Sunday, May 21, 2017

A Stolen Heart by Amanda Cabot Book 1 of the Cimarron Creek Trilogy

I really enjoyed this book by Amanda Cabot.  I was surprised at how it kept my attention to the very end.  It was a sweet story with many twists and turns, romance, mystery and everything that makes a book interesting to read.

I enjoyed the book from start to finish.  I will be reading more from this author whose writing talents clearly came through in this fun-to-read novel.

I received an e-book copy from NetGalley for my review.  All thoughts are my own.

Tuesday, May 16, 2017

Gladden the Heart by Olivia Newport

The story of Noah takes place during the revivalist period in the 1800's when traveling circuit preachers were common.  This is an interesting story of how Noah, an Amish man begins to fall into a trance and begins preaching, only to awaken from this state and have no recollection of the fact.

It is a very different theme than what I have read about in the past and it was interesting to see the interaction between the Methodist and the Amish families in this story.

I did enjoy reading this book.

I received an ebook copy of this title from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Wednesday, May 10, 2017

The Beloved Hopechest by Amy Clipston

This is the conclusion of a well-written four part series called An Amish Heirloom Novel. I even like the name of the series as it really speaks for the events in the books.

Mattie's daughters want to hear about their mother's past and the secrets she has kept in her heart.

It was a hard time for Mattie as she experiences personal trials almost beyond what she can bear or handle alone.  I think this book, especially, teaches of trusting in God to help us handle and overcome those hard trials in life that alone we can not accomplish.

The book is a part of a set that you will want to read in order to gain the best understanding and enjoyment.  I loved these books and am so pleased that I was able to read them.  They are very well done and will touch your heart.

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Seven Brides for Seven Mail-Order Husbands Romance Collection by Various Authors

When the lady mayor of Turtle Springs, Kansas sets out to help the female population of her community all kinds of things happen.  What's the plan?  It's to have auditions for husbands for the single or widowed women in her town.  As the War between the States has taken the lives of many of the men of Turtle Springs, an advertisement goes out and brings in many candidates and possible choices for the many women left in town.

I liked these seven stories which all were woven together as one to show the events in the lives of the people of Turtles Springs.  Each story seems to build into the other.  These were all sweet romances during the historical time period of the mid 1800's when life was a bit more rugged.

The stories, although with a common thread, were each different and unique which keeps your interest going throughout the book. I enjoyed the Christian themes throughout and was glad that I had an opportunity to read this delightful series of novellas.

Disclosure;  I received a complimentary e-book copy of this book from NetGalley for my honest review which I have given.  All thoughts are my own.

Saturday, May 6, 2017

My People, The Amish by Joe Keim

This powerful, deeply intense book by former Amish, Joe Keim, shares a first-hand account of his Amish life, family and his attempts to leave.  Not as easy as one would think...  The emotional ties remain for his family, yet the beliefs do not work for all Amish and in trying to find their ways, they often actually get lost, as did Joe.

As he forges a path away from his Amish community, he and his wife, Esther, plan their departure from their Amish families and community.

This book does not hold back any of the feelings, the mistakes and the trials of this difficult time.  It wasn't always smooth sailing, but Joe Keim found his way and now has a ministry to help other Amish in their decisions to leave and start new lives.

It is a very well written story of a father and son,  a story that I feel is an honest representation of what occurred in their lives as well as probably many Amish families.

I was very happy to have had an opportunity to read this amazing account of Joe Keim's life amongst his Amish people.  It was hard to put the book down and as I read it, I gained a better understanding of this group of people and their culture.  I am sure this will make interesting reading for  anyone that is interested in the Amish.  I have learned a lot from reading this and highly recommend reading it.

I received an e-book copy for my honest review, which I have given. All thoughts are my own.

This book will be available on June 1, 2017 and you can pre-order it at this link.


Friday, May 5, 2017

The Amish Cooking Class, The Blessing by Wanda E. Brunstetter

Book 2 of Wanda E. Brunstetter's The Amish Cooking Class series was a wonderful addition to this series.  I really enjoyed book 1 and book 2 did not disappoint.

Heidi and Lyle Troyer's hopes and expectations were not fulfilled, yet Heidi perseveres and receives happiness in her life.  She shares her insights, her faith with those who come to her cooking class.

Both of the books in the series, have feelings of hope, love, friendship, forgiveness and trust in God.  Heidi shares a scripture with each of her recipe cards.  This touching story left me wanting for more.  I hope there will be more additions to her Cooking Class series.  The stories are uplifting and enjoyable to read.

