Sunday, July 15, 2018

Amish Celebrations by Beth Wiseman

Beautiful cover for a beautiful book.  There are four novellas included in this book and they are all written by Beth Wiseman.  I have enjoyed many of her Amish books in the past and this was another to add to the list of why I enjoy reading books by this author.

All clean and interesting stories that hold your attention and show interesting situations, which were believable and interesting.  I could envision the twin sisters as they found themselves interested in the same guy and how things got a bit rivalous between the two.

I think anyone interested in Amish fiction will enjoy these stories of love of family and friends.

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Wednesday, July 11, 2018

Minding The Light by Suzanne Woods Fisher

This is book 2 of the Nantucket Legacy Series.  I loved book 1 but book 2 is just amazing.  Such a great book!  Suzanne's books just keep getting better and better.  This story is one that grabs you from the beginning and then you wish you had nothing else to do so that you didn't have to stop reading.

So well written and since I have an ebook, I ran across some historial words that I could readily look up the meaning for.  There is a lot of research that would have had to go into this book.

It's a romance as well as historical and the story of Daphne and Ren is really wonderful.

I am so hoping that this series continues for quite some time!

Good job, Suzanne Woods Fisher!

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All opinions are my own.

Monday, July 9, 2018

The Fashion Designer by Nancy Moser

I believe that this was book 2 of this set of books by Nancy Moser.  It took place in a period of time when women were beginning to try their ways in business, supporting their families and themselves.  Having already read The Pattern Artist from the same author, I was pretty certain that I would also enjoy this book, as well.  And I definitely did.

The women become good friends and well as co-workers despite some large set-backs as they try to forge ahead and get their business started and functioning whikle also maintaining their personal lives, as well.

This was a very good book and I highly recommend it.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.

Saturday, July 7, 2018

Bear Lake Family Saga Guest Post And Giveaway by Linda Weaver Clarke


Today I am so happy to once again have author Linda Weaver Clarke as a guest on my blog.  This is an author whose books I love to read.  I think the Bear Lake Family Saga Series is probably my favorite of all!  If you haven't had a chance to read this series, I would highly recommend it!

Who is Author Linda Weaver Clarke?

I was raised among the Rocky Mountains of southern Idaho and live in Color Country in southern Utah. I am the author of 23 books. I have several genres that I write in—a Historical Romance series: Bear Lake Family Saga, a Mystery Suspense series: The Adventures of John and Julia Evans, a Cozy Mystery series: Amelia Moore Detective Series, and a Period/Adventure Romance: The Rebel Series. I am also a missionary at the FamilySearch Center. I help people find their ancestors and learn about their heritage.

What draws readers to this historical romance series: Bear Lake Family Saga?

This series has strong female characters who have a destiny to fulfill. Each woman wants to make a difference in someone’s life. No matter the trial that comes her way, she is ready to fight for what she believes. I love the male characters. Even though they are strong and masculine, they have their tender moments that can melt your heart. Bear Lake Family Saga has plenty of adventure along with a tender love story.

What was the inspiration for this series?

My ancestors were my inspiration. I was writing their histories so my children would learn to appreciate their heritage. Their stories were intriguing and full of adventure. When I was done, I decided to write a historical romance series and give these true experiences to my fictional characters.

Give us a brief description of each story in this series?

Melinda and the Wild West (Book 1): Melinda is a schoolteacher. She has many challenges but it’s a rugged rancher who challenges Melinda with the one thing for which she was least prepared—love.

Edith and the Mysterious Stranger (Book 2): Edith is a nurse. When a mysterious stranger starts writing to Edith, she gets to know a man's inner soul before making any harsh judgments. Whoever he is, this man is a mystery but is he as wonderful in person as he is in his letters?

Jenny’s Dream (Book 3): Jenny is an aspiring author. She has a dream to fulfill, but the only thing standing in her way is an unpleasant memory, which has haunted her since childhood. She must learn to forgive before she can follow her dream.

Sarah’s Special Gift (Book 4): Sarah is a beautiful and successful dance teacher but she is not an average young woman. Sarah is deaf, but this does not stop her from living life to its fullest. And it does not stop her from falling in love with a man who needs her help.

Elena, Woman of Courage (Book 5): The Roaring Twenties was a time of great change, when women raised their hemlines and bobbed their hair. As Elena fights to prove herself as the town’s first female doctor, the town’s most eligible bachelor finds it a challenge to see if he can win her heart.

Are your books in audiobook form?

Yes. I have a narrator who is narrating them for Audible. I have one narrator for Melinda and the Wild West, and then changed to a different narrator for the next four. Carolyn Kashner actually sings in Edith and the Mysterious Stranger, and she has such a lovely voice.

Who is the most intriguing character in this series?

I love all my female characters, but I feel that Elena from Elena Woman of Courage is the most interesting. She has to endure a lot of prejudice from the town bully who feels that women doctors have no right to practice medicine. But that isn’t all. This story takes place during the roaring twenties, and Elena has decided to be a part of this new generation by bobbing her hair and raising her hemlines. That takes a lot of courage. Of course, the town’s most eligible bachelor finds her most intriguing. He actually admires her tenacity. I admire Elena, as well.

(For history buffs: Bobbed hair caused a lot of commotion. A teacher in Jersey City was ordered to grow her hair back by the school board or she would be fired. Women with bobbed hair were fired from prestigious department stores without any warning. A preacher pounded the pulpit, saying that a “bobbed woman was a disgraced woman. The raising of hemlines had its problems, as well.)

They developed a new vocabulary during the roaring twenties. What were some of the words you discovered while writing this story?

This was the fun part of writing Elena Woman of Courage. During this time period, they spoke a language foreign to their parents.  Here are some examples.

If you were excited about something, you say: Cat’s pajamas!
If you didn’t agree with someone, you say: Ah, horsefeathers!
If you were a feisty woman, you were referred to as: a bearcat.
If you were an attractive woman, you were referred to as: a doll.
Women were also referred to as: a tomato.
When John wanted to “spoon” with Elena, she said: The bank’s closed.
A woman’s body was referred to as a chassis and her legs were gams.

Where can readers find you?

My website has sample chapters to read: www.lindaweaverclarke.com



To enter the contest, tell me why you love historical romances in the comment area.  Please state in your comment, as well, whether you would prefer an ebook or Audible audiobook.  We will have a winner for both an ebook and an Audible!  The contest will run from now till July 14th, 2018.  Please leave your email address in a safe format so that we can contact you if you are the winner!










Tuesday, July 3, 2018

An Amish Family by Kathleen Fuller

An Amish Family is a book with four novellas by Kathleen Fuller.  These stories are all clean, interesting and relaxing to read.  I enjoyed all four of them!

The individual titles are Building Trust, Surprised by Love, A Gift for Anne Marie and A Heart Full of Love.

Lots of fun and enjoyable reading is packed into each of these stories.  If I was to choose a fave, it would be Surprised by Love.  It was just a really fun story and the characters were really amazing.  You will enjoy all the stories!

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Thursday, June 28, 2018

The Amish Quilter by Mindy Starns Clark and Leslie Gould

Loved this book, love the authors!  This is definitely a great book.  There was some romance, some mystery, all wrapped up together. It was very enjoyable to read.  The authors did an excellent job on this, the 5th book of the series. Although I haven't read the previous one, loved this one on its own.

And what a nice cover. 

So happy to have read this book.

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Tuesday, June 26, 2018

Home on Huckleberry Hill by Jennifer Beckstrand

It was great to read the next book in the Huckleberry Hill series.  This one was really different than those I've read in the past.  Instead of making a match for one of her grandchildren, Anna Helmuth attempts to fix a marriage and goes all out to do so.

This warm-hearted story shows the love of family bonds and also the trials that come when an Amish couple no longer gets along as one might hope they do.  The obstacles that poor Mary Anne has to work through are many as the people from church let her know how they feel about the whole matter. 

Written in Beckstrand style, this book held my attention throughout.  I am planning on reading whatever I can find from this author. 

I received an ebook copy of this book from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

The Amish Christmas Kitchen by Kelly Long, Jennifer Beckstrand, Lisa Jones Baker

This book consisted of 3 Christmas novellas.  I always enjoy Jennifer Beckstrand's comedic relief in all her Huckleberry Hill books.  The 3 stories were clean and nicely written.  I have not read anything previously from Lisa Jones Baker.  It was an enjoyable story. 

Although not Christmas time, I grabbed this one at the local library and enjoyed it.  It was a quick read and enjoyable.

Sunday, June 24, 2018

Wedding at Rocking S Ranch by Kathryn Albright

This was the first book I have read from this author.  It won't be the last.  Kathryn Albright was a very engaging and entertaining author.  I really enjoyed this book and it was hard to put down.  The story line was good and the progression was well-paced and developed. 

As Cassandra Stewart fulfills her late husband's last request, she finds a new adventure and many unexpected surprises.  Nice story, clean and well-written!

I received a copy of this book from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Thursday, June 21, 2018

A Love For Leah by Amy Lillard

This is book 2 of this series by Amy Lillard.  In this story, Jamie Stolzfus moves from his home with his nephew in order to start a new life away from the memories. His nephew, Peter, has been involved with a tragedy and is no longer able to speak, . 

Jamie is Amish and meets Mennonite Leah.  But this is a relationship that is not to be.  They don't get along at all and in fact there is a lot of controversy going on.  It's difficult for Leah to deal with Jamie's very strict Amish lifestyle.  Leah is a free thinker and full of energy.

The story is a captivating one and it's hard to put the book down.  It's a great read and I know you will enjoy this one!

I received a copy of this book from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Friday, June 15, 2018

Lawfully Redeemed by Lorana Hoopes

This was a part of the Lawkeeper Series by Lorana Hoopes.  It was a novella length and a quick read.

I enjoyed the book about a K-9 officer, Dani who is on her first case and meets Calvin, brother of Chris, the person who she is investigating.    Chris is in trouble with the law and Calvin tries to help him make things right.

This was a sweet, clean romance and fun to read.

I received an ebook copy of this book from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Tuesday, June 12, 2018

The Bishop's Wife by Mette Ivie Harrison

Somehow, I can't see a bishop's wife quite like the character in this book.  I wasn't convinced.  It was interesting, but not really accurate in the way she viewed some things.  I give it 3 stars.  It kind of left me feeling that something was off...

Friday, June 8, 2018

Jenny's Dream by Linda Weaver Clarke

I have really enjoyed Audible books.  I can listen while working, while traveling and while relaxing.  This series by Linda Weaver Clarke is a wonderful historical set of books that I have enjoyed so much.  

The narrator Carolyn Kashner has an easy going and relaxing way of speaking with lots of voice changes as the book characters speak.

This was book 3 of the 5 part historical fiction Bear Lake Family series.  It is always nice to read one of Linda Weaver Clarke's books which are always entertaining, factual and clean reads.  

This, as the title indicates is the story about Jenny, daughter of Gilbert and Melinda, the couple that blended their lives and family together.A wonderful story that takes you back in time and let's you visualize what life was like as people forged their lives in an untamed land.

As Jenny's dream of her future began to come true, she discovered that sometimes dreams can change with time. And sometimes surprise you.

It was a great read and I recommend it along with the previous 2 books in the series.  It has adventure, romance and historical elements which make a great combination.  I know others will enjoy this story as much as I have.  

I received an Audible version of this book for my honest review which I have given.

Thursday, June 7, 2018

Kappy King and the Pickle Kaper, An Amish Mystery by Amy Lillard

This was a really fun and entertaining Amish mystery.  Amy Lillard knows the Amish people and always has a good story to tell.  Loved the interaction between Amish Kappy and former Amish Edie, who have remained friends despite the bann on Edie.

What appears to be a tragic accident may not have been as Kappy and Edie put their heads together to resolve what really happened to poor Sally June Esch.  This is a great cozy mystery and keeps you reading to see "who dun it".  I hope Kappy and Edie have some more mysteries to solve!

I was given a copy of this book from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Tuesday, June 5, 2018

Guarded Prognosis by Dr. Richard L. Mabry M.D.

Dr. Mabry's latest book was so good!  It was a real page turner and I had a difficult time putting it down to do the things I had to do!    There was a lot of mystery, suspense, adding up to an absolutely great book.  The subject matter was very contemporary, very believable and certainly something that might be a real occurrence in the life of a doctor.

There was also just a little touch of "romance" perhaps.  This book is a book that you won't want to miss, especially if you like to read mysteries, which I definitely do!

I liked the fact too, that there was some religious intonations which showed that we all can do many things on our own, but can do all things with God.  That we should trust and remember Him and that it's never too late to turn our lives around.

All in all, a great book and I am very happy that I had the chance to read it.

I received an ebook copy from the author. All thoughts are my own.

Saturday, June 2, 2018

A Widow's Hope by Vannetta Chapman

I could hardly wait to read this new book by Vannetta Chapman.  It was really good.  I enjoyed how two hurting people were able to help each other both physically and emotionally.

The book is a sweet part of the Indiana Amish Brides collection.  It also is a good example of the care and love of people who are in need.  It's about family caring for one another and help from God as well as trust in Him.

I recommend this book!  It was good!

I received an ebook copy of this book from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Friday, June 1, 2018

Giveaway on Vera's Blog


    Vera has a book giveaway on her blog.  Hop on over to her blog by clicking  Here!

Thursday, May 31, 2018

Giveaway by Vera

Here is a fun book giveaway!  It will give you a chance to win The Captive Bride by Michelle Griep.  Good luck!


Monday, May 28, 2018

My Heart Belongs in Galveston, Texas by Kathleen Y'Barbo

I think I have read each of the books that has come out in this series so far.  Loving them all.  This is one by an author whose books always keep me reading.  This one did that.  I really enjoyed the mystery involved.  Also a little danger to keep you on your toes.  Good book!

I received a complimentary copy from NetGalley and Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.

Tuesday, May 22, 2018

Audiobooks by Linda Weaver Clarke

Audiobooks: Stories of Adventure, Mystery, and Romance

My favorite time period is historical because it’s during a time when men defended a lady’s honor and treated women with respect. The women, on the other hand, were not frail by any means. I love strong women characters who fight for what they believe. I enjoy writing stories with a mixture of romance and adventure. My favorite loves stories are about a couple who know they are meant for one another, even though there are trials along the way.

The Rebel Series is a Historical Mystery/Adventure Romance set in the 1700s. Many people have asked me why I wrote a story about rebels. Simple! I love a rogue who fights for justice and for the people. It was a bunch of rebels who fought for their freedom in America. They wanted to be free from the dictatorship of a king. How about Robin Hood? He and a bunch of men did the same thing as they helped the needy and poor. Liberty is something that I cherish. So I decided to write about a small country that struggles to be free.


The Captured Bride by Michelle Griep

This was another addition to the Mayflower Bride's Collection.  I loved this book.

Mercy, raised by the Mohawks and dealing with two cultures in her life plans to help in defeating the French.  She will be a scout helping on a dangerous mission.

This book shows a woman of valor and strength.  Love that in a woman of that day and age.  It's also a love story.  You will enjoy the great adventure that is imparted in this really great book!

I really couldn't put this book down for a minute.  Had to keep on reading it!!!

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.


Monday, May 21, 2018

The Perfect Bride by Debbie Lynn Costello Character Interview and Two Giveaways!


I am so happy to be able to host Debbie Lynn Costello for her Blog Tour for her latest book, The Perfect Bride!

I also have the pleasure of introducing your to Avice Touchet, the herione of her story who has kindly agreed to an interview to share with you today!

Hi Avice!  So happy to have you here and get to know you a little bit!  Thanks so much for taking the time to answer some questions!



Avice, you seem such a trustful and faithful young woman.  You trusted in the Lord that all things would work for the good.  How did you acquire this strong faith?

My mother instilled it into me. From a young age she taught me what she had learned. We dinna have a Bible but my mother is a strong woman of faith and has hidden the Lord’s words in her heart where she has shared them with me.

You are also a bit of a horse whisperer!  How did you know what you should do to rescue Philip from the horse?

Philip has had me on a horse since I was young. Though I am not an accomplished rider because I ride with Philip.  I do love to stroke their fur and talk nonsense to them but am no’ a horse whisper. I thought I might faint but fear for Philip’s life kept me upon my feet. I believe in my heart it was no’ me that calmed the horse but the Lord using me. It was also He that kept me on my feet when I approached the beast. God is faithful.

You were ready to sacrifice your happiness for the needs and betterment of those you love.  Did you do this because that was due to the fact that this was a woman’s place and thing to do in this period of time and history?

Nay, I did it because I knew that was what the Lord had done for me. He laid down His life for me. What I was willing to sacrifice was nothing compared to what my Savior did. I also knew if the Lord called me to do this thing, He would be with me.

I loved how your story ended.  Will there be more tales of your life as time passes?  I could easily see a sequel!  Any chance of that?

Weel, I hear rumor that there is another full-length novel in the works set at Rosen Craig. Perhaps Philip and I will be stopping in to check on Bryce. And one never kens what the future will bring for me and my own sequel!

Now a question for the author!  Debbie Lynne, what type of research was necessary to know so much regarding the life of the serfs and the nobles and the way they led their lives?  Did you take research trips to England?

I have shelves of medieval research books as well as pages of bookmarks on the internet. I also have a friend who lives in England “Waving at Anne” who has kept me straight, sometimes very painfully so, but I do want to represent the truth of history in England. And if I make a mistake, I can honestly say it is not from lack of trying. I have had to change many a plot and twist because I learned something was not truly feasible but more of American myth of medieval times. I have not gone to England…yet. That is actually in the works. My hubby is planning for us to to go when we finish building our house. But I am asking for maybe a year of rest before taking on that venture. But I am looking forward to it!

By the way the title was absolutely perfect!

Thank you! I agonized over that title. It wouldn’t come and then on my last read through of my edits it hit me!

And here is a little bit about this fascinating book!

The Perfect Bride


 Avice Touchet has always dreamed of marrying for love and that love would be her best friend, Philip Greslet. She’s waited five years for him to see her as the woman she’s become but when a visiting lord arrives with secrets that could put her father in prison, Avice must consider a sacrificial marriage. 
Philip Greslet has worked his whole life for one thing—to be a castellan—and now it is finally in his grasp. But when Avice rebuffs his new lord’s attentions, Philip must convince his best friend to marry the lord against his heart’s inclination to have her as his own.


Bio:
Debbie Lynne Costello has enjoyed writing stories since she was eight years old. She raised her family and then embarked on her own career of writing the stories that had been begging to be told. She and her husband have four children and live in upstate South Carolina. She has worked in many capacities in her church and is currently the Children's Director. Debbie Lynne has shown and raised Shetland Sheepdogs for eighteen years and still enjoys litters now and then. In their spare time, she and her husband take pleasure in camping and riding their Arabian and Tennessee Walking horses.


Connect with Debbie Lynne:

Tour Blog Stops!

 April 29th Overcoming With God

April 30TH Anne Payne Blog

May 2nd Cross Romance

May 4th Amy Booksy

May 7th  The Sword and Spirit

May 9th Singing Librarian Books

May 12th Stitches Thru Time

May 15th- Heroes, Heroines, and History- Mid Month Madness

May 17th Jodie Wolfe Blog

May 21st  Sunnie Reviews
https://sunniereviews.blogspot.com

May 24th http://www.marylutyndall.com/

a Rafflecopter giveaway 

And here a 2nd giveaway!

Debbie Lynn Costello is also offering a choice of one of her books, in the format of your choice to all Continental US residents or ebook or audio book to those outside of the US.
The audio book is Sword of Forgiveness.  

For this giveaway, just leave a comment on this blog and the winner's name will be drawn on May 25th!  If you follow my blog, mention this in your comment and you get two chances.  

Be sure to leave your email address in a safe method!  Thank you!


Saturday, May 19, 2018

October Song by Beverly Lewis

This book was a compilation of many  characters from past books.  It felt a little difficult at times, to know when one story ended and the next began.  I liked some of the stories but there was no real connection, too much, from once story to another.

Not my favorite work from this author, but have loved practically everything else I have read so will continue to be an avid Lewis reader!


Friday, May 18, 2018

An Amish Heirloom by Amy Clipston, Beth Wiseman, Kathleen Fuller and Kelly Irvin

I really enjoyed this set of four novellas by these well known Amish authors.  This combination was a hit for me and I especially enjoyed the one written by Beth Wiseman, which covered two periods of time, then and now and the cedar chest that held some secrets of the past.  Loved it!

I enjoyed the other stories as well and highly recommend this if you enjoy Amish fiction.

I received an ebook copy of this book from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Tuesday, May 15, 2018

The Hawaiian Discovery by Wanda E. Brunstetter and Jean Brunstetter

This was book 2 of the series by these authors.  I have read book one, and felt that it would be an important to read book 1 first to better understand how two Amish girls, Mandy and Ellen make a connection to Hawaii.

So that being said, I have really enjoyed most of the books by these authors but this one was not my favorite one.

I did enjoy the easy reading style and understandability, yet some events seemed a little too unrealistic.  I had no trouble finishing the book and it was a totally different Amish theme then I would normally expect, which brought a definite interest on my part especially since my husband was from Hawaii.  I think you will enjoy the book.  But just not her best, I don't think.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review. 

All thoughts are my own.

Sunday, May 13, 2018

No Less Days By Amanda G. Stevens

This book drew me right in.  The concept of the man staying at a young age while in the world around him everyone, aged and eventually dies is captivating.  The beginning was really good, and grabs you right from the first few pages.

It was definitely a different book than I have read in the past. The adventures keep you reading to find out how each situation resolves.

You will want to read this one!

I received a complimentary copy or this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligaton to post a review.

Wednesday, May 9, 2018

Mormonville by Jeff Call

This was a fun book about a New York reported assigned to find out all the low-down on those Mormons.  This was a book that was very humorous and entertaining.  I enjoyed it a lot!  I let me mother read it and she said it made her laugh and she was glad to have read it. 

Thursday, May 3, 2018

The Backcountry Brides Collection by Multiple Authors

This book had several new authors for me.  It was a nice addition to Barbour books Brides Collections.  It was so fun to read about these 18th Century women, brave and courageous in so many ways!  I doubt I would have been!

The time periods span from 1754-1792.  This for sure would be a time of great discovery in our country in a dangerous time where life was much more difficult in many ways.  These were sweet, clean stories and full of adventure.  Never a dull moment!

I hope that you will take time to read these great stories!

I received a copy of this book from an author.  I was under no obligation to review.  All thoughts are my own.

The Telling by Beverly Lewis

This book hit home for me.  I recently helped a friend find her biological parents and also my own mother find her father after a long, long search!  So I loved this book.

Lettie disappears and her family doesn't know why.  She is searching for her first born given away in adoption.

Loved this book so much!


Great Cape O' Colors (Capa de colores) by Karl Beckstrand and John Collado

This children's book by Karl Beckstrand and John Collado is about a magic cape.  With different "super heros" and multicultural, this a learning book for children, for sure!

Teaches imagination, colors and Spanish and English language through pictures and words.

I think this is a good way to motivate children for reading and learning about new languages.  Your child will enjoy this.

I received an ebook copy from the author.  All thoughts are my own.


Saturday, April 28, 2018

The Perfect Bride by Debbie Lynn Costello

Loved this novella by Debbie Lynn Costello!  I love castles, and the time period so much.  Often travel to Europe just to explore the old castle ruins.  It's so fun to imagine the lives they lived there.  Even some of the things that weren't so good, lead to very interesting historical knowledge.

I loved that I even learned some new vocabulary as the terminology was probably quite different in those years.

The story between Avice and Philip was very well written and I could imagine something like that happening.  I loved the ending.  Not what I thought would happen!

I really enjoyed this book.

I received an ebook version of this book from the author.  No review was expected.  All thoughts are my own.

Friday, April 27, 2018

A Past Forgiven by Lorana Hoopes

This book was a bit different for a Christian fiction, but did cover issues of young adults that affect many people and causes grief and problems for many of them.

Jess and Chad find themselves at the same college, both with attitudes and problems from the past that cause behaviors to be difficult to deal with for people around them.

Jess is disappointed and angered that she doesn't receive the private room she requested and has a religious roommate.  Something she would not have wanted, ever!

But as she meets Chad and they are instantly attracted.  Both with pasts they keep buried in their hearts.

As their hearts are turned by friends and relatives, they realize there are changes needed.  But will they be able to fix the problems?  And if so, how?

This book was very real life.  Our lives, and those of many are not perfect.  There are things everyone needs to work on to better themselves.  Sometimes this is a difficult process.  Enjoyed the book.

I received an ebook copy from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Wednesday, April 25, 2018

My Heart Belongs in Glenwood Springs, Colorado Millie's Resolve by Rebecca Jepson

I have loved every one of these books.  And I have read quite a few so far!  This might have been one of my favorite in the series.  Loved the story and it was very enjoyable to read. 

After losing the love of her life, she finds herself working as a nurse for his mother.  The job is not an easy one and hard to deal with seeing her lost love. 

She is a very wonderful and giving person and this story really brought that out.

I loved it!

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.

Tuesday, April 24, 2018

A Mother's Gift Blog Tour, Guest Interview and Giveaway from Charlotte Hubbard!






A Mother’s Gift
by Charlotte Hubbard

~~~~~~~~~~~~

I am so happy to have Charlotte Hubbard with me today on my blog!  She is one of my favorite authors.  Welcome Charlotte!  I would love to ask you a few questions so that your readers will get to know you!

What are your favorite TV shows?
            I haven’t really watched TV since “Murder, She Wrote” went off the air—seriously! I watched a few seasons of the Downton Abbey series (on tape, not in real time), but otherwise I’d much rather read, crochet, or embroider—or play with my dog!— than sit staring at a screen. Our TV is downstairs in the family room, where Neal can enjoy watching ball games, etc. and I don’t have to endure the sports noise or the endless commercials. 

What is your favorite meal?
            Heh, if it’s food I tend to eat it (well, except for spicy or Middle Eastern/curry stuff). Anything Italian is good, or basic steakhouse food, or chicken. I mostly avoid fried stuff, and I consider tofu a nonfood. I love veggies and beans, but I could never be a full-time vegan.

If you were to write a series of novels, what would it be about?
            Hmmm...you mean like my Promise Lodge series, or the earlier Simple Gifts, Seasons of the Heart, and the Cedar Creek Amish series I’ve already completed?!

Is there a writer you idolize? If so who?
            Over the years, I’ve admired a lot of authors. I used to love Phyllis A. Whitney and Victoria Holt’s Gothic novels, and on the opposite end of the spectrum I’ve read a lot of Stephen King. I wish Linda Castillo would write more Kate Burkholder Amish mysteries, and write them faster!  I’m currently devouring Alan Bradley’s mystery series about 11-y-o Flavia DeLuce, a young chemistry nerd who solves local murders in her post-WWII English town. I make a point of NOT reading most current authors of Amish stories similar to my own, because I don’t want to leech onto their plots or ideas.
   
How did you come up for the title of this book?
            My editor and I first chose the title A MOTHER’S CHOICE for this book, because it went along with my earlier Mother’s Day stand-alone, A MOTHER’S LOVE. We changed it to A MOTHER’S GIFT, however, after my editor wondered if the  word “choice” would make readers think it touched on pro-life/abortion issues—which are totally unrelated to the Amish way of life, and are social “hot potatoes” we steer away from so we don’t alienate readers. Book titles can be trickier than you think!

Thank you Charlotte!  And here is a little about your latest book.  Readers be sure to enter the giveaway below for a chance to win a $50 Amazon/BN.com gift card.

GENRE:  Inspirational Romance (Amish)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

BLURB:

For Leah Otto, marrying Jude Shetler is a long-held dream come true. As a young girl, she was captivated by his good looks and talent as an auctioneer. When Jude, now a widower with three children, begins to court her, Leah doesn’t hesitate. Other men may not appreciate her tomboy ways, but Jude values Leah’s practical nature and her skill with the animals she tends, and both enter the marriage with joy and optimism.

Three months later, Leah feels as if her world is coming down around her. Her twin teenage step-daughters, Alice and Adeline, are pushing boundaries and taking far too many risks, while five-year-old Stevie deeply misses his mother. Leah, more at ease in a barn tending her goats and chickens than in a kitchen, struggles with her housekeeping duties.

Then a baby is abandoned on their doorstep, and Leah must search her soul. Caring for little Betsy fills her with renewed purpose and the strength to begin pulling her family together. With Jude’s steadfast support, Leah finds that what she once thought of as a happy ending may be something even better—the beginning of a life rich in love, faith, and unexpected blessings.


Read an Excerpt from this book:


Jeremiah Shetler leaned his elbows on his kitchen table, gazing earnestly at his younger brother—who, at thirty-three, was surely old enough to know better about what he was getting into. “Last chance to see reason, Jude,” he stated bluntly. “If you go through with this wedding tomorrow, you’ll be signing on for a lifetime of sorrow and regret.”


Jude’s dark eyes flashed with resentment. “Sounds more like my marriage to Frieda—God rest her soul,” he added quickly. “Why can’t you let me find my happiness with a woman who won’t keep secrets? A woman who adores me and makes me laugh?”

“Leah’s a nice girl, jah,” Jeremiah said with a shake of his head, “but she’s clueless about such basic activities as putting a gut meal on the table—”

“Why are you telling me this?” Jude demanded.

Jeremiah exhaled forcefully. He’d never understood what Jude saw in Leah. He could only assume that his widowed brother was so desperate for affection and companionship that he was willing to settle for a woman who’d never progressed beyond being the tomboy daughter Raymond and Lenore Otto hadn’t taught much about a wife’s responsibilities.

“Have you ever eaten a meal Leah cooked?” he challenged. “Vernon Gingerich has told me that any time he’s visited the Otto home, Lenore’s been bustling around in the kitchen and Leah’s been in the front room chatting with him and her dat. And at our family dinners these past months, Leah’s cleaned up the dishes, but I’ve not seen any signs that she knows how to operate a stove.”

“Lenore does the cooking when Vernon visits because he’s her bishop, and she enjoys cooking for a man now that Raymond’s gone,” Jude explained impatiently. He raked his hand through his disheveled dark waves, glancing downward with an anguished sigh. “Come on, man. You know how it is to lose a wife—and you don’t even have kids to look after. Doesn’t the loneliness—the need for adult conversation—eat you alive at times?”

Jeremiah looked away, his heart pierced by the blatant reminder of Priscilla’s absence. After three years of living without her, he did indeed know how the silence of nights alone clawed at a man’s heart like a relentless beast. But he needed to pursue his present purpose before Jude made the biggest mistake of his life.



AUTHOR Bio and Links:

Charlotte Hubbard is the acclaimed author of Amish romance and fiction that evokes simpler times and draws upon her experiences in Jamesport, the largest Old Order Amish community west of the Mississippi. Faith and family, farming, and food preservation are hallmarks of her lifestyle—and the foundation of all her novels. A deacon, dedicated church musician and choir member, she loves to travel, read, try new recipes, and crochet. A longtime Missourian, Charlotte now lives in St. Paul, Minnesota, with her husband and their border collie, Vera. Please visit Charlotte online at www.CharlotteHubbard.com.


CharlotteHubbard.com
Facebook: Facebook    www.Facebook.com/Charlotte.Hubbard1


Order Ebook
Kindle  https://www.amazon.com/dp/B073NPM8G8/

Kindle UK   http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B073NPM8G8/

Kindle Canada http://www.amazon.ca/dp/B073NPM8G8/

Kindle Australia http://www.amazon.com.au/dp/B073NPM8G8/

iBooks https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/a-mothers-gift/id1254897917?mt=11

iBooks UK  https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/a-mothers-gift/id1254897917?mt=11

iBooks Canada https://itunes.apple.com/ca/book/a-mothers-gift/id1254897917?mt=11

iBooks Australia https://itunes.apple.com/au/book/a-mothers-gift/id1254897917?mt=11

iBooks New Zealand https://itunes.apple.com/nz/book/a-mothers-gift/id1254897917?mt=11

Nook https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/a-mothers-gift-charlotte-hubbard/1126683560?ean=9781496712196

Kobo https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/a-mother-s-gift-8

Google Play https://play.google.com/store/books/details/Charlotte_Hubbard_A_Mother_s_Gift?id=MI0qDwAAQBAJ

Order Print
Kensington Bouquet
March 27, 2018
ISBN-13: 9781496712189
ISBN-10: 1496712188
Amazon http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ISBN=1496712188/

Amazon UK http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ISBN=1496712188

Amazon Canada http://www.amazon.ca/exec/obidos/ISBN=1496712188

Barnes & Noble http://search.barnesandnoble.com/booksearch/isbninquiry.asp?ean=9781496712189

Books-A-Million http://www.booksamillion.com/product/9781496712189

Chapters Indigo http://www.chapters.indigo.ca/books/a/9781496712189-item.html

IndieBound http://www.indiebound.org/book/9781496712189

The Book Depository

GIVEAWAY INFORMATION and RAFFLECOPTER CODE

One randomly chosen winner via rafflecopter will win a $50 Amazon/BN.com gift card.
April 2: Rogue's Angels
April 2: Long and Short Reviews
April 3: The Book Connection - review
April 4: Unabridged Andra's
April 5: Hearts and Scribbles
April 5: Sharing Links and Wisdom
April 6: Two Ends of the Pen
April 9: Splashes of Joy - review
April 9: Straight From the Library
April 10: Southern Gal Loves to Read - review
April 10: Romance Novel Giveaways
April 11: BooksChatter
April 12: Bookaholic
April 12: Punya Reviews...
April 13: Laurie's Thoughts and Revews
April 16: Fabulous and Brunette
April 16: T's Stuff - review
April 17: Edgar's Books
April 18: Maureen's Musings - review
April 18: Cafinated Reads
April 19: Locks, Hooks and Books - review
April 20: Vickie's Kitchen and Garden - review
April 20: The Pen and Muse Book Reviews
April 23: Hope. Dreams. Life... Love
April 24: Sunnie Reviews
April 24: Deal Sharing Aunt
April 25: The Avid Reader
April 26: A Chick Who Reads - review
April 26: Miss Tinas Amish Book Reviews
April 27: XoXo Book Blog



a Rafflecopter giveaway