Monday, December 31, 2018

Melinda and the Wild West by Linda Weaver Clarke Audible Version



I just finished listening to this very interesting book by Linda Weaver Clarke.  It was certainly my favorite of all the books from this author.  I guess this could be because it deals with times and places that I could really relate to, especially living in Utah and being familiar with Idaho and Bear Lake.  I really enjoyed her narrator, Carolyn Kashner, who did a wonderful job interpreting the various characters.  This is the original version and was very well done.  She is an excellent narrator.  I enjoyed the fact that I had this Audible book on my cell phone and could stick my phone in my pocket with my ear buds and listen while I worked, rested, and "multi-tasked".  It was really enjoyable.

As easterner Melinda heads west to Idaho to teach school, she finds a most exciting beginning to her new life, a bank robbery.  This book has many events that were of actual history of the places that she writes about.  I love how she wove fiction and history together to keep the reader involved with the characters, times and places.  This book was written about some of the events and places in the lives of her ancestors.  This also has a special appeal to me as a genealogist.  And there is always something special about bringing real events out in your reading.  Much more believable!

This is a very family friendly romance set in a difficult but fascinating time in history, as the doors to the west were opened to those seeking a better life for themselves.

I really enjoyed the book and have enjoyed all the books of this series.  I recommend it!

You can find this book at the following link.

I received an Audible version from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Abby Finds Her Calling by Naomi King

This was a great read.  I enjoyed it so much.  It's the first book of the series and now I need more!  Abby is a Maidel and lives alone and is the town's seamstress, sewing and mending relationships.  Although the story is about her sister and her relationship with James Graber, Abby plays an important role.

I really enjoyed this book and hope to find the next book in the series.  Very good read!

Saturday, December 29, 2018

Winter's First Frost by Kelly Irvin

Good book dealing with life's changes and people coping with them.  I loved that the book was placed in an Amish community I have personally visited and enjoyed.  I have not read other books of this series, and was probably a bit confused with the characters in the beginning.  As soon as I understood each of them, I was taken in by the story.

Enjoyed it very much!

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.,

Thursday, December 27, 2018

Husband by Arrangement by Angel Moore

I really enjoyed this sweet story of an arranged marriage.  The main character, Rena found herself expecting a baby, alone.  Her father arranged for her to marry the sheriff.  Rena had a very difficult time forgiving herself of her past and often blamed herself for the problems that came to her father and her husband.

It was a nice book of forgiving, and of healing.  This is the first book that I have read from this author and very glad I did.  Left me feeling very happy that I had read this book.  I will be looking for more of her writings.

Highly recommended!

Wednesday, December 26, 2018

Inside an Amish Home: A Rare and Intimate Portrait by Herald Press Editors

This was a very short read.  I think it took me about 10 minutes or less.  So I was a little disappointed.  I was hoping for some new details that I was not familiar with from having read many Amish novels.  There were quite a few photos which was nice.

It might make an interesting piece on the coffee table, but for serious readers probably needs some more depth and research.  Maybe add some recipes since there are many photos about cooking etc.

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

The Eries Canal Brides Collection by Johnnie Alexander, Lauralee Bliss, Rita Gerlach, Sherri Wilson Johnson, Rose Allen McCauley, Christina Miller, Ramona K. Cecil

Sweet, clean stories written by seven great authors.  I love the area and the historical settings.  I love all the various series of these  collections.  I enjoy the Christian themes.  There is even a bit of suspense and action along with the romance, of course!  It's very easy to be able to recommend this book to you!

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Monday, December 24, 2018

With You Always by Jody Hedlund

I totally read this series out of order.  I just located book 1 at the local library and since I had read books 2 & 3, I really needed to read book 1 as I was totally enthralled with this series.

I really loved book one, but if I had to do it again, I would have tried it in order.  It would have helped to explain the story better in proper order. 

But regardless, I still loved book one and I am glad I didn't just pass it up!  This is a great book and the author writes so well.  It keeps you reading without wanting any interuptions!

Highly recommend this series!

Sunday, December 23, 2018

The Bishop's Bride by Elizabeth W. Watkins

This is a book that I actually grabbed from the local library for my mom, who is a voracious reader.  I usually don't have time to read most of the books I pick up for her, but she told me I had to read this one.

