Thursday, December 29, 2016

The Newcomer by Suzanne Woods Fisher

Book Blurb: 

In 1737, Anna Konig and her fellow church members stagger off a small wooden ship after ten weeks at sea, eager to start a new life in the vibrant but raw Pennsylvania frontier. On the docks of Port Philadelphia waits bishop Jacob Bauer, founder of the settlement and father to ship carpenter Bairn. It's a time of new beginnings for the reunited Bauer family, and for Anna and Bairn's shipboard romance to blossom.

But this perfect moment cannot last. As Bairn grasps the reality of what it means to be Amish in the New World--isolated, rigid with expectations, under the thumb of his domineering father--his enthusiasm evaporates. When a sea captain offers the chance to cross the ocean one more time, Bairn grabs it. Just one more crossing, he promises Anna. But will she wait for him?

When Henrik Newman joins the church just as it makes its way to the frontier, Anna is torn. He seems to be everything Bairn is not--bold, devoted, and delighted to vie for her heart. And the most dramatic difference? He is here; Bairn is not.

Far from the frontier, an unexpected turn of events weaves together the lives of Bairn, Anna, and Henrik. When a secret is revealed, which true love will emerge?

My Thoughts:

I loved it!  It was so good.  I had already read book 1 and this is book 2 in the Amish Beginning series.  It was all I had hoped for and more!  The blurb says all that should be said about the book itself.  I loved the characters in the story and having been an immigrant myself, although in much better times, I could really find myself in their situations.  The book was wonderful!  

Suzanne Woods Fisher has clearly done some very good and thorough research on this book, what with the dialects, customs and details of the time period and the culture of this group of immigrant people.

I can see that it can still continue and that there is a book 3.  I will definitely be reading it.  I know any reader of Amish books will love this book.  I highly recommend it!

I received an ebook copy of this book from NetGalley for my honest review.  All thoughts are my own.


Wednesday, December 28, 2016

Hungry is a Mighty Fine Sauce Cookbook by Shellie Rushing Tomlinson

OK, so I have been drooling since looking at this cookbook!  It has some of the most interesting things in there and if I could, I would try them all.  These recipes look delicious!  No doubt about that.

I enjoy cookbooks that share about the author, their life, family, etc. and this one does just that.  I enjoy the fun quotes in the book, as well.  The author did a great job.  I highly recommend this delicious looking book!

I received an ebook copy of this book from the publisher, Barbour Books for my honest review, which I have given.

Tuesday, December 27, 2016

Audible version The Secret of Isian by Serena Clarke

Once more I am delighted to Introduce you to an up and coming author, Serena Clarke.  Here is some exciting news about her fantasy, Romance and Mystery Series on Audible.com!  I hope you will get to know Serena and grab a copy of her great books!

Magic, Fantasy, Romance, and Mystery



The Treasure of Isian is the first book in The Isian Series. Prince Garin is a brave, proud, adventure-seeking prince. Elani is his most trusted servant and she would do anything for him. 


Now to introduce her latest Audible book to you!


The title is The Secret of Isian and it follows along the themes of the other books in her series.  You will see battles with interesting and characters and mythical creatures as she has created in the past. This fantasy is also an exciting story that will keep you on your toes and wondering what will happen next. And of course, there is some romance there!

You will want to keep reading until the end of the book to find out what the interesting twists and turns will lead you to!

Her narrator is Carolyn Kashner, who has great expression as you listen to the story.  It was really enjoyable listening to her pleasing voice as the story progressed and new characters were introduced all with interesting voices.

Here is a little synopsis about the book:

Many prophecies have been uttered about the impending war and those who will seek to stop it. With the war finally upon them, Rimelda, a talented seer, has heard the prophecies and believes she can help. Prince Ander, doubtful of her abilities and her true intentions, but determined to save his kingdom accepts her help and they proceed on a quest to end the war. 

Hindered by enemies as well as their own doubts, Ander and Rimelda must search for guidance in unlikely places and unravel the mysteries of the prophecies. 
With the world shrouded in darkness, will Ander accept his destiny in time to save the kingdoms and will he admit his true feelings for Rimelda?

You will really enjoy this book, I know I did!

I received an Audible version of this book from the author for my honest review.

An Amish Home by Multiple Authors

This was a really nice set of four novellas by Beth Wiseman, Amy Clipston, Ruth Reid and Kathleen Fuller.  I will do a separate post for each.


A Cup Half Full by Beth Wiseman

Sarah has just gotten married only to have an accident which puts her in a wheelchair dashing all her young girl hopes and dreams for happiness with her new husband, Abram. As her self confidence ebbs away, she finds herself worried about any future she and Abram might have had.  A beautiful story of learning to accept our lives and making the most of them and remembering that God is not far away. 

This was a heartwarming story.  I really enjoyed Beth's novella.  It was a good reminder for all that we can have a happy life no matter what comes our way and that we should remember to put our trust and faith in God to make us spiritually whole.

Home Sweet Home by Amy Clipston

This sweet story reminds me of many newlywed starts, where life did not always go as planned and expenses and debt from unexpected life events replaced the newly wedded bliss and reality set in.  Although Chace and Mia are very much in love, that love is tested by unexpected bills causing money for necessities including shelter.

With the help of a kind Amish family and God, they find what is really important in life and find their way.  