I received an e-book version of this book from NetGalley for my honest review.  All thoughts are my own.

Saturday, April 29, 2017

Alaskan Reunion (Alaskan Grooms) by Belle Calhoune

This was a sweet romance with the themes of forgiveness, trust, and making amends.  The book featured Paige Reynolds whose father's schemes caught her in the backfire.  As a result, she is not welcomed back to town with open arms.  Yet she wants to repair her father's damages.

It is a sweet story and I enjoyed it.  I liked the lessons learned and felt Christian readers would enjoy it very much.

You can grab a copy at this link.


Thursday, April 27, 2017

Amish Wanderer by Laura V. Hilton

This was the first book I have read from this author.  It was a different scenario than many/most of the Amish books that I have read.  It has real intensity and was emotionally charged.  As the relationship between Bethany and Silas grows, they struggle with the lingering and frightening after-effects of their dis-functional family lives.

Life had been not what either had expected and certainly not wanted.  There are several parts of the books with real teaching moments.  I think the one that struck me the deepest was the part about going through the Refiner's fire and the "parable" used to explain that to a no longer trusting Bethany.  Very good!

There was a small issue that I kept noticing, that being because I am bi-lingual and speak and read German.  As such, the use of the word "nein" or "no" in German was used often and in high German this word is usually used to answer a question, yes or no, rather than being used as I have "no" money.  In this context another German word would be used.  But I am not an expert on the Amish German context so I could be wrong about how it is used in their culture.

All in all, I  loved the book and am glad to have read it.  It keeps you turning the pages!

Tuesday, April 25, 2017

Devoted by Marjorie Jackson

Such a beautiful book by Marjorie Jackson.  This book of 31 days of Devotionals is a wonderful and encouraging way to start each new day.  Definitely a Christian book as it guides you in developing a relationship with God by your daily actions.

Living in a world with standards that change, you learn hope to cope with the outside influences and deal with them.

The book includes 31 adult coloring pages that go with these devotionals.  The book includes scripture quotations, discussion questions which cause you to think and ponder upon the ideas that she is presenting.

The book is well written and uplifting.



You can grab a copy here and it will surely help you gain great outlooks in life.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.

Saturday, April 22, 2017

You Carried Me, a daughter's memoir by Melissa Ohden

This was a very dramatic book about the events in the life of Melissa Ohden.  She discovers that not only was she adopted, but that she was aborted by her birth mother.  This abortion failed and although this baby faced what seemed to be insurmountable health challenges, she survived and grew up healthy, and able to function well in school and other areas.  As she discovered her past, the shock changed her life, taking her to the lowest point in her life.  But again she strives to gain control of her life with a goal to find out more about her past and the parents that created her life.

I found this book to be very moving and highly emotional.  I couldn't put it down and quickly read the book within one day.  The book shows her fight for others whose lives were similar to hers.

I really enjoyed this powerful story.

Thursday, April 20, 2017

The Lighthouse Secret (Audible Version) by Linda Weaver Clarke



Synopsis: The Lighthouse Secret: Rick Bonito’s uncle supposedly drowned five years ago and his body was never found, but something did not seem right about the report. Uncle Antonio was an excellent swimmer. His disappearance seems quite suspicious to Rick’s father. He never felt the complete truth had come out about his brother. It is now up to Amelia and Rick to find out the truth about his uncle.

This Audible version of Linda Weaver Clarke's book was wonderful!  I love her narrator,  Diane Lehman.  She is so full of expression and very talented!  I loved listening to someone "tell me a story".  I could listen as I drove to and from work and as I commuted on the train and even while fixing dinner.  It's a great way to "multi-task".

I loved Linda's book!  It's a great cozy mystery and for me it was awesome because she always writes about places that I know.  This time her book took me to my old home in California, Palm Springs, and as she described it, I could totally visualize it!  Then they were headed to Ventura Harbor.  I used to live in Ojai which is very close by and trips to the beach in Ventura were a remembrance of years past for me!

But aside from this, the book held my attention to the very end.  My only disappointment was that this is book 7 and will be the last of this series.  I loved this clean romance and the resolution to the mystery.  I look forward to reading other books from this great author.

I received an Audible version of this book from the author for my honest review, which I have given.  All thoughts are my own.

You can grab a paperback or ebook at this link or find the Audible version here!

Return to Huckleberry Hill by Jennifer Beckstrand

In this return to a favorite place called Huckleberry Hill in the quaint Amish town of Bonduel, Wisconsin, you will meet the young single grandson of the Helmuth's, Reuben Helmuth.  This young man is a good lookin', eligible and well-to-do Amish man and he "knows it"!
He's ready to propose to the love of his life only to have his life completely shattered.  Feeling as though he can no longer face the people he knew in Ohio, he heads to Bonduel to stay with his grandparents.

