Thursday, September 20, 2018

The Rancher's Fake Fiancee by Amy Vastine

I have recently reviewed two books from this series and I loved it.  Sweet romance, interesting characters and a continuing storyline with previous characters interacting with the main characters.  I like the continuity although written by different authors.

This is the first book I have read from this author.  She's good.  I liked her style and enjoyed the read!

The main Blackwell in this book is Tyler and he returns to Montana telling his family he is bringing his fiancee, although she is actually his employee.  Hadley agrees to this only with the hopes of a promotion in the process.  But as her feelings change, how will she deal with the fake engagement.

This was a really fun read.  And I can't wait to read the rest of this series!

I received an ebook copy from the author.  I was not required to post a postive review.  All thoughts are my own.

Tuesday, September 18, 2018

A Wells Landing Christmas by Amy Lillard


I loved returning to Wells Landing and spotting some old friends and embracing the lives of some new ones.  This was such a heartwarming story and deals with a couple that made mistakes and needs forgiveness both from one another and from God and their own self.  It shows we are loved by God and will be forgiven for our mistakes.

I love how Ivy found an outlet and friend at the care center.  She felt that she couldn’t join the church because of her past and has a hard time to go through whatever steps she had to go through to rectify her situation, feeling that everyone would reject her.
This was a great read.  It was a hard to put down book.  It was a moving and touching story.  I loved it.  It was good like all the books this author writes.  They are all good.

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Thursday, September 13, 2018

Rockstar Grandparent by Chrys Howard

Ah, this is a fun and interesting book for the baby boomer generation.  Lots of  ideas, thoughts and ways to communicate and be involved in the life of your grands.  I totally enjoyed it and it was also quite entertaining to me.

Our roles have changed but it is still really important to be a part of their lives and  help and even mediate as needed.  Great book, great advice and fun to read.

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Tuesday, September 11, 2018

The Christmas Remedy by Cindy Woodsmall and Erin Woodsmall

Well, I love Amish fiction and I love Christmas books.  So for me this was a great combo.  Holly Noelle Zook works at a pharmacy and this is not your typical Amish occupation.  But she tries to help her Amish people to get the help they need before things are too late and so she feels that this is her path for life.  Not wanting the married, stay at home life she is expected to have.

This is a very interesting book with some mystery, romance and the combination of Cindy and Erin Woodsmall seems to work very well in this book.

I received an ebook copy of this book from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Friday, September 7, 2018

One Last Dance by Linda Weaver Clarke

When Felicity arrives at home after her father's passing, she finds her mother's new and somewhat mysterious neighbor who her mother has befriended and seems to have plans for. 

This book has some romance, and some mystery and is a historical novel, starting out in the 1830's.  I enjoyed this book and the characters very much.  It's a sweet and clean book and is a great read.  I am sure you will love it, too!

I received an ebook copy from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Giveaway on Chat With Vera's Blog

Enter at this link!

Wednesday, September 5, 2018

This Courageous Journey by Misty M. Beller

Beautiful cover!  And the book is great!  Its book 4 of 4 in the Heart of the Mountains series.  This book is about a young woman traveling through the Canadian Mountains with a guide.  They experience some amazing things and their courage to continue is incredible. 

I have read the other books in this series and couldn't wait to read this one.  I absolutely loved it, the pioneering time period and their adventures that brought them together.  I highly recommend this book, it was wonderful!

I received an ebook copy of this book from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Chat With Vera Book Giveaway

Follow this link to find a fun children's giveaway!  Click here!

Saturday, September 1, 2018

Ours For a Season by Kim Vogel Sawyer

This is the first book I have read from this author.  I must say. she is a really good writer!

This story of Mennonite Marty and her husband and her non-Mennonite friend, Brooke is so different!  A breath of fresh air, for sure. 

The story covers some difficult topics and the author does that very well.

As Marty's husband Anthony and his crew set out to help Brooke with her ghost town project, some really interesting surprises happen, and you can't stop reading this fascinating story.

I have a childhood fascination with ghost towns so this story grabbed me and kept me reading.  You will love it as you read how they learn about God's paths for them.  Really great read.

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Sunday, August 26, 2018

My Heart Belongs in Gettysburg, Pennsylvania Clarissa's Conflict

I have been following the "My Heart Belongs" series from it's onset.  I doubt that I have missed any of the books, so far.  I hope that I am able to read them all.

This one grabbed me right away from page 1.  It takes place during the Civil War period.  Clarissa is a strong fiery character with red hair to go along with that personality.  She is a member of the Underground Railroad, actively helping the slaves.  She's pretty amazing.