It is a really enjoyable story, one that happens more than we realize.  Many people are in need and the story helps you to be aware of those needs.

Building Faith by Kathleen Fuller

I really enjoyed this story about a young Amish woman, Faith Miller, who was a hobby carpenter, not your Amish woman type of occupation.  She is asked by her cousin to build the cabinets in her new home that she and her fiancee are trying to complete.  Unknown to Faith, her cousin's fiancee also had asked someone to make her cabinets, Silas, the ex-fiancee of Faith. Both Faith and Silas are totally taken back by the unexpected news.  So how is this situation going to turn out?  

A Flicker of Hope by Ruth Reid

When a fire destroys the home of Norren and Thomas King, sad memories of the events that took place there come to the forefront.  As they do, they find some of the feelings they had lost in their marriage were returning to the surface by working together to rebuild what was once there.  The story goes from the current time period and back and forth to days past.  I really liked the story.

I enjoyed all four of the novellas.  These are among my favorite Amish authors and are always clean and uplifting story lines.  I will continue to read the books of all four of these wonderful authors.

I received an ebook version of this book from NetGalley for my honest review which I have given.

Monday, December 26, 2016

Too Blessed to be Stressed Inspiration for Every Day by Debora M. Coty

I loved this.  Each day has a sweet devotion that gives you a real boost for the day.  The devotionals give a daily scripture as well as a story to uplift your spirits.  It's a beautiful book, inside and out. There is a helpful scripture index at the end of the book. On the December 31st entry page, there is a really fun poem that probably describes many of us to a t!  I enjoyed each day's entry and many were very meaningful to me.

It appears that there is a nice series of these type of book by this author.  I would love to read them, too.

I received a copy of this book from the publisher for my honest review which I have given.

Thursday, December 22, 2016

The Cherished Quilt by Amy Clipston

I really enjoyed this book by Amy Clipston.  It was a clean, sweet Amish romance with lots of emotion.  When Emily first meets Chris, he is anything  but friendly.  He is filled with memories of the life he left behind in Ohio.  As they become friends, Emily learns some of the hurt in Chris' heart and begins to make him a quilt.  As things happen in Chris' family, he suddenly leaves without even a good bye.  Emily is crushed and wonders what she has done wrong.

I think this book was really a good one and well written.And at the end there is yet another cliff hanger! For sure I will be reading the next book in the series.

Monday, December 19, 2016

The Amish Princess by Patrick E. Craig

Powerful. Captivating. Tragic. Emotion-filled. Awesome.

I can't find enough words to completely describe this book.  From the very beginning it grabs you and never lets you go.  I started last night, then had to work today so I couldn't read, then I finished it tonight.  Every spare minute, it totally consumed me.

It was such an interesting, emotionally packed historical account of life in the early 1700s.  You almost felt as though you were there totally experiencing what was going on.  The Indian raids and battles, the times when God's hand intervened.  It was all there.  

The characters were so well portrayed and each personality was strong in its own way.  They were people that experienced many heartaches and trials.  

There were some very heartbreaking tragic scenes which were well written but sometimes graphic in detail.  However, I really enjoyed this book and these scenes were necessary to bring across the message of what was occuring and the historical trials that were being endured.

Looks like lots of research went into the book, including the sail ship Charming Nancy, the passenger list of which I, myself, have studied while doing genealogical work for a client.

I highly recommend this very amazing book.  

I also did a little checking and found an interview with Patrick on a blog by Liz Tolsma.  You can find the interview here.  It will give you more insight on how this amazing book came to be.

Thursday, December 15, 2016

My Heart Belongs to Fort Bliss, Texas by Erica Vetsch

Doesn't this book cover just invite you to come read it?  It really speaks to me.  The fact that the story takes place in Texas makes it very dear to my heart, too.  Many family ties here as early Texan settlers.  As Priscilla comes to Fort Bliss she expects to return home with a niece and nephew whose parents both became ill and left them without parents.

Unknown to her, the guardian role she had expected to take upon herself, had been taken by someone else.   The story gets really interesting and I just loved it!  I love historical fiction and this is a great one!

I received an ebook copy of this book from NetGalley for my honest review, which I have given.

Amish Christmas at North Star by multiple authors

I was so lucky to be able to read this wonderful compilation by Cindy Woodsmall, one of my favorite Amish authors and Minday Starns Clark, Amanda Flower and Katie Ganshert.  These four stories were all such nice reads and all took place in the Amish community of North Star.

These were all stories of love, forgiveness, love of others and service to others.  These great Christian themes were perfect for a wonderful Christmas read.  I can't wait to read more from all of these authors. Each story was new and different and very heart warming.

I received an ebook copy of this book from NetGalley for my honest review which I have given.

Monday, December 12, 2016

Where Jesus Slept by Norma Lewis Illustrated by Katy Hudson

This is a beautiful book for children and explains the events of the Nativity in a very sweet way that will capture the attention of small children.  It was enjoyable and the illustrations were very engaging, especially to the eyes of a child.  I can't wait till my grandson comes over to read it to him!

Thursday, December 8, 2016

the Amish Cooking Class The Seekers by Wanda E. Brunstetter

I really enjoyed this book by Wanda Burnstetter.  I have read many of her books and it is similar to the style of the Amishing Quilting Class series, which I also really liked.  Several people of very diverse backgrounds sign up for an Amish cooking class.  Most have some underlying problems in their lives and the new friendships that they make can prove to be very healing.