This book is great.  I still really enjoy Jennifer Beckstrand's sense of humor and her light, happy style of writing.  This is a continuation of the wonderful Huckleberry Hill series of the match-making grandparents, Anna and Felty Helmuth. This cute couple will do anything to find the perfect spouse for their many grandkids.

I think you will love reading this fun and captivating story.  Always a good Christian read and full of learning of life experiences, as well.
You can grab a copy of Jennifer Beckstrand's latest book for pre-order at this link.

I received a ebook copy of this book from NetGalley for my honest review which I have given.  All thoughts are my own.

Saturday, April 15, 2017

The World of Laura Ingalls Wilder by Marta McDowell

I grew up on Laura Ingalls Wilder.  I was a Minnesota gal!  My favorite teacher shared two wonderful book series with us.  The Box Car Children and all things Laura Ingalls Wilder!

I fell in love with the pioneering spirit of these wonderful books.  The trials, the joy, sadness and heartache that all was apart of their lives.

As an adult, I returned to Minnesota and we visited Burr Oak, in Iowa which was not far from my Minnesota border town home.  Now I've shared my love of these books with my daughter and also my granddaughter.

These books are so special to me and I was so thrilled to see this commemorative book on behalf of Laura's 150th birthday.

The book is beautiful and does a real loving memory to this wonderful author and pioneering woman.  Her illustrations and art work are just amazing and the text brought a few tears to my eyes as I remembered the stories and the details of the lives of these people who became a part of my growing up years.  Such a beautiful book, the kind you want to leave on your coffee table for all to browse through.

And as a genealogist, I loved looking at the plat maps, seeing where they lived throughout their lives. I never really realized how often they started over, although I knew that there were several homes.

This book is truly a reminder of the many happy childhood memories this author shared with me and many others who have loved and treasured her books.  So happy to have had a chance to see this wonderful tribute to Laura Ingalls Wilder.

I received an e-book version of this book from NetGalley for my honest review, which I have given. All thoughts are my own.

You can pre-order this book at this link.

My Heart Belongs in Ruby City Idaho

Beautiful cover!  This is the first book that I have read of this author.  I so enjoyed this book.  It was so fun to read about this mail order marriage and how things don't always go as we have planned!

The book is a really enjoyable read.  I had a hard time putting it down.  I will definitely watch for books from this engaging author again.  Their is excitement, romance and I think a little humor in some ways as things start off on the wrong foot.

It's a great clean Christian read, the kind of book I like to recommend to my friends.  Can't wait to read more of her books!

I received an e-book copy from NetGalley for my honest review, which I have given.  All thoughts are my own.

Amish Brides by Jennifer Beckstrand, Molly Jebber and Amy Lillard

These are three of my favorite Amish  authors!  The stories were each different and unique.  All very entertaining and such that you didn't want to stop reading till the end.

I love Jennifer Beckstrand's humor in her story, using the wonderful matchmaker characters of her Huckleberry Hill series.
I enjoyed Molly Jebber's contribution, Joshua's Bride, which brought in a historical Amish story from the 1880's which gives a more earlier time period with it's views and feelings.  I loved how this story had a great theme of healing and forgiving and learning to accept people for themselves and not those who surround their lives.

Amy Lillard's  A Summer in Paradise, starts out with a bang, literally as Reba finds herself in a bad way after nearly being hit by a passing buggy. And finding herself the subject of a match-making plan which is definitely not wanted.

Loved these three in a nicely combined book.  Great stories for any Amish reader.  You will love these.

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley for my honest review, which I have given.  All thoughts are my own.

You can get your copy here.


Friday, April 7, 2017

The Amish Widower by Virginia Smith

It was the first book of this author's that I have read.  It was sooooo good!  I had to read it every chance I could.  The book was a real page-turner and I notice that it is a part of a series.  I would love to read more from this author.  The story has some surprises that caught me off guard.  I loved that! You will love this book if you love Amish fiction.

The story has great Christian themes and yet these characters had real human feelings that they needed to  be able to learn to deal with.

I received an ebook copy of this book from NetGalley for an honest review, which I have given.  All thoughts are my own.

Wednesday, April 5, 2017

Love's Compass by Carla Gade with Bonus Story by Darlene Franklin

I really enjoyed this Western historical romance.  There were some really nice scenes, exciting scenes and was a sweet, clean, romance.  This is the first book that I have read from this author, but enjoy this type of book.  And I wasn't disappointed.  It was a nice depiction of Western life, adventure, and trials.