You can tell that the author was well versed historically and this made the book more interesting to me as I love history.  Kind of goes hand in hand with my occupation of genealogist! 

The book flowed and read well.  Enjoyed it and it keeps me wanting to read more of this heartwarming series!

I received an ebook copy of this book from NetGalley for my review.  I received no monetary compensation.  All thoughts are my own.

Saturday, August 25, 2018

Too Blessed to be Stressed for Moms by Debora M. Coty

I loved this.  Each section has a scripture reference that gives you a real boost for the day. The devotionals share a story to uplift your spirits.  It's a beautiful book, inside and out. There are questions at the end of the chapters that help to analyze what you have read and how to better understand what was shared in the chapter. It's encouragement for busy moms and kind of reminds us not to beat ourselves up if we aren't the perfect mother.  This book is for Christians who want to place faith in God to find the help and answers that we need.

It appears that there is a nice series of these type of book by this author.  I would love to read them, too.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.

The Rancher's Twins Return of the Blackwell Brothers by Carol Ross

This was the sweetest story.  I really enjoyed it.  I recently reviewed The Rancher's Redemption and this is a part of that series. 

As Lydia tries to escape a past situation, she finds a wonderful job as a nanny on a Montana ranch. Jon, the father of the twins who hired her had specifics that were required of his daughters' nanny, discovered right away, those specifics weren't met.  No way was she the experienced "ranching" nanny.  She was a great nanny, but the ranching requirements, nope, she didn't cut it. I loved how the new nanny and the twins hearts entwined and the feelings that they had together.  She won the girls over, but will she be able to prove she can fill those specific requirements?

She has a couple of weeks to try to redeem herself.  Will she do it? 

This was a wonderful book and wove in the stories of the previous Return of the Blackwell Brothers' characters.  I always enjoy seeing characters that I have come to know in other books of a series.  I love that continuity!

I recommend this wonderful story.  I received a copy of this book from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Tuesday, August 21, 2018

As the Tide Comes In by Cindy Woodsmall and Erin Woodsmall

This is the first non-Amish book that I have read from this author.  I had not previously read anything from Erin Woodsmall, but this book was absolutely breath-taking.  I had a  hard time putting it down.  So good. 

There is so much compassion and concern shown in this book.  I loved the characters, the transitions and everything about this book!

 I received an ebook copy from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. I was under no obligation to provide a positive review.  All thoughts are my own.

Monday, August 20, 2018

A Christmas Prayer by Wanda E. Brunstetter

This Christmas book written by Wanda E. Brunstetter regarding a small band of western pioneers warms the heart.  It's a sweet story with some real sweet Christmas feelings happening here.  As the little wagon group has delays and some difficulties underway they find themselves in a desperate situation and find refuge in the mountains.  As they find themselves together for much longer than expected, feelings and plans change. 

I really enjoyed the storyline and it a really enjoyable read.  It is probably more of a novella length, but seems to develop the characters well.

I received an ebook copy of this book from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Saturday, August 18, 2018

A Simple Christmas by Charlotte Hubbard

I really enjoyed reading this book, a continuation of the Simple Gifts series of books.  It was fun to see the characters of the previous books actively participate in this latest book.

It's a Christmas story, but it was enjoyable even at this time of year.  Rosalyn Riehl is busy preparing hand-made wreaths for the holidays.  As Marcus appears on the scene, apparently a bit of a trouble maker in his not-so distant past, he sets his eye on Rosalyn, but her dat is a gruff sort and so who knows what excitement will happen!

This is a fun read and as with everything I have read from this author, this was a winner.  I highly recommend it!

I was given a copy of this book from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Friday, August 17, 2018

Kingdom Files Who Was David? by Matt Koceich

This was such a nice way to introduce Biblical characters to children.  It is suggested from ages 8-12, but I am thinking younger children would enjoy their parents to read these simplified stories to help them grow their religious faith.

The stories are written in a way that children should be easily able to understand them. David was a very important character and portrays a strong role for young boys of all ages.  There were many things that in his later life were not exemplary and we see that even men of strong faith can fail when not living by God's commandments.  

Very good introduction for children.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.

Kingdom Files Who Was Esther? by Matt Koceich

This was such a nice way to introduce Biblical characters to children.  It is suggested from ages 8-12, but I am thinking younger children would enjoy their parents to read these simplified stories to help them grow their religious faith.

The stories are written in a way that children should be easily able to understand them.  Esther is a very important character and portrays a strong role for females of all ages to follow.

Very good introduction for children.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.


