

There was a time when swashbuckling men and brave women engaged in daring and romantic adventures, those who fought with bravery and valor. In this battle for freedom, a love story begins to blossom. Daniel, a rogue and a leader of the Freemen, doesn’t realize that the sweet feminine woman he has met and is falling for happens to be the leader of Robin’s Rebels. Realizing the importance of uniting all the rebel groups, Daniel tries to recruit Robin’s Rebels but they refuse. Now he has to find a way to convince them. When he finds out the leader is actually a woman, what will his reaction be?

Now tell us about book two: The Highwayman of Cordovia.

Centuries ago, valiant men and courageous women engaged in daring adventures as they helped their fellow man. In the country of Cordovia, the people enjoy their new-found liberty, but all is not well. A group of powerful men plan to take over the small country and replace the leader with a king.

With the help of a bold highwayman and a pastor’s daughter, they try to save their country from being taken over by a power-hungry leader. As they strive to stop the Kingmen and thwart their plans, Christine finds herself falling in love with Austin Knight. The only problem with their relationship is that she thinks he is her knight in shining armor instead of a highwayman. If she finds out his trade, what will her reaction be? As a pastor’s daughter, will love override her values?

The Fox of Cordovia is the third book, which will be released Aug 21st. What is it about?

In this swashbuckling romance, a sinister plot has just been uncovered and its up to a former patriot and a young nurse to discover who is behind it. Caroline is engaged to the future mayor of Laketown, a man of influence and greatly respected. But all that changes when she overhears a conspiracy behind closed doors. After being discovered, she runs for her life. Caroline needs to report her findings, but whom can she trust? When she asks Jesse Conover for help, the adventure begins.

What kind of research did you do for this series?

When I did some research about the “waltz,” I was surprised by what I found. The peasants were the first to dance the waltz. It was such fun that bored noblemen would sneak out and go to the country-dances. The Oxford English Dictionary back then called the waltz “riotous and indecent.”

In a 1771 German novel, someone complains about the “newly-introduced waltz” among the aristocrats. He wrote: “When he put his arm around her, pressed her to his breast, cavorted with her in the shameless, indecent whirling-dance of the Germans and engaged in a familiarity that broke all the bounds of good breeding—then my silent misery turned into burning rage.” Haha. It finally became fashionable in Great Britain when the wife of a Russian ambassador endorsed it.

I learned some interesting facts about lamplighters. The city is careful about who they hire because lamplighters also act as night watchmen and need to be trustworthy. I learned that the job is usually handed down from father to son and kept within the family. I love doing research.

Where is your website so my readers can check out your recent and past books that you have written?

To read a sample chapter from each of my books in The Rebel Series, go to http://www.lindaweaverclarke.com/historicalromance.html and click on the title of the book that you want to read.

Here are two book trailers for your readers to watch, so they can understand what these books are about.

The Rebels of Cordovia


The Highwayman of Cordovia



The Author: Linda Weaver Clarke

Friday, August 4, 2017

Naomi's Hope by Jan Drexler

I really enjoyed this historical Amish fiction by Jan Drexler.  It's a well written and very interesting book.  I  enjoy the characters, even the ones that aren't so nice.  Those are the characters that add the color to the story.

I really enjoy historical Amish fiction.  It puts things in a totally different setting and it's amazing to see the challenges that were faced in those times.  Great book, great job!  I will be reading much more from this author!

I received an e-book copy from NetGalley without expection of a review.  All thoughts are my own.

Tuesday, August 1, 2017

The Beloved Christmas Quilt by Wanda E. Brunstetter and Jean and Richelle Brunstetter

This was a really nice Amish 3 part book written by Wanda E. Brunstetter, her daughter-in-law, Jean and her granddaughter Richelle, three generations of women writing about 3 generations of Amish women.  The three stories blend together and revolve around a special quilt which is passed through the women.

The story develops showing good times and not such good times.  But as they remain faithful, life has a way of renewing.

The stories were very enjoyable and I highly recommend them to fans of Amish fiction.

I received an ebook copy of this book from NetGalley for my honest review.  All thoughts are my own.


Sunday, July 30, 2017

Anne Frank in the Secret Annex Who Was Who? Published by the Anne Frank House

This book has a special meaning to me.  Not simply because it was the diary of a victim of the Holocaust, but it has a personal meaning to me, as well.

Many years ago in high school, our drama department put on the play Anne Frank.  I was chosen to be Edith Frank, mother of Anne.  It was the first play I was in, and from then on, I was in every play I could be in.  Being in the play brought a deep understanding of the events of this young girl's life.  The emotions of performing in the play were very deep for our entire cast and especially for me, whose mother was in a prison camp in Czechoslovakia at the end of WWII.