There was also a nice bonus story by Darlene Franklin.  I also enjoyed this book, as well. Hope to read more from both of these fine authors.

I received this ebook from NetGalley for my honest review, which I have given.  All opinions are my own.

Saturday, April 1, 2017

An Amish Summer by multiple authors

This was a series of four  Amish novellas written by authors that I have enjoyed over the years.  They were Shelley Shepard Gray, Amy Clipston, Kathleen Fuller, and Kelly Irvin.  The stories were all different from each other and did not have the same characters and blend into one another, but were all rather unique and different.  I did like that first two very, very much.  They were my favorite ones.

The cover was really beautiful in my opinion. It was a good series of novellas and I was happy that I was able to read them.

I received and ebook copy of this book from NetGalley for my honest review which I have given.  All thoughts are my own.

Monday, March 20, 2017

Marrying Jonah by Amy Lillard

This is book 6 in the Wells Landing Series.  I've been lucky enough to read every one of the books.  I am kind of thinking that this was my absolute favorite one!  It was a book I COULD NOT PUT DOWN!

In this story Sarah and Jonah's relationship is a truly difficult one and definitely has many trials to overcome.  It is a story of not-so-perfect people, both hoping for a better situation.  It's a story of romance, trust, mistrust and forgiveness.  I think it crosses through almost every emotion.

The story is not your everyday Amish story line.  It was so good.  I know you will love it!

I received a copy of this book from the Author for my honest review.  All thoughts are my own.

You can pre-order your book at this link.  But lucky for you, you only need to wait another week!

Saturday, March 18, 2017

What the Bishop Saw by Vannetta Chapman

A new series by Vannetta Chapman!  This was such a captivating book and it's even better knowing this was book 1 in The Amish Bishop Mystery Series.

The story starts out with a deadly fire that kills an Amish community member, Vernon.  But it doesn't stop there, there's lots more action going on in this once peaceful Amish community.  People are getting pretty worried about what will happen next.

This book was a great read and was another of those books that are impossible to put down, until you get to the end.  It's a great combination of Amish and mystery and won't disappoint.

Loved this book!
It's available for pre-order at this link.
I received a copy of this book from the author for my honest review.  All thoughts are my own.

Friday, March 10, 2017

The Farmer's Market Mishap by Wanda E. Brunstetter

This is a sequel to The Lopsided Christmas Cake by Wanda E. and Jean Brunstetter.  This was an easy reading sweet tale of the twins, Elma and Thelma.  Thelma is now married and expecting a boppli while Elma is single and caring for the store that they inherited.  Thelma seems to want Elma to renew or rekindle some feelings for Delbert, but Elma doesn't seem to respond in the way good-hearted sister Thelma would like her to.  But with being very busy at the store, Elma will probably need a little help to get the work done.

The story is sweet and a relaxing read.  I enjoyed it as I do other books I have read from these authors.  It seems a bit shorter in length but still tells the story well.

I received an ebook copy for NetGalley for my review which I have given.  All thoughts are my own.

This book will be available on June 1, 2017.  You can pre-order the book at this link.

Wednesday, March 8, 2017

Doctor's Dilemma by Richard L. Mabry, M.D.

I grew up a fan of mystery books.  And I really enjoyed this one.  It is the second book I have read from this author and both of them were really good.

This book had mystery and a little romance and kept my interest throughout.

Tyler Gentry, M.D., finds himself working at a new job only to start receiving threatening messages. The book has some exciting scenes and keep you guessing till the end.

So glad I had an opportunity to read this great mystery.

You can learn more about the author here.

I received a free copy of this book from the author for my honest review, which I have given.  All thoughts are my own.

Monday, March 6, 2017

The Ebb Tide by Beverly Lewis

You can't go too wrong reading a Beverly Lewis book, can you? This was true to form.  It was an amazing read and I loved it.  I was quite sorry to see it end.

This book brought out the feelings that everyone needs to find their path in life, follow the road that God has led them to.  Not all of us our the same even within religious circles.

Sallie is somewhat restless and not the "typical" Amish woman. She wants more, although she tries her hardest to conform, it's a trial for her and as life opens up opportunities for her, she longs to explore where they may lead her.

It was a great book!  I am so glad I was able to read this!

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley for my honest review.  All thoughts are my own.

Friday, March 3, 2017

The Chapel Car Bride by Judith Miller

This is the first book that I have read by this author.  I was so delighted with it, that I hope that I will find more great books from this author.  It was a good Christian read, interesting, entertaining and hard to put down.

