Saturday, July 8, 2017

The Return by Suzanne Woods Fisher Amish Beginnings Series book 3


This book is poignant and gripping!  In every way.  It was such a fabulous read!  So happy to have been able to read it.  The cover is perfect and the characters are detailed and real.

The trials and heartaches of early settlers forging a new frontier, is always a solemn read, but this book brought it to life for me and the historical facts were so well researched and often hard to grasp.

This book and the previous two of this series, were all real page-turners and so descriptive.  But read them in order to understand the characters, and their lives.

I highly recommend this series and hope so much that there could be a fourth???  That would be wonderful, because the book leaves one wanting more of what she has written.  Suzanne Woods Fisher is clearly a wonderful author and her books are so well written and well researched.

You can get this book here!


Monday, July 3, 2017

My Heart Belongs on Mackinac Maude's Mooring by Carrie Fancett Pagels

Carrie Fancett Pagels is an exceptional author.  Her books are full of great descriptions so that you feel you are living in that time and place, easily visualizing everything she writes about.  This July 1, 2017 release is sure to be a hit!

The beautiful cover is an instant draw and most appropriate for the wonderful historical novel.  The book is written in a wonderful setting and definitely makes me want to go there on a trip!  I love the mystery that develops throughout the book. It has a great plot!

I received a copy of this e-book from Net Galley for my honest review.  All thoughts are my own.

Sunday, July 2, 2017

Trouble in the Elf City Audible Version by Anna del C. Dye

Book 2 of Anna del C. Dye's Trilogy was a great continuation of the series.  You will want to read the books in order to best understand where this books starts and how things "came to be".  The women in the book have strong characters, and want to become warriors.

I love how although of a fantasy nature the story is very real and you get to know and understand these characters as though they were all human.  And because this book was Audible, it was also "portable" in that I could even listen while driving or doing other things.  I love that.  The narrator was engaging and had a very pleasant voice to listen to.

The story is entertaining and engaging.  There is a  little for lovers of great fiction, mystery, and adventure.  It's all included.  I feel as the book would appeal to adults and young adults as well.  Good read!  Looking forward to what's next!

I received an Audible version of this book from the author for my honest review which I have given.  All thoughts are my own.

Abiding Mercy by Ruth Reid

I so enjoyed reading this book.  I loved the story-line, the characters and the pacing of this book.  Faith is a wonderful young Amish girl whose life takes a very surprising turn.

The book shows elements of love of family, community and hope that things will always go as God wants them to.

This was a book that reminds us that things are not always perfect in our lives, but that there is one that watches over us and guides our lives in the directions we should follow if we are open to that guidance and receptive to His mercy.

I really am glad I read this book.  I have enjoyed other Amish reads from this author and hope to read many more!

I received a copy of this book from the author for my honest review which I have given.  All thoughts are my own.

Here is a link to where you can find a copy!

Monday, June 26, 2017

My Heart Belongs in Ruby City, Idaho by Susanne Dietze


Beautiful cover!  This is the first book that I have read of this author.  I so enjoyed this book.  It was so fun to read about this mail order marriage and how things don't always go as we have planned! 

The book is a really enjoyable read.  I had a hard time putting it down.  I will definitely watch for books from this engaging author again.  Their is excitement, romance and I think a little humor in some ways as things start off on the wrong foot.

It's a great clean Christian read, the kind of book I like to recommend to my friends.  Can't wait to read more of her books!

I received an e-book copy from Barbour Publishing for my honest review, which I have given.  All thoughts are my own.

Friday, June 23, 2017

Light of Dawn by Vannetta Chapman


Vannetta Chapman is such a great author.  I have read the previous two books of the Remnant series and really enjoyed them and this book was just an amazing book, as well.  The book is action-packed and there are no dull moments that as a reader, one might just skim past.  This is a book in which you will want to hang on to every single word and there are some very important things taking place in this book which could truly happen in our lifetime.  The destruction of life as it was known to them, brought about people that would do anything to survive including killing those that got in the way.

The book makes you THINK!  Am I prepared?  What would I do in this situation?  This book shows society at it's worst and at it's best.  And makes you wonder if things will ever return to life as you once knew it.

I really, really enjoyed this book!

I received a copy of this book from the author for my honest review, which I have given.

You can grab a copy here!

Thursday, June 22, 2017

The Shell Collector's Daughter

This was a novella by Beth Wiseman, and a part of the Surf's Up Series.  This was a really different story.  Very Christian, showing that God has a hand in our live's and we should "talk" to him more, listen more and and trust more.  I enjoyed it and thought it was really a nice read.

I received an ebook version of this book from the author for my honest review.

You can grab a copy here.

Thursday, June 15, 2017

Sword of the Matchmaker, Review and Giveaway! Hosted by Debbie Lynne Costello




     Today I have the great pleasure of hosting a special guest, author Debbie Lynne Costello, who writes Historical fiction.  She will be interviewing the protagonist, Penelope, from her latest book Sword of the Matchmaker.  I am so excited to be a part of her blog tour!  

Welcome Debbie and Penelope!



     Penelope, tell us a little bit about yourself. Where are you from? How did you get to Hawkwood?