I really liked the light-hearted feelings that come across in the book and the caring for others and love of family that comes through as you read this book.

It was a very good read and I will continue reading the series.

I received am ebook copy from NetGalley for my honest review, which I have given.

Healing a Heart by Amy Lillard

Amy Lillard is one of my favorite authors.  She writes both Amish and contemporary books.This was among her contemporary books.

Because of a night together, Bryn finds herself in a situation which causes her to speak to Jake regarding the results of that night spent together.  His immediate response was not one that she agreed with, but as his family asks her to stay with them for a while she finds herself drawn to Jake and he to her.

This story was very well written, however, not the genre I normally would read.  I enjoyed the book but being that it was  a contemporary book there were some parts that I quickly passed over.  The story was good and I enjoyed reading it.

I received an ebook copy from Netgalley for my honest review, which I have given.

Sunday, December 4, 2016

The Bachelor's Homecoming by Karen Kirst

This is the first book that I have read by this author.  It was a sweet historical romance.  I enjoyed the storyline, and it was a good Christian read.  I like anything historical so I found it very interesting.  I hope to read more from this author in the future.

I recommend it to others who enjoy historical romance.

Wednesday, November 30, 2016

The Pattern Artist by Nancy Moser

I found this book to have a fresh new idea that was very nicely worked into the history that was occuring at this time.  Being an immigrant myself, I can see how Annie felt about wanting to achieve more than what she appears to have been born into.  Coming to America as a maid for wealthy people, she found herself feeling as this was her lot in life.  She was unable to go or do anything without permission.  She and her two friends plan to run away from the life of servitude and look for better things.

Although that was the hope, it didn't always happen as she had hoped.  Yet despite sadness and hardships, Annie has the faith to keep moving forward.  And as new doors open up for her, she finds an exciting new life.  Annie is a good person, although at times, led in a path that wasn't perfect.  She's human and does human things.But in so doing, has learned to trust God and listen to his direction as she moves forward.

I really enjoyed this book.  It was so different and I actually learned something about a topic I knew very little about.  Very entertaining book!  Look forward to reading more from this author.

I received a copy of this book from the Barbour Publishing Company for my reivew.

Saturday, November 26, 2016

Choosing Real by Bekah Jane Pogue

Choosing Real was an interesting book and shared the author's feelings about her relationship to God and how He can help her and us in our lives if we will just let Him in and listen to what is said by Him.

As we go through life, we often forget, in our day to day dealings with work, home, family and friends, that God is there, seeing to our every need, regardless of our awareness of Him.  It is important for each of us to take the time to ponder, and to learn of God's hand in our lives and to accept the answers He has for us.

The author, Bekah Jane Pogue, has a lot of Spirit-led experiences that she shares in her book.  It shows as a reminder that we can accomplish much by listening to the Spirit as we go about our daily life.

I felt that this book was an uplifting read and that we all can succeed, no matter our individual stations in life.  And that we don't need to put on a facade but become real and embrace the God that created us, who cares for us, and will not forsake us.

A highly inspirational book, that will bring us all back to "Real".

Disclosure: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing in exchange for my honest review.

Wednesday, November 23, 2016

Medical Judgment by Richard L. Mabry, M.D.

Was this a good book?  Yes, it was really, really good!  I had to keep reading because I had to know who was the culprit that was tormenting Dr. Sarah Gordon and causing her total fear and anguish.  There were lots of suspects and I was sort of leaning towards one of them.  But I was wrong.  The poor woman didn't know who to trust, nor did she know why all this craziness was happening to her just months after the accidental  deaths of both her husband and her daughter.

Dr. Sarah learns a lot about herself and that she can be stronger than she was while her husband was still alive.  She tries to take her life back into her own hands only to have more problems.

This book is good.  If you like suspense and a lot of mystery, this is the book for you!

Sunday, November 20, 2016

The Highwayman of Cordovia by Linda Weaver Clarke

The Highwayman of Cordovia is the second book of the new Rebels of Cordovia series by Linda Weaver Clarke.  I love reading a series and seeing characters from a previous book in the series reappear.  It's wonderful to see how things turned out for them.

This book is the story of Christine, a pastor's daughter and Austin.  Austin and Christine had been friends as youth and separated through the years.   As their paths cross again after many years, things spark up between them.  Yet their lives do not appear to be headed in the same direction.

Christine begins to fall in love with Austin but is not aware of his true self and would not approve of the life he is leading.  The twists and turns will keep you turning the pages.  These books express good moral values and are very enjoyable.

The book is a clean Christian read and historical in nature, which I enjoy.  It was a good book and I look forward to the 3rd book in the series.

I received an e-book copy from the author for my honest review which I have given.

You can read more about this great series at this link where Linda writes about her new series.

Thursday, November 17, 2016

Karla by Sharon Srock (Audible Version)

Faith, love, patience, loss, recovery and forgiveness are some of the themes that you will see in this wonderful book by Sharon Srock.  It is book 6 in the Valley View series.  It can easily be considered a stand-alone book as well.  It is the final book of this series.