So I read it too, it was very entertaining, although the book I picked up had a different cover, than this one.  It was a quick read and full of lots of crazy experiences of an LDS Bishop.

Friday, December 21, 2018

Out of the Smoke by Gerald N. Lund

I was really excited when my husband got me book 5 of this series.  I had a hard time waiting for this one to come out.  I loved the continuing stories of both the German and the American people in this cast of characters.

I personally relate to this book because my parents experienced lots of this in Germany before and during the War, having heard many of their experiences which directly coincided with the events in the book.  It's an excellent description of the lives of German people in these fateful years.  Looks like there is more to come!

Wednesday, December 19, 2018

Searching For You by Jody Hedlund

This was book 3 of this series.  I recently read book 2 and knew I had to keep reading this series.  Again Jody Hedlund has written an enthralling story of the orphan trains and lives of those who were placed in families, not always because of the right reasons.  It was a heartwarming and touching story, starting out in New York and the rough existence that Sophie experienced there causing her to take two children that she greatly cared for to find homes with what she hoped would be a loving family.

This is a great book.  And because I missed book 1, I will have to get a copy to read.  I have to admit, this author is becoming one of my faves!

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Monday, December 17, 2018

Ellie's Redemption by Molly Jebber

Set in Charm, Ohio, this is the second book in the Amish Charm Bakery series.  It is the first of the series that I read but actually didn't realize that it was book 2 at the time.  I don't feel that I was in any way confused by the fact that I hadn't read book 1 and it can clearly stand on it's own.

The story of Ellie and Joel was a story of love at first sight with bumps and bruises along their way.  The biggest problem being that of Joe's mother as she hears bits and pieces about Ellie's passed through the Amish grapevine.  Convinced that Ellie is just trouble, she makes it clear Ellie is persona non Grata.

Will Joel's mother keep the young couple apart or will she ever find it possible to forget and forgive?

This is a sweet romance and an enjoyable read.

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Saturday, December 15, 2018

A Quilt For Jenna by Patrick E. Craig

Heartbroken and alone, Jerusha finishes her quilt and prepares it's sale.  As she and her driver head out on a soon to be tragic evening, a story enfolds which shares the hurt and heartache that she has experienced.

This is book 1 in the Apple Creek Dreams series.  I couldn't put it down and read it in one sitting.  There was lots of drama and heartfelt expression in this book.  The author set the book in the time period of WWII and thereafter.  Jerusha blames her husband for the loss of her child, something she can't get past.  She has lost her faith.

The story shows the importance of friendship through different cultures, love of family, and the need for a trust in God to help soften the sting of the hardships that life can bring.

If I could give this 10 stars, I would definitely do so.  It was that good.

I received a copy of this book from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Thursday, December 13, 2018

The Rancher's Homecoming by Anna J. Stewart Book Return of the Blackwell Brothers

This was the last book in the series!  I have now read 4 of the 5 and hope to read the Rancher's Rescue, as well.  This seems to be the culmination of the four other stories with the return of the brother, Chance to the family ranch.

It's a love story for Chance as he struggles with memories of his late wife.  It's a wonderful story, just like the other three I have read.  I love this series.  I definitely wish it would continue...such good reading. 

This is the first book from this author that I have read.  She's good and I will be looking for other titles that she has written.  I highly recommend this book and the series as a whole.  So glad I read them!

I received a copy from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Tuesday, December 11, 2018

Jerusalem Rising Adah's Journey by Barbara M. Britton

I have been surprised how much I have enjoyed Biblical fiction.  This is a new author for me and I was lucky to win this book.  It is a great story.  The author brings the Bible years to life.  I would expect it would require quite a bit of research to do this.  Great job!

Loved it!

Monday, December 10, 2018

Kappy King and the Pie Kaper by Amy Lillard Book 3 of the Amish Mysteries Series

This is the 3rd book in this series that I have read.  I definitely enjoyed them all.  This was a light, happy and "cozy" mystery and kept my attention.  Loved the interaction between Edie, the shunned Amish and Kappy, the Amish young woman.  As the mystery enfolds, there are lots of odd clues to work with and to figure out.

It's a fun "who dun it" type book and a captivating one.

I received a copy from NetGalley and the author.  All thoughts are my own..