I am no’ your typical Scottish lass. Yes, I am from Scotland. I have lived most of my life being the son my father always desired. He’d wanted a boy but only had me. At a fairly young age I decided tae be the son my father dinna have. I had to make decisions and sacrifices but I dinna regret it. Me father and I had a guid relationship. I came tae Hawkwood looking for Hamon Godfrey—I dinna find Hamon, but I did find Thomas, his son.
When you first met Thomas you mentioned loathing the man. Can you tell me why and what changed?

When I first met Thomas I had the impression everything was a jest tae him. I found it vera irritating because I dinna feel like he took my problem seriously. But I found out that Thomas has a vera big heart and really does care. I have seen some different sides tae him. He can be a tough Master-at-Arms that is a straightforward man, but he also has a fun side tae him that I find rather interesting.

If you could change anything about you what would that be?

If you would have asked me that question a few months ago, before I lost most of my clan, I would have said who I am. I would have changed from Penelope to perhaps Phillip. I would have been born the son my father always wanted. However, God’s plan for my life wasn’t being a son but being a daughter. After meeting Thomas I have tae say I like God’s plan much better than mine.

Why did you not want to marry?

Let me clarify that misunderstanding. It was no’ so much that I dinna want tae marry. But when I decided tae be the son my father never had, I dinna think any man would want me. And none was interested in me for many years. Look at me. I am 25 years old. There wasn’t any man who approached me. But I dinna hold that against any of them, what man wants his wife fighting by his side? No, I understood what I was doing when I made that choice.

I’ve heard some ask why you didn’t disguise yourself as a boy when you came to Hawkwood, why didn’t you?

Those seeking me ken what I looked like. ’Twould have no’ been of any use to pretend I was a lad. And that would be your next story, the sequel to Sword of Forgiveness. Dinna get me wrong, I think I’m going to like Audrey of Sword of Trust but that is no’ who I am. I came tae Hawkwood tae call in a favor owed my father. I dinna come tae deceive anyone. If I came with deceit how could I expect them tae trust me when they realized that I was a woman? And I am pretty sure it wouldno’ take long before they figured that one out as I am no’ built like a boy. After all I am 25 years of age. Nay, I do believe I made the right decision.

You’re a warrior, so do you wear armor? 

(Penelope chuckles) Armor? You are jesting with me? I am no’ a knight. I am a woman warrior. And though I am a pretty guid shot with a bow or a knife, I dinna think I could shoot, throw, or wield a sword as I carried all that weight around on meself. And do you ken how expensive Armor is? ’Tis vera costly. I dinna come from a wealthy family or clan. I would have had tae give up eating for a year or more tae buy armor.

What do you like to do for fun?

You mean besides annoying Thomas? I still love tae hone my skills with my bow and also with my knife.  ’Tis even more fun these days practicing. Did you ken that I can beat Thomas? ’Tis true. I can best him and all his men with my bow and my knife. He tells me he lets me win but you and I both ken the truth.

Thanks for visiting with us today, Penelope.

’Tis me that wishes tae thank you. I’m looking forward to meeting your friends. If they have any questions for me happy I’d be to answer them.   


 GIVEAWAY:

On top of the rafflecopter giveaway I’ll give away a copy of Sword of the Matchmaker (if you have purchased the book you can choose one of my other books) if we have 10 different commenters. Leave a comment or answer one of the questions I’ve asked Penelope or ask me a question to be entered.

PLUS

Don’t forget to enter in the rafflecopter, too! There will be lots of ways to earn points. I’ll be giving away a kindle fire with Sword of the Matchmaker, $15 Amazon gift card and much more!

RAFFLECOPTER:




Click here to enter!


Tomorrow's stop for the blog tour can be found here: 

Purchase link:

Blurb:
Penelope Beatty made up her mind long ago she would live and die a Scottish warrior not a wife. But when nearly all her clan is killed and she is betrayed, she loathes doing the unthinkable, but must seek the help of an Englishman who owed her father his life.

Thomas Godfrey never married, but when a Scottish warrior lass shows up needing his aid, he finds her both annoying and irresistible. But the last thing he wants is to marry a woman who fights alongside him. If he was going to marry—which he isn’t—it would be to a soft, submissive woman. But when the Lady Brithwin meets the Scottish lass, she’s sure she’s found the perfect match for Thomas and nothing is going to stop her from seeing a summer wedding.

Sword of Forgiveness blurb:
After the death of her cruel father, Brithwin is determined never again to live under the harsh rule of any man. Independent and resourceful, she longs to be left alone to manage her father’s estate. But she soon discovers a woman has few choices when the king decrees she is to marry Royce, the Lord of Rosencraig. As if the unwelcome marriage isn’t enough, her new husband accuses her of murdering his family, and she is faced with a challenge of either proving her innocence or facing possible execution.
Royce of Hawkwood returns home after setting down a rebellion to find his family brutally murdered. When all fingers point to his betrothed and attempts are made on his life, Royce must wade through murky waters to uncover the truth. Yet Brithwin’s wise and kind nature begin to break down the walls of his heart, and he soon finds himself in a race to discover who is behind the evil plot before Brithwin is the next victim.

Purchase link:

Bio:
Debbie Lynne Costello has enjoyed writing stories since she was eight years old. She raised her family and then embarked on her own career of writing the stories that had been begging to be told. She and her husband have four children and live in upstate South Carolina. She has worked in many capacities in her church and is currently the Children's Director. Debbie Lynne has shown and raised Shetland Sheepdogs for eighteen years and still enjoys litters now and then. In their spare time, she and her husband take pleasure in camping and riding their Arabian and Tennessee Walking horses.