I really enjoyed it.  Being close to Karla in age, I can understand her feelings of loss after a long, happy marriage and then trying to make it on her own.  It is interesting to see the reactions of friends and family as Karla tries to emerge from the darkness of her loss and return to living a happy and fulfilling life.

Relationships with family can be strained as is apparent in this book and made it feel real to me.  I think the characters were well portrayed and it was easy to see their feelings as they dealt with the problems they faced.

I enjoyed the expression and characterization of the narrator, Laura Jennings, and felt that she did a great job to bring across the feelings of the people she portrayed.  I definitely want to read and "listen" to more books by this author.

I received an Audible version of this book from the author for my honest review, which I have given.
You can grab a copy at this link.

Mystery On the Bayou-Audible Version by Linda Weaver Clarke


I just recently finished listening to the Audible version of Mystery on the Bayou.  I really enjoyed it.  As a young girl reading was my beloved pastime that my friends and I continued to do together through our elementary school years.  Mysteries were my favorite genre in those days, and I can see that my love for mysteries has not waned.

Linda writes a fun and interesting story line.  This is book 6 in the continuing series of the Amelia Moore Detective series.  In book 6, we find Amelia and Rick, two happy newlyweds in a cozy retreat for their honeymoon, only to be approached by a woman who asks Amelia to locate a son she gave up for adoption 16 years ago.  She has discovered she has a hereditary disease that she feels an urgent need to inform her son about.  Not knowing could be deadly for him.  Amelia takes on the case which leads her to Bayou country and a not so easy to resolve case. 

There are several twists and turns making lots of interesting reading.  And I am happy to see that a book 7 is on its way.  I enjoyed listening to the Audible version very much and if you enjoy cozy mysteries, with a little touch of romance, you will surely enjoy it as well! 

The narrator Diane Lehman has a great way of changing voices of each of the characters and she even can sing the tunes the characters sing.  Now there's talent.  It's really enjoyable listening and relaxing to this fun Audible book after a long stressful day at work.  

I received an Audible copy of this book for my honest review, which I have given. You can get your copy here!

Monday, November 14, 2016

Christmas in the Cove by Carol Ross

This was my first book by this author.  I really enjoyed it.  It was a contemporary romance but definitely a clean read.  Just my style.

The book starts out with lots of action and an accidental reunion of a long separated couple.  But will this reunion be possible because of their ending together?  Aubry felt great loss when Eli separated from her.  Why?  Now after twelve years things are not so easy to forget, yet Aubry and Eli find themselves working together in their dangerous jobs.

A very intriguing storyline with romance, suspense and lots of action.  A good book for those who enjoy a mystery.  And a great Christmas read! I hope to read more from this author.

I received a copy of this book from the author for my honest review, which I have given.

Wednesday, November 9, 2016

Her Holiday Protector by Lenora Worth

The book grabs you from page one.  It starts with a murder and the detective Blain Kent is on the scene.  It is quickly determined that the killer is after Rikki Allen, a member of a crime family.

When Blain realizes that she is a member of this family, he must decide whether to trust her or not.  The plot is a captivating one and a fun read.  I enjoyed this book and the author's writing style.  This was a clean read with a nice romance.

Monday, November 7, 2016

The Rebel Series–Stories of Love and Liberty by Linda Weaver Clarke

The Rebel Series–Stories of Love and Liberty


 I am excited to have author Linda Weaver Clarke write a guest post for my blog.  Be sure to watch the trailer at the end.  You won't want to miss it!

Welcome to my blog, Linda!


There was a time when swashbuckling men and brave women engaged in daring and romantic adventures, those who fought with bravery and valor. These courageous men and women were looked up to because they defended the people.

“This creative take on a Robin Hood-like story is charming and touching, and teaches some great morals about agency and choice. It reminded me of childhood fairytales of good versus evil, with a nice romance weaved into it.” –Author Charissa Stastny

In The Rebels of Cordovia, a group of men and women who called themselves Robin’s Rebels realize they must help the people survive this oppression. In this battle for freedom, a love story begins to blossom. Daniel, a rogue and a leader of the Freemen, doesn’t realize that the sweet feminine woman he has met and is falling for happens to be the leader of Robin’s Rebels. Realizing the importance of uniting all the rebel groups, Daniel tries to recruit Robin’s Rebels but they refuse. Now he has to find a way to convince them. When he finds out the leader is actually a woman, what will his reaction be?

After reading this story, Susan Ortlieb from Suko’s Notebook Reviews wrote: “Linda Weaver Clarke writes with passion and grace, and the love story in this book is simply wonderful. In fact, this aspect of the story was the strongest draw for me. (Are love stories set in the past more romantic than those set in the present day?) I thought that Robin and Daniel sounded perfect for each other, and I enjoyed the steady development of their relationship. This charming book was a pleasure to read, and I relished it.”

The tales from The Rebel Series have adventure, sweet romance, and delectable kisses. These are stories of love and liberty that takes place between the 18th and 19th Century. In the sequel, The Highwayman of Cordovia, the people enjoy their new-found liberty but all is not well. One year after Cordovia gains its freedom, a group of powerful men plan to take over the small country and replace the leader with a king.

With the help of a bold highwayman and a pastor’s daughter, they try to save their country from being taken over by a power-hungry leader. As they strive to stop the Kingmen and thwart their plans, Christine finds herself falling in love with Austin Knight. The only problem with their relationship is that she thinks he is her knight in shining armor instead of a highwayman. If she finds out his trade, what will her reaction be? As a pastor’s daughter, will love override her values?

