Saturday, September 23, 2017

An Amish Christmas Love by Beth Wiseman, Amy Clipston, Ruth Reid, Kelly Irvin

This was a wonderful set of four Amish Christmas novellas by four of my fave authors.

They were not connected to one another, but each independent stories of love, trust and an abiding trust in God.  I loved reading each and every one of them.  I did have a fave, however, and that was the final story in the book by author Ruth Reid.It was entitled "Home for Christmas".  I loved the warm, wonderful feelings that it left me with.

If you want a truly inspirational set of stories to read this holiday season, this is the set!

I know you will love it!

I received a copy of this book from the publisher for my honest review.  All thoughts are my own.

You can grab a copy of this book here.

Saturday, September 16, 2017

Write By Your Side by D.J.Van Oss

This was a really fun read and I enjoyed it so much.  This sweet romance was about two writers, who, because of a contract signed without careful reading of the small print, find themselves somewhat in a bad predicament.  Having been together some time previously in a relationship that didn't work out,  the last thing on their minds was to have to spend time together writing a book that was require by the contract.

It was really an entertaining book and it was fun to see their interactions as they found themselves spending time together that they had never intended to.

I highly recommend this very sweet romance and am happy that I was able to read it.  I hadn't read this author's work previously but plan to continue doing so.

I was given an ebook copy from the author for my honest review, which I have given.

You can grab your copy at this link!

Monday, September 11, 2017

Amish Old House Mysteries The Witch Burning by D. Gail Miller

This was actually volume 3 of this series.  I haven't yet read the first two, but hope to.  The Main character  is Hannah Gingerich, soon to be married to Laban.  But in the meantime, a mystery appears, an old house, old spinster sisters, and lots of other unusual things to investigate.  Hannah wants very much to solve the mystery of what happen in the past and was never known.

This was a fun novella.  I always love a good mystery and add an Amish theme and it's all the better.  I enjoyed reading this book and am delighted that although it was v. 3, I was easily engaged and didn't  have the feeling that I was not sure what was happening and who was who.

This is the first I have read from this author.  It was enjoyable and a good mystery.

I received an ebook copy of this story from the author for my honest review, which I have given.

Thursday, September 7, 2017

My Heart Belongs in the Shenandoah Valley by Andrea Boeschaar

Another wonderful addition to the "My Heart Belongs" books.  It's the first book that I've read by this author and I have to say, it's really good and I will keep my eyes open for more of her works.

In this story, Lily, realizes that the man who is the executor of her father's estate does not have her best interest in mind.  Is the only way to keep what's rightfully hers to enter into a loveless marriage with a much older man?

This is a page-turning book.  I really enjoyed it, but I won't tell you her decision!

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.

Wednesday, September 6, 2017

When the Bishop Needs an Alibi by Vannetta Chapman

I have been a long-time fan of author Vannetta Chapman.  She writes Amish books and mysteries so well!  Combine the two genres and you have an amazing book!  And so it is.

This mystery is one that keeps you wondering what is happening through out-a real page turner.  It's book 2 of her Amish Bishop Mysteries series.  So I am going to have a hard time waiting for the next installment.

I love the interaction between the Amish and the "Englishers" and the kind and helpful nature of Henry and his many artistic talents.
I feel that anyone who enjoys Amish mysteries will find this book a great work.  

I received a copy of this book from the author for my review.  All thoughts are my own.

You can grab your copy here!

The author, Vannetta Chapman


Saturday, September 2, 2017

Muffy & Valor: A True Story by Karl Beckstrand

Karl Beckstrand writes children's books with heart.  This warm and sweet story about the author's actual pet, describe how his dog, having been injured by another dog, no longer wants to be around other dogs.  Yet, when the family finds and cares for a lost and injured pet whose owner is not known, Muffy becomes a caring and compassionate animal.

This book is a good lesson for children to learn from.   The illustrations are made by Brandon Rodriguez and just looking at the cover shows the pain that German Shepard is feeling.

We lost a dog in a similar fashion and it was hard for my kids to understand everything.  This book will help children understand some things that occur in life that are hard to cope with.

I received a free ebook version of this children's store from the author.  All thoughts are my own.


Wednesday, August 30, 2017

Walk it Out by Tricia Goyer

I just finished reading Tricia Goyer's latest book.  It's a great way to get back into living the way we should.  It's advice, suggestions, and guides on how to improve our lives and pick ourselves up when life isn't going our way, which can be often.

It's a book that reminds us to ground ourselves in our faith.  I think the advice given is good for Christians of any denomination.  The doctrines taught are universal and will fit into the lives of any person believing in Christ.

None us of comes with instructions, so we all have to learn through trial and error, sometimes the errors win and we need to regroup, sometimes needing help from others, either family and friends or professional.  But we should always keep trying to make the connections that will bring us back onto the right track.

This book will uplift your spirit and teach you principles for a happier and more fulfilled life.  By sharing your talents and giving of yourself and time, you will find life will be much better both for those you help and yourself.

I really enjoyed this book and hope to incorporate many of the suggestions that I read about.  It's well worth your time reading.  You will be touched be the beautiful Christian Spirit that it conveys.