Hope Irvine and her preacher father, travel in a train car which is both the home and the "chapel".  The traveling duo have an assignment in Finch and find themselves in a mine company town that has a little more than mining going on.  This book is captivating.  I loved how Hope and hero, Luke, work to make this little town a better place for all.  Their Christian beliefs keep them working on good projects that sometimes are entangled with a little bit more, without realizing it.

Great book and story.  I enjoyed it very much!
I received an ebook copy from NetGalley for my honest review, which I have given.

This book releases April 4, 2017.

Chat with Vera: To celebrate Women's History Month we look at "Mo...

Chat with Vera: To celebrate Women's History Month we look at "Mo...: To celebrate Women's History Month we are looking at how women drove boldly into the Twentieth Century. Various contributions of women t...

Saturday, February 25, 2017

My Heart Belongs in the Superstition Mountains: Carmela's Quandary by Susan Page Davis

Carmela finds herself living a lie.  Being an orphan she is raised by her uncle.  Her life with her uncle brings him his income.  And she begins to have feelings of guilt and doesn't want her past to also be her future.

I found this to be a really sweet read and I am glad that I was able to read it.  I enjoyed the character of Carmela and she matures, learns about life and about herself and how to make choices and decisions.  I think if you like western historicals, that you will enjoy this book, the people in it, the good and the not-so-good ones.  It's a good Christian read and have enjoyed this and other books from this author.

I received an ebook copy of this book from NetGalley for my honest review which I have given.  All thoughts are my own..


Monday, February 20, 2017

Baseball Faith by Rob Maaddi

This was a new type of book for me, but being that I am a baseball grandma, I thought I would give it a try!  And I enjoyed it!  This book features 52 MLB stars as they share their thoughts on their faith in God, and feelings as to how this helps them both in their personal lives and also in their baseball careers.  Each of the athletes has their own page with photos, and their personal testimony, if you will, on what they believe and the help they received from God.

They each have a scripture that is a reminder to them of God's love and care.  Also included are their stats and information about their baseball "history".

I enjoyed reading their thoughts and was happy to see that the stars that my 3 baseball playing grandsons emulate are good examples to them.

I received a copy of this book from the publisher for my honest review.  All thoughts are my own.




Desert Moon by Susan Page Davis

This was a sweet romance with a little danger and mystery thrown in.  I loved it.  It starts out fast with a stage coach robbery and then accusations of the crime are made and with seemingly good evidence.

Julia, in an attempt to protect her brother from a lynch mob finds herself at odds with her former beau who is also the town's sheriff.

I really think you will enjoy this book, which also has a bonus story at the end called Honor Bound.

I am finding that I am really enjoying the western historical genre and hope to read many more by this author.

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley for my honest review which I have given.

Thursday, February 16, 2017

A Mother's Love by Charlotte Hubbard

Description:

For widow Rose Raber, it’s been a year of tragic loss and difficult decisions. She thought providing for her young daughter was the greatest challenge she faced. Until her dying mother revealed that Rose was adopted—and her birth mother is someone with much to lose if the secret comes out. As Rose struggles to reconcile the truth with her faith—and her troubling curiosity—outgoing newcomer Matthias Wagler is another surprise she didn't expect. His optimism and easy understanding inspires her. And his prospective partnership with wealthy deacon Saul Hartzler promises a possible new life for them—together. But with this second chance comes yet another revelation for all involved.

When Saul’s wife unexpectedly turns up at Rose’s new job, their bond as mother and daughter is instant and unmistakable. And it isn't long before an unforgiving Saul discovers the truth, threatening Matthias’s livelihood and Rose’s future. Now with more than just their happiness at stake, Rose and Matthias must find the strength and courage to stand strong—and trust God's enduring miracles of motherhood, forgiveness, and love.


My Thoughts:

This book was so good.  It starts out so interestingly and continues throughout the entire book.  There was not one slow spot at all.  It was so well written.  I was sad to see that it came to an end.  I wanted it to continue.  It was so engaging and so touching.  The story was about people that weren't perfect, didn't follow all the Amish rules exactly and had to work through this with love, patience, forgiveness and understanding.  Such a great Christian read!  I hope that I can read more from this author.  I can't say it's often that books bring tears to my eyes, but this one so touched me and I could relate to quite a bit of the events that happened and also the feelings that it brought out.  

Four wonderful mothers are featured in this book.  Their feelings were so well expressed by the author, that you knew exactly their thoughts and knew how they were struggling to find ways to work through everything.  I absolutely loved this book!