Media links:



Wednesday, June 14, 2017

Fraying at the Edge by Cindy Woodsmall

Book 2 of Cindy Woodsmall's The Amish of Summer Grove Series was a good read, a story about two girls, one Amish and the other Englisch who were accidentally switched at birth and now found by their biological parents and finding themselves living in a culture that neither of them can relate to despite the fact they were born in that culture.

The challenges they both face are realistic and sometimes very difficult to cope with.

I liked this book a lot.  I may have enjoyed book 1 a bit more, but it was a good read and I will probably quickly grab the next book in the series.  The book was a definite cliff hanger.  Can't stop with book 2!

I received this book from NetGalley for my honest review.  All thoughts are my own.

Friday, June 9, 2017

The Elf and the Princess (The Silent Warrior Trilogy Book 1) Audible Version by Anna Del C. Dye

This is the debut  book of Anna del C. Dye.  I don't generally read too much from the Fantasy genre, but this was a fun, different and "real seeming" book.  The events included battles, romance, a little mystery and a little sadness at times when events caused difficult situations.

There was a lot of description in the book and it made for an interesting read.

The narrator, George Tintura had a pleasant to hear voice and each character was portrayed in a different way making it easy to know the speaker, even the female voices.

It was an enjoyable book with a few twists and turns along the way.  I am sure book 2 will be an interesting read as well!

I received an ebook version from the author for my honest review which I have given.

Monday, June 5, 2017

Weddings at Promise Lodge by Charlotte Hubbard

I really enjoyed the next book in the Promise Lodge series. Charlotte Hubbard is definitely one of my favorite Amish authors.  Her books are uplifting and very enjoyable.  Her characters have real feelings that make you keep reading to get to know them all better.

Promise Lodge is a former camp site that was purchased by the Bender sisters and as new plain people come to reside in the community, each brings their talents, their trials and their personalities with them to their new home.

The community seems to be flourishing and love is blooming but not without being tested in a way that might stretch their trust and faith just a bit too far.  Are they up for the challenge?  You need to read this book.  I loved it and was sad to see the book come to an end!  I will be reading more from Charlotte Hubbard, no doubt about that!

I received a copy of this book from the author for my honest review.  All thoughts are my own.

You can pre-order this book at the following link.

Wednesday, May 31, 2017

Weaver's Needle by Robin Caroll

This was a full of action page turner.  There were no dull moments or slow spots.  I enjoyed this book very much,  Two recovery workers working against the clock to recover a missing map to the Dutchman gold mine.

I loved the characters and the adventure.  It was such an engaging book that it was hard to put down.  This is the first book I have read from this author.  I am pretty sure I will be watching for any upcoming books.  I really think anyone will enjoy this book.

It's a great, clean, Christian read.

I received a copy of this book from the publisher for my review.  All thoughts are my own.


Sunday, May 21, 2017

A Stolen Heart by Amanda Cabot Book 1 of the Cimarron Creek Trilogy

I really enjoyed this book by Amanda Cabot.  I was surprised at how it kept my attention to the very end.  It was a sweet story with many twists and turns, romance, mystery and everything that makes a book interesting to read.

I enjoyed the book from start to finish.  I will be reading more from this author whose writing talents clearly came through in this fun-to-read novel.

I received an e-book copy from NetGalley for my review.  All thoughts are my own.

Tuesday, May 16, 2017

Gladden the Heart by Olivia Newport

The story of Noah takes place during the revivalist period in the 1800's when traveling circuit preachers were common.  This is an interesting story of how Noah, an Amish man begins to fall into a trance and begins preaching, only to awaken from this state and have no recollection of the fact.

It is a very different theme than what I have read about in the past and it was interesting to see the interaction between the Methodist and the Amish families in this story.

I did enjoy reading this book.

I received an ebook copy of this title from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Wednesday, May 10, 2017

The Beloved Hopechest by Amy Clipston

This is the conclusion of a well-written four part series called An Amish Heirloom Novel. I even like the name of the series as it really speaks for the events in the books.

Mattie's daughters want to hear about their mother's past and the secrets she has kept in her heart.

It was a hard time for Mattie as she experiences personal trials almost beyond what she can bear or handle alone.  I think this book, especially, teaches of trusting in God to help us handle and overcome those hard trials in life that alone we can not accomplish.

The book is a part of a set that you will want to read in order to gain the best understanding and enjoyment.  I loved these books and am so pleased that I was able to read them.  They are very well done and will touch your heart.

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Seven Brides for Seven Mail-Order Husbands Romance Collection by Various Authors

When the lady mayor of Turtle Springs, Kansas sets out to help the female population of her community all kinds of things happen.  What's the plan?  It's to have auditions for husbands for the single or widowed women in her town.  As the War between the States has taken the lives of many of the men of Turtle Springs, an advertisement goes out and brings in many candidates and possible choices for the many women left in town.

I liked these seven stories which all were woven together as one to show the events in the lives of the people of Turtles Springs.  Each story seems to build into the other.  These were all sweet romances during the historical time period of the mid 1800's when life was a bit more rugged.