You can pre-order your copy here!


Monday, August 28, 2017

Learning to Love Saul's Story by J.E.B. Spredemann

This book by J.E.B. Spredemann was an Amish romance.  I am so glad that I was able to read this very sweet romance.  It was a story about human nature.  And the feelings that happen when our lives are not turning out exactly as planned or anything like we had planned.   Learning to forgive yourself and others is an important theme of this book.  And showing caring and kindness to others is also a thread that runs through the story.

Through it all, you can see that things may not always seem to be going in our planned directions, yet God still cares for us if we allow him in to help in the situations we find ourselves in.

Great read.  Lots of good things to think about.


Saturday, August 26, 2017

A Simple Wish by Charlotte Hubbard

I'm always happy to read a book by Charlotte Hubbard.  I love her Amish romance titles and have enjoyed each one that I have read.  This was another great book by this author.  It was part 2 in a 2 book series.  But I have to admit, as I was reading the last pages, it seemed as though there were hints of perhaps another book that might appear.

I enjoyed how the characters from the previous book entered and took part in the book.  It was a comfortable feeling to be able to recognize them and the author reminds you of what parts they portrayed in the previous book.  So I think even if you haven't read the previous book, you would still be able to enjoy this one very much.

It this book there was also a down-to-earth feel as the characters, although in a religious position did not always maintain their religious principles and made them subject to human failings. You were able to see the good and the not so good.

I highly recommend this book to readers of Amish fiction and those who have not read Amish books in the past, you will really like this one.

Disclosure:  I received a copy of this book for my honest review which I have given.  I received no monetary compensation.  All thoughts are my own.

Friday, August 18, 2017

The Rebels of Cordovia by Linda Weaver Clarke Audible Version



I have to admit, I am starting to get spoiled with all the great books that can be found on Audible.com.  I love the fact that you can plug-in the headset and listen without turning pages or holding a book.  It's wonderful!  I was so excited to get this copy of The Rebels of Cordovia by Linda Weaver Clarke.  It's a great read and the narrator, Carolyn Kashner has a very pleasant voice, with plenty of expression and great vocal changes to help identify the characters.

I so enjoyed this fun book!  It has adventure, romance, a little mystery, history and action.  No boring moments here.  Linda Weaver Clarke's Audible book is really entertaining and enjoyable. And it has a great ending! Which I won't tell you about because you really need to get this book. 

Rebels for the cause of the people, Robin and her rebels have to decide whether or not to join forces to protect the rights of the people. Placed back in the days of wicked and oppressive kings, the rebels work together for the freedoms of the common people.  Will they succeed against the governing forces? 

The romance is sweet and the action is plenty.  I highly recommend this entertaining book!
Disclosure: I received a copy of this book for my honest review, which I have given.

Here is where you can get your own copy at Audible.com





















Tuesday, August 15, 2017

Cardiac Event by Dr. Richard L. Mabry

Another great mystery from Dr. Mabry.  His mysteries (those I've read) always include some medical incidents, a topic in which he is well versed.

Loved the fast paced action and I hope he keeps writing as mystery is one of my favorite genres.

The characters were well described and the action kept my interest throughout.

If you love a great mystery, this one is just that!  The mystery keeps you thinking about the events and who the "culprit" is.  Never a dull moment in this action packed book.

I received a copy from the author for my honest review.  All thoughts are my own.

You can find out more about Dr. Mabry at this link.
Click here to grab your own copy!

Thursday, August 10, 2017

Our Amish Values Who We Are and What We Believe by Lester Beachy

This book was gifted to me.  It was written by an Amish tour guide in Holmes County, Pennsylvania.  It is a well illustrated book on Amish life.  It shares the feelings the Amish have regarding various topics that are important to them.

Although not a long book, it shared values that I think everyone can implement into their lives.  Very nice and openly shared values that are basics to Christian living.

I felt a nice peaceful feeling browsing through the photos and reading this very nice book.


Monday, August 7, 2017

Guest Interview with Linda Weaver Clarke and Ebook Giveaway!

 I have been enjoying all of Linda Weaver Clarke's books, especially her Rebel of Cordovia Series.  And I am just thrilled to have her on my blog today!  Linda is a very talented author and lives in my home state!

Glad to have you join me today, Linda!

Bio: Linda Weaver Clarke is the author of 22 books: historical romances, period romances, a romantic cozy mystery series, a mystery suspense series, a children’s book, and non-fiction. She has also traveled throughout the United States giving lectures on writing techniques. All her books are family friendly. She lives in Color Country, which is located in southern Utah among all the red mountains. 

 Welcome to my blog. Where did you get your inspiration for The Rebel Series?

All three books in this series are love stories set in the late 1700s. The Rebel Series was inspired by the stories of the American patriots who fought to be free from the dictatorship and tyranny of a king. It’s a theme that is dear to me. Liberty is something that I cherish. It’s a precious gift given to us by those who fought so valiantly. When I read the stories of the American Revolution, my heart swells with gratitude for those loyal patriots. When I look at our flag and pledge allegiance to it, tears well up in my eyes. When I listen to The Star Spangled Banner or God Bless the U.S.A., I get choked up. Especially when it’s sung by a choir.