“Linda Weaver Clarke has a storyteller's talent for enchanting and mesmerizing the audience. There are also some exciting surprises and twists that will delight the heart. Definitely a must read!” --Cindi Clubbs, Mommasez Reviews

The Highwayman of Cordovia, the second book in The Rebel Series, will be available on Dec 3rd, 2016. Read sample chapters of both books at http://www.lindaweaverclarke.com.

About the Author
Linda Weaver Clarke has traveled throughout the United States, teaching people to write their family history. She is the author of historical romances, mystery/adventure series, a children’s book, and a cozy mystery series. All her books are family friendly. Visit www.lindaweaverclarke.com.

Watch a book Trailer below!

The Rebels of Cordovia
The Rebels of Cordovia from Linda Weaver Clarke on Vimeo.

Sunday, November 6, 2016

Cowgirl Up by Heidi M. Thomas

This was a bit of a different type of book for me.  I liked the history and how the cowgirls were able to do the same events as men but only after time and much effort on their parts.  To "Cowgirl up" means to not whine, cry, complain, but rather to be tough and handle whatever comes your way.

It was interesting how there were so many injuries, yet they recovered only to get back in the saddle. This was a well researched book on this topic.The stories that were written about were of cowgirls from Montana, their shows and competitions.  It was a very interesting historical book.


Saturday, November 5, 2016

Saving Gideon by Amy Lillard





Saving Gideon was a book of a 3 part series by Amy Lillard.  It was great.  I have now read 2 of the books of this series and definitely want to read the one I haven't read yet. although this is can be a stand alone book, as well.

This story of heartache for both parties defined how together they restored the direction of both their lives and helped each other to gain back the trust and happiness both had lost.

I really enjoy Amy Lillard's Amish books.  She really seems to have a definite connection with the ideals and the shortcomings of human nature and the need to find God in each of our lives.

The storyline was unique and interesting.  The book held my attention and I had a hard time putting it down.  I will continue reading books by this author.  She is GOOD.

Wednesday, November 2, 2016

Slender Reeds by Texie Susan Gregory

This was the first book I have read from this author.  I hope it won't be the last.  It was really good.  I have to admit, that I have not read any Biblical fiction until reading this.  Wasn't sure how it would flow, but really enjoyed it.  I have read the Bible many times over but never really thought about how some of the Biblical characters actually felt and what they experienced on a more personal level.

This book, although a work of fiction, appears to be very well researched as far as customs, facts and actual events.   The story unfolded in such a way that you really felt like you knew them and their thoughts, fears and concerns were brought across very well.

As Jochebed begins to fear for the life of her son and takes actions to save him, you can feel her feelings and understand that she was a mother then with the same emotions as a mother in today's world.

This book brought across many Christian attributes of trust, both in God and your fellow man, love of family and friends and of staying true to God, regardless of the trials and persecutions that exist in life.

I highly recommend this book.  It gave great insights to a time period we may not have had a way to understand otherwise.

Disclosure:  I was given a copy of this book from the publisher, Barbour books, for my honest review which I have given.

Tuesday, November 1, 2016

Chat with Vera Giveaway

http://chatwithvera.blogspot.com/2016/10/du-iz-tak-by-carson-ellis-from.html  Follow the link for a chance to win a cute children's book.

Wednesday, October 26, 2016

The Shadow Falls v. 3 Fire and Steel Series by Gerald N. Lund

Another great book by Gerald N. Lund.  The Shadow Falls is v. 3 of the Fire and Steel series.  I have enjoyed everything I have previously read from this author, and I have to say that continues after having read this book.

This book shows how easily good people can be influenced by what appears to be "well-intentioned" people and how they could be deceived into following leaders with motives are not for the good of the people.

In this pre-WWII time period book, it becomes apparent how gradually people can become confused and lead away unknowingly making decisions that can lead them in the wrong paths.

Hans and Emilee's family begins to grow and Hans finds himself as a close friend and confidant of the F├╝hrer and becomes heavily involved with the party.  It seems at first all is for the good of a nation, but we all know how this story goes.

Having had parents that grew up in Germany in this time period, I have personal insights in the historical events of this book.  As a result I found this series very enthralling and an excellent reads which keep you reading till the end.

The events and characters in this series intertwine with other books he has written and you see families from his other books in this series as their paths cross and their lives mingle to create a most interesting set of books.  You won't want to miss any of them.

I highly recommend this book, the whole series, for that fact!

Disclosure:  I received a copy of this book from the publisher for my honest review.  All thoughts are my own and no monetary compensation was received.

Sunday, October 23, 2016

Titus Returns by Amy Lillard


This latest addition to the Wells Landing Series, book 5, is amazing.  Titus Lambert returns after 5 years of prison confinement, to his Amish home.  Worried about how he will be received by family and friends, he works to find his path.  Unsure whether to rejoin his church, he takes time to determine what paths to follow.  Englisch world or Amish world?  The love of his life who had promised to wait, is no longer available, or is she??

Oh yes, another great book by Amy Lillard!  This book held onto my attention and within one day, I had it finished.  And I wanted MORE!  It was great.  I so recommend this book to Amish book fans because it is so good.  I love prodigal son stories and this one was wonderful.