Having been in the play, although long ago, I remembered the names of all the characters and when I was fortunate enough to visit the Anne Frank house about two weeks ago in Amsterdam, I noticed the surnames of the other individuals were different than in the play.  As we exited the house, there was a shop with many books and so I purchased this one to get some clarification on who was who!  I found that pseudonyms were used and what the names of those persons actually were.

I found the book very helpful and interesting and having known the story well, it was interesting to read about the others, and the helpers, as well.  The book has many pictures of the family and other persons involved.

It was very interesting and helpful.  It is available at this  link.


Saturday, July 29, 2017

Two Seasons of Romance by Lyn Cote

This book by Lyn Cote includes four short story clean romances set in two seasons, winter and summer.  The stories are sweet and a quick read.  I enjoyed the uplifting stories about trust and friendship and a little faith and self esteem.  All good qualities to read about and leave you feeling happy.

I have read other books from this author and always enjoy them.

I was given an ebook version from the author for my honest review, which I have given.  All thoughts are my own.



Saturday, July 8, 2017

The Return by Suzanne Woods Fisher Amish Beginnings Series book 3


This book is poignant and gripping!  In every way.  It was such a fabulous read!  So happy to have been able to read it.  The cover is perfect and the characters are detailed and real.

The trials and heartaches of early settlers forging a new frontier, is always a solemn read, but this book brought it to life for me and the historical facts were so well researched and often hard to grasp.

This book and the previous two of this series, were all real page-turners and so descriptive.  But read them in order to understand the characters, and their lives.

I highly recommend this series and hope so much that there could be a fourth???  That would be wonderful, because the book leaves one wanting more of what she has written.  Suzanne Woods Fisher is clearly a wonderful author and her books are so well written and well researched.

You can get this book here!


Monday, July 3, 2017

My Heart Belongs on Mackinac Maude's Mooring by Carrie Fancett Pagels

Carrie Fancett Pagels is an exceptional author.  Her books are full of great descriptions so that you feel you are living in that time and place, easily visualizing everything she writes about.  This July 1, 2017 release is sure to be a hit!

The beautiful cover is an instant draw and most appropriate for the wonderful historical novel.  The book is written in a wonderful setting and definitely makes me want to go there on a trip!  I love the mystery that develops throughout the book. It has a great plot!

I received a copy of this e-book from Net Galley for my honest review.  All thoughts are my own.

Sunday, July 2, 2017

Trouble in the Elf City Audible Version by Anna del C. Dye

Book 2 of Anna del C. Dye's Trilogy was a great continuation of the series.  You will want to read the books in order to best understand where this books starts and how things "came to be".  The women in the book have strong characters, and want to become warriors.

I love how although of a fantasy nature the story is very real and you get to know and understand these characters as though they were all human.  And because this book was Audible, it was also "portable" in that I could even listen while driving or doing other things.  I love that.  The narrator was engaging and had a very pleasant voice to listen to.

The story is entertaining and engaging.  There is a  little for lovers of great fiction, mystery, and adventure.  It's all included.  I feel as the book would appeal to adults and young adults as well.  Good read!  Looking forward to what's next!

I received an Audible version of this book from the author for my honest review which I have given.  All thoughts are my own.

Abiding Mercy by Ruth Reid

I so enjoyed reading this book.  I loved the story-line, the characters and the pacing of this book.  Faith is a wonderful young Amish girl whose life takes a very surprising turn.

The book shows elements of love of family, community and hope that things will always go as God wants them to.

This was a book that reminds us that things are not always perfect in our lives, but that there is one that watches over us and guides our lives in the directions we should follow if we are open to that guidance and receptive to His mercy.

I really am glad I read this book.  I have enjoyed other Amish reads from this author and hope to read many more!

I received a copy of this book from the author for my honest review which I have given.  All thoughts are my own.

Here is a link to where you can find a copy!

Monday, June 26, 2017

My Heart Belongs in Ruby City, Idaho by Susanne Dietze


Beautiful cover!  This is the first book that I have read of this author.  I so enjoyed this book.  It was so fun to read about this mail order marriage and how things don't always go as we have planned! 

The book is a really enjoyable read.  I had a hard time putting it down.  I will definitely watch for books from this engaging author again.  Their is excitement, romance and I think a little humor in some ways as things start off on the wrong foot.

It's a great clean Christian read, the kind of book I like to recommend to my friends.  Can't wait to read more of her books!

I received an e-book copy from Barbour Publishing for my honest review, which I have given.  All thoughts are my own.