I received a complimentary copy of this book from the author for my honest review.  All thoughts are my own.

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

The Illusionist's Apprentice by Kristy Cambron


Book Blurb:

Harry Houdini’s one-time apprentice holds fantastic secrets about the greatest illusionist in the world. But someone wants to claim them . . . or silence her before she can reveal them on her own.

Boston, 1926. Jenny “Wren” Lockhart is a bold eccentric—even for a female vaudevillian. As notorious for her inherited wealth and gentleman’s dress as she is for her unsavory upbringing in the back halls of a vaudeville theater, Wren lives in a world that challenges all manner of conventions.

In the months following Houdini’s death, Wren is drawn into a web of mystery surrounding a spiritualist by the name of Horace Stapleton, a man defamed by Houdini’s ardent debunking of fraudulent mystics in the years leading up to his death. But in a public illusion that goes terribly wrong, one man is dead and another stands charged with his murder. Though he’s known as one of her teacher’s greatest critics, Wren must decide to become the one thing she never wanted to be: Stapleton’s defender.

Forced to team up with the newly formed FBI, Wren races against time and an unknown enemy, all to prove the innocence of a hated man. In a world of illusion, of the vaudeville halls that showcase the flamboyant and the strange, Wren’s carefully constructed world threatens to collapse around her. Layered with mystery, illusion, and the artistry of the Jazz Age’s bygone vaudeville era, The Illusionist’s Apprentice is a journey through love and loss and the underpinnings of faith on each life’s stage.

My Thoughts:

This was a very well written book.  I really enjoyed reading it and loved the suspense.  A good mystery is certainly one of my favorite genres.  This author does a good job of bringing those moments out in this very interesting historical mystery.  I love how she wove the history into the story taking you back to the days of Vaudeville.  A very good read!  I highly recommend it!

I received a copy of this book from the publisher for my honest review.  All thoughts are my own.

Wednesday, February 8, 2017

Raging Storm by Vannetta Chapman

This. Book.  Vannetta has done it again!  This is book 2 in the Remnant Series.  It is a MUST read.  If you haven't read book 1, please do.  Although it can be read as a stand-alone, you will want to know the characters as book 2 opens.

After a major solar flare, civilization as we know is in for a rocky ride!  As Shelby sets out with Max, Bianca and Patrick to find insulin for her son, although they expect trouble, they are in for some real big adventures, beyond what one would imagine.

Vannetta Chapman's research must have been so intense.  I felt as though I was there experiencing whatever Shelby and her group faced.   It was amazing and I couldn't put it down.  Reading in bed with a flashlight kind of book!

The writing was professional, engaging and so very intense.  Book 3 can't come soon enough for me!


I received a copy of this book from the publisher for my review.  All thoughts are my own.

The author Vannetta Chapman.

Grab your copy at this link.

Monday, February 6, 2017

The Bridge of the Golden Wood by Karl Beckstrand

This book by Karl Beckstrand is geared for children about age 5 and up.  It is designed to help children learn about the value of work in their lives and how by working, you will receive a treasure in return.  I felt this was an especially good concept for children to learn.  There are some additional online resources and ideas for work that might help bring them a bit of treasure. 
I think children with like this parable of learning how to do service for others.

I enjoyed the writing and the colorful and attractive pictures in the book.  I think younger children will enjoy this book.

I received a free ebook from the author for my honest review.



Monday, January 30, 2017

Seven Brides for Seven Texans by Multiple Authors

Seven brothers on the 7 Heart Ranch are given the ultimatum to get married within the year or lose their inheritance.  I loved these stories, easy and enjoyable to read, all seven of them.  Some of my favorite historical authors wrote these and they are all sweet, Christian reads.  And there's lots of reading to keep you busy for quite a while.  I highly recommend this excellent collection.  I am so pleased that I had the opportunity to read these. 

And I couldn't pick a favorite, I loved 'em all!

I was given an ebook copy from NetGalley for my honest review. 

You can grab your copy here!

Great News for Author Amy Clipston!



Zondervan author Amy Clipston sells 1 Million book units

Author’s momentum continues with May 9 release of “The Beloved Hope Chest”



(Jan. 2017) The Fiction team at HarperCollins Christian Publishing announced today that sales of author Amy Clipston’s books have exceeded 1 million copies.

"We are so proud of this major milestone in Amy’s writing career. Amy continues to be among the most beloved voices in Amish fiction,” said Daisy Blackwell Hutton, vice president and publisher of fiction. "Readers are looking for stories that bring them hope, and Amy creates beautiful stories that do just that—inspire and uplift.”