How would you describe The Rebel Series?

The Rebel Series is a mixture of romance and adventure. I absolutely love stories that are page-turners, which have some mystery and suspense. I love a romance where the man and woman know they are meant for one another and have a strong belief in God. Even though there are trials along the way, they never give up on the other. I also like strong women characters in a story.

Had the idea for this series been on your mind for a while?

I had the idea of a country that had to fight for its liberty and the idea stayed in my mind for a long time. I had read stories of how America got its freedom and how determined we were. I was touched with each incident that I read. We fought for our freedom from 1775 – 1783. The miracles that happened during that war made me realize that God was watching over us.

Please give us a description of book one: The Rebels of Cordovia.

There was a time when swashbuckling men and brave women engaged in daring and romantic adventures, those who fought with bravery and valor. In this battle for freedom, a love story begins to blossom. Daniel, a rogue and a leader of the Freemen, doesn’t realize that the sweet feminine woman he has met and is falling for happens to be the leader of Robin’s Rebels. Realizing the importance of uniting all the rebel groups, Daniel tries to recruit Robin’s Rebels but they refuse. Now he has to find a way to convince them. When he finds out the leader is actually a woman, what will his reaction be?

Now tell us about book two: The Highwayman of Cordovia.

Centuries ago, valiant men and courageous women engaged in daring adventures as they helped their fellow man. In the country of Cordovia, the people enjoy their new-found liberty, but all is not well. A group of powerful men plan to take over the small country and replace the leader with a king.

With the help of a bold highwayman and a pastor’s daughter, they try to save their country from being taken over by a power-hungry leader. As they strive to stop the Kingmen and thwart their plans, Christine finds herself falling in love with Austin Knight. The only problem with their relationship is that she thinks he is her knight in shining armor instead of a highwayman. If she finds out his trade, what will her reaction be? As a pastor’s daughter, will love override her values?

The Fox of Cordovia is the third book, which will be released Aug 21st. What is it about?

In this swashbuckling romance, a sinister plot has just been uncovered and its up to a former patriot and a young nurse to discover who is behind it. Caroline is engaged to the future mayor of Laketown, a man of influence and greatly respected. But all that changes when she overhears a conspiracy behind closed doors. After being discovered, she runs for her life. Caroline needs to report her findings, but whom can she trust? When she asks Jesse Conover for help, the adventure begins.

What kind of research did you do for this series?

When I did some research about the “waltz,” I was surprised by what I found. The peasants were the first to dance the waltz. It was such fun that bored noblemen would sneak out and go to the country-dances. The Oxford English Dictionary back then called the waltz “riotous and indecent.”

In a 1771 German novel, someone complains about the “newly-introduced waltz” among the aristocrats. He wrote: “When he put his arm around her, pressed her to his breast, cavorted with her in the shameless, indecent whirling-dance of the Germans and engaged in a familiarity that broke all the bounds of good breeding—then my silent misery turned into burning rage.” Haha. It finally became fashionable in Great Britain when the wife of a Russian ambassador endorsed it.

I learned some interesting facts about lamplighters. The city is careful about who they hire because lamplighters also act as night watchmen and need to be trustworthy. I learned that the job is usually handed down from father to son and kept within the family. I love doing research.

Where is your website so my readers can check out your recent and past books that you have written?

To read a sample chapter from each of my books in The Rebel Series, go to http://www.lindaweaverclarke.com/historicalromance.html and click on the title of the book that you want to read.

Here are two book trailers for your readers to watch, so they can understand what these books are about.

The Rebels of Cordovia


The Highwayman of Cordovia



The Author: Linda Weaver Clarke

Friday, August 4, 2017

Naomi's Hope by Jan Drexler

I really enjoyed this historical Amish fiction by Jan Drexler.  It's a well written and very interesting book.  I  enjoy the characters, even the ones that aren't so nice.  Those are the characters that add the color to the story.

I really enjoy historical Amish fiction.  It puts things in a totally different setting and it's amazing to see the challenges that were faced in those times.  Great book, great job!  I will be reading much more from this author!

I received an e-book copy from NetGalley without expection of a review.  All thoughts are my own.

Tuesday, August 1, 2017

The Beloved Christmas Quilt by Wanda E. Brunstetter and Jean and Richelle Brunstetter

This was a really nice Amish 3 part book written by Wanda E. Brunstetter, her daughter-in-law, Jean and her granddaughter Richelle, three generations of women writing about 3 generations of Amish women.  The three stories blend together and revolve around a special quilt which is passed through the women.

The story develops showing good times and not such good times.  But as they remain faithful, life has a way of renewing.

The stories were very enjoyable and I highly recommend them to fans of Amish fiction.

I received an ebook copy of this book from NetGalley for my honest review.  All thoughts are my own.


Sunday, July 30, 2017

Anne Frank in the Secret Annex Who Was Who? Published by the Anne Frank House

This book has a special meaning to me.  Not simply because it was the diary of a victim of the Holocaust, but it has a personal meaning to me, as well.