The stories, although with a common thread, were each different and unique which keeps your interest going throughout the book. I enjoyed the Christian themes throughout and was glad that I had an opportunity to read this delightful series of novellas.

Disclosure;  I received a complimentary e-book copy of this book from NetGalley for my honest review which I have given.  All thoughts are my own.

Saturday, May 6, 2017

My People, The Amish by Joe Keim

This powerful, deeply intense book by former Amish, Joe Keim, shares a first-hand account of his Amish life, family and his attempts to leave.  Not as easy as one would think...  The emotional ties remain for his family, yet the beliefs do not work for all Amish and in trying to find their ways, they often actually get lost, as did Joe.

As he forges a path away from his Amish community, he and his wife, Esther, plan their departure from their Amish families and community.

This book does not hold back any of the feelings, the mistakes and the trials of this difficult time.  It wasn't always smooth sailing, but Joe Keim found his way and now has a ministry to help other Amish in their decisions to leave and start new lives.

It is a very well written story of a father and son,  a story that I feel is an honest representation of what occurred in their lives as well as probably many Amish families.

I was very happy to have had an opportunity to read this amazing account of Joe Keim's life amongst his Amish people.  It was hard to put the book down and as I read it, I gained a better understanding of this group of people and their culture.  I am sure this will make interesting reading for  anyone that is interested in the Amish.  I have learned a lot from reading this and highly recommend reading it.

I received an e-book copy for my honest review, which I have given. All thoughts are my own.

This book will be available on June 1, 2017 and you can pre-order it at this link.


Friday, May 5, 2017

The Amish Cooking Class, The Blessing by Wanda E. Brunstetter

Book 2 of Wanda E. Brunstetter's The Amish Cooking Class series was a wonderful addition to this series.  I really enjoyed book 1 and book 2 did not disappoint.

Heidi and Lyle Troyer's hopes and expectations were not fulfilled, yet Heidi perseveres and receives happiness in her life.  She shares her insights, her faith with those who come to her cooking class.

Both of the books in the series, have feelings of hope, love, friendship, forgiveness and trust in God.  Heidi shares a scripture with each of her recipe cards.  This touching story left me wanting for more.  I hope there will be more additions to her Cooking Class series.  The stories are uplifting and enjoyable to read.

I received an e-book version of this book from NetGalley for my honest review.  All thoughts are my own.

Saturday, April 29, 2017

Alaskan Reunion (Alaskan Grooms) by Belle Calhoune

This was a sweet romance with the themes of forgiveness, trust, and making amends.  The book featured Paige Reynolds whose father's schemes caught her in the backfire.  As a result, she is not welcomed back to town with open arms.  Yet she wants to repair her father's damages.

It is a sweet story and I enjoyed it.  I liked the lessons learned and felt Christian readers would enjoy it very much.

You can grab a copy at this link.


Thursday, April 27, 2017

Amish Wanderer by Laura V. Hilton

This was the first book I have read from this author.  It was a different scenario than many/most of the Amish books that I have read.  It has real intensity and was emotionally charged.  As the relationship between Bethany and Silas grows, they struggle with the lingering and frightening after-effects of their dis-functional family lives.

Life had been not what either had expected and certainly not wanted.  There are several parts of the books with real teaching moments.  I think the one that struck me the deepest was the part about going through the Refiner's fire and the "parable" used to explain that to a no longer trusting Bethany.  Very good!

There was a small issue that I kept noticing, that being because I am bi-lingual and speak and read German.  As such, the use of the word "nein" or "no" in German was used often and in high German this word is usually used to answer a question, yes or no, rather than being used as I have "no" money.  In this context another German word would be used.  But I am not an expert on the Amish German context so I could be wrong about how it is used in their culture.

All in all, I  loved the book and am glad to have read it.  It keeps you turning the pages!

Tuesday, April 25, 2017

Devoted by Marjorie Jackson

Such a beautiful book by Marjorie Jackson.  This book of 31 days of Devotionals is a wonderful and encouraging way to start each new day.  Definitely a Christian book as it guides you in developing a relationship with God by your daily actions.

Living in a world with standards that change, you learn hope to cope with the outside influences and deal with them.

The book includes 31 adult coloring pages that go with these devotionals.  The book includes scripture quotations, discussion questions which cause you to think and ponder upon the ideas that she is presenting.

The book is well written and uplifting.



You can grab a copy here and it will surely help you gain great outlooks in life.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.

Saturday, April 22, 2017

You Carried Me, a daughter's memoir by Melissa Ohden

This was a very dramatic book about the events in the life of Melissa Ohden.  She discovers that not only was she adopted, but that she was aborted by her birth mother.  This abortion failed and although this baby faced what seemed to be insurmountable health challenges, she survived and grew up healthy, and able to function well in school and other areas.  As she discovered her past, the shock changed her life, taking her to the lowest point in her life.  But again she strives to gain control of her life with a goal to find out more about her past and the parents that created her life.

I found this book to be very moving and highly emotional.  I couldn't put it down and quickly read the book within one day.  The book shows her fight for others whose lives were similar to hers.

I really enjoyed this powerful story.