Clipston has published with Zondervan for nearly a decade. She writes both full-length novels and novellas and has written stories for both adult and young adult audiences.

"I'm so thrilled and honored to call HarperCollins Christian Publishing my home,” she said. “When I received my first offer, I never dreamed my writing career would last this long. I consider the members of my publishing team dear friends, and I'm excited to continue to publish books with them."

Zondervan’s most recent novel from Clipston is “The Cherished Quilt,” published in November 2016. The title is the third installment of her Amish Heirloom series, which culminates with “The Beloved Hope Chest,” releasing May 9.

Clipston’s writing has been praised by Publishers Weekly and Library Journal, among others publications. Her books have won awards and have appeared regularly on industry best-seller lists, including Christian Book Distributors, Christian Book Association and the Evangelical Christian Publishers Association.

Clipston is New Jersey native and lives in Charlotte, N.C. She holds a degree in communications from Virginia Wesleyan College.



About Zondervan

Zondervan is a world-leading Bible publisher and provider of Christian communications.

Zondervan, as part of HarperCollins Christian Publishing, Inc., delivers transformational Christian experiences through its bestselling Bibles, books, curriculum, academic resources and digital products. -

The Company’s products are sold worldwide and translated into nearly 200 languages. Zondervan offices are located in Grand Rapids, MI. For additional information, please visit www.zondervan.com.
Author Amy Clipston!

Saturday, January 28, 2017

A Moonbow Night by Laura Frantz

This historical book by Laura Frantz was filled with in-depth descriptive details.  As Tempe Tucker leads Sion Morgan on a survey expedition they have many encounters with Indians and adventure. Ms. Franz can really make a picturesque book filled with what I would assume would have to be done through much research.  The book shares history, some romance, but mostly adventure.  There is no shortage of that.

Like with other books from this author, you can't miss and you will enjoy it.

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley for my honest review which I have given.

Monday, January 23, 2017

Stars in The Grass by Ann Marie Stewart

Having had my own personal family loss this year caused this book to have lots of meaning for me. The story takes place in a time period that I can easily relate to, the 70's.  It was a story of a happy family, living a very routine, and happy daily existence until an unexpected loss changed their world and turned it totally upside down.

9 year old Abby, her brother Matt, and her parents find that life has become difficult and that nothing is the same.  Each deals with their grief in different ways, and that grief literally pulls them apart.

The book was a touching story that was really easy to relate to and left me feeling happy that I had a chance to read such an inspiring book of hope and finding one's way in a dreary time of life.

I think this book will help many to heal and find solace.  I know it helped me.

I received a copy of this book with no expectations of a positive review.  These opinions are mine.

Sunday, January 22, 2017

More Than a Marriage by Amy Lillard

This is novella 3 of a 3 part series by Amy Lillard.  All of Amy's Amish books are great and this novella is no exception.  The story is about Tess and Jacob Smiley, newlyweds in Wells Landing, Oklahoma.

Tess is finding that Jacob is no longer the husband he once was and is not giving her the attention and time that she needs.  And to make matters worse, the English company he works for provides him with a cell phone that seems more interesting to him than does Tess.  As she watches her married couple friends, she longs for the attention those husbands share with their wives.  She decides to take a stand and hopes that this will make him think about what he is really missing.

I really enjoyed this novella and the fact that Tess didn't just let her marriage slide.  Rather she made several suggestions to her husband, which went unheeded. So she must take stronger measures, which she does.  Will these measures bring them together or pull them apart?

I highly recommend this book.  It is hard to put it down once you have started reading it.

I was given an ebook version for my honest review from NetGalley which I have done.

The author, Amy Lillard

Saturday, January 14, 2017

Katharina and Martin Luther by Michelle DeRusha

This book was especially fascinating to me, for several reasons.  First, I am a German genealogist, and having done my own family research find connections to the Luther family through one of my lines.  As a result, I too, did a lot of research on Martin Luther.  I also had many ancestors from the province of Sachsen, where the book and the lives of this couple took place, who were pastors in the Lutheran church.  Through my own research, I found that many of my Lutheran pastor ancestors knew Martin Luther, befriended him and experienced some of the trials of the Reformation, as did he.

So that being said, I was amazed at the amazing research that must have been required for this book.  It was really so interesting to see what type of lives the monks and the nuns had and experienced.  And what a remarkable and strong man Martin Luther was to so strongly work to bring about religious reform and freedoms.

A remarkable book and I feel so fortunate to have been able to read this.