Many years ago in high school, our drama department put on the play Anne Frank.  I was chosen to be Edith Frank, mother of Anne.  It was the first play I was in, and from then on, I was in every play I could be in.  Being in the play brought a deep understanding of the events of this young girl's life.  The emotions of performing in the play were very deep for our entire cast and especially for me, whose mother was in a prison camp in Czechoslovakia at the end of WWII.

Having been in the play, although long ago, I remembered the names of all the characters and when I was fortunate enough to visit the Anne Frank house about two weeks ago in Amsterdam, I noticed the surnames of the other individuals were different than in the play.  As we exited the house, there was a shop with many books and so I purchased this one to get some clarification on who was who!  I found that pseudonyms were used and what the names of those persons actually were.

I found the book very helpful and interesting and having known the story well, it was interesting to read about the others, and the helpers, as well.  The book has many pictures of the family and other persons involved.

It was very interesting and helpful.  It is available at this  link.


Saturday, July 29, 2017

Two Seasons of Romance by Lyn Cote

This book by Lyn Cote includes four short story clean romances set in two seasons, winter and summer.  The stories are sweet and a quick read.  I enjoyed the uplifting stories about trust and friendship and a little faith and self esteem.  All good qualities to read about and leave you feeling happy.

I have read other books from this author and always enjoy them.

I was given an ebook version from the author for my honest review, which I have given.  All thoughts are my own.



Saturday, July 8, 2017

The Return by Suzanne Woods Fisher Amish Beginnings Series book 3


This book is poignant and gripping!  In every way.  It was such a fabulous read!  So happy to have been able to read it.  The cover is perfect and the characters are detailed and real.

The trials and heartaches of early settlers forging a new frontier, is always a solemn read, but this book brought it to life for me and the historical facts were so well researched and often hard to grasp.

This book and the previous two of this series, were all real page-turners and so descriptive.  But read them in order to understand the characters, and their lives.

I highly recommend this series and hope so much that there could be a fourth???  That would be wonderful, because the book leaves one wanting more of what she has written.  Suzanne Woods Fisher is clearly a wonderful author and her books are so well written and well researched.

You can get this book here!


Monday, July 3, 2017

My Heart Belongs on Mackinac Maude's Mooring by Carrie Fancett Pagels

Carrie Fancett Pagels is an exceptional author.  Her books are full of great descriptions so that you feel you are living in that time and place, easily visualizing everything she writes about.  This July 1, 2017 release is sure to be a hit!

The beautiful cover is an instant draw and most appropriate for the wonderful historical novel.  The book is written in a wonderful setting and definitely makes me want to go there on a trip!  I love the mystery that develops throughout the book. It has a great plot!

I received a copy of this e-book from Net Galley for my honest review.  All thoughts are my own.

Sunday, July 2, 2017

Trouble in the Elf City Audible Version by Anna del C. Dye

Book 2 of Anna del C. Dye's Trilogy was a great continuation of the series.  You will want to read the books in order to best understand where this books starts and how things "came to be".  The women in the book have strong characters, and want to become warriors.

I love how although of a fantasy nature the story is very real and you get to know and understand these characters as though they were all human.  And because this book was Audible, it was also "portable" in that I could even listen while driving or doing other things.  I love that.  The narrator was engaging and had a very pleasant voice to listen to.

The story is entertaining and engaging.  There is a  little for lovers of great fiction, mystery, and adventure.  It's all included.  I feel as the book would appeal to adults and young adults as well.  Good read!  Looking forward to what's next!

I received an Audible version of this book from the author for my honest review which I have given.  All thoughts are my own.

Abiding Mercy by Ruth Reid

I so enjoyed reading this book.  I loved the story-line, the characters and the pacing of this book.  Faith is a wonderful young Amish girl whose life takes a very surprising turn.

The book shows elements of love of family, community and hope that things will always go as God wants them to.

This was a book that reminds us that things are not always perfect in our lives, but that there is one that watches over us and guides our lives in the directions we should follow if we are open to that guidance and receptive to His mercy.

I really am glad I read this book.  I have enjoyed other Amish reads from this author and hope to read many more!

I received a copy of this book from the author for my honest review which I have given.  All thoughts are my own.

Here is a link to where you can find a copy!

Monday, June 26, 2017

My Heart Belongs in Ruby City, Idaho by Susanne Dietze


Beautiful cover!  This is the first book that I have read of this author.  I so enjoyed this book.  It was so fun to read about this mail order marriage and how things don't always go as we have planned! 

The book is a really enjoyable read.  I had a hard time putting it down.  I will definitely watch for books from this engaging author again.  Their is excitement, romance and I think a little humor in some ways as things start off on the wrong foot.

It's a great clean Christian read, the kind of book I like to recommend to my friends.  Can't wait to read more of her books!

I received an e-book copy from Barbour Publishing for my honest review, which I have given.  All thoughts are my own.

Friday, June 23, 2017

Light of Dawn by Vannetta Chapman


Vannetta Chapman is such a great author.  I have read the previous two books of the Remnant series and really enjoyed them and this book was just an amazing book, as well.  The book is action-packed and there are no dull moments that as a reader, one might just skim past.  This is a book in which you will want to hang on to every single word and there are some very important things taking place in this book which could truly happen in our lifetime.  The destruction of life as it was known to them, brought about people that would do anything to survive including killing those that got in the way.