Saturday, December 8, 2018

The Bilionare's Christmas Miracle by Lorana Hoopes AUDIBLE Version

I really enjoyed this.  It was the first "billionaire" book that I had read and listened too, so I wasn't really sure...but it was really good.  Loved the Cinderella type storyline.  I enjoyed the characters and pretty much everything else.  It's a good book.  I recommend it!

I was surprised that the author narrated her own book.  I haven't seen that before.  But she has a really pleasant speaking voice and did a good job with expression and character differences.  

I received an Audible copy from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Wednesday, December 5, 2018

My Heart Belongs in the Blue Ridge Laurel's Dream by Pepper Basham

This is another in the My Heart Belongs series.  It was also the first time that I have read a book by this author.  I really enjoyed it.  I especially liked how the mountain culture shown through including the language that they would use and their beliefs and lifestyle.  It's a hard life in the Appalachians and Laurel wants things to change. 

The new teacher in the mountains tells of life and things outside of this place and receives harsh responses to his teaching ways.

I think this was a really good book and I think people will love it as much as I did.

I received an ebook copy of this book from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.


Sunday, December 2, 2018

This Homeward Journey by Misty M. Beller Heart of the Mountains Book 5

Anxious to travel by horse to Canada with her 12 year old son, Rachel sets out on her own to find her brother.  She is leaving behind a late husband whose addictions caused anything but a happy life.  No longer trusting she refuses to travel with some men who are going in the same path as she had planned.  But things change as a close call with a bear, makes Rachel realize that there is safety in numbers. 

I loved this book.  Exciting from page one till the end.  I have enjoyed the whole wonderful series by this author.  You will not be able to put it down.  I did find myself a bit frustrated with Rachel in refusing help so often.  But that was the type of woman she was.  The book shares a story of faith, trust and the importance on relying and trusting in God.  Really loved how the story proceeded, the characters and that the author can really create a wonderful read.  Highly recommended.

I received an ebook copy from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Friday, November 30, 2018

Lawfully Matched by Lorana Hoopes AUDIBLE Version

This is the second book of this author that I have been fortunate enough to read and listen to.  Very sweet romance.  The characters were well matched and made a good fit even though they had no idea!  The narrator was Daniel James Lewis.  He had a little bit of a southern accent to his voice which added to the Texas feel of the book.  It was fun to listen to and his expressions and "voices" were well portrayed.

Enjoyed how the steadily paced book progressed and there was suspence and romance to keep things interesting.

The book was of a novella length and I was able to finish listening to it in one sitting.  I enjoyed it very much.

I received an Audible copy from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Together Forever by Jody Hedlund

I think that this is my first book from Jody Hedlund.  I got this book at the local library for my mother who is a voracious reader.  After she finished, she mentioned that I should read it too.  She said it was really good.  So I did.  And she was right. 

This historical fiction book was about a man, Drew, and woman, Marianne that were taking a train with 31 orphaned children out to the west to find new families.  I had heard a bit about the orphan trains and this book was very well researched and the stories of the children were sometimes based on actual orphan train experiences. There was romance and a bit of mystery and it was very, very good. It was really a captivating read. It totally held my interest till the last page.  It apparently was book 2 of a series.  I will have to hunt for book 1! I highly recommend this book and this author!

Wednesday, November 28, 2018

Woman of Courage

Woman of Courage

This  book by Wanda E. Brunstetter was absolutely wonderful!  I have read most of her Amish books and I would say this is my favorite book so far from this author.  It wasn’t Amish, it was about a Quaker woman, Amanda Pearson, who after being left by her fiance, decides to become a missionary in the frontier bringing Indians to Christ.  She begins her 3,000 mile trek in 1837 during the time of frightening Indian attacks and many other hardships common to pioneering people of the early to mid1800’s.  

Her trials begin to seem unsurmountable but she forges on till she finds help and friendship.  She is relentless in her missionary goal.  She meets Buck McFadden, a non-believer who she finds herself attracted to.  But her strong Christian convictions will not allow more than a friendly relationship.
Amanda endures many hardships and experiences things she had never imagined she would experience.  The trials are continual and she surely must wonder if her decisions had been right or not.
The title of this book is very appropriate for Amanda as well as other women she encounters.  You really have to admire the women that helped to forge our country.  This was a 5 star book!  Very well done, Wanda!