Thursday, August 16, 2018

Sarah's Special Gift by Linda Weaver Clarke

I love this series by Linda Weaver Clarke.  This was the Audible version and I was able to listen while doing other things.  Love that!  I enjoyed the narrator, Carolyn Kashner, 

Sarah's Special Gift was book 4 in the Bear Lake Family Saga series.  I really enjoyed it and it was a fun read for me since my daughter was also a dance teacher.  The difference though is the fact that Sarah has been deaf since contracting an illness.  As a result, it is truly a gift that she is such a wonderful dancer, not being able to even hear the music.

As she meets David, their lives become entwined and at the beginning he has no idea that she can't hear as she speaks well. 

I love how the characters of the earlier books are carried through into this book and you can see how their lives developed through time. And I love reading and listening to books about places that I know and recognize.  I look forward to the next book!  This series is wonderful and very enjoyable for all ages of readers.

I received an Audible version from the Author.  All thoughts are my own.

Sunday, August 12, 2018

Unforgettable by Ronda Gibb Hinrichsen

This book!  I loved it.  I also love the cover.  Past/Present and a beautiful German city.

The tragic story of the WWII time period and how a man was killed and lost to the World.  The story brings us quickly to a contemporary time period and with the dying wife of Ulrich, the man who was killed and her great granddaughter, Haley. 

This story takes me back to my mother's WWII life in Germany and lots of memories come to me as I read the events of the story and a mystery that needs to be resolved.

Great story.  I couldn't put it down!

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Saturday, August 11, 2018

The Victorian Christmas Brides Collection by Carrie Fancett Pagels, Erica Vetsch, Suzanne Dietze, Rita Gerlach. Kathleen L. Maher, Gabrielle Meyer, Vanessa Riley, Lorna Seilstad, C. J. Chase

Love reading these novella collections  Which I seem to be happily collecting btw!  There are 9 stories set in the 1800 time frame and nice Christmas stories.  But great even for warm summer days!  There were several new authors for me.  And I enjoyed their style, their stories making for a wonderful reading collection.  It would be nice to see some of these stories developed into a full length book.  Great stories!

These were happy stories that leave you happy that you were able to read them.  Because of the time period involved, I am sure much research time was involved in the writings so that they would be true to the time.  And they were.

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Thursday, August 9, 2018

The Rancher's Redemption by Melinda Curtis

This is book three of the Return of the Blackwell Brothers series. It is a good stand alone as I can tell you, because I have not yet read the first two books.  But am planning on doing just that!

Fighting over water rights and hard feelings between rancher's and responsibilities of family and ranch can cause serious problems and that's just what they have done in this book.  How will they resolve the problems that have festered for years?  Ben Blackwell has some things in his past that he wants to change about himself. But it will be difficult for him to resolve the issues without causing more difficulties.

This is a sweet romance and a very interesting, real-life type of book. With real-life problems to resolve.  I really liked it and hope to read many other books from this very good author. 

I received an ebook copy from the author and chose to review.  All thoughts are my own.

Monday, August 6, 2018

The Still Small Voice by Lorana Hoopes

This was a book that kind of makes you think.  If you are Christian, it is a good reminder to listen to the promptings that come to you when you are in tune, and listening for answers.  I found it very interesting and it was an enjoyable read. 

Saturday, August 4, 2018

Hearts of the Fathers by Darryl Harris

This book was one that I checked out of the local library where I live.  The synopsis in the back sounded like part of my life.  My mother lived in Germany at this time and experienced or witnessed many of the type of events that are written about in this book.  As did my father, who was drafted into the Hitler Jugend.  I actually got this book for my mom to read, and I wasn't sure if she really "liked" it, because she said it brought back too many memories.  But for me it was a most fascinating book. 

The book also talked about the hidden church records in the salt mines of which I have heard much, being a professional German genealogist and studying about the history of the War and what transpired with the many church books.

To me, it was a most interesting and captivating book.  Couldn't put it down. 

Friday, August 3, 2018

The Patriot Bride by Kimberley Woodhouse


I definitely enjoyed reading this book by Kimberley Woodhouse.  It was a great combination of fictional and real historical characters.  She did a great job of combining the two very well.  As supporters of the Patriot cause Faith and Matthew make a great combination.  Although times are hard, they continue to forge ahead in a most worthy cause.

I am sure you will really enjoy this book.  And I am looking forward to the next in the series!  I have loved everyone of them so far!

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.


Thursday, August 2, 2018

The Miracle Tree by Davalynn Spencer

This second edition by Davalynn Spencer did not disappoint.  The book had all the good feelings you like in a sweet romance.  It was a fun read and also had lots of parts that wouldn't let you close the book until the last page was turned.  I loved the faith inspiring parts.  As that is also an important part of my life and like reading about it and am happy to know others are too.  I have enjoyed the stories from this author.  You can always count on something entertaining and good to read.