The book makes you THINK!  Am I prepared?  What would I do in this situation?  This book shows society at it's worst and at it's best.  And makes you wonder if things will ever return to life as you once knew it.

I really, really enjoyed this book!

I received a copy of this book from the author for my honest review, which I have given.

You can grab a copy here!

Thursday, June 22, 2017

The Shell Collector's Daughter

This was a novella by Beth Wiseman, and a part of the Surf's Up Series.  This was a really different story.  Very Christian, showing that God has a hand in our live's and we should "talk" to him more, listen more and and trust more.  I enjoyed it and thought it was really a nice read.

I received an ebook version of this book from the author for my honest review.

You can grab a copy here.

Light of Dawn by Vannetta Chapman


Vannetta Chapman is such a great author.  I have read the previous two books of the Remnant series and really enjoyed them and this book was just an amazing book, as well.  The book is action-packed and there are no dull moments that as a reader, one might just skim past.  This is a book in which you will want to hang on to every single word and there are some very important things taking place in this book which could truly happen in our lifetime.  The destruction of life as it was known to them, brought about people that would do anything to survive including killing those that got in the way.

The book makes you THINK!  Am I prepared?  What would I do in this situation?  This book shows society at it's worst and at it's best.  And makes you wonder if things will ever return to life as you once knew it.

I really, really enjoyed this book!

I received a copy of this book from the author for my honest review, which I have given.

You can grab a copy here!

Thursday, June 15, 2017

Sword of the Matchmaker, Review and Giveaway! Hosted by Debbie Lynne Costello




     Today I have the great pleasure of hosting a special guest, author Debbie Lynne Costello, who writes Historical fiction.  She will be interviewing the protagonist, Penelope, from her latest book Sword of the Matchmaker.  I am so excited to be a part of her blog tour!  

Welcome Debbie and Penelope!



     Penelope, tell us a little bit about yourself. Where are you from? How did you get to Hawkwood?

I am no’ your typical Scottish lass. Yes, I am from Scotland. I have lived most of my life being the son my father always desired. He’d wanted a boy but only had me. At a fairly young age I decided tae be the son my father dinna have. I had to make decisions and sacrifices but I dinna regret it. Me father and I had a guid relationship. I came tae Hawkwood looking for Hamon Godfrey—I dinna find Hamon, but I did find Thomas, his son.
When you first met Thomas you mentioned loathing the man. Can you tell me why and what changed?

When I first met Thomas I had the impression everything was a jest tae him. I found it vera irritating because I dinna feel like he took my problem seriously. But I found out that Thomas has a vera big heart and really does care. I have seen some different sides tae him. He can be a tough Master-at-Arms that is a straightforward man, but he also has a fun side tae him that I find rather interesting.

If you could change anything about you what would that be?

If you would have asked me that question a few months ago, before I lost most of my clan, I would have said who I am. I would have changed from Penelope to perhaps Phillip. I would have been born the son my father always wanted. However, God’s plan for my life wasn’t being a son but being a daughter. After meeting Thomas I have tae say I like God’s plan much better than mine.

Why did you not want to marry?

Let me clarify that misunderstanding. It was no’ so much that I dinna want tae marry. But when I decided tae be the son my father never had, I dinna think any man would want me. And none was interested in me for many years. Look at me. I am 25 years old. There wasn’t any man who approached me. But I dinna hold that against any of them, what man wants his wife fighting by his side? No, I understood what I was doing when I made that choice.

I’ve heard some ask why you didn’t disguise yourself as a boy when you came to Hawkwood, why didn’t you?

Those seeking me ken what I looked like. ’Twould have no’ been of any use to pretend I was a lad. And that would be your next story, the sequel to Sword of Forgiveness. Dinna get me wrong, I think I’m going to like Audrey of Sword of Trust but that is no’ who I am. I came tae Hawkwood tae call in a favor owed my father. I dinna come tae deceive anyone. If I came with deceit how could I expect them tae trust me when they realized that I was a woman? And I am pretty sure it wouldno’ take long before they figured that one out as I am no’ built like a boy. After all I am 25 years of age. Nay, I do believe I made the right decision.

You’re a warrior, so do you wear armor? 

(Penelope chuckles) Armor? You are jesting with me? I am no’ a knight. I am a woman warrior. And though I am a pretty guid shot with a bow or a knife, I dinna think I could shoot, throw, or wield a sword as I carried all that weight around on meself. And do you ken how expensive Armor is? ’Tis vera costly. I dinna come from a wealthy family or clan. I would have had tae give up eating for a year or more tae buy armor.

What do you like to do for fun?

You mean besides annoying Thomas? I still love tae hone my skills with my bow and also with my knife.  ’Tis even more fun these days practicing. Did you ken that I can beat Thomas? ’Tis true. I can best him and all his men with my bow and my knife. He tells me he lets me win but you and I both ken the truth.

Thanks for visiting with us today, Penelope.