The Story of Little Fawn (Sequel)


Little Fawn is the Indian daughter  found by Amanda.  This is her story.  It was wonderful.  Little Fawn has some adventures of her own.   This is a story of faith, trust in God and family and love.  It was a great addition to the book!  So happy to have read this as well.  Loved finding out what happens and it was so worth the read.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.

Tuesday, November 27, 2018

Ladies of Intrigue by Michelle Griep

This book consisted of 3 separate historical stories.  It was very interesting and a bit of a mystery, which always keeps me reading.  I think that my favorite story was the second one.  Really enjoyed the characters in that one.  But each story was unique and interesting.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.

Thursday, November 22, 2018

The Forgiving Jar by Wanda E. Brunstetter

One of my fave Amish authors.  The author's easy-reading style is great.  I have read the majority of her books.  I also read the previous book in this series.  I love how the characters continue as does their story.  I love the conflicts and the way things turned out.

The story was good, engaging and my favorite genre.  Will continue reading books by this author.  I recommend this book.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.

Wednesday, November 21, 2018

The Billionaire's Christmas Miracle by Lorana Hoopes

I really enjoyed this.  It was the first "billionaire" book that I had read, so I wasn't really sure...but it was really good.  Loved the Cinderella type storyline.  I enjoyed the characters and pretty much everything else.  It's a good book.  I recommend it!

I received an ebook copy from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Thursday, November 15, 2018

Ths MissAdventure Brides Collection by Mary Davis, Cynthia Hickey, Kathleen E. Kovach, Debby Lee, Donna Schlachter, Marjorie Vawter and Kimberly Woodhouse

I loved these stories, every single one!  They were so sweet, some very funny as well.  Loved their  "Miss"adventures which made the book's title very appropriate.  Each of the stories was unique and different.

There were some new authors for me and that I found quite refreshing to read a new writing style.

Very good compilation of stories and a great way to spend my reading time!

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Wednesday, November 14, 2018

Above Rubies by Keely Brooke Keith

I won this book in a contest.  And it was the Audible version.  I enjoyed it very much.  This is the first book that I have read from this author and I liked her writing style very much. 

Olivia doesn't want to marry, she wants to be a teacher.  It's her only big desire. 

Very well written and I think I will need to look into reading the remaining books in the series!


Castle on the Rise by Kristy Cambron

This was a great book by Kristy Cambron. It is book 2 in the series.  The story changes time periods which makes it interesting as you "travel" in time.

Ireland sounds beautiful to me as I read the descriptive writings she has shared.  Having never been to this country, I would definitely want to visit now.

The storyline was excellent and I really enjoyed it.  Will continue reading books from this author!

I received an ebook copy of this book from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Monday, November 12, 2018

Amish Christmas Memories by Vannetta Chapman

OK, I have to admit that this is the first time in ages that a book brought some tears to my eyes.  It defiinity hit me a few times.  I have been so lucky to read such wonderful books.  This one was so good and I absolutely loved this. 

The story was good and the feelings of love for family and friends and those around you at the time of  Christmas was deeply felt by this book.  It was a book of caring, love and the Spirit of the holiday and the birth of Christ.

It showed you can be different in many ways, yet you can still care about each other.  It was just plain good.  Read it!

I received an ebook copy of this book from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Sunday, November 11, 2018

Her Forgiving Amish Heart by Rebecca Kertz

Oh my this was such a great story.  I can only say that I want to read more from this author.  It was such a touching story, forgiveness, friendship, and patience! 

The characters were so understanding although sometimes I wanted things to move a little faster, but that added to the drama of the story and there was some drama.

The were a few twists and turns in the story and that added a lot interest factor.  Not a dull moment starting from page 1.

I highly recommend this Amish romance!

Saturday, November 10, 2018

Guarded Prognosis by Richard L. Mabry M.D. (Audible version) Narrated by Bill Nevitt

I really enjoy the opportunity I had to listen to the Audible version of this book.  Especially when it's a good book like this.  I love the fact that I can listen to a book and still get some work around the house done.  I like that because I feel as though I am enjoying my tasks more as I get to hear a great book.  

The narrator was Bill Nevitt.  I enjoyed his voice and expressions as he portrayed various characters, changing his voice to be able to distinguish between the people in the story.


Dr. Mabry's latest book was so good! I had a difficult time putting it down!    There was a lot of mystery, suspense, adding up to an absolutely great book.  The subject matter was very contemporary, very believable and certainly something that might be a real occurrence in the life of a doctor.