I received an ebook copy from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Monday, July 30, 2018

Funeral Potatoes by Joni Hilton

This book about someone in the Relief Society presidency, is a tongue in cheek, and definitely humorous view of the life of many an LDS woman, balancing family, church, and activities to make it all work.  Imperfectionists, as she says, trying to be perfectionists while working hard to achieve their goals.  It was a fun book to read and a light, enjoyable read. Included a recipe of the infamous "funeral potato" dish which so often appears at church functions, not just the funeral.


Saturday, July 28, 2018

This Freedom Journey by Misty M. Beller Heart of the Mountains Series #3

Misty M. Beller is really becoming one of my favorite writers.  In this novella she draws you right in as Adrien Lockman finds his way in a horrible blizzard to a shack where he finds strong-willed Mary, a pregnant, half starved and nearly frozen woman all alone in the wilderness.  It's an exciting book and you won't want to miss reading this.  All the books that I have read from this writer are top-notch.  I will be reading a lot more!

I received an ebook copy from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Thursday, July 26, 2018

The Scarlet Wedding by Lorana Hoopes Sage Creek Saga Book 1

It was fun to read this clean historical and Christian fiction carrying forth the story of Emma and William.

It was a book sharing that life doesn't always go as planned, but God is there to help when matters are beyond our control.  I liked the Christian themes and the family oriented book.

I am looking forward to the continuation!

I received an ebook copy from the author for my review.  All thoughts are my own.

Wednesday, July 25, 2018

The Hope Jar by Wanda E. Brunstetter

This book was the first in The Prayer Jars series.  I really enjoyed the story of two young women, one a women from an unhappy home and an abusive relationship and the other raised by her formerly Amish mother and a step father. 

As Michelle steps into the role of Sara, somewhat unplanned, her life fills with one lie after another as she keeps the "real" Sara from contacting her grandparents.  It's a pretty interesting book and I will be looking forward to the next book in the series!

I received a complimentary vopy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.

Wednesday, July 18, 2018

River of Redemption by Ann H. Gabhart

I have truly enjoyed this author's writings.  This one grabs you from the first and keeps holding your attention to the very end.  What a moving story about a very sweet little girl.  Her story is remarkable.  It's very touching.  You will love how the historical events give you an understanding of the life of many people of that time period.  Each time period has it's own hardships and Cholera definitely was a frightening disease.  The book is so good you won't be able to put it down.

I highly recommend this!

I received an ebook copy of this book from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Sunday, July 15, 2018

Amish Celebrations by Beth Wiseman

Beautiful cover for a beautiful book.  There are four novellas included in this book and they are all written by Beth Wiseman.  I have enjoyed many of her Amish books in the past and this was another to add to the list of why I enjoy reading books by this author.

All clean and interesting stories that hold your attention and show interesting situations, which were believable and interesting.  I could envision the twin sisters as they found themselves interested in the same guy and how things got a bit rivalous between the two.

I think anyone interested in Amish fiction will enjoy these stories of love of family and friends.

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Wednesday, July 11, 2018

Minding The Light by Suzanne Woods Fisher

This is book 2 of the Nantucket Legacy Series.  I loved book 1 but book 2 is just amazing.  Such a great book!  Suzanne's books just keep getting better and better.  This story is one that grabs you from the beginning and then you wish you had nothing else to do so that you didn't have to stop reading.

So well written and since I have an ebook, I ran across some historial words that I could readily look up the meaning for.  There is a lot of research that would have had to go into this book.

It's a romance as well as historical and the story of Daphne and Ren is really wonderful.

I am so hoping that this series continues for quite some time!

Good job, Suzanne Woods Fisher!

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All opinions are my own.

Monday, July 9, 2018

The Fashion Designer by Nancy Moser

I believe that this was book 2 of this set of books by Nancy Moser.  It took place in a period of time when women were beginning to try their ways in business, supporting their families and themselves.  Having already read The Pattern Artist from the same author, I was pretty certain that I would also enjoy this book, as well.  And I definitely did.

The women become good friends and well as co-workers despite some large set-backs as they try to forge ahead and get their business started and functioning whikle also maintaining their personal lives, as well.

This was a very good book and I highly recommend it.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.

Saturday, July 7, 2018

Bear Lake Family Saga Guest Post And Giveaway by Linda Weaver Clarke


Today I am so happy to once again have author Linda Weaver Clarke as a guest on my blog.  This is an author whose books I love to read.  I think the Bear Lake Family Saga Series is probably my favorite of all!  If you haven't had a chance to read this series, I would highly recommend it!