’Tis me that wishes tae thank you. I’m looking forward to meeting your friends. If they have any questions for me happy I’d be to answer them.   


 GIVEAWAY:

On top of the rafflecopter giveaway I’ll give away a copy of Sword of the Matchmaker (if you have purchased the book you can choose one of my other books) if we have 10 different commenters. Leave a comment or answer one of the questions I’ve asked Penelope or ask me a question to be entered.

PLUS

Don’t forget to enter in the rafflecopter, too! There will be lots of ways to earn points. I’ll be giving away a kindle fire with Sword of the Matchmaker, $15 Amazon gift card and much more!

RAFFLECOPTER:




Click here to enter!


Tomorrow's stop for the blog tour can be found here: 

Purchase link:

Blurb:
Penelope Beatty made up her mind long ago she would live and die a Scottish warrior not a wife. But when nearly all her clan is killed and she is betrayed, she loathes doing the unthinkable, but must seek the help of an Englishman who owed her father his life.

Thomas Godfrey never married, but when a Scottish warrior lass shows up needing his aid, he finds her both annoying and irresistible. But the last thing he wants is to marry a woman who fights alongside him. If he was going to marry—which he isn’t—it would be to a soft, submissive woman. But when the Lady Brithwin meets the Scottish lass, she’s sure she’s found the perfect match for Thomas and nothing is going to stop her from seeing a summer wedding.

Sword of Forgiveness blurb:
After the death of her cruel father, Brithwin is determined never again to live under the harsh rule of any man. Independent and resourceful, she longs to be left alone to manage her father’s estate. But she soon discovers a woman has few choices when the king decrees she is to marry Royce, the Lord of Rosencraig. As if the unwelcome marriage isn’t enough, her new husband accuses her of murdering his family, and she is faced with a challenge of either proving her innocence or facing possible execution.
Royce of Hawkwood returns home after setting down a rebellion to find his family brutally murdered. When all fingers point to his betrothed and attempts are made on his life, Royce must wade through murky waters to uncover the truth. Yet Brithwin’s wise and kind nature begin to break down the walls of his heart, and he soon finds himself in a race to discover who is behind the evil plot before Brithwin is the next victim.

Purchase link:

Bio:
Debbie Lynne Costello has enjoyed writing stories since she was eight years old. She raised her family and then embarked on her own career of writing the stories that had been begging to be told. She and her husband have four children and live in upstate South Carolina. She has worked in many capacities in her church and is currently the Children's Director. Debbie Lynne has shown and raised Shetland Sheepdogs for eighteen years and still enjoys litters now and then. In their spare time, she and her husband take pleasure in camping and riding their Arabian and Tennessee Walking horses.


Media links:



Wednesday, June 14, 2017

Fraying at the Edge by Cindy Woodsmall

Book 2 of Cindy Woodsmall's The Amish of Summer Grove Series was a good read, a story about two girls, one Amish and the other Englisch who were accidentally switched at birth and now found by their biological parents and finding themselves living in a culture that neither of them can relate to despite the fact they were born in that culture.

The challenges they both face are realistic and sometimes very difficult to cope with.

I liked this book a lot.  I may have enjoyed book 1 a bit more, but it was a good read and I will probably quickly grab the next book in the series.  The book was a definite cliff hanger.  Can't stop with book 2!

I received this book from NetGalley for my honest review.  All thoughts are my own.

Friday, June 9, 2017

The Elf and the Princess (The Silent Warrior Trilogy Book 1) Audible Version by Anna Del C. Dye

This is the debut  book of Anna del C. Dye.  I don't generally read too much from the Fantasy genre, but this was a fun, different and "real seeming" book.  The events included battles, romance, a little mystery and a little sadness at times when events caused difficult situations.

There was a lot of description in the book and it made for an interesting read.

The narrator, George Tintura had a pleasant to hear voice and each character was portrayed in a different way making it easy to know the speaker, even the female voices.

It was an enjoyable book with a few twists and turns along the way.  I am sure book 2 will be an interesting read as well!

I received an ebook version from the author for my honest review which I have given.

Monday, June 5, 2017

Weddings at Promise Lodge by Charlotte Hubbard

I really enjoyed the next book in the Promise Lodge series. Charlotte Hubbard is definitely one of my favorite Amish authors.  Her books are uplifting and very enjoyable.  Her characters have real feelings that make you keep reading to get to know them all better.

Promise Lodge is a former camp site that was purchased by the Bender sisters and as new plain people come to reside in the community, each brings their talents, their trials and their personalities with them to their new home.

The community seems to be flourishing and love is blooming but not without being tested in a way that might stretch their trust and faith just a bit too far.  Are they up for the challenge?  You need to read this book.  I loved it and was sad to see the book come to an end!  I will be reading more from Charlotte Hubbard, no doubt about that!

I received a copy of this book from the author for my honest review.  All thoughts are my own.

You can pre-order this book at the following link.

Wednesday, May 31, 2017

Weaver's Needle by Robin Caroll

This was a full of action page turner.  There were no dull moments or slow spots.  I enjoyed this book very much,  Two recovery workers working against the clock to recover a missing map to the Dutchman gold mine.