Thursday, April 20, 2017

The Lighthouse Secret (Audible Version) by Linda Weaver Clarke



Synopsis: The Lighthouse Secret: Rick Bonito’s uncle supposedly drowned five years ago and his body was never found, but something did not seem right about the report. Uncle Antonio was an excellent swimmer. His disappearance seems quite suspicious to Rick’s father. He never felt the complete truth had come out about his brother. It is now up to Amelia and Rick to find out the truth about his uncle.

This Audible version of Linda Weaver Clarke's book was wonderful!  I love her narrator,  Diane Lehman.  She is so full of expression and very talented!  I loved listening to someone "tell me a story".  I could listen as I drove to and from work and as I commuted on the train and even while fixing dinner.  It's a great way to "multi-task".

I loved Linda's book!  It's a great cozy mystery and for me it was awesome because she always writes about places that I know.  This time her book took me to my old home in California, Palm Springs, and as she described it, I could totally visualize it!  Then they were headed to Ventura Harbor.  I used to live in Ojai which is very close by and trips to the beach in Ventura were a remembrance of years past for me!

But aside from this, the book held my attention to the very end.  My only disappointment was that this is book 7 and will be the last of this series.  I loved this clean romance and the resolution to the mystery.  I look forward to reading other books from this great author.

I received an Audible version of this book from the author for my honest review, which I have given.  All thoughts are my own.

You can grab a paperback or ebook at this link or find the Audible version here!

Return to Huckleberry Hill by Jennifer Beckstrand

In this return to a favorite place called Huckleberry Hill in the quaint Amish town of Bonduel, Wisconsin, you will meet the young single grandson of the Helmuth's, Reuben Helmuth.  This young man is a good lookin', eligible and well-to-do Amish man and he "knows it"!
He's ready to propose to the love of his life only to have his life completely shattered.  Feeling as though he can no longer face the people he knew in Ohio, he heads to Bonduel to stay with his grandparents.

This book is great.  I still really enjoy Jennifer Beckstrand's sense of humor and her light, happy style of writing.  This is a continuation of the wonderful Huckleberry Hill series of the match-making grandparents, Anna and Felty Helmuth. This cute couple will do anything to find the perfect spouse for their many grandkids.

I think you will love reading this fun and captivating story.  Always a good Christian read and full of learning of life experiences, as well.
You can grab a copy of Jennifer Beckstrand's latest book for pre-order at this link.

I received a ebook copy of this book from NetGalley for my honest review which I have given.  All thoughts are my own.

Saturday, April 15, 2017

The World of Laura Ingalls Wilder by Marta McDowell

I grew up on Laura Ingalls Wilder.  I was a Minnesota gal!  My favorite teacher shared two wonderful book series with us.  The Box Car Children and all things Laura Ingalls Wilder!

I fell in love with the pioneering spirit of these wonderful books.  The trials, the joy, sadness and heartache that all was apart of their lives.

As an adult, I returned to Minnesota and we visited Burr Oak, in Iowa which was not far from my Minnesota border town home.  Now I've shared my love of these books with my daughter and also my granddaughter.

These books are so special to me and I was so thrilled to see this commemorative book on behalf of Laura's 150th birthday.

The book is beautiful and does a real loving memory to this wonderful author and pioneering woman.  Her illustrations and art work are just amazing and the text brought a few tears to my eyes as I remembered the stories and the details of the lives of these people who became a part of my growing up years.  Such a beautiful book, the kind you want to leave on your coffee table for all to browse through.

And as a genealogist, I loved looking at the plat maps, seeing where they lived throughout their lives. I never really realized how often they started over, although I knew that there were several homes.

This book is truly a reminder of the many happy childhood memories this author shared with me and many others who have loved and treasured her books.  So happy to have had a chance to see this wonderful tribute to Laura Ingalls Wilder.

I received an e-book version of this book from NetGalley for my honest review, which I have given. All thoughts are my own.

You can pre-order this book at this link.

My Heart Belongs in Ruby City Idaho

Beautiful cover!  This is the first book that I have read of this author.  I so enjoyed this book.  It was so fun to read about this mail order marriage and how things don't always go as we have planned!

The book is a really enjoyable read.  I had a hard time putting it down.  I will definitely watch for books from this engaging author again.  Their is excitement, romance and I think a little humor in some ways as things start off on the wrong foot.

It's a great clean Christian read, the kind of book I like to recommend to my friends.  Can't wait to read more of her books!

I received an e-book copy from NetGalley for my honest review, which I have given.  All thoughts are my own.

Amish Brides by Jennifer Beckstrand, Molly Jebber and Amy Lillard

These are three of my favorite Amish  authors!  The stories were each different and unique.  All very entertaining and such that you didn't want to stop reading till the end.

I love Jennifer Beckstrand's humor in her story, using the wonderful matchmaker characters of her Huckleberry Hill series.
I enjoyed Molly Jebber's contribution, Joshua's Bride, which brought in a historical Amish story from the 1880's which gives a more earlier time period with it's views and feelings.  I loved how this story had a great theme of healing and forgiving and learning to accept people for themselves and not those who surround their lives.

Amy Lillard's  A Summer in Paradise, starts out with a bang, literally as Reba finds herself in a bad way after nearly being hit by a passing buggy. And finding herself the subject of a match-making plan which is definitely not wanted.

Loved these three in a nicely combined book.  Great stories for any Amish reader.  You will love these.

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley for my honest review, which I have given.  All thoughts are my own.