There was also just a little touch of "romance" perhaps.  This book is a book that you won't want to miss, especially if you like to read mysteries, which I definitely do!

I liked the fact too, that there was some religious intonations which showed that we all can do many things on our own, but can do all things with God.  That we should trust and remember Him and that it's never too late to turn our lives around.

All in all, a great book and I am very happy that I had the chance to read it.

I received an Audible copy from the author. All thoughts are my own.

Our Christmas Promise by Tara Randel

Best friends.  Forever.  This story was really a great Christmas theme.  Makes you happy!  Loved the story.  Seems like maybe there will be a sequel???  This series is a connected one, which I really like.  the village of Christmas Town has many characters that come into play in a continual story.  Love it!

I loved how they were such good friends and that perhaps to one of them that foundation was growing.  I recommend this very sweet and happy story.  It will put you in the Spirit!

I received a copy from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Thursday, November 8, 2018

The Amish Christmas Cowboy by Jo Ann Brown

This was the first time for this author and I liked it.  It was a clean, sweet Amish book.  There was a good story line and good characters.  I enjoyed it and will probably read more from the author.

My Heart Belongs in Gettysburg, Pennsylvania Clarissa's Conflict by Murray Pura

I have been following the "My Heart Belongs" series from it's onset.  I doubt that I have missed any of the books, so far.  I hope that I am able to read them all.

This one grabbed me right away from page 1.  It takes place during the Civil War period.  Clarissa is a strong fiery character with red hair to go along with that personality.  She is a member of the Underground Railroad, actively helping the slaves.  She's pretty amazing.

You can tell that the author was well versed historically and this made the book more interesting to me as I love history.  Kind of goes hand in hand with my occupation of genealogist! 

The book flowed and read well.  Enjoyed it and it keeps me wanting to read more of this heartwarming series!

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.

Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Who I Am With You by Robin Lee Hatcher

This book was soooo good!  It touched me in a way that was near to my heart.  First, I am a genealogist and trace family ancestries as a part of my occupation.  I also have "Hennings" in my family tree as did Jessica in the story and I am German, as were her ancestors listed in the Bible that she was given. Family has a way of drawing us together.

I loved the goodness of the characters, their care and concern for others.  I loved their trust in each other, although life's events on both their parts, would give them both reasons to not trust anymore.

The characters of Ridley and Jessica are very well written.  I loved how the Bible represented to me God's presence in their lives if they allow Him in.  I enjoyed seeing the healing that took place in their lives.

The two storylines past and present, show how our lives are intertwined with those of our ancestors, their hopes for their posterity and our desires to know about them.  The themes of hardships, trust and love and hope come through clearly in this book.  I also see the fact that we will probably see these people again in another book!  So there is more and I can't wait!

I received a copy from Thomas Nelson Publishing.  All thoughts are my own.


A Christmas Carousel Proposal by Melinda Curtis and Cari Lynn Webb

This is the book which starts the fun of the series called 12 Days of Heartwarming Christmas.  These stories connect and this should be the first story to read to best enjoy the series.  I am happy to have read it.  As a prologue, it is a quick read, but has lots of warmth, love and good holiday spirit.

I enjoyed it's message very much as I saw two people, who loved each other very much.  And did what they felt was best at the time.  The story will make you happy and ready for a wonderful Christmas season.

I received an ebook from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Woman of Courage with Sequel by Wanda E. Brunstetter

Woman of Courage

This  book by Wanda E. Brunstetter was absolutely wonderful!  I have read most of her Amish books and I would say this is my favorite book so far from this author.  It wasn’t Amish, it was about a Quaker woman, Amanda Pearson, who after being left by her fiance, decides to become a missionary in the frontier bringing Indians to Christ.  She begins her 3,000 mile trek in 1837 during the time of frightening Indian attacks and many other hardships common to pioneering people of the early to mid1800’s.  

Her trials begin to seem unsurmountable but she forges on till she finds help and friendship.  She is relentless in her missionary goal.  She meets Buck McFadden, a non-believer who she finds herself attracted to.  But her strong Christian convictions will not allow more than a friendly relationship.
Amanda endures many hardships and experiences things she had never imagined she would experience.  The trials are continual and she surely must wonder if her decisions had been right or not.
The title of this book is very appropriate for Amanda as well as other women she encounters.  You really have to admire the women that helped to forge our country.  This was a 5 star book!  Very well done, Wanda!