Who is Author Linda Weaver Clarke?

I was raised among the Rocky Mountains of southern Idaho and live in Color Country in southern Utah. I am the author of 23 books. I have several genres that I write in—a Historical Romance series: Bear Lake Family Saga, a Mystery Suspense series: The Adventures of John and Julia Evans, a Cozy Mystery series: Amelia Moore Detective Series, and a Period/Adventure Romance: The Rebel Series. I am also a missionary at the FamilySearch Center. I help people find their ancestors and learn about their heritage.

What draws readers to this historical romance series: Bear Lake Family Saga?

This series has strong female characters who have a destiny to fulfill. Each woman wants to make a difference in someone’s life. No matter the trial that comes her way, she is ready to fight for what she believes. I love the male characters. Even though they are strong and masculine, they have their tender moments that can melt your heart. Bear Lake Family Saga has plenty of adventure along with a tender love story.

What was the inspiration for this series?

My ancestors were my inspiration. I was writing their histories so my children would learn to appreciate their heritage. Their stories were intriguing and full of adventure. When I was done, I decided to write a historical romance series and give these true experiences to my fictional characters.

Give us a brief description of each story in this series?

Melinda and the Wild West (Book 1): Melinda is a schoolteacher. She has many challenges but it’s a rugged rancher who challenges Melinda with the one thing for which she was least prepared—love.

Edith and the Mysterious Stranger (Book 2): Edith is a nurse. When a mysterious stranger starts writing to Edith, she gets to know a man's inner soul before making any harsh judgments. Whoever he is, this man is a mystery but is he as wonderful in person as he is in his letters?

Jenny’s Dream (Book 3): Jenny is an aspiring author. She has a dream to fulfill, but the only thing standing in her way is an unpleasant memory, which has haunted her since childhood. She must learn to forgive before she can follow her dream.

Sarah’s Special Gift (Book 4): Sarah is a beautiful and successful dance teacher but she is not an average young woman. Sarah is deaf, but this does not stop her from living life to its fullest. And it does not stop her from falling in love with a man who needs her help.

Elena, Woman of Courage (Book 5): The Roaring Twenties was a time of great change, when women raised their hemlines and bobbed their hair. As Elena fights to prove herself as the town’s first female doctor, the town’s most eligible bachelor finds it a challenge to see if he can win her heart.

Are your books in audiobook form?

Yes. I have a narrator who is narrating them for Audible. I have one narrator for Melinda and the Wild West, and then changed to a different narrator for the next four. Carolyn Kashner actually sings in Edith and the Mysterious Stranger, and she has such a lovely voice.

Who is the most intriguing character in this series?

I love all my female characters, but I feel that Elena from Elena Woman of Courage is the most interesting. She has to endure a lot of prejudice from the town bully who feels that women doctors have no right to practice medicine. But that isn’t all. This story takes place during the roaring twenties, and Elena has decided to be a part of this new generation by bobbing her hair and raising her hemlines. That takes a lot of courage. Of course, the town’s most eligible bachelor finds her most intriguing. He actually admires her tenacity. I admire Elena, as well.

(For history buffs: Bobbed hair caused a lot of commotion. A teacher in Jersey City was ordered to grow her hair back by the school board or she would be fired. Women with bobbed hair were fired from prestigious department stores without any warning. A preacher pounded the pulpit, saying that a “bobbed woman was a disgraced woman. The raising of hemlines had its problems, as well.)

They developed a new vocabulary during the roaring twenties. What were some of the words you discovered while writing this story?

This was the fun part of writing Elena Woman of Courage. During this time period, they spoke a language foreign to their parents.  Here are some examples.

If you were excited about something, you say: Cat’s pajamas!
If you didn’t agree with someone, you say: Ah, horsefeathers!
If you were a feisty woman, you were referred to as: a bearcat.
If you were an attractive woman, you were referred to as: a doll.
Women were also referred to as: a tomato.
When John wanted to “spoon” with Elena, she said: The bank’s closed.
A woman’s body was referred to as a chassis and her legs were gams.

Where can readers find you?

My website has sample chapters to read: www.lindaweaverclarke.com



To enter the contest, tell me why you love historical romances in the comment area.  Please state in your comment, as well, whether you would prefer an ebook or Audible audiobook.  We will have a winner for both an ebook and an Audible!  The contest will run from now till July 14th, 2018.  Please leave your email address in a safe format so that we can contact you if you are the winner!