You can find this book for pre-order at this link.  Now go get it! You will not be sorry!

The author:  Amy Lillard:

I received a copy of this book from the author for my honest review, which I have given.

Saturday, October 15, 2016

Humility The Secret Ingredient of Success by Pat Williams with Jim Denney

This book by motivational speaker Pat Williams speaks from his own personal experience in the business world.  He shares many examples of successes and failures based on the traits of both current and historical figures.

In today's world it is common for people to be impressed by the accomplishments of others especially those that outwardly show assertiveness with arrogance.

This book shares insights how to be successful by being a humble person and a confident one.  The people that have been the ones to make true marks in the World are those with humble attitudes as illustrated simply and plainly in the cover picture.

I really enjoyed this book.  It has given me new insights in how to best serve in leadership roles and I plan on implementing these learnings in my everyday life and work.  Highly recommended.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing in exchange for my honest review.


Teacup Courtships: 5 novellas of romance over tea by multiple authors and giveaway!

This sweet collection by multiple authors, Carrie Fancett Pagels, Cynthia Hickey, Teresa Ives Lilly, Darlene Franklin, and Patty Smith Hall, was a collection of enjoyable historical settings in the untamed West.  Different women trying to find their lives and become an integral part of their new communities, opening their Tea Rooms, and adding sweet womens' touches to an otherwise rough and rugged new community.  Although the men are hard working and somewhat rough around the edges, the women that enter their lives seem to bring out the best in them.

I enjoyed these stories very much and have read other writings of all of these authors.  They are always good Christian reads and have a common thread that carefully brings the book together, although the stories are unique and different from each other.

I received an ebook from the author.  The thoughts expressed here are my own.

Carrie Fancett Pagels is sponsoring a giveaway!  

The winner has the option of choosing either the Ebook collection or the paperback version of Carrie's contribution entitled "Tea Shop Folly".  

Contest Rules:  Please leave a comment in the comments section stating which option you would choose and your email address stated in a safe method.  Without your email, I may not be able to contact you, should you be the winner.  Contest ends on Sunday Oct.30th at 6:00 pm MDT.

For extra chances to win,
1. please share the link to this post on Facebook.

To gain yet another chance,
2. Sign up for updates on my blog.

Let me know in your comment that you have done so and which option(s) you did.

Monday, October 10, 2016

Chat with Vera: If You Were Me & Lived in... Brazil & If You Were ...

Chat with Vera: If You Were Me & Lived in... Brazil & If You Were ...: The author continues her tried and true series of books written from the perspective of a 12-year-old living in the featured country or spec...

Sunday, October 9, 2016

To Soar With Eagles by Gerald Lund

This conclusion to the series was another great LDS historical novel by Gerald Lund.  I could feel the emotions as their trials beset these early settlers in the in Southern Utah area of Monticello.  The Indians, rogue cowboys and other trials that caused these newcomers to surely wonder if this is where they should settle.

I really enjoyed this book and especially the historical notes and how he entertwined fiction and actual history to bring out a very captivating storyline.  I hope to continue reading his works!

Tuesday, October 4, 2016

To Tuscany With Love by Gail Mencini

I loved the title, the cover and the book sounded like what I envisioned was a "sweet" romance.  I was only at the beginning when I realized that this book was not for me.  I like a nice, clean read, a Christian read and this was not in that category. So that is about all I will say about this book. I won't be finishing it.

I received a copy of this ebook from NetGalley for my honest review.

Sunday, October 2, 2016

From Depths We Rise by Sarah Rodriguez

This book.  It was overwhelming, the trials that this woman and her family and friends had to go through.  The book especially touched me as I lost my father the past March after suffering for eight years with ongoing health issues.  So it was very close to my heart as I read this.

The story of their trials and illnesses were beyond anything most people have to go through, and when you do you know that all things lie in God's hands as to how your own story will go.

The book touched my soul and I felt tears welling throughout the reading of it.  It was amazing how despite it all, she clung to her faith and never waivered, but relied on the Savior to comfort their family and bless them and for the miracles of healing both in body and in spirit.

A wonderful book you will NOT want to miss.

I received a copy of this book from Barbour Publishing for my honest review.

Bone Broth Breakthrough by Dr. Josh Axe

So for the last four months, I have been dealing with a knee that no longer worked as it should.  The pain was getting pretty intense and I had to make a decision, go to the doctor and get pain pills or the suggestion of knee surgery.  This was what I felt I was facing.  I decided neither sounded like a plan I wanted to follow unless it was absolutely my last resort.  So I went to the local health food store and spoke to a counselor about my problems.

She told me about several options and this was one that I wanted to try.  The product by Ancient Nutrition was called Bone Broth Protein.  It was a powder that could be mixed with water, juice, or mixed into foods.  As I read the label and glanced over the recipe book, I felt that this might be something that made sense.   She explained what she had heard back from many people that had tried it and most results were very positive.  I received the book free with the purchase of the product.

The book does inform you of how to make your own bone broth, which, when I find time, may try to do as well.  But for now in my busy life, the ready made product sounded like my first choice at this time.