The Story of Little Fawn (Sequel)

Little Fawn is the Indian daughter  found by Amanda.  This is her story.  It was wonderful.  Little Fawn has some adventures of her own.   This is a story of faith, trust in God and family and love.  It was a great addition to the book!  So happy to have read this as well.  Loved finding out what happens and it was so worth the read.

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Monday, November 5, 2018

Anna's Forgotten Fiance by Carrie Lighte

Anna has had an accident.  She has forgotten the memories of events in her life for about the last six months of her life.  As she recovers she has forgotten that she was engaged to Fletcher, a man she doesn't remember at all.

This story was a sweet story of faith, trust and understanding.  It was a very nice read.  I read it all in one sitting and enjoyed it a lot.  I had not heard of this author prior to reading this but I liked her writing style very much.

It's clean, it's warm and you will enjoy this Christian fiction story.


Sunday, November 4, 2018

Emergency Case by Dr. Richard Mabry MD

Suspense at it's best.  This author knows how to write suspense, that's for sure!  The book doesn't waste any time getting you engaged.  It happens from page 1.  A great who-dun-it and wonderful mystery.  You will not want to put this down. 

I received an ebook from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Saturday, November 3, 2018

Snow Angel by Davalynn Spencer

This was a sweet story!  It was a western historical and was such a nice pre-Christmas read!  I loved it.  It was full of warmth and kindness.  I recommend this enjoyable Christmas book.  This was a novella length book and you won't want to put it down until you have read the whole thing.  And then you will wish it hadn't ended yet.

I received a ebook copy of this book from the author.  All thoughts are my own.


Tuesday, October 30, 2018

Liberty Bride by Mary Lu Tyndall

OK!  Loved this, so much action and no dull moments.  I love the Daughters of the Mayflower series.  I loved how Emeline helped anyone that needed her help, not just those on "her side".  She was a warm, loving person.  Lots to learn from this woman.  I think you will enjoy this wonderful historical novel!  I sure did.  This is a wonderful read for those, like me, that enjoy Christian fiction.

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

The Amish Midwife's Secret (Book 2 Love and Promises Series) by Rachel J. Good

This book was such a great one.  I was touched by it, I was caught up with it, totally.  I couldn't put it down.  I have some people in my life with a similar situation.  Which is a reason it absolutely grabbed me.  But I will not write about it, you will want to read it and find out all about it yourselves.

I loved the characters.  Both Kyle and Leah wanted things in their lives to follow paths that they personally believed as he was a doctor, trusting modern medical methods and she was a midwife, using natural healing methods.

There is just enough conflict to make it such an interesting and captivating read. I just loved it.

I was given a copy of this book through NetGalley and the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Saturday, October 27, 2018

The Great Lakes Lighthouse Brides Collection by Various Authors

I have always been drawn to lighthouses.  There is something very romantic just because of the light they share.  When I saw this title and some of my favorite authors participating, I couldn't resist.  I had to read this book.

I learned a lot about what goes on in the lighthouse, and came to the awareness of what an important role they played. 

There were seven wonderful stories here, unique and captivating.  I loved this book.  It's a beautiful collection.  So glad that I was able to read this well-written compilation.

I received a book from one of the authors.  All thoughts are my own.

Friday, October 26, 2018

Elena Woman of Courage Audible Version by Linda Weaver Clarke


This Audible version was so fun to read and listen to.  It is a really sweet story and listening to it gave me a chance to close my eyes and envision myself back in this time period and being a woman that wanted to find her way in a then mostly male profession.

Synopsis:

The “Roaring Twenties” was a time of great change, when women raised their hemlines and bobbed their hair. The language of the era was also new and different. Watch a young love blossom in this sweet romance. When Elena Yeates settles into a small western town as the newest doctor, a few problems arise. The town is not ready for a female doctor, let alone one so strong and independent. She must struggle against the prejudice to establish her new practice. As she fights to prove herself, the town’s most eligible bachelor finds it a challenge to see if he can win her heart.

My thoughts:

This was the final book in the Bear Lake Family Saga.  I have listened to the previous four and they were all very good books.  This one was also.  I enjoyed the characters from the previous books and how they merged into the continued story.  