You can get your copy here.


Friday, April 7, 2017

The Amish Widower by Virginia Smith

It was the first book of this author's that I have read.  It was sooooo good!  I had to read it every chance I could.  The book was a real page-turner and I notice that it is a part of a series.  I would love to read more from this author.  The story has some surprises that caught me off guard.  I loved that! You will love this book if you love Amish fiction.

The story has great Christian themes and yet these characters had real human feelings that they needed to  be able to learn to deal with.

I received an ebook copy of this book from NetGalley for an honest review, which I have given.  All thoughts are my own.

Wednesday, April 5, 2017

Love's Compass by Carla Gade with Bonus Story by Darlene Franklin

I really enjoyed this Western historical romance.  There were some really nice scenes, exciting scenes and was a sweet, clean, romance.  This is the first book that I have read from this author, but enjoy this type of book.  And I wasn't disappointed.  It was a nice depiction of Western life, adventure, and trials.

There was also a nice bonus story by Darlene Franklin.  I also enjoyed this book, as well. Hope to read more from both of these fine authors.

I received this ebook from NetGalley for my honest review, which I have given.  All opinions are my own.

Saturday, April 1, 2017

An Amish Summer by multiple authors

This was a series of four  Amish novellas written by authors that I have enjoyed over the years.  They were Shelley Shepard Gray, Amy Clipston, Kathleen Fuller, and Kelly Irvin.  The stories were all different from each other and did not have the same characters and blend into one another, but were all rather unique and different.  I did like that first two very, very much.  They were my favorite ones.

The cover was really beautiful in my opinion. It was a good series of novellas and I was happy that I was able to read them.

I received and ebook copy of this book from NetGalley for my honest review which I have given.  All thoughts are my own.

Monday, March 20, 2017

Marrying Jonah by Amy Lillard

This is book 6 in the Wells Landing Series.  I've been lucky enough to read every one of the books.  I am kind of thinking that this was my absolute favorite one!  It was a book I COULD NOT PUT DOWN!

In this story Sarah and Jonah's relationship is a truly difficult one and definitely has many trials to overcome.  It is a story of not-so-perfect people, both hoping for a better situation.  It's a story of romance, trust, mistrust and forgiveness.  I think it crosses through almost every emotion.

The story is not your everyday Amish story line.  It was so good.  I know you will love it!

I received a copy of this book from the Author for my honest review.  All thoughts are my own.

You can pre-order your book at this link.  But lucky for you, you only need to wait another week!

Saturday, March 18, 2017

What the Bishop Saw by Vannetta Chapman

A new series by Vannetta Chapman!  This was such a captivating book and it's even better knowing this was book 1 in The Amish Bishop Mystery Series.

The story starts out with a deadly fire that kills an Amish community member, Vernon.  But it doesn't stop there, there's lots more action going on in this once peaceful Amish community.  People are getting pretty worried about what will happen next.

This book was a great read and was another of those books that are impossible to put down, until you get to the end.  It's a great combination of Amish and mystery and won't disappoint.

Loved this book!
It's available for pre-order at this link.
I received a copy of this book from the author for my honest review.  All thoughts are my own.

Friday, March 10, 2017

The Farmer's Market Mishap by Wanda E. Brunstetter

This is a sequel to The Lopsided Christmas Cake by Wanda E. and Jean Brunstetter.  This was an easy reading sweet tale of the twins, Elma and Thelma.  Thelma is now married and expecting a boppli while Elma is single and caring for the store that they inherited.  Thelma seems to want Elma to renew or rekindle some feelings for Delbert, but Elma doesn't seem to respond in the way good-hearted sister Thelma would like her to.  But with being very busy at the store, Elma will probably need a little help to get the work done.

The story is sweet and a relaxing read.  I enjoyed it as I do other books I have read from these authors.  It seems a bit shorter in length but still tells the story well.

I received an ebook copy for NetGalley for my review which I have given.  All thoughts are my own.

This book will be available on June 1, 2017.  You can pre-order the book at this link.

Wednesday, March 8, 2017

Doctor's Dilemma by Richard L. Mabry, M.D.

I grew up a fan of mystery books.  And I really enjoyed this one.  It is the second book I have read from this author and both of them were really good.

This book had mystery and a little romance and kept my interest throughout.

Tyler Gentry, M.D., finds himself working at a new job only to start receiving threatening messages. The book has some exciting scenes and keep you guessing till the end.

So glad I had an opportunity to read this great mystery.

You can learn more about the author here.

I received a free copy of this book from the author for my honest review, which I have given.  All thoughts are my own.

Monday, March 6, 2017

The Ebb Tide by Beverly Lewis

You can't go too wrong reading a Beverly Lewis book, can you? This was true to form.  It was an amazing read and I loved it.  I was quite sorry to see it end.

This book brought out the feelings that everyone needs to find their path in life, follow the road that God has led them to.  Not all of us our the same even within religious circles.

Sallie is somewhat restless and not the "typical" Amish woman. She wants more, although she tries her hardest to conform, it's a trial for her and as life opens up opportunities for her, she longs to explore where they may lead her.

It was a great book!  I am so glad I was able to read this!

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley for my honest review.  All thoughts are my own.