I loved the characters and the adventure.  It was such an engaging book that it was hard to put down.  This is the first book I have read from this author.  I am pretty sure I will be watching for any upcoming books.  I really think anyone will enjoy this book.

It's a great, clean, Christian read.

I received a copy of this book from the publisher for my review.  All thoughts are my own.


Sunday, May 21, 2017

A Stolen Heart by Amanda Cabot Book 1 of the Cimarron Creek Trilogy

I really enjoyed this book by Amanda Cabot.  I was surprised at how it kept my attention to the very end.  It was a sweet story with many twists and turns, romance, mystery and everything that makes a book interesting to read.

I enjoyed the book from start to finish.  I will be reading more from this author whose writing talents clearly came through in this fun-to-read novel.

I received an e-book copy from NetGalley for my review.  All thoughts are my own.

Tuesday, May 16, 2017

Gladden the Heart by Olivia Newport

The story of Noah takes place during the revivalist period in the 1800's when traveling circuit preachers were common.  This is an interesting story of how Noah, an Amish man begins to fall into a trance and begins preaching, only to awaken from this state and have no recollection of the fact.

It is a very different theme than what I have read about in the past and it was interesting to see the interaction between the Methodist and the Amish families in this story.

I did enjoy reading this book.

I received an ebook copy of this title from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Wednesday, May 10, 2017

The Beloved Hopechest by Amy Clipston

This is the conclusion of a well-written four part series called An Amish Heirloom Novel. I even like the name of the series as it really speaks for the events in the books.

Mattie's daughters want to hear about their mother's past and the secrets she has kept in her heart.

It was a hard time for Mattie as she experiences personal trials almost beyond what she can bear or handle alone.  I think this book, especially, teaches of trusting in God to help us handle and overcome those hard trials in life that alone we can not accomplish.

The book is a part of a set that you will want to read in order to gain the best understanding and enjoyment.  I loved these books and am so pleased that I was able to read them.  They are very well done and will touch your heart.

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Seven Brides for Seven Mail-Order Husbands Romance Collection by Various Authors

When the lady mayor of Turtle Springs, Kansas sets out to help the female population of her community all kinds of things happen.  What's the plan?  It's to have auditions for husbands for the single or widowed women in her town.  As the War between the States has taken the lives of many of the men of Turtle Springs, an advertisement goes out and brings in many candidates and possible choices for the many women left in town.

I liked these seven stories which all were woven together as one to show the events in the lives of the people of Turtles Springs.  Each story seems to build into the other.  These were all sweet romances during the historical time period of the mid 1800's when life was a bit more rugged.

The stories, although with a common thread, were each different and unique which keeps your interest going throughout the book. I enjoyed the Christian themes throughout and was glad that I had an opportunity to read this delightful series of novellas.

Disclosure;  I received a complimentary e-book copy of this book from NetGalley for my honest review which I have given.  All thoughts are my own.

Saturday, May 6, 2017

My People, The Amish by Joe Keim

This powerful, deeply intense book by former Amish, Joe Keim, shares a first-hand account of his Amish life, family and his attempts to leave.  Not as easy as one would think...  The emotional ties remain for his family, yet the beliefs do not work for all Amish and in trying to find their ways, they often actually get lost, as did Joe.

As he forges a path away from his Amish community, he and his wife, Esther, plan their departure from their Amish families and community.

This book does not hold back any of the feelings, the mistakes and the trials of this difficult time.  It wasn't always smooth sailing, but Joe Keim found his way and now has a ministry to help other Amish in their decisions to leave and start new lives.

It is a very well written story of a father and son,  a story that I feel is an honest representation of what occurred in their lives as well as probably many Amish families.

I was very happy to have had an opportunity to read this amazing account of Joe Keim's life amongst his Amish people.  It was hard to put the book down and as I read it, I gained a better understanding of this group of people and their culture.  I am sure this will make interesting reading for  anyone that is interested in the Amish.  I have learned a lot from reading this and highly recommend reading it.

I received an e-book copy for my honest review, which I have given. All thoughts are my own.

This book will be available on June 1, 2017 and you can pre-order it at this link.


Friday, May 5, 2017

The Amish Cooking Class, The Blessing by Wanda E. Brunstetter

Book 2 of Wanda E. Brunstetter's The Amish Cooking Class series was a wonderful addition to this series.  I really enjoyed book 1 and book 2 did not disappoint.

Heidi and Lyle Troyer's hopes and expectations were not fulfilled, yet Heidi perseveres and receives happiness in her life.  She shares her insights, her faith with those who come to her cooking class.

Both of the books in the series, have feelings of hope, love, friendship, forgiveness and trust in God.  Heidi shares a scripture with each of her recipe cards.  This touching story left me wanting for more.  I hope there will be more additions to her Cooking Class series.  The stories are uplifting and enjoyable to read.

I received an copy of this book from Barbour Publishing for my honest review.  All thoughts are my own.