I enjoyed John as he finds he is not able to commit, yet finds he needs more than what he now has.  I enjoyed Elena as she deals with social prejudice and struggles to overcome that.  It's a time of change in the world as society begins to modernize with vehicles and new inventions.  I am sorry to see the series ending.  I have enjoyed each page as I read through each book.  Great job, Linda Weaver Clarke.

I received an Audible version of this book from the Author.  All thoughts are my own.

Surgeon's Choice by Richard Mabry MD (Audible Version)



Love Audible books!  They are so fun to listen to, especially while you are commuting and can't read a physical book, yet want to "read".  This is the first Audible book I have listened to from this author.  I really love his books and the Audible version was also great.  The narrator did a great job with expressions, voices, etc.  I enjoyed listening to him.

This latest novella by Richard L. Mabry, M.D. is an absolute must-read.  There is no down-time in this book.  The action starts and keeps going to the very end.  I had a hard time putting this down to do anything other than read!

This retired Medical Doctor turned author has applied his medical knowledge and experience to a realistic and captivating mystery.  It kept me spellbound till the very end.

I highly recommend this well-written and exciting book.  I look forward to anything this author produces!

I was provided an Audible version of this novel by the author, but the review is my own opinion.

Holly Jolly Christmas by Melinda Curtis

There are five stories in this Christmas Season Book.  All the stories are written by the same author and the following stories are included in the book:

1.  The Comeback Christmas
2.  Boycotting Christmas
3.  Dog-gone Christmas
4.  Once upon a New Year's Eve
5.  Rumor Has it

These were delightful contemporary stories with love, humor and fun.  I enjoyed each of the stories.  They were each of the right length to fully develop the characters and the storylines.  And it sets the tone for a really happy Christmas season.  I enjoyed them all!

I received an ebook copy of the book from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Monday, October 22, 2018

Defending Christmas by Carol Ross (12 Days of Heartwarming Christmas)

This story was about two opposite personalities, a lawyer and a private investigator.  They don't appear to be getting along to well, yet perhaps there is something they aren't seeing.  Working together didn't always work out.  There were challenges.

I enjoyed this delightful Christmas season book, part of a series of Christmas books.  It definitely gets you in a happy Christmas mood.  There is romance, mystery and is heartwarming, through and through!

I received an ebook copy from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Saturday, October 20, 2018

Courting Her Secret Heart by Mary Davis

Although this is the second book of this series called Prodigal Daughters mini series, it is the first that I have read.  And it is also the first I've read from this author.  I really liked it a lot!  The storyline was new and fresh and the characters were very heartlwarming.  I had no idea that it was book two, so makes an excellent stand-alone.  I was never confused by anything in the book.  It was clearly written and the author developed the characters very well!

As I read this, I could barely put it down.  There were several issues that were occuring in the book and it was great to see their faith bring it all together.

Publisher:  Harlequin


Friday, October 19, 2018

Never Past Hope by Janine Mendenhall

Mary Hope Adsley needs to find the truth about the man she is in love with.  He's in prison with rats and other bad situations and will be hung.  But she searches for the truth to save him from this horrible condition.

I had  a little harder time to get totally absorbed into this book for some reason.  Not sure why, but it was a good read and the story was clean and different.   I hadn't read the first book and perhaps that is why I was a bit lost in the beginning.  As I continued to read it, I was drawn into the lives of the characters and their trials.

All in all a good read and I enjoyed it.

I received an ebook copy from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Thursday, October 18, 2018

Brush With a Billionaire by Lorana Hoopes

Finding himself in Soda Spurs, Texas, billionaire Brent wants a change.  Brent meets Sam as she is the local auto mechanic.  Love how a women is in a commonly expected male occupation.  I like the contrast in the big city-little town experience. 

I love how this is a faith building story.  The characters were fun and I enjoyed their story.

I received an ebook copy from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

A Western Christmas Homecoming by Lynna Banning, Lauri Robinson, Kathryn Albright

This book was written by three authors and contains three different stories.  By different, I mean that they are not continuous, but each is unique.  I enjoyed the stories but the first was just a bit on the edgy side.  I prefer clean romances and it was a bit suggestive.  Just my personal preference.

The other stories were nice western historical romances and very enjoyable.  They were all based on a Christmas theme and I love reading Christmas stories.  They were very nice and enjoyable stories.

I received a copy of this book from one of the authors.  All thoughts are my own.