Tuesday, July 3, 2018

An Amish Family by Kathleen Fuller

An Amish Family is a book with four novellas by Kathleen Fuller.  These stories are all clean, interesting and relaxing to read.  I enjoyed all four of them!

The individual titles are Building Trust, Surprised by Love, A Gift for Anne Marie and A Heart Full of Love.

Lots of fun and enjoyable reading is packed into each of these stories.  If I was to choose a fave, it would be Surprised by Love.  It was just a really fun story and the characters were really amazing.  You will enjoy all the stories!

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Thursday, June 28, 2018

The Amish Quilter by Mindy Starns Clark and Leslie Gould

Loved this book, love the authors!  This is definitely a great book.  There was some romance, some mystery, all wrapped up together. It was very enjoyable to read.  The authors did an excellent job on this, the 5th book of the series. Although I haven't read the previous one, loved this one on its own.

And what a nice cover. 

So happy to have read this book.

I received an ebook copy from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

Tuesday, June 26, 2018

Home on Huckleberry Hill by Jennifer Beckstrand

It was great to read the next book in the Huckleberry Hill series.  This one was really different than those I've read in the past.  Instead of making a match for one of her grandchildren, Anna Helmuth attempts to fix a marriage and goes all out to do so.

This warm-hearted story shows the love of family bonds and also the trials that come when an Amish couple no longer gets along as one might hope they do.  The obstacles that poor Mary Anne has to work through are many as the people from church let her know how they feel about the whole matter. 

Written in Beckstrand style, this book held my attention throughout.  I am planning on reading whatever I can find from this author. 

I received an ebook copy of this book from NetGalley.  All thoughts are my own.

The Amish Christmas Kitchen by Kelly Long, Jennifer Beckstrand, Lisa Jones Baker

This book consisted of 3 Christmas novellas.  I always enjoy Jennifer Beckstrand's comedic relief in all her Huckleberry Hill books.  The 3 stories were clean and nicely written.  I have not read anything previously from Lisa Jones Baker.  It was an enjoyable story. 

Although not Christmas time, I grabbed this one at the local library and enjoyed it.  It was a quick read and enjoyable.

Sunday, June 24, 2018

Wedding at Rocking S Ranch by Kathryn Albright

This was the first book I have read from this author.  It won't be the last.  Kathryn Albright was a very engaging and entertaining author.  I really enjoyed this book and it was hard to put down.  The story line was good and the progression was well-paced and developed. 

As Cassandra Stewart fulfills her late husband's last request, she finds a new adventure and many unexpected surprises.  Nice story, clean and well-written!

I received a copy of this book from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Thursday, June 21, 2018

A Love For Leah by Amy Lillard

This is book 2 of this series by Amy Lillard.  In this story, Jamie Stolzfus moves from his home with his nephew in order to start a new life away from the memories. His nephew, Peter, has been involved with a tragedy and is no longer able to speak, . 

Jamie is Amish and meets Mennonite Leah.  But this is a relationship that is not to be.  They don't get along at all and in fact there is a lot of controversy going on.  It's difficult for Leah to deal with Jamie's very strict Amish lifestyle.  Leah is a free thinker and full of energy.

The story is a captivating one and it's hard to put the book down.  It's a great read and I know you will enjoy this one!

I received a copy of this book from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Friday, June 15, 2018

Lawfully Redeemed by Lorana Hoopes

This was a part of the Lawkeeper Series by Lorana Hoopes.  It was a novella length and a quick read.

I enjoyed the book about a K-9 officer, Dani who is on her first case and meets Calvin, brother of Chris, the person who she is investigating.    Chris is in trouble with the law and Calvin tries to help him make things right.

This was a sweet, clean romance and fun to read.

I received an ebook copy of this book from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Tuesday, June 12, 2018

The Bishop's Wife by Mette Ivie Harrison

Somehow, I can't see a bishop's wife quite like the character in this book.  I wasn't convinced.  It was interesting, but not really accurate in the way she viewed some things.  I give it 3 stars.  It kind of left me feeling that something was off...

Friday, June 8, 2018

Jenny's Dream by Linda Weaver Clarke

I have really enjoyed Audible books.  I can listen while working, while traveling and while relaxing.  This series by Linda Weaver Clarke is a wonderful historical set of books that I have enjoyed so much.  

The narrator Carolyn Kashner has an easy going and relaxing way of speaking with lots of voice changes as the book characters speak.

This was book 3 of the 5 part historical fiction Bear Lake Family series.  It is always nice to read one of Linda Weaver Clarke's books which are always entertaining, factual and clean reads.  