The book had some very good sounding recipes that I thought I would like to try.  I am hoping that the benefits of the product will be beneficial to me and that I can avoid further problems with joints and cartilage.  The book also contains a daily plan, but because of work, maybe a bit problematic at times or will have to be a program changer of my current lifestyle, somewhat.  It will take some planning, but good health is worth it!  If the program works and the knee improves, I will let you all know in a future post!

Saturday, October 1, 2016

The Devoted by Suzanne Woods Fisher



Suzanne Woods Fisher is one of my favorite Amish writers.  I have been reading her books since I first discovered the Amish genre.  She never disappoints!  The Devoted was book three in the series "The Bishop's Family".

Ruthie Stoltzfus has decisions to make about how to wants to spend the future.  She's prepared herself and is eager and self-assured.  Having been courted by Luke, she finds his lifestyle one that she isn't happy about.  

As Patrick Kelly comes to their Amish community, being an Englisher with a mission, she begins to teach him their Amish language of Pennsylvania Dutch.  

The previous book was a real cliff-hanger and here in book 3 we find the truth of what happened.  This story of forgiving, love and caring for others was an excellent story, without over glamorizing the Amish way of life.  Well written, and a page turner, I will continue to be a big fan of Suzanne's!  I highly recommend this book and can't wait to read more from this wonderful and insightful author.

I received an ebook copy of this book from NetGalley for my honest review which I have given.



Tuesday, September 27, 2016

The Captive Heart by Michelle Griep

This was an AMAZING book. I loved it!  It grabbed me from page 1 and never let go.  This historical book was set in the "wild west" and Eleanor Morgan unexpectedly finds herself there, married to a man she didn't know and caring for his daughter.  Her experiences are breathtaking and sad, as well.

This is a book you can't put down and you don't want to have end.  I would love to read more from this author and would love to see a series!  If you want a captivating book, this is the book for you.  It's full of adventure, trials and some romance!

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing in exchange for my honest review.

Friday, September 23, 2016

The Honeybee Sisters Cookbook by Jennifer Beckstrand, Tearsa Daines. and Alicia Johnson

I was the lucky winner of this amazing cookbook!  And I have just browsed through all the recipes and see that I will be doing some shopping next week for many of the ingredients, so that I can try them out.  They sound so good.

One that really drew my attention was the last recipe for Bienenstich Cake.  Every Easter I buy this from the German bakery.  Maybe I should get brave and make it myself.  The recipe sounds so good.
I also spotted quite a few tasty oriental style recipes.  But I am sure the Amish like to try them, too!

I loved how she wove her Honeybee sister stories into the cookbook, which made it extra fun.  I have read and loved them and can't wait for the next book.

The pictures of the finished recipes look good enough to eat.  So I definitely want to start trying these out.

You can find the book at this link.  Wasn't I just lucky!!

Thursday, September 22, 2016

The Rebels of Cordovia

I so enjoyed this fun book!  It has adventure, romance, a little mystery, history and action.  No boring moments here.  Linda Weaver Clarke's book is really entertaining and enjoyable. And it has a great ending!  Which I won't tell you about because you really need to read this book.

Rebels for the cause of the people, Robin and her rebels have to decide whether or not to join forces to protect the rights of the people. Placed back in the days of wicked and oppressive kings, the rebels work together for the freedoms of the common people.  Will they succeed against the governing forces?

The romance is sweet and the action is plenty.  I highly recommend this entertaining book!
Disclosure: I received a copy of this book for my honest review, which I have given.

Sunday, September 18, 2016

The Orphan Bride by Brandi Gabriel

This book by Brandi Gabriel was the first I have actually read about orphan trains.  I found it quite interesting.  In fact I felt like I would like to find out more about this and searched it on the internet and found some interesting facts at this link.

This was a really nice historical novella which held my interest throughout.  The characters are interesting and you instantly like most of them.  It is an enjoyable Christian and clean read.

Lucy and Travis, twins, are separated when Travis was adopted and she remained with the orphan train.  Their paths moved in different directions and with different results.  Lucy cares for Joan on the train and takes on a mother role to her.  But neither knows what their future holds.

I really enjoyed the story and wouldn't mind reading a continuation of this book.  Very nice read!  I highly recommend it.

Wednesday, September 14, 2016

The Love Letters by Beverly Lewis

Beautiful cover!  I purchased book because Beverly Lewis is a great author in my opinion.  The story description of the book sparked my interest.  Although Ms. Lewis is one of my favorite authors, this book was not my favorite of her writings.

It moved a little slower than I expected and although it has an interesting storyline, I sometimes felt that it needed something to move the action a little faster.

I enjoyed it but not as much as I had hoped to.

If You Were Me And Lived In Elizabethan England by Carole P. Roman

I was lucky enough to win this for the grandkids.  This very interesting children's book takes you back in time when life was so different.  A time when royals were in control.  It tells how life would be if you were a young person living in this time and place.  The culture was so fascinating and there are amazing illustrations of people and places.  There are portraits and descriptions of people that were well known during this period and a glossary to teach new words to the reader.

This book is a part of a multi-part series of cultures, countries and people.  Very good for youth to begin to understand the world around them.

I think these are great!

The Alliance of Isian by Serena Clarke (Audible Version)

I have just finished listening to another Audible book.  The Alliance of Isian was such a great story!  I loved the narration and being able to listen to it on my phone as I was doing other things.