Saturday, April 29, 2017

Alaskan Reunion (Alaskan Grooms) by Belle Calhoune

This was a sweet romance with the themes of forgiveness, trust, and making amends.  The book featured Paige Reynolds whose father's schemes caught her in the backfire.  As a result, she is not welcomed back to town with open arms.  Yet she wants to repair her father's damages.

It is a sweet story and I enjoyed it.  I liked the lessons learned and felt Christian readers would enjoy it very much.

You can grab a copy at this link.


Thursday, April 27, 2017

Amish Wanderer by Laura V. Hilton

This was the first book I have read from this author.  It was a different scenario than many/most of the Amish books that I have read.  It has real intensity and was emotionally charged.  As the relationship between Bethany and Silas grows, they struggle with the lingering and frightening after-effects of their dis-functional family lives.

Life had been not what either had expected and certainly not wanted.  There are several parts of the books with real teaching moments.  I think the one that struck me the deepest was the part about going through the Refiner's fire and the "parable" used to explain that to a no longer trusting Bethany.  Very good!

There was a small issue that I kept noticing, that being because I am bi-lingual and speak and read German.  As such, the use of the word "nein" or "no" in German was used often and in high German this word is usually used to answer a question, yes or no, rather than being used as I have "no" money.  In this context another German word would be used.  But I am not an expert on the Amish German context so I could be wrong about how it is used in their culture.

All in all, I  loved the book and am glad to have read it.  It keeps you turning the pages!

Tuesday, April 25, 2017

Devoted by Marjorie Jackson

Such a beautiful book by Marjorie Jackson.  This book of 31 days of Devotionals is a wonderful and encouraging way to start each new day.  Definitely a Christian book as it guides you in developing a relationship with God by your daily actions.

Living in a world with standards that change, you learn hope to cope with the outside influences and deal with them.

The book includes 31 adult coloring pages that go with these devotionals.  The book includes scripture quotations, discussion questions which cause you to think and ponder upon the ideas that she is presenting.

The book is well written and uplifting.



You can grab a copy here and it will surely help you gain great outlooks in life.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.

Saturday, April 22, 2017

You Carried Me, a daughter's memoir by Melissa Ohden

This was a very dramatic book about the events in the life of Melissa Ohden.  She discovers that not only was she adopted, but that she was aborted by her birth mother.  This abortion failed and although this baby faced what seemed to be insurmountable health challenges, she survived and grew up healthy, and able to function well in school and other areas.  As she discovered her past, the shock changed her life, taking her to the lowest point in her life.  But again she strives to gain control of her life with a goal to find out more about her past and the parents that created her life.

I found this book to be very moving and highly emotional.  I couldn't put it down and quickly read the book within one day.  The book shows her fight for others whose lives were similar to hers.

I really enjoyed this powerful story.

Thursday, April 20, 2017

The Lighthouse Secret (Audible Version) by Linda Weaver Clarke



Synopsis: The Lighthouse Secret: Rick Bonito’s uncle supposedly drowned five years ago and his body was never found, but something did not seem right about the report. Uncle Antonio was an excellent swimmer. His disappearance seems quite suspicious to Rick’s father. He never felt the complete truth had come out about his brother. It is now up to Amelia and Rick to find out the truth about his uncle.

This Audible version of Linda Weaver Clarke's book was wonderful!  I love her narrator,  Diane Lehman.  She is so full of expression and very talented!  I loved listening to someone "tell me a story".  I could listen as I drove to and from work and as I commuted on the train and even while fixing dinner.  It's a great way to "multi-task".

I loved Linda's book!  It's a great cozy mystery and for me it was awesome because she always writes about places that I know.  This time her book took me to my old home in California, Palm Springs, and as she described it, I could totally visualize it!  Then they were headed to Ventura Harbor.  I used to live in Ojai which is very close by and trips to the beach in Ventura were a remembrance of years past for me!

But aside from this, the book held my attention to the very end.  My only disappointment was that this is book 7 and will be the last of this series.  I loved this clean romance and the resolution to the mystery.  I look forward to reading other books from this great author.

I received an Audible version of this book from the author for my honest review, which I have given.  All thoughts are my own.

You can grab a paperback or ebook at this link or find the Audible version here!

Return to Huckleberry Hill by Jennifer Beckstrand

In this return to a favorite place called Huckleberry Hill in the quaint Amish town of Bonduel, Wisconsin, you will meet the young single grandson of the Helmuth's, Reuben Helmuth.  This young man is a good lookin', eligible and well-to-do Amish man and he "knows it"!
He's ready to propose to the love of his life only to have his life completely shattered.  Feeling as though he can no longer face the people he knew in Ohio, he heads to Bonduel to stay with his grandparents.

This book is great.  I still really enjoy Jennifer Beckstrand's sense of humor and her light, happy style of writing.  This is a continuation of the wonderful Huckleberry Hill series of the match-making grandparents, Anna and Felty Helmuth. This cute couple will do anything to find the perfect spouse for their many grandkids.

I think you will love reading this fun and captivating story.  Always a good Christian read and full of learning of life experiences, as well.
You can grab a copy of Jennifer Beckstrand's latest book for pre-order at this link.

I received a ebook copy of this book from NetGalley for my honest review which I have given.  All thoughts are my own.