This, as the title indicates is the story about Jenny, daughter of Gilbert and Melinda, the couple that blended their lives and family together.A wonderful story that takes you back in time and let's you visualize what life was like as people forged their lives in an untamed land.

As Jenny's dream of her future began to come true, she discovered that sometimes dreams can change with time. And sometimes surprise you.

It was a great read and I recommend it along with the previous 2 books in the series.  It has adventure, romance and historical elements which make a great combination.  I know others will enjoy this story as much as I have.  

I received an Audible version of this book for my honest review which I have given.

Thursday, June 7, 2018

Kappy King and the Pickle Kaper, An Amish Mystery by Amy Lillard

This was a really fun and entertaining Amish mystery.  Amy Lillard knows the Amish people and always has a good story to tell.  Loved the interaction between Amish Kappy and former Amish Edie, who have remained friends despite the bann on Edie.

What appears to be a tragic accident may not have been as Kappy and Edie put their heads together to resolve what really happened to poor Sally June Esch.  This is a great cozy mystery and keeps you reading to see "who dun it".  I hope Kappy and Edie have some more mysteries to solve!

I was given a copy of this book from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Tuesday, June 5, 2018

Guarded Prognosis by Dr. Richard L. Mabry M.D.

Dr. Mabry's latest book was so good!  It was a real page turner and I had a difficult time putting it down to do the things I had to do!    There was a lot of mystery, suspense, adding up to an absolutely great book.  The subject matter was very contemporary, very believable and certainly something that might be a real occurrence in the life of a doctor.

There was also just a little touch of "romance" perhaps.  This book is a book that you won't want to miss, especially if you like to read mysteries, which I definitely do!

I liked the fact too, that there was some religious intonations which showed that we all can do many things on our own, but can do all things with God.  That we should trust and remember Him and that it's never too late to turn our lives around.

All in all, a great book and I am very happy that I had the chance to read it.

I received an ebook copy from the author. All thoughts are my own.

Saturday, June 2, 2018

A Widow's Hope by Vannetta Chapman

I could hardly wait to read this new book by Vannetta Chapman.  It was really good.  I enjoyed how two hurting people were able to help each other both physically and emotionally.

The book is a sweet part of the Indiana Amish Brides collection.  It also is a good example of the care and love of people who are in need.  It's about family caring for one another and help from God as well as trust in Him.

I recommend this book!  It was good!

I received an ebook copy of this book from the author.  All thoughts are my own.

Friday, June 1, 2018

Giveaway on Vera's Blog


    Vera has a book giveaway on her blog.  Hop on over to her blog by clicking  Here!

Thursday, May 31, 2018

Giveaway by Vera

Here is a fun book giveaway!  It will give you a chance to win The Captive Bride by Michelle Griep.  Good luck!


Monday, May 28, 2018

My Heart Belongs in Galveston, Texas by Kathleen Y'Barbo

I think I have read each of the books that has come out in this series so far.  Loving them all.  This is one by an author whose books always keep me reading.  This one did that.  I really enjoyed the mystery involved.  Also a little danger to keep you on your toes.  Good book!

I received a complimentary copy from NetGalley and Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.

Tuesday, May 22, 2018

Audiobooks by Linda Weaver Clarke

Audiobooks: Stories of Adventure, Mystery, and Romance

My favorite time period is historical because it’s during a time when men defended a lady’s honor and treated women with respect. The women, on the other hand, were not frail by any means. I love strong women characters who fight for what they believe. I enjoy writing stories with a mixture of romance and adventure. My favorite loves stories are about a couple who know they are meant for one another, even though there are trials along the way.

The Rebel Series is a Historical Mystery/Adventure Romance set in the 1700s. Many people have asked me why I wrote a story about rebels. Simple! I love a rogue who fights for justice and for the people. It was a bunch of rebels who fought for their freedom in America. They wanted to be free from the dictatorship of a king. How about Robin Hood? He and a bunch of men did the same thing as they helped the needy and poor. Liberty is something that I cherish. So I decided to write about a small country that struggles to be free.


The Captured Bride by Michelle Griep

This was another addition to the Mayflower Bride's Collection.  I loved this book.

Mercy, raised by the Mohawks and dealing with two cultures in her life plans to help in defeating the French.  She will be a scout helping on a dangerous mission.

This book shows a woman of valor and strength.  Love that in a woman of that day and age.  It's also a love story.  You will enjoy the great adventure that is imparted in this really great book!

I really couldn't put this book down for a minute.  Had to keep on reading it!!!

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.


Monday, May 21, 2018

The Perfect Bride by Debbie Lynn Costello Character Interview and Two Giveaways!