The narrator Carolyn Kashner did a great job of bringing these characters to life.

My Review:


This book by Serena Clarke is a story of two kingdoms in what appears to me to be a medieval time setting during times of attacks from enemy kingdoms, a time of one kingdom seeking to gain power over the other.

Two royals of enemy kingdoms find themselves in an arranged marriage to bring together unity between their kingdoms. Gabrielle, the princess, who is also a very strong character in this book, is from Isian. In this kingdom magic is used for good. However, her new husband, Alec, the Tandorian, does not find this something tolerable. There are many differences in the kingdoms, both socially and in their customs and as Gabrielle and Alec work through their "Alliance" their two kingdoms must do so as well. This is not always with smooth sailing as spies and secret enemy plans try to cause this alliance to fail.

While I am not usually a fantasy reader, I did relate to the characters as they try to overcome the trials that they experience. The enemies often are in the form of magical creatures which cause destruction to their kingdoms and people. Gabrielle and Alec do not always see eye to eye and these conflicts cause some mistrust. In order for the kingdoms to unite and work together, it will first be necessary for their royalty to unite. How and will this indeed happen?

I enjoyed reading this book and reading a new "for me" genre. And I was happy that I read it because although fantasy, the characters faced real life issues and therefore made it easy for me to relate to their situations. I am sure that I will enjoy reading further books of this author's as well.

A very interesting and captivating read.

Disclaimer: I was given a copy of this Audible book for my honest review, which I have given. No monetary payment was received.

Saturday, September 10, 2016

Sarah's Orphans by Vannetta Chapman

To say this book was good does not cover it well.  In the beautiful style of Vannetta Chapman, this book not only provides a great read, but it will touch your heart.  This was a wonderful book with so much love of your fellow man shown that you will not want to put it down.

As Sarah finds two orphaned children, being somewhat of an orphan, herself, she opens her heart to two young Hispanic children that are frightened and alone and trying to do whatever they can to survive.

It's a beautiful tale of love, human kindness and caring.  Paul Byler, Sarah's new neighbor is drawn to not only Sarah, but the family she is trying to care for after her mother leaves them.

I don't know how you couldn't absolutely love this book! It's that good.  If you enjoy a wonderful Amish book, this one should be on the top of your list!

I received a copy of this book from the publisher for my review.

Thursday, September 1, 2016

The Blue Ribbon Brides Collection

I always enjoy historical books and this compilation of 9 great stories by 9 great authors does not disappoint.  If you like thinking back to your younger days attending state or county fairs you will enjoy this set of stories.  Nine people entering the fair in hopes of winning the blue ribbon and ending up with quite a bit more.

These stories were sweet and refreshing.  I was really happy to have had the chance to read this book.  I enjoyed each of the stories very much.

I received an e-book copy of this book from NetGalley for my review which I have given.

Small-Town Dad by Jean C. Gordon

Neal Hazard is a electrician who raised his daughter and gave up opportunities for an education.  Now his daughter is grown and he returns to school  He meets a woman that was actually his prom date in high school who is a college advisor.

They start to rekindle old feelings and as a sudden guardian of a minor child, she finds herself in a new unexpected role with no previous experience.

The story was alright but seemed to move a bit slower than I would have hoped.  Nice theme but perhaps maybe it could have moved a little quicker or had a little more "action".  That said, it was a nice book.


Tuesday, August 30, 2016

Love Impossible by J.E.B.Spredemann

Love Impossible was exactly that. Sarah's life suddenly has a major turn-around and she finds herself in a completely unexpected situation causing her to have to turn to God to find the answer to her extremely difficult dilemma.

Each decision impacts those she loves.  As a result she finds God and finds a way to continue her life.

I enjoyed this book and really wondered what was she going to do with this very difficult situation.  I read it in one sitting.  Really liked how it kept me on the edge on my seat.

You'll love it!

You can find it here at this link.

Sunday, August 28, 2016

Christmas At Promise Lodge by Charlotte Hubbard

I am loving the Promise Lodge series and enjoyed this book so much.  It is a great book to get anyone into the Christmas mood.  Charlotte Hubbard is such a good author.  Her characters are unique and so interesting that it is hard to stop reading the books.  She is amongst my favorite Amish authors and I hope to read as many of her books as I can.

The Promise Lodge is about a new start-up Amish community and the trials, happiness and struggles that come with it, and some sweet romance to add to the mix.

This light and fun read will be a great addition to any reader's collection of Amish books.  Ms. Hubbard knows the Amish and has some very good insights to the day to day life of this group of people.  I am very anxious for the next book in the series!  Can't wait!

I received a copy of this book from the author for my honest review.

You can find this book at Amazon!


Wednesday, August 24, 2016

Barely Above Water by Gail Pallotta

This book was really, really good.  So different than most of the books that I have read lately, so a nice and very interesting read, to say the least.  A young woman gives up a job and home to move to another location where she feels God has lead her to help her with the mysterious health issues she has been dealing with.  Starting up a new life when health is causing so many problems is difficult at best.  

Having had no success with conventional medical help she seeks another route, hoping for better results.  

This was a very thought provoking book for me as I have also dealt with health issues that are still unresolved.  The story is faith promoting and a good reminder to trust in the Lord in all things.  

Great book, and I loved it!

I received an Ebook version from the author for my honest review which I have given.