Friday, March 3, 2017

The Chapel Car Bride by Judith Miller

This is the first book that I have read by this author.  I was so delighted with it, that I hope that I will find more great books from this author.  It was a good Christian read, interesting, entertaining and hard to put down.

Hope Irvine and her preacher father, travel in a train car which is both the home and the "chapel".  The traveling duo have an assignment in Finch and find themselves in a mine company town that has a little more than mining going on.  This book is captivating.  I loved how Hope and hero, Luke, work to make this little town a better place for all.  Their Christian beliefs keep them working on good projects that sometimes are entangled with a little bit more, without realizing it.

Great book and story.  I enjoyed it very much!
I received an ebook copy from NetGalley for my honest review, which I have given.

This book releases April 4, 2017.

Chat with Vera: To celebrate Women's History Month we look at "Mo...

Chat with Vera: To celebrate Women's History Month we look at "Mo...: To celebrate Women's History Month we are looking at how women drove boldly into the Twentieth Century. Various contributions of women t...

Saturday, February 25, 2017

My Heart Belongs in the Superstition Mountains: Carmela's Quandary by Susan Page Davis

Carmela finds herself living a lie.  Being an orphan she is raised by her uncle.  Her life with her uncle brings him his income.  And she begins to have feelings of guilt and doesn't want her past to also be her future.

I found this to be a really sweet read and I am glad that I was able to read it.  I enjoyed the character of Carmela and she matures, learns about life and about herself and how to make choices and decisions.  I think if you like western historicals, that you will enjoy this book, the people in it, the good and the not-so-good ones.  It's a good Christian read and have enjoyed this and other books from this author.

I received an ebook copy of this book from NetGalley for my honest review which I have given.  All thoughts are my own..


Monday, February 20, 2017

Baseball Faith by Rob Maaddi

This was a new type of book for me, but being that I am a baseball grandma, I thought I would give it a try!  And I enjoyed it!  This book features 52 MLB stars as they share their thoughts on their faith in God, and feelings as to how this helps them both in their personal lives and also in their baseball careers.  Each of the athletes has their own page with photos, and their personal testimony, if you will, on what they believe and the help they received from God.

They each have a scripture that is a reminder to them of God's love and care.  Also included are their stats and information about their baseball "history".

I enjoyed reading their thoughts and was happy to see that the stars that my 3 baseball playing grandsons emulate are good examples to them.

I received a copy of this book from the publisher for my honest review.  All thoughts are my own.




Desert Moon by Susan Page Davis

This was a sweet romance with a little danger and mystery thrown in.  I loved it.  It starts out fast with a stage coach robbery and then accusations of the crime are made and with seemingly good evidence.

Julia, in an attempt to protect her brother from a lynch mob finds herself at odds with her former beau who is also the town's sheriff.

I really think you will enjoy this book, which also has a bonus story at the end called Honor Bound.

I am finding that I am really enjoying the western historical genre and hope to read many more by this author.

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley for my honest review which I have given.

Thursday, February 16, 2017

A Mother's Love by Charlotte Hubbard

Description:

For widow Rose Raber, it’s been a year of tragic loss and difficult decisions. She thought providing for her young daughter was the greatest challenge she faced. Until her dying mother revealed that Rose was adopted—and her birth mother is someone with much to lose if the secret comes out. As Rose struggles to reconcile the truth with her faith—and her troubling curiosity—outgoing newcomer Matthias Wagler is another surprise she didn't expect. His optimism and easy understanding inspires her. And his prospective partnership with wealthy deacon Saul Hartzler promises a possible new life for them—together. But with this second chance comes yet another revelation for all involved.

When Saul’s wife unexpectedly turns up at Rose’s new job, their bond as mother and daughter is instant and unmistakable. And it isn't long before an unforgiving Saul discovers the truth, threatening Matthias’s livelihood and Rose’s future. Now with more than just their happiness at stake, Rose and Matthias must find the strength and courage to stand strong—and trust God's enduring miracles of motherhood, forgiveness, and love.


My Thoughts:

This book was so good.  It starts out so interestingly and continues throughout the entire book.  There was not one slow spot at all.  It was so well written.  I was sad to see that it came to an end.  I wanted it to continue.  It was so engaging and so touching.  The story was about people that weren't perfect, didn't follow all the Amish rules exactly and had to work through this with love, patience, forgiveness and understanding.  Such a great Christian read!  I hope that I can read more from this author.  I can't say it's often that books bring tears to my eyes, but this one so touched me and I could relate to quite a bit of the events that happened and also the feelings that it brought out.  

Four wonderful mothers are featured in this book.  Their feelings were so well expressed by the author, that you knew exactly their thoughts and knew how they were struggling to find ways to work through everything.  I absolutely loved this book!

I received a complimentary copy of this book from the author for my honest review.  All thoughts are my own.

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

The Illusionist's Apprentice by Kristy Cambron


Book Blurb:

Harry Houdini’s one-time apprentice holds fantastic secrets about the greatest illusionist in the world. But someone wants to claim them . . . or silence her before she can reveal them on her own.

Boston, 1926. Jenny “Wren” Lockhart is a bold eccentric—even for a female vaudevillian. As notorious for her inherited wealth and gentleman’s dress as she is for her unsavory upbringing in the back halls of a vaudeville theater, Wren lives in a world that challenges all manner of conventions.

In the months following Houdini’s death, Wren is drawn into a web of mystery surrounding a spiritualist by the name of Horace Stapleton, a man defamed by Houdini’s ardent debunking of fraudulent mystics in the years leading up to his death. But in a public illusion that goes terribly wrong, one man is dead and another stands charged with his murder. Though he’s known as one of her teacher’s greatest critics, Wren must decide to become the one thing she never wanted to be: Stapleton’s defender.

Forced to team up with the newly formed FBI, Wren races against time and an unknown enemy, all to prove the innocence of a hated man. In a world of illusion, of the vaudeville halls that showcase the flamboyant and the strange, Wren’s carefully constructed world threatens to collapse around her. Layered with mystery, illusion, and the artistry of the Jazz Age’s bygone vaudeville era, The Illusionist’s Apprentice is a journey through love and loss and the underpinnings of faith on each life’s stage.

My Thoughts:

This was a very well written book.  I really enjoyed reading it and loved the suspense.  A good mystery is certainly one of my favorite genres.  This author does a good job of bringing those moments out in this very interesting historical mystery.  I love how she wove the history into the story taking you back to the days of Vaudeville.  A very good read!  I highly recommend it!

I received a copy of this book from the publisher for my honest review.  All thoughts are my own.

Wednesday, February 8, 2017

Raging Storm by Vannetta Chapman

This. Book.  Vannetta has done it again!  This is book 2 in the Remnant Series.  It is a MUST read.  If you haven't read book 1, please do.  Although it can be read as a stand-alone, you will want to know the characters as book 2 opens.

After a major solar flare, civilization as we know is in for a rocky ride!  As Shelby sets out with Max, Bianca and Patrick to find insulin for her son, although they expect trouble, they are in for some real big adventures, beyond what one would imagine.

Vannetta Chapman's research must have been so intense.  I felt as though I was there experiencing whatever Shelby and her group faced.   It was amazing and I couldn't put it down.  Reading in bed with a flashlight kind of book!

The writing was professional, engaging and so very intense.  Book 3 can't come soon enough for me!


I received a copy of this book from the publisher for my review.  All thoughts are my own.

The author Vannetta Chapman.

Grab your copy at this link.

Monday, February 6, 2017

The Bridge of the Golden Wood by Karl Beckstrand

This book by Karl Beckstrand is geared for children about age 5 and up.  It is designed to help children learn about the value of work in their lives and how by working, you will receive a treasure in return.  I felt this was an especially good concept for children to learn.  There are some additional online resources and ideas for work that might help bring them a bit of treasure. 
I think children with like this parable of learning how to do service for others.

I enjoyed the writing and the colorful and attractive pictures in the book.  I think younger children will enjoy this book.

I received a free ebook from the author for my honest review.



Monday, January 30, 2017

Seven Brides for Seven Texans by Multiple Authors

Seven brothers on the 7 Heart Ranch are given the ultimatum to get married within the year or lose their inheritance.  I loved these stories, easy and enjoyable to read, all seven of them.  Some of my favorite historical authors wrote these and they are all sweet, Christian reads.  And there's lots of reading to keep you busy for quite a while.  I highly recommend this excellent collection.  I am so pleased that I had the opportunity to read these. 

And I couldn't pick a favorite, I loved 'em all!

I was given an ebook copy from NetGalley for my honest review. 

You can grab your copy here!

Great News for Author Amy Clipston!



Zondervan author Amy Clipston sells 1 Million book units

Author’s momentum continues with May 9 release of “The Beloved Hope Chest”



(Jan. 2017) The Fiction team at HarperCollins Christian Publishing announced today that sales of author Amy Clipston’s books have exceeded 1 million copies.

"We are so proud of this major milestone in Amy’s writing career. Amy continues to be among the most beloved voices in Amish fiction,” said Daisy Blackwell Hutton, vice president and publisher of fiction. "Readers are looking for stories that bring them hope, and Amy creates beautiful stories that do just that—inspire and uplift.”

Clipston has published with Zondervan for nearly a decade. She writes both full-length novels and novellas and has written stories for both adult and young adult audiences.

"I'm so thrilled and honored to call HarperCollins Christian Publishing my home,” she said. “When I received my first offer, I never dreamed my writing career would last this long. I consider the members of my publishing team dear friends, and I'm excited to continue to publish books with them."

Zondervan’s most recent novel from Clipston is “The Cherished Quilt,” published in November 2016. The title is the third installment of her Amish Heirloom series, which culminates with “The Beloved Hope Chest,” releasing May 9.

Clipston’s writing has been praised by Publishers Weekly and Library Journal, among others publications. Her books have won awards and have appeared regularly on industry best-seller lists, including Christian Book Distributors, Christian Book Association and the Evangelical Christian Publishers Association.

Clipston is New Jersey native and lives in Charlotte, N.C. She holds a degree in communications from Virginia Wesleyan College.



About Zondervan

Zondervan is a world-leading Bible publisher and provider of Christian communications.

Zondervan, as part of HarperCollins Christian Publishing, Inc., delivers transformational Christian experiences through its bestselling Bibles, books, curriculum, academic resources and digital products. -

The Company’s products are sold worldwide and translated into nearly 200 languages. Zondervan offices are located in Grand Rapids, MI. For additional information, please visit www.zondervan.com.
Author Amy Clipston!