I received a copy of this book from NetGalley for my honest review, which I have given.

A Secret Sacrifice by J.E.B. Spredemann

Book 5 in the Amish Secret Series was a very nice read.  I wasn't quite sure if I liked when Zachariah just left the Amish community for the military.  But as it turned out he had his reasons.  The Amish community they lived in seemed to be a little more easy going then some I have read about.  The book has a very interesting plot and I enjoyed reading the book very much.

The book shares lots of good teachings, love, forgiveness, selflessness and much more.  A very good Amish book which can be easily read alone even if you haven't read the rest of the series.

I recommend this book!
I received an ebook copy of this book from the author for an honest review which I have given.

The author J.E.B. Spredemann


Tuesday, January 10, 2017

An Uncommon Protector by Shelley Shepard Gray

This book by Shelley Shepard Gray was the first book from this author that I have had the pleasure of reading that wasn't an Amish book.  I was so delighted to read this captivating historical novel of Laurel, a young woman trying to make it on her own and finding many things hindering her goals.  As she requests to have an indentured servant who was apparently judged as a criminal she finds that this man was anything but a criminal as he helps in every way he can to protect both her and the property and animals she owns.  As others try to procure her property by using scare tactics in hopes of her relenting to either marriage or selling of her property she battles back with Thomas at her side.

I really enjoyed both the writer's style and the story as well.  It was a very good book and I highly recommend it.

I received an ebook copy of this book from NetGalley for my honest review which I have given.

Saturday, January 7, 2017

Two Suitors for Anna by Molly Jebber

This book is #3, in the Keepsake Pocket Quilt series.  I am not certain if I have read the first two or not, although I have read some of Molly Jebber's earlier books. However, it can easily stand on its own. 

The story of Anna and the two suitors vying for her hand in marriage was a sweet Amish romance story.  There are some trials and struggles in the storyline that make it interesting to the reader.  The writing was perhaps a little more simple in style than some of the other Amish authors that I have read.  I kind of noticed thoughts and feelings of the characters repeated several times just in slightly different wording making some parts feel a bit repetitive in nature.  

I enjoyed the story.  It was a sweet, clean romance and a pleasant story.  

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley for my honest review.

You can find this book for pre-order at this link.

Wednesday, January 4, 2017

The Memory of Love by Tammy Shuttlesworth with bonus book

This was a really sweet book and the first time that I have had the opportunity to read a book by this author.  It was an American historical romance with some very nice writing.  I enjoyed the story very much.

Callie Troyer joins a Moravian Brothers mission group and serves as their medical helper there.  A stranger comes to the mission also with medical training and seems to have an interest in her.  A part of her past and her future seem to come together in a most interesting way.  The story has its sad moments and trials as the pioneering souls fight to make a life.

A very nice Christian read.  I believe it was probably of novella length.  It comes with a bonus sequel, Healing Sarah's Heart.

Monday, January 2, 2017

Amish Weddings by Leslie Gould Book 3 Neighbors of Lancaster County Series

This was book 3 of an Amish Series called Neighbors of Lancaster County by Leslie Gould.  I had previously read book 2, Amish Sweethearts.  So I quickly spotted characters from the previous book appear and take part in this engaging story.  Although part of a series, I felt that even had I not read the previous book, this book could have clearly stood alone.

I was immediately drawn in and read constantly.  One of those books you can't put down.  I read it clear through till done.  I had to find out what happened.  It was a really engaging story and the people you meet are definitely ones that were interesting and had their own unique personalities.

The story showed imperfections and trials in the lives of these Amish people, not always perfect, but trying and sometimes needing to repent of mistakes they made.  It was realistic and I liked that about the book very much.

I received an ebook copy of this book for my honest review.

Death Finds a Way by Lorine McGinnis Schuzle

I have been following along on Lorine McGinnis Schulze's genealogy blog because I am a professional genealogist and when I saw her contest for her genealogy related mystery book I had to enter and I won the book!

As I read this I knew exactly the building that she described because I am employed there.  I thought of the "alley" she describes because it is at this alley where I often find myself walking.  It will give me a new more cautious perspective!

I really enjoyed her book, the genealogy steps she used and wrote about made total sense to me and the case that developed also made total sense.  Although I don't specialize in forensic genealogy, the steps and methodology are similar and necessary.  So the genealogy aspect of the book will interest and intrigue genealogists for certain.

I also enjoy a good mystery and this one kept me wondering as she presented a historical scenario and a modern day scenario in her book and it was interesting to see how they end up in the big picture.

I think I will definitely be watching out for more mysteries from this author!