I am so happy to be able to host Debbie Lynn Costello for her Blog Tour for her latest book, The Perfect Bride!

I also have the pleasure of introducing your to Avice Touchet, the herione of her story who has kindly agreed to an interview to share with you today!

Hi Avice!  So happy to have you here and get to know you a little bit!  Thanks so much for taking the time to answer some questions!



Avice, you seem such a trustful and faithful young woman.  You trusted in the Lord that all things would work for the good.  How did you acquire this strong faith?

My mother instilled it into me. From a young age she taught me what she had learned. We dinna have a Bible but my mother is a strong woman of faith and has hidden the Lord’s words in her heart where she has shared them with me.

You are also a bit of a horse whisperer!  How did you know what you should do to rescue Philip from the horse?

Philip has had me on a horse since I was young. Though I am not an accomplished rider because I ride with Philip.  I do love to stroke their fur and talk nonsense to them but am no’ a horse whisper. I thought I might faint but fear for Philip’s life kept me upon my feet. I believe in my heart it was no’ me that calmed the horse but the Lord using me. It was also He that kept me on my feet when I approached the beast. God is faithful.

You were ready to sacrifice your happiness for the needs and betterment of those you love.  Did you do this because that was due to the fact that this was a woman’s place and thing to do in this period of time and history?

Nay, I did it because I knew that was what the Lord had done for me. He laid down His life for me. What I was willing to sacrifice was nothing compared to what my Savior did. I also knew if the Lord called me to do this thing, He would be with me.

I loved how your story ended.  Will there be more tales of your life as time passes?  I could easily see a sequel!  Any chance of that?

Weel, I hear rumor that there is another full-length novel in the works set at Rosen Craig. Perhaps Philip and I will be stopping in to check on Bryce. And one never kens what the future will bring for me and my own sequel!

Now a question for the author!  Debbie Lynne, what type of research was necessary to know so much regarding the life of the serfs and the nobles and the way they led their lives?  Did you take research trips to England?

I have shelves of medieval research books as well as pages of bookmarks on the internet. I also have a friend who lives in England “Waving at Anne” who has kept me straight, sometimes very painfully so, but I do want to represent the truth of history in England. And if I make a mistake, I can honestly say it is not from lack of trying. I have had to change many a plot and twist because I learned something was not truly feasible but more of American myth of medieval times. I have not gone to England…yet. That is actually in the works. My hubby is planning for us to to go when we finish building our house. But I am asking for maybe a year of rest before taking on that venture. But I am looking forward to it!

By the way the title was absolutely perfect!

Thank you! I agonized over that title. It wouldn’t come and then on my last read through of my edits it hit me!

And here is a little bit about this fascinating book!

The Perfect Bride


 Avice Touchet has always dreamed of marrying for love and that love would be her best friend, Philip Greslet. She’s waited five years for him to see her as the woman she’s become but when a visiting lord arrives with secrets that could put her father in prison, Avice must consider a sacrificial marriage. 
Philip Greslet has worked his whole life for one thing—to be a castellan—and now it is finally in his grasp. But when Avice rebuffs his new lord’s attentions, Philip must convince his best friend to marry the lord against his heart’s inclination to have her as his own.


Bio:
Debbie Lynne Costello has enjoyed writing stories since she was eight years old. She raised her family and then embarked on her own career of writing the stories that had been begging to be told. She and her husband have four children and live in upstate South Carolina. She has worked in many capacities in her church and is currently the Children's Director. Debbie Lynne has shown and raised Shetland Sheepdogs for eighteen years and still enjoys litters now and then. In their spare time, she and her husband take pleasure in camping and riding their Arabian and Tennessee Walking horses.


Connect with Debbie Lynne:

Tour Blog Stops!

 April 29th Overcoming With God

April 30TH Anne Payne Blog

May 2nd Cross Romance

May 4th Amy Booksy

May 7th  The Sword and Spirit

May 9th Singing Librarian Books

May 12th Stitches Thru Time

May 15th- Heroes, Heroines, and History- Mid Month Madness

May 17th Jodie Wolfe Blog

May 21st  Sunnie Reviews
https://sunniereviews.blogspot.com

May 24th http://www.marylutyndall.com/

a Rafflecopter giveaway 

And here a 2nd giveaway!

Debbie Lynn Costello is also offering a choice of one of her books, in the format of your choice to all Continental US residents or ebook or audio book to those outside of the US.
The audio book is Sword of Forgiveness.  

For this giveaway, just leave a comment on this blog and the winner's name will be drawn on May 25th!  If you follow my blog, mention this in your comment and you get two chances.  

Be sure to leave your email address in a safe method!